You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/RollingNews.ie

Man (20) in serious condition in hospital after being struck by car in Co Meath

The incident happened shortly after 9.30pm on the R147 Dublin Road at the junction with Circular Road in Navan.

A MAN IS in serious condition in hospital after being struck by a car in Co Meath last night. 

The incident happened shortly after 9.30pm on the R147 Dublin Road at the junction with Circular Road in Navan.

The pedestrian, a man aged 20, was treated at the scene and taken by ambulance to hospital.

He is currently receiving treatment at Beaumont Hospital where his condition is understood to be serious.

The driver of the car was unharmed.

A full examination of the scene is being carried out by Garda Forensic Collison Investigators and local diversions are currently in place.

Gardaí are appealing for witnesses to come forward.

Those with camera footage from the Dublin Road / Circular Road, Navan at the time of the collision, including dash-cam footage, are asked to make it available to investigating Gardaí.

Anyone with information is asked to contact Navan Garda Station on 046 9079930, the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111, or any garda Station.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

4 Comments
    Mute Joseph Lenihan
    Favourite Joseph Lenihan
    Jun 19th 2025, 5:44 PM

Leo is full of bright ideas since he left office. He had no enthusiasm when he had power. He let the Party down.

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:17 PM

@Louis Jacob: caste*

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:18 PM

@John Darker: correct

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:25 PM

@Louis Jacob: no shit Sherlock

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:27 PM

@John Darker: Ok John. Calm down a small bit.

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:33 PM

@Louis Jacob: lol, how’re ye Louis, you back to normal now after your meltdown about me calling you lad ?

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:55 PM

@Louis Jacob: Caste

Mute Dave McFitz
    Favourite Dave McFitz
    Jun 19th 2025, 8:40 PM

@Joseph Lenihan: thi s narci ss istic clo wn let the people of Ireland down

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Jun 19th 2025, 9:20 PM

@John Darker: It’s all in your head. The Journal doesn’t exist.

Mute Social Guy
    Favourite Social Guy
    Jun 19th 2025, 9:39 PM

@Joseph Lenihan: he let the country down. He was a typical FG member.

Mute Elliot Alderson
    Favourite Elliot Alderson
    Jun 19th 2025, 5:51 PM

This lad is all talk. Trying to regain some kudos by talking about a United Ireland, when he done everything to stop any chance of it while a Politician.

Mute Elliot Alderson
    Jun 19th 2025, 5:53 PM

@Elliot Alderson: The cost of doing the right thing should never be the issue.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:14 PM

@Elliot Alderson: Yes it should be.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Elliot Alderson
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:16 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: with respect leave me alone.. you would still be against it even if there was no cost.

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:17 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: if you were truly Irish, these words would never have been posted Paul

Mute Kev Kerr
    Favourite Kev Kerr
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:35 PM

@John Darker: nonsense. All sorts of “truly Irish” have differing opinions on the matter. United Irelanders don’t own the tri-colour

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:40 PM

@Kev Kerr: truly Irish would want their whole country back lad, it’s that simple

Mute Kev Kerr
    Favourite Kev Kerr
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:44 PM

@John Darker: no its not that simple, its pretty complex actually, lad

Mute Elliot Alderson
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:48 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Have you any issues with the 10 plus billions per year at present for Ukrainians ?

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:49 PM

@Kev Kerr: explain this complexity

Mute Elliot Alderson
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:56 PM

@Kev Kerr: I have no idea about your tricolour comment but it’s a simple answer for me anyways. I am 100% for the principle of a United Ireland and believe the solutions to this is what should be worked on, instead of people only focusing on issues as a means to stop any chance of it. I believe the framework is in the GFA and it can only be implemented if the majority of people on this Island agrees to it.
    Until that happens it’s all talk anyway.

