You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Brenda Gottsabend via Flickr/Creative Commons

Man offers first paycheck in return for a job in Dublin

The 20-year-old Kildare man said he wants his independence, and he’s willing to shell out to anyone who can help him on his way.

A 20-YEAR-OLD man from Celbridge in Kildare has taken to the internet in his search for a job in Dublin.

That’s not that unusual, but what is a little out of the ordinary is that he’s offering his first paycheck to the person who makes an effort to get him a position in their place of work.

Pádraig told TheJournal.ie that he has been looking for a job in Dublin for about two years with no success. He said that he has secured a few odd jobs with relatives and a friend’s dad, doing some landscaping “and stuff like that”.

He said that after handing out CVs and following them up he was getting nowhere so he thought he’d try something different. So he took to social news website Reddit to try a different tactic:

Pádraig told TheJournal.ie that he posted his offer on Reddit because “they seem like a great helpful bunch and sure what motivates more than money?”.

The Celbridge native has been doing work experience on reception in a local leisure centre since Febuary, but hasn’t had another job since he worked in a Eurospar in Smithfield four years ago for almost a year. He’s also completed a lifeguard course.

Asked why someone should give him a job he said:

I decided it’s time now to start thinking seriously about moving out, growing up and basically sorting my life out and I’ll do anything to make that happen. I’m extremely hardworking, consider myself to be highly reliable and have great communication skills with co-workers and customers alike.

He said he’s keen to move to Dublin with friends and will work at anything to make a living. He said though that his dream, as a music lover, would be to work “in a record store like the ones in Georges Arcade”.

Independence is my goal at the end of the day, the type of job really doesn’t matter.

Can you offer Pádraig a job in Dublin city? Contact him at podge-23@hotmail.com

8 tough questions Apple asks in interviews – answered>

8 questions you should ask during your job interview>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

29 Comments
    Mute Adam Murphy
    Favourite Adam Murphy
    Jun 20th 2012, 6:14 PM

Would he not go to college considering he’s only 20 and acquire skills that will be needed in the years to come?

As mentioned in the Reddit thread, there are plenty of jobs out there. He’s actually in an ideal situation in that he has the opportunity (although I suppose I am assuming) to go to college – there are many thousands of people out there who find themselves in a seemingly hopeless situation where they’re out of a job, tied down with responsibilities such as a family and unable to upskill.

Mute Boy Russell
    Favourite Boy Russell
    Jun 20th 2012, 6:33 PM

Maybe he hasn’t got leaving certificate and he’s too young to apply as a mature student? That didn’t cross your mind, No??

The moral to the story is that the bloke wants to work. Fair play to him, and for that alone i’d keep my eyes peeled for him – without taken his ‘earnings’
    Fair play.

Mute Dmc
    Favourite Dmc
    Jun 20th 2012, 6:40 PM

Alot of wealty people out their become wealthy not because of having an education. The education system teaches us hoe to be employees. Keep them in the rat race. This guy will be successful. He just proved he can think out of the box. A lot of wealthy people have drive; not an education. Fair play to him

Mute Sinead Taaffe
    Favourite Sinead Taaffe
    Jun 20th 2012, 6:54 PM

maybe he cant afford college and as for student loans for a few grand a year, why put yourself in so much debt when 3-4 years down the line when you’re finished it will more than likely still be roughly the same economic position as now, so he will be back on the dole except now he will have the loans to pay back aswell.

Mute cimada
    Favourite cimada
    Jun 20th 2012, 10:48 PM

I went to college, be lucky to get a full time damn job at all never mind a record store. Be flat out picking winkles at this rate !

Mute TNR
    Favourite TNR
    Jun 20th 2012, 6:24 PM

Fair play to this guy, surely this is very impressive to potential employers out there.

Mute Ciarán Howley
    Favourite Ciarán Howley
    Jun 20th 2012, 7:03 PM

Paddy Power will probably hire him :P

Mute Dmc
    Favourite Dmc
    Jun 20th 2012, 7:17 PM

Paddy Powers recent stunt obviously worked seen as everyone is talking about it!

Mute Jim Daly
    Favourite Jim Daly
    Jun 20th 2012, 7:21 PM

His “great communication skills” don’t extend to grammar, spelling and punctuation judging by his Reddit post.

Mute Eamonn Casey
    Favourite Eamonn Casey
    Jun 20th 2012, 8:20 PM

Not sure why Jim is getting so many red thumbs. It’s a fair comment considering the importance employers place on spelling and grammar. I went to a CV writing seminal by a recruitment agency a couple of years ago. The speaker said they throw out CVs with spelling mistakes “just to narrow down the list”. It might be worth listening to some constructive criticism.

