You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA

Planning watchdog warns of negative impacts of numerous developments in south Dublin on M50 and Luas line

The OPR has criticised a new draft development plan by Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council.

MULTIPLE DEVELOPMENTS IN a concentrated area of south Dublin could have adverse effects on the M50 and Luas in the area, according to the State’s planning watchdog.

The Office of the Planning Regulator (OPR) has criticised a new draft county development plan prepared by Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council.

The document states it will continue to facilitate the development of extensive lands in Ballyogan, Carrickmines, Kiltiernan, Glenamuck and Cherrywood.

But it warned such development is likely to have a negative impact on strategic traffic infrastructure such as the M50, its junctions at Sandyford and Carrickmines and the Luas green line.

Transport Infrastructure Ireland had also raised concerns about the level of traffic likely to be generated from future developments in those areas because of its need to safeguard the M50’s capacity for strategic trips of high economic value.

TII said capacity issues already evident at the two junctions could be exacerbated by relatively minor increases in traffic volumes which could lead to significant congestion on the M50 as well as the surrounding road network.

The OPR said the council had not addressed the issue of the need to upgrade the M50 and Luas green line in preparing the draft plan or made any detailed assessment of traffic levels likely to be generated by such development.

The regulator also criticised what it claims are plans by the council to rezone excessive amounts of land for housing.

The OPR said the population and housing supply targets being set by the council exceed the amount necessary to facilitate growth over the lifetime of the plan which will run up to 2028.

The regulator has predicted that, if unchanged, the plan would rezone lands for more than 6,800 homes above the 15,000 it estimated are needed.

The OPR regulator said the draft plan would potentially undermine national and regional policy objectives for compact growth.

The council has been issued with a total of nine recommendations by the OPR which signal issues where the regulator believes it is in clear breach of either Government policy or the national or regional policy framework.

They cover areas such as a tiered approach to zoning, sustainable transport and compact growth.

While the OPR said lands zoned for residential development were generally well located, it expressed concern that there was still excessive zoning around Rathmichael which it described as “an unserviced area characterised by very low density suburban style housing on large sites with onsite septic tanks.”

The regulator said such rezoning “would appear to continue a pattern of sprawl on the periphery.”

Further extensive residential zoning at Old Connaught west of the N11 on the Wicklow border was also criticised given the area suffers from major infrastructural deficits which are unlikely to be significantly improved by 2028, according to the OPR

The regulator has directed the council to omit an objective of the draft plan which aims to prevent any increase in residential development in areas along the DART line corridor in Dalkey and Killiney.

The OPR said such an objective on lands which were located along a high capacity public transport corridor in Dublin was contrary to government policy.

OPR deputy regulator, Anne Marie O’Connor, said the objective placed “an unnecessary restriction on sustainable development.”

Ms O’Connor also questioned proposals by the council to zone lands identified as at risk from flooding in Rathmichael, Old Connaught, and Carrickmines as well as parts of Deansgrange and Shanganagh for vulnerable uses.

Under legislation, the council’s chief executive is obliged to provide an explanation to the OPR if it does not accept the regulator’s recommendations.

The OPR can make recommendations to the Minister of State for Planning and Local Government, Peter Burke, to direct the local authority to make changes to its development plans.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

56 Comments
    Mute Tony Byrne
    Favourite Tony Byrne
    Apr 23rd 2021, 1:55 PM

This comes the day after An Bord Pleanála has granted permission for a 22-storey apartment block at Carrickmines. A total of 482 new apartments. Irelands tallest building, slap bang in the middle of the suburbs! Meanwhile similar high-rise proposals are not allowed in the city centre and docklands!

Mute David Bourke
    Favourite David Bourke
    Apr 23rd 2021, 2:01 PM

@Tony Byrne:

“What do we want?”
    “Housing!”
    “Where do we want it?”
    “Not in my back yard!”

22 stories in the subbarbs is nothing to cry over, are you worried it will ruin the view of all the semi-detached houses?