Mute Kev Kerr
    Favourite Kev Kerr
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:58 PM

@John Darker: 25% unionist population, for starters. Roughly 50% are also pretty ambivalent about it. It needs broad consent and buy-in to work properly, and I’m pretty sure that’s not the case now, and unlikely to be for quite some time

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 19th 2025, 7:02 PM

@Elliot Alderson: We are discussing Irish unification, what Ukraine has to do with that is beyond me …..”10 plus billions a year” , you’re not very clever are you?

Mute Elliot Alderson
    Jun 19th 2025, 7:19 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: it’s you who said the cost of doing the right thing should be an issue in reply to my comment. who’s so clever now.
    Last time I saw it in article it was saying 8 billion, can’t remember if that was just for housing or all. If the saying it’s costing 8 billion you can be sure it’s much more than that.
    You’re all over this article. It’s obvious your against a United Ireland.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 19th 2025, 7:47 PM

@Elliot Alderson: You’ve been reading fairy tales. Link the thing you thought you read. Yes I am against it as it’s economic suicide and it will never work .

Mute P. J.
    Favourite P. J.
    Jun 19th 2025, 10:14 PM

@Elliot Alderson:
    “The cost of doing the right thing should never be an issue”
    In relation to NI that has to be the most naive statement I have ever seen on here.
    Sorry Elliot but the cost is going to be the deciding factor in any future vote.
    You have your diehard nationalists on one side at about 40 to 45% , diehard unionists at roughly the same percentage on the other but the fastest growing demographic now is the non affiliated, up to 20% .
    That is the group that will decide a referendum
    And cost, to them as individuals and how they believe it will affect their future will almost certainly be decisive.

Mute Patrick Kavanagh
    Favourite Patrick Kavanagh

He would also leak state secrets. As he did in the past.

Mute Dave McFitz
    Favourite Dave McFitz
    Jun 19th 2025, 8:47 PM

@Patrick Kavanagh: that’s not all he leaks, macron gave him one.

Mute Val O'Connell
    Favourite Val O'Connell
    Jun 20th 2025, 12:58 PM

@Patrick Kavanagh: “State Secrets” . LOL what State “secrets”?

You haven’t a clue

Wouldn’t the media and public be delighted that actual “State Secrets” were released by now ?

Mute Dave McFitz
    Favourite Dave McFitz
    Jun 22nd 2025, 3:06 AM

@Dave McFitz: would love to know what this devia nt was caught doing in USA, within 24 hours I’m going to lead my party in the next election to sianara fuc ke rs I’m offski,must be a real gem?

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:02 PM

Given his no doubt generous pensions from his political career, the prospect of the country forgoing two years of economic growth would be rather unlikely to impact Leo in any material way…

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:07 PM

@William Tallon: 2 years ? More like a generation and probably more

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:20 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Paul doesn’t like the idea of a single united Ireland on this Irish island…
    Don’t be like Paul, Paul isn’t Irish

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:08 PM

Is this the same Leo that once said there were no Fine Gael offices “overseas” when asked why they hadn’t got offices in Northern Ireland?
    He vehemently opposed a united Ireland while in office, thinking that it would be a win for Sinn Féin…
    A united Ireland isn’t about a win for Sinn Féin, it’s about a win for our whole country, getting it back after 800 years…

To take a phrase from “Brave heart” if we can’t get them out, we’ll breed them out, which is exactly what’s happening right now..
    A united Ireland in my lifetime would be a beautiful sight to see, prods welco, just leave that orange marching stuff behind

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Jun 19th 2025, 8:31 PM

@John Darker: well said

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Jun 20th 2025, 8:33 AM

@Henry Gavin: SF turncoats and Quisling.

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:47 PM

‘I’m still relevant, I really am!’
    Luckily he’ll never get near government again.

Mute Glen Kelly
    Favourite Glen Kelly
    Jun 19th 2025, 8:32 PM

O Leo Leo is back to save the day

Mute Dave McFitz
    Favourite Dave McFitz
    Jun 20th 2025, 9:11 AM

@Glen Kelly: or ban people recording him getting off with young lads in the George.

Mute Mike Courtney
    Favourite Mike Courtney

Just go away, Leo. No one cares what you think.

