You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Rory McIlroy. Alamy Stock Photo

Rory McIlroy snaps driver then hits remarkable recovery shot at BMW Championship

Northern Irishman finished in tie for 11th at BMW Championship, with Shane Lowry tied for 13th.

RORY McILROY HAD another eventful round at the BMW Championship at Castle Pines, where he shot a 71 to leave himself on six under overall, in a tie for 11th – and six strokes behind winner Keegan Bradley. 

The Northern Irishman had to play without a driver for the second half of his round after accidentally snapping the club in two while leaning on it bending down to put in his tee in the ground at the ninth hole. He was not allowed to replace it under PGA rules.

The world No 3 then hit a wayward shot with his ball coming to rest on a bank just above the water. 

So for his second shot, McIlroy took off his shoes and socks and balanced one foot on a rock and one in the water. Yet he managed to hit his approach shot into the green and save par.

McIlroy had bogies today on holes 1, 7, 10 and 13 but birdies on 6, 11, 14, 16 and 17 helped him to a one-under par 71.

His scoring was consistent over the championship, with 70s on Thursday and Saturdays and 71s on Friday and Sunday.

Shane Lowry also carded a 71 today to finish just one shot behind McIlroy on five-under. The Offaly man ended up in a tie for 13th. 

Both McIlroy and Lowry are among the top 30 in the FedExCup standings after the BMW Championship and qualify for the Tour Championship at East Lake next week, and maintain their hopes of a FedExCup title.  

You can see the final leaderboard here.

Written by The 42 and originally published on The 42 whose award-winning team produces original content that you won’t find anywhere else: on GAA, League of Ireland, women’s sport and boxing, as well as our game-changing rugby coverage, all with an Irish eye. Subscribe here.

View comments
Comments
    Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Jun 29th 2024, 6:47 PM

Pride isn’t for me anymore (too commercial and too much focus on identity nonsense) but I hope everyone has a safe day and night.

Mute Charlie Crown
    Favourite Charlie Crown
    Jun 30th 2024, 11:30 AM

@John D Doe: …grooming gangs like political parties up and down the country for political gain only, nothing more

Mute RBYOUDWN
    Favourite RBYOUDWN
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:21 PM

I am a gay man. These pride people do not represent me or speak for me. They destroy the streets and preach hatred.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:53 PM

@RBYOUDWN: Why the need to hide behind a fake name?

Mute Steve O'Hara-Smith
    Favourite Steve O'Hara-Smith
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:57 PM

@RBYOUDWN: It is very sad if it has become that way. I remember the beginnings of it and that was certainly not the apparent intention or mood of the early days.
    It was something to be proud of as far as I could see from the outside looking in and trying to be supportive.

Mute RBYOUDWN
    Favourite RBYOUDWN
    Jun 29th 2024, 11:33 PM

@Steve O’Hara-Smith: yes it has gone a horrible direction. They have nothing but hate for anyone who is not part of their agenda or for anyone who doesn’t agree with their views

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jun 30th 2024, 12:41 AM

@RBYOUDWN: I don’t know if you are really a gay man or someone who pretends to be, so I entered your username, with quotes, in Bing “RBYOUDWN” and it leads me to someone with the same username selling xxx videos of himself.

I’m not criticising you doing that, you’re an adult, and you’re allowed to live your life as you like. But it does strike me as hypocritical that someone, who lives a life you do, is so strongly critical of the movement that gave you civil and constitutional rights you enjoy, that allows you to life the lifestyle you do. It was not all that long ago you could have been arrested, but the gay right movement, or gay pride parades are part, changed that.

Also, gay people who are critical of gay pride parades criticise it for over commercialisation, gay washing (politicians turning up and pretending to support gay rights once a year), the focus on heteronormative lifestyle e.g. equal right to marriage does not suit all gay people and gay pride does not talk for all gay people, there’s a lot of individuality.

But have never seen any gay person criticise pride in the way you did before, “destroy the streets and preach hatred.” What hatred?

That said, it is possible you’re not the same person or gay, you just found someone else’s username on a website you accidentally wandered into, like a married conservative politician who had accidental gay sex with another man while he was looking for his lost contact lens.

https://youtu.be/FafVtHWn4X8?t=5

Mute JoeJoe Kilbride
    Favourite JoeJoe Kilbride
    Jun 30th 2024, 3:11 AM

@RBYOUDWN: what hatred is preached?

Mute ecrowley ecrowley
    Favourite ecrowley ecrowley
    Jun 29th 2024, 8:15 PM

I see on a sign, “All spaces should be safe spaces”. What do women think about trans women using their bathrooms. Genuinely asking… Usually it’s male gobsheens on either extreme who spout the loudest but I’m curious to hear opinions from those who it affects.

Mute Trevor Donoghue
    Favourite Trevor Donoghue
    Jun 29th 2024, 8:36 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: “What do women think about trans women using their bathrooms. Genuinely asking”? Same as trans men using the urinal beside me i guess? Couldn’t care less.

Mute ecrowley ecrowley
    Jun 29th 2024, 8:40 PM

@Trevor Donoghue: Glad you couldn’t care less cos I asked for a female perspective. And as I said, a male gobsheen had to pipe up.