Mute John Quinn
    Favourite John Quinn
    Apr 23rd 2021, 2:11 PM

@Tony Byrne: yes it’s a joke there should be high rise in the docks. Look at other cities around Europe. They don’t want to ruin the look of Liberty hall

Mute Mr Snrub
    Favourite Mr Snrub
    Apr 23rd 2021, 3:00 PM

@David Bourke: It’s something to severely question when we can’t build this type of housing in the city but no problems 10km outside where there is already huge pressure on transport links to get into the city….just build the apartments there in the first place. Better still, build high rise office/hotel/apartments and return the Georgian houses to living accommodation. Make it easier for people to live in towns and cities rather than force every to rural and suburban settings only to commute back in for work

Mute Bill Bob
    Favourite Bill Bob
    Apr 23rd 2021, 3:25 PM

@Tony Byrne: Well it was designed high density due to the proximity of the luas. And no your wrong in saying that it’s the tallest (it’s not) and high rise actually is allowed in city center .. DCC just need a whole new bunch of planners so they don’t oppose everything

Mute Tim Quigley
    Favourite Tim Quigley
    Apr 23rd 2021, 4:49 PM

@David Bourke: Eoin O’Broin wii put a stop on it. He has form.

Mute Irene Mc Hugh
    Favourite Irene Mc Hugh
    Apr 23rd 2021, 6:06 PM

@Tony Byrne: in the past few years the huge developments granted permission in Ballyogan ,Leopardstown and Carrickmiines just beggar belief !! Residents living in The Gallops Leopardstown are waiting up to 25 minutes to get out of the estate in the morning …With thousands of new apartments coming on stream things are going to get worse ……One Luas line is unable to cope already ……. What kind of brain dead county planners are employed in Dunlaoire /Rathdown ?

Mute lilolil
    Favourite lilolil
    Apr 23rd 2021, 8:01 PM

@Irene Mc Hugh: same happening in Firhouse and currently in Knocklyon waiting those times just to get out of the estate in the mornings and without proper “continuous” bus lanes the buses are sitting in this traffic as well … no forward planning for transport infrastructure.

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Apr 23rd 2021, 10:48 PM

@lilolil: the area Irene is talking about doesn’t even have bus lanes, for its hourly bus

Sos
    Mute Sos
    Favourite Sos
    Apr 23rd 2021, 2:11 PM

I know I’ll get slack for this comment but we need to move away from expecting to be able to drive everywhere. We have to focus on building a quality public transport system that means cars are no longer a necessity. The new cycle lanes in DL coupled with the dart mean a large portion of the population could live car free and just rent one when necessary. It will mean that those who have to drive are not stuck in traffic for hours. It is bonkers that it is cheaper for me to drive to the city and park than get public transport in.

Mute Phil O' Meara
    Favourite Phil O' Meara
    Apr 23rd 2021, 2:29 PM

@Sos: I don’t disagree but we also need to stop devopers being allowed to build apartment blocks without ample parking because of a theoretical big move towards public transport.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Apr 23rd 2021, 2:55 PM

@Sos: I agree, people shouldn’t need to drive in a city. They’re asking for the LUAS & public transport to be greatly improved first, for that very reason. If not, people will have to run cars.
    (I don’t think much of notions that people on the 15th storey will buy electric cars. Where are they going to charge them?)

Mute artur fil
    Favourite artur fil
    Apr 23rd 2021, 3:11 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald: Underground parking with charging stations or 50 meters extension from your balcony :) :)

Mute Tomo
    Favourite Tomo
    Apr 23rd 2021, 3:27 PM

@Sos: Irish people have the mindset that public transport is for young people, OAP’s and students. It is the norm, of course, in cities all over Europe for most people to use public transport regardless of their income or status in society.

However, trying to get the NTA to put on a new bus route or trying to get them to increase capacity is a larger challenge than inventing a time machine. They conduct feasibility studies (which are swung whichever way they want) and deem the current capacity acceptable based on current usage trends which is just so wrong.

I’ve seen little towns on the continent with tram systems. I’ve seen plots of undeveloped land with bus routes and bus stops prepared for them when they are developed. Here, it is hard enough to get any sort of public transport

Mute Jakim Berndsen
    Favourite Jakim Berndsen