Mute Maire Hicks
    Favourite Maire Hicks
    Jun 19th 2025, 9:57 PM

I would love to see a united Ireland in my lifetime, hopefully a time will come for a reunification vote on both sides.

Mute Pauline Fedigan
    Favourite Pauline Fedigan
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:01 PM

Who is he again????

Mute John Dwyer
    Favourite John Dwyer
    Jun 19th 2025, 9:50 PM

Do us a favour go away and leave this country alone …..

Mute John O'Driscoll
    Favourite John O'Driscoll
    Jun 19th 2025, 7:38 PM

I would to also,to get our economy rectified for later growth.

Mute martin lawlor
    Favourite martin lawlor
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:05 PM

Most of the 6 counties are a from a Working Class background.Sure Leo detests the Working Class.He would come out with anything that lad, full of poo.

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Jun 19th 2025, 11:00 PM

The same lad would sacrifice the people that elected him for economic growth.

Mute Hunt Ley
    Favourite Hunt Ley
    Jun 19th 2025, 10:35 PM

Whst a load of bollix. This guy is a quintessential me feiner. The reason for his abrupt decision to quit has never been explained. He had such a chance to make a real difference, but he invested it in pride flags and drag queens. All he’s missing is a man bag and a miniature dog.

Mute Dave McFitz
    Favourite Dave McFitz
    Jun 20th 2025, 10:55 AM

@Hunt Ley: he has a miniature dog ,his husband mat ,turns a blind eye to Leo’s one night stand s.

Mute Helen O'Connor
    Favourite Helen O'Connor
    Jun 19th 2025, 5:52 PM

Yeah on his pension no issue

Mute Phuqaigh MacYu
    Favourite Phuqaigh MacYu

He’d sacrifice literally ANYTHING just to feather his own nest. Skumbag.

Mute Sean Reddin
    Favourite Sean Reddin
    Jun 19th 2025, 9:14 PM

So dislikable, arrogant and full of his own self importance!

Mute Johnny frankson
    Favourite Johnny frankson
    Jun 19th 2025, 11:52 PM

A snake of the highest order. Would **** on your shoes and tell you it’s raining.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 19th 2025, 5:48 PM

I think the majority might disagree. The economic cost would bring us back to the 80s , taxes would grow like then too. If anyone thinks Im way off look at the reunification of Germany and West Germany was a global economic powerhouse then…..the main employer in NI is Westminster.

Mute Patrick Kavanagh
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:01 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Leo doesn’t remember anything bad about the 80s he is a posh little boy who grew up with a silver spoon inserted.

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:13 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: you’re talking nonsense, the re unification of Germany turned them into an industrial powerhouse, now that’s being obliterated by their collective Russophobia and higher energy bills, I lived in Berlin circa 1994 – 2006, it was a massive time for Germany rebuilding the former East, new infrastructure equals new money being generated, both through full employment and new factories coming online

See 29 more replies ▾
    Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:24 PM

@John Darker: The point you’ve evidently missed is that West Germany had the ability to absorb 1-2 trillion in reunification costs over many years. We would require an apple tax windfall at a minimum annually just to keep the lights on in the north.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:25 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Polls prove you to be entirely wrong in your assumption about what the majority in the Republic want.

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:30 PM

@honey badger: the western German government absorbed nothing financially of the sort you claim, absolutely nothing, if a united Ireland was to come about, the resulting investments from outside of Ireland would dwarf the expenses incurred , stop talking bollocks

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:32 PM

@honey badger: yeah because nobody works in the north ,no one pays taxes ,
    Would you southern feckwits ever get over yourselves

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:36 PM

@sean weir: northern Ireland has a lot to offer the Republic, American companies would invest massively in it, the US has already stated this fact

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:37 PM
    Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:39 PM

@sean weir: You’re replying to something I didn’t say, Sean.
    A united Ireland would cost €20 billion every year for 20 years, says study
    Researchers suggest that there would be a “dramatic increase” in taxation, of around 25%, across the island.
    https://www.thejournal.ie/united-ireland-e20-billion-every-year-20-years-6344302-Apr2024/

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:44 PM

@honey badger: It’s been an amazing success story,” Hirte said. “German reunification … was a bargain.”