Mute feargalgarvin
    Favourite feargalgarvin
    Jun 20th 2012, 8:24 PM

Seminar

Mute Eamonn Casey
    Favourite Eamonn Casey
    Jun 20th 2012, 8:31 PM

Should be seminar. It would be right on my CV of course ;-)

Mute Stephen Matthews
    Favourite Stephen Matthews
    Jun 21st 2012, 12:36 AM

Hey Johnny Thunder – that’s a thundering disgrace the way you pontificate about spelling and then spell grammar as grammer! Ha Ha

Mute Johnny Thunder
    Favourite Johnny Thunder
    Jun 21st 2012, 7:05 PM

:-)nYep that was funny.nnNote to self… A little slower on the iphone keypad from now on !!!

Mute Seamie
    Favourite Seamie
    Jun 20th 2012, 6:44 PM

Hardly that impressive. To take a 2% pay cut in his first year.

Mute Jay funk
    Favourite Jay funk
    Jun 21st 2012, 12:12 AM

8.33% it’s quite simple maths

Mute Vincent
    Favourite Vincent
    Jun 22nd 2012, 2:24 PM

1 weeks wage 1.9% rounded up to two. Simple jay more like. First wage cheque . Not everyone gets paid monthly. Even an 8 % cut is nothing compared to the massive cuts people in work have taken and don’t get it back as he would. So hardly an impressive deal for any employer. Simple folk will think otherwise.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Jun 20th 2012, 8:36 PM

Ha ha ^^^^ :0

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Jun 21st 2012, 1:28 AM

If i had a business i would certainly look at this lad for some work. I am a nurse and like the sound of someone willing to put the hard yards in to get something done. I worked in customer service for years and after that did the years required to get a degree in nursing and now have a job where I can genuinely make peoples lives better, It doesnt pay shitloads – and i get to face clients who assault me sometimes ( not seriously most times)
    Fact is i get some satisfaction that the people i get to help are helped.
    Let this lad have a chance to do what he can, he sounds like a lad who would like to help others.
    I offer no easy solution to him – and that is the tragedy of our situation – we need lads like him.
    Dont give up though mate, we need people like you

Mute Johnny Thunder
    Favourite Johnny Thunder
    Jun 20th 2012, 10:22 PM

I interview >20 people a month, and you would be astounded at the punctuation, grammer and spelling mistakes on CVsnn(I am getting mysterious ‘n’ letters being dropped into my posts for some reason today, please excuse them if they pop up in this post)

Mute Maggie Bartnik
    Favourite Maggie Bartnik
    Jun 21st 2012, 11:55 AM

grammar*

Mute Stephen Downey
    Favourite Stephen Downey
    Jun 20th 2012, 6:47 PM

Slave labour I think it’s called.

Mute Conor White
    Favourite Conor White
    Jun 20th 2012, 9:47 PM

If he’s able to handle himself he should do a security course through fas, which is free if you are on the dole. Plenty of security jobs all over the country with good hours and decent pay.

Mute Bryan Bonny
    Favourite Bryan Bonny
    Jun 20th 2012, 10:28 PM

is paycheck spelt correctly ?

Mute Rebekah Mc Carthy
    Favourite Rebekah Mc Carthy
    Jun 21st 2012, 4:59 AM

All these negative comments are ridiculous. I bet, everyone of u that has, dissed this guy, would be the first to complain about young people coming out of school, going on the dole, and having no motivation. nThis guy is making the best of a bad situation, and you guys have the cheek, to dis him for it. nGet over yourselves. Give the lad a chance.

Mute Raul ( unverified )
    Favourite Raul ( unverified )
    Jun 21st 2012, 10:38 AM

Giving away the first paycheck to whoever finds you a job used to be customary among immigrants a while back . Pity to see this might become a national trend ( which is possible if he succeed ) as scammers won’t take long to cope on that .
    Best approach ( don’t stone me, is just an opinion ) would be to offer himself to work the first month for free so the would be employer will see how good he is .

Mute Graham Carrick
    Favourite Graham Carrick
    Jun 21st 2012, 1:13 AM

Hardly a major bit of innovation. A recruiter will take 10-30% of your first year salary so he’d be doing well with that. No degree equals very little hope of getting a job, particularly in multinationals here unfortunately so better get studying

Mute Matthew Gleeson
    Favourite Matthew Gleeson
    Jun 21st 2012, 9:25 AM

My advice- get a qualification. either go back and complete the LC, then apply to a Fás course or college. Alternatively consider going to the UK and studying there, take out a student loan (payable on completion of course and earning a certain wage level) and get to work. These ”Hire me and I’ll work for free” social media campaigns are great…. but at the end of the day an employer is not going to employ you on the basis of it. Jobless Paddy was a PR stunt from Paddy Power.

Mute Barry Basstard
    Favourite Barry Basstard
    Jun 21st 2012, 1:04 AM

Hmmmm…..