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Jun 29th 2024, 9:57 PM

@Trevor Donoghue: it’s very unlikely transmen would be using the urinal…

Mute Kieran Menon
    Favourite Kieran Menon
    Jun 29th 2024, 11:09 PM

@Sean Ryan: not unless they use the Shewee!

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Jun 29th 2024, 11:52 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: I’m not bothered at all if trans people continue to use the toilets according to how they’re dressed. We all go in there to go and then go about our own business. I don’t waste time spying on people in other cubicles!

Mute ecrowley ecrowley
    Jun 30th 2024, 7:35 AM

@F Fitzgerald: Thanks for your response. For some reason I don’t hear too many voices on the issue and was hoping to find out the general thinking.

Mute Charlie Crown
    Favourite Charlie Crown
    Jun 30th 2024, 11:44 AM

@F Fitzgerald: …you might not mind, fair enough, but unfortunately there are others that don’t think like that, take advantage, and use it as an opportunity to perv out. So watch out for any smartphones left on cubicle floors, just for your own sake

Mute Charlie Crown
    Favourite Charlie Crown
    Jun 30th 2024, 11:46 AM

@ecrowley ecrowley:

Mute Alan Kennedy
    Favourite Alan Kennedy
    Jun 30th 2024, 12:51 PM

@ecrowley ecrowley: I don’t mind them at all! If you have to go, you have to go!

Mute Kush OMeara
    Favourite Kush OMeara
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:35 PM

I would have literally paid for the Islamist Gaza folks and this lot meeting halfway of their marches. Would have been some craic.

Mute peter kellegher
    Favourite peter kellegher
    Jun 30th 2024, 12:45 AM

@Kush OMeara:
    I thought it was outrageous to see a pro gaza/hamas element in the Gay parade. I mean honestly if those same people found themselves over in Gaza they would all be either shot or thrown of some building.

Mute Paul O+Brien
    Favourite Paul O+Brien
    Jun 29th 2024, 9:38 PM

A load of baloney!!!

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:07 PM

Happy pride all!

Mute Blue Moon
    Favourite Blue Moon
    Jun 30th 2024, 2:52 AM

Fine… They had their day and march… Let that be an end to it ! But NO…. They’ll keep feckin going for the next month…

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Jun 30th 2024, 1:56 AM

Imagine waving a flag representing Palestine during pride day while they actively hunt, persecute and unalive LGBT community.
    No shame.

Mute Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Favourite Gearoid MacEachaidh
    Jun 30th 2024, 2:57 AM

@Alex: Palestinians do? Wanna provide some proof of that? My Palestine and other Muslim friends who have zero issue with my sexuality will be interested to know they’re doing it wrong

Mute Nick Vasilakis
    Favourite Nick Vasilakis
    Jun 30th 2024, 10:12 AM

@Alex: “unalive”? You mean rape, murder, dismember, and defile?

Mute n3rd worldorder
    Favourite n3rd worldorder
    Jun 30th 2024, 11:30 AM

@Gearoid MacEachaidh: Some anecdotal evidence about what a bunch of your mates think cannot be generalised. Do five minutes research and see what the majority Muslim opinion is on any progressive topic. I don’t know if you’re just uniformed or willfully blind?

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Jun 30th 2024, 12:03 PM

@Gearoid MacEachaidh: Your Palestine? You obviously have NEVER been to Palestine. I visited West Bank and Gaza from 2016 to 2019 when staying in Gaza in December 2018 there was a public execution of a gay man. All Gazans supported it and still do, same in the West Bank. That’s why I met many Palestinian gay in TLV where it’s actually safe for them.

Mute Lewis Armstrong
    Favourite Lewis Armstrong
    Jun 29th 2024, 10:02 PM

I supported LGBTQ until I watched that video of Stephen Donnelly and James Geoghan dancing. Now I’m going off to join Putin’s army.

Mute Niall Murphy
    Favourite Niall Murphy
    Jun 30th 2024, 9:08 AM

Over politicised at this stage unfortunately.

(& please keep men out of female toilets.)

Mute Rhaeh L
    Favourite Rhaeh L
    Jun 29th 2024, 8:06 PM

Great Day. Great people. I really liked the photo of HSE Staff at Pride today. It featured in this article earlier. Not sure why it was removed. Happy Pride Everyone

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Jun 30th 2024, 1:58 AM

Over the top displays of sexuality it’s out there now your free to do what want but cap a little

Mute Kieran Menon
    Favourite Kieran Menon
    Jun 29th 2024, 11:11 PM

Better buy them Pride month merch before companies throw their merch out into the bins after their faux solidarity!

Mute Charlie Crown
    Favourite Charlie Crown
    Jun 30th 2024, 11:25 AM

How about opening up the comments section to ALL Journal news articles, and why this one over more important and relevant ones, like the recent ‘affordable’ housing controversy, for example. It would appear, to me anyway, that any critical comments, rightly aimed towards the dealings of our current government in particular, is being censored mercilessly, and appears to be a no go area in Irish media, full stop. God forbid the public have any voice these days, even on a second-rate journalistic platform such as The Journal

Mute IMHO
    Favourite IMHO
    Jun 29th 2024, 7:18 PM

Likely they already know the words for ‘Don’t Rain on my Parade ‘.

Mute A BenZion
    Favourite A BenZion
    Jun 29th 2024, 9:34 PM

G-d the