From your own link…ya clown… lol

Mute Elliot Alderson
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:45 PM

@honey badger: We spending 10 plus billion a year on Ukrainians alone at present. Do you have any issues with that ?

Mute Elliot Alderson
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:46 PM

@honey badger: Sorry that was meant to be in another comment, no clue what happened there.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:49 PM

@John Darker: I enjoy the way you ignore that you’ve just been shown yoir previous comment was nonsense, and then continue to keep missing the point because West Germany had the ability to fund 2 trillion over the years of reunification. Where is our 20 billion x 20 years coming from? ” ya clown”

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:51 PM

@Elliot Alderson: No problem. We aren’t spending 10 billion a year on Ukrianians, though. No clue where you got that from.

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:51 PM

@honey badger: If there hadn’t been this investment, tech companies like ours wouldn’t even think about setting up in a region like this,” Mueller told “Marketplace.” But now that the company is settled in a low-cost district in the East, he expects it to take off “like a rocket.”

The German government is determined to use the occasion of the 30th anniversary of the fall of the wall to trumpet the achievements of reunification. It admits the Eastern states still lag behind the West, with lower wages and higher unemployment, and that some of the $2 trillion of public money may have been wasted. 

But Christian Hirte, the government commissioner for the New Federal States, said Germany has pulled off a remarkable feat: absorbing and modernizing a huge, inefficient communist economy.

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:52 PM

@honey badger: it would come from foreign investors ye fcukwit

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:55 PM

@John Darker: John a few minutes ago:
    “the western German government absorbed nothing financially of the sort you claim, absolutely nothing”
    Please tell me where we get 20 billion x 20 years?

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:59 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: Polls prove nothing

Mute Elliot Alderson
    Jun 19th 2025, 7:01 PM

@honey badger: It’s more likely even more. Ukrainian family after moving into house next door, 2 bran new cars. I own my house, we have 1 10 year old car that herself mostly uses and I have a 17 year old motorbike.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 19th 2025, 7:05 PM

@Elliot Alderson: Of course they have . But it’s all about you.

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 7:05 PM

@honey badger: foreign investment honey… that’s where we get the money from

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 19th 2025, 7:06 PM

@honey badger: There’s no point they just don’t understand facts .

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger

@Elliot Alderson: On what basis are you saying it likely even more? Your initial claim is laughable. You sound surprised that Ukrainians had normal lives/ jobs before being forced to leave because of Putins’ invasion. This act of solidarity will forever be to Irelands credit. I drove a banger for years as well. Like you, I own my own house now.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 19th 2025, 7:08 PM

@honey badger: And the EU helped too

Mute Elliot Alderson
    Jun 19th 2025, 7:26 PM

@honey badger: If they saying 8 billion you can be sure it’s more than that. Now you saying Ukrainians are kind of more deserving.
    Do you not think the Irish had normal lives before we were colonised by the British ?
    You’ll probably make up some other load of bs now.. don’t bother your muted like Pom.

Mute Ulick
    Favourite Ulick
    Jun 19th 2025, 7:31 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: .. So I’m alright Jack, pull the ladder up?

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 19th 2025, 7:51 PM

@Ulick: No the problems we have get amplified causing more hardship. Im fine and will always be. Try and contribute to the debate and not try and just be a knobisticle

Mute Dave McFitz
    Favourite Dave McFitz
    Jun 19th 2025, 8:44 PM

@Patrick Kavanagh: i can guess where he stuck that silver spoon, the deviant.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jun 19th 2025, 8:57 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Your comparison to Germany is nonsensical in terms of costs. East Germany was an impoverished communist country.. bereft of infrastructure and industry. Its worthless currency and the associated costs of absorbing that were also a factor for the high price they paid. The North and South of this Island, their economies, infrastructure and industry are in no way comparable to Germany at the time of reunification.

Mute Pól Pot
    Favourite Pól Pot
    Jun 19th 2025, 9:56 PM

I’m bunking off class reading this right now. Im in the attic in my school under a blanket with a luck dragon.

Mute Patrick Kavanagh
    Jun 20th 2025, 11:04 AM

@John Darker: I lived in Frankfort between 93-94.
    The industrial I worked in electrical engineering. Boomed past unification.
    But once the bills came in we and other companies lost a lot of money due to the east not paying up. It took years and a lot of cash to drag the east to a similar standard of west Germany.

Also my wife worker for neckerman (like Argus” they experienced redundancies in 93-4. People in the east brought on the credit and didn’t pay it back.

As for Russia i think we need to frightened of these lunatics.

Poisoning people in the UK with chemical warfare.
    Supporting Syria and it’s dictator.
    Locking up opposition and Murdering them.
    Invading a independent nation.
    Raping women.
    Killing anyone who stands in there way.
    Kidnapping young children and babies.

Mute ron don
    Favourite ron don
    Jun 19th 2025, 11:52 PM

W

Mute ron don
    Favourite ron don
    Jun 19th 2025, 11:53 PM

A

Mute ron don
    Favourite ron don

N

Mute ron don
    Favourite ron don

K

Mute ron don
    Favourite ron don

E

Mute ron don
    Favourite ron don

R

Mute Tom Mahon
    Favourite Tom Mahon
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:00 PM

United Ireland, no thanks, we’re grand.

Mute Del Ray
    Favourite Del Ray
    Jun 19th 2025, 8:29 PM

@Tom Mahon: Agreed, it would be a disunited Ireland at best – a kind of Brexit on steroids. And at worst…well let’s not go there.

Mute Des Daly
    Favourite Des Daly
    Jun 19th 2025, 9:48 PM

@Tom Mahon: only off the wall people want a United ireland. The border of the north is our only escape from the corporate dystopia of the Republic of Ireland

Mute peat lander
    Favourite peat lander
    Jun 19th 2025, 9:48 PM

Surely his opinion is of no consequence. He was entrusted with high office but achieved nothing.

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Jun 20th 2025, 8:54 AM

Leo the liar sacrificed Ireland to Davos

Mute Dave Connolly
    Favourite Dave Connolly
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:06 PM

Not a hope. No. Never. Not importing that pile of problem. No thanks.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jun 20th 2025, 12:06 AM

@Dave Connolly: You’ll have one vote just like the rest of us.

Mute ProtectKyiv
    Favourite ProtectKyiv
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:03 PM

It’s our duty to end the nonsense of colonial days, and recognise that nationalism is toxic too, but the freedom of Ireland’s residents to determine their future, by debate, citizens assemblies and accountable government is the greatest social achievement.

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:06 PM

@ProtectKyiv: Very monty python

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Jun 19th 2025, 10:14 PM

@ProtectKyiv: what nationalists think their ideology is toxic? Reading the comments here, if you propose that view then you are a west Brit , are heartless and not truly Irish. This is the bs that nationalists will throw at you. Nationalism is over. Unless you look at strongly nationalist states such as Russia, US, Israel. Bastions of progress. So convinced of the righteousness of their nations that they want to absorb others into them (whether they like it or not). F…k nationalism. Let NI become an independent state. Get rid of nationalists and loyalists alike.

Mute ProtectKyiv
    Favourite ProtectKyiv

@Alan: Nationalism is populist poison…I want to vote for a society of progress in the most unloved science of all…people politics – including migrants from wherever who integrate {no nations within} enjoying, under law above all other, the rights and freedoms to live full lives, contribute positively to society, and bring the axe down resolutely on liars, tech-oligarchs, conmen Presidents (USA’s goof)…and willing to protect this place with military service if it’s attacked. (No conscription – but military service yes)

Mute DC
    Favourite DC

Deport all the Puskas immediately, evict them. from the mansion

Mute Ailbhe MacThomais
    Favourite Ailbhe MacThomais
    Jun 20th 2025, 9:40 AM

Bent over backwards for Europe and mass migration in government. Same person slagging people if they don’t get up early and annoyed shift workers across Ireland or social welfare to welch on neighbours and friends scams whilst being one of the biggest cheerleaders allowing scamigrants from Ukraine and other locations were encouraged to come into Ireland. He also stated in the past interviews he wanted a Federal European government on charge and never too Interested in Irish unity like all FG brigade are still west brits.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jun 19th 2025, 5:48 PM

Typical Varadkar screwing over his own countrymen/women to benefit others.

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:15 PM

@Ger Whelan: explain your comment on who’s getting screwed Ger

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jun 19th 2025, 7:08 PM

@John Darker: read the headline, read my comment, then have a little think about it. Its not hard to understand

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jun 20th 2025, 12:02 AM

@Ger Whelan: Take it down from the mast Ger! Uniting our country is in no way screwing over our countrymen. You’d have spat on the men of 1916.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jun 20th 2025, 2:08 AM

@Anthony Curran: there is no united Ireland. There is 1 island 2 countries. That’s the reality and long may it stay that way.

Mute Helen O'Connor
    Favourite Helen O'Connor
    Jun 19th 2025, 5:51 PM

Yeah

Mute Charly McTune
    Favourite Charly McTune
    Jun 19th 2025, 11:43 PM

Why is Leo Varadkar?

Mute Lance Taylor
    Favourite Lance Taylor
    Jun 19th 2025, 5:59 PM

His thoughts are not welcome, he was a disaster for Ireland.

Mute VMJ7Fa78
    Favourite VMJ7Fa78
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:21 PM

@VMJ7Fa78: And your constant trolling in fake names on every article isn’t welcome either. BUSTER

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Jun 19th 2025, 7:25 PM

If we could take the land of Northern Ireland without the people it would be a good idea. The fact half of them are loyalists and the other half are Neo Marxists makes me never ever want anything to do with that failed state.

Mute Mary.E.
    Favourite Mary.E.
    Jun 19th 2025, 9:05 PM

@Joe Willis:
    So you want to do a Putin on them.!!
    Take the land,and to heck with the inhabitants.
    Most people up Nth.are happy, and would never agree to a takeover.,Most people in the Republic feel likewise.

Mute Social Guy
    Favourite Social Guy
    Jun 19th 2025, 9:44 PM

@Mary.E.: with regard to taking the land: look up the meaning of irony.

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Jun 19th 2025, 8:14 PM

Alright for you Leo on your guaranteed pension of 137k a year, and he’s not even close to 50, so you wouldn’t have to worry too much about an economic downturn. Also as the last week has shown us in NI, I wouldn’t be in any great hurry to be uniting with that lot!!

Mute Be Lucky
    Favourite Be Lucky
    Jun 19th 2025, 5:57 PM

It’s to late for a united ireland maybe in the 60s or 70s when uk was giving countries back we should of push for it or push the EU not to give membership to uk until they return the NI to Ireland.

But now all people of NI have formed their own identity, culture and way life which is very different than the rest of Ireland including England.

Should be granted dual ownership between Ireland and England.

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:15 PM

@Be Lucky: LMFAO, get in the bin, why should we share our country with the English?

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:37 PM

@Be Lucky: so are we not Irish enough for you ,I swear that the amount of west Brits in the 26 counties is growing .
    You would think people in the north were from another planet.

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:53 PM

@sean weir: the place is rancid with West Brits, who vote with their pockets instead of their hearts

Mute D Farrell
    Favourite D Farrell
    Jun 19th 2025, 8:46 PM

It is a difficult call, Shinners think it’s sunshine & rainbows if Britain withdrew. But 20 years+ of South-to-North subsidy is likely.

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Jun 20th 2025, 12:13 AM

@D Farrell: Mind the time some Irish men and women gave their actual lives for Ireland so people like you could live in a free, democratic Ireland? Imagine their faces if they’d been told 110 years ago that future generations wouldn’t want to attain a United Ireland cos they might have to pay a little more tax!! For what died the sons of Róisin, was it greed?!!

Mute Elliot Alderson
    Jun 20th 2025, 12:29 AM

@D Farrell: Leo is a ‘Shinner’.. I wonder if he was at Fairview Park today with thousands of other ‘Shinners’ !

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Jun 19th 2025, 8:57 PM

keep the 6 counties

Mute SOCOMJON
    Favourite SOCOMJON
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:10 PM

And I’d love to buy the world a coke?!

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:23 PM

I’m sorry but you need to be serious Nord noranda is a black hole when it comes to what it generates in taxes how do you plant fix that within two years and also certain communities in Northern Ireland a police by themselves you just have to see the range shootings that happen if you don’t pay a bill or something how would would you propose that this be dealt with cause it currently isn’t being dealt with happen

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:31 PM

@John R: Untrue actually, it’s been proven that the the north would contribute over 35 billion in 8 years but what would economists know against such experts as you and no research

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:39 PM

@John R: Your comment reads like a 7 year old wrote it !

Mute Paul O'Mahoney
    Favourite Paul O'Mahoney
    Jun 19th 2025, 6:58 PM

@Brian D’Arcy: And cost 160bn, how would NI contribute 35bn ? Its industry is tourism essentially, with a few companies making armaments for UK and others.

Mute John Darker
    Favourite John Darker
    Jun 19th 2025, 7:07 PM

@Paul O’Mahoney: Tell me where you’re getting this 160 billion bill from,
    You must have a breakdown for such a claim…. surely ye must, wouldn’t want us believing you’re a liar now, would you?

Mute John Farrant
    Favourite John Farrant
    Jun 20th 2025, 1:41 PM

Yesterday’s man, who cares.

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Jun 20th 2025, 7:38 AM

He would sacrifice economic growth for a United Ireland?. He may as well state the obvious as a United Ireland would bankrupt the Republic. This tool is no longer in government but is intend on supporting his FG party in the destruction of our state.

Mute Sinead Cosgrave
    Favourite Sinead Cosgrave
    Jun 20th 2025, 3:07 PM

Really because whe he was leader of the country he didn’t give a minutes though to a united Ireland. Nobody cares what he thinks now !!!

Mute Dave McFitz
    Favourite Dave McFitz
    Jun 21st 2025, 5:24 PM

@Sinead Cosgrave: this repr obate admitted that he was narci ssistic, he is one class act.he is on camera picking a major bogey out of his nasel passage while entering an event in Brussels and then immediately shaking hands with our Eu overlords, wouldn’t take a handshake of that can drinking kna ckered.

Mute Dave McFitz
    Favourite Dave McFitz
    Jun 21st 2025, 10:47 PM

@Dave McFitz: can drinking cream Kracker.(sorry guys I’m struggling at the moment with big brother, 1984 or what?)

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Jun 20th 2025, 8:26 AM

So how will RoI finance administrative integration, social equalisation, security, civil and defence, a national health service, education reforms, etc,etc., if our economy shrinks?
    The former Taoiseach and ex TD, should resume his medical profession, and let the new generation deal with unity issues.

Mute Dave McFitz
    Favourite Dave McFitz
    Jun 20th 2025, 9:17 AM

@William Kelly: forget going back to medical profession, Duffys circus is looking for clowns,

Mute A.D. Benzion
    Favourite A.D. Benzion
    Jun 20th 2025, 12:57 PM

I would not

Mute Val O'Connell
    Favourite Val O'Connell
    Jun 20th 2025, 12:55 PM

He can go and and swing – Most people in the 26th want as little to do with either nordie group as possible. Most have never spent a day up there

Anyway, so long as Unionists are a majority it is irrelevant. They are not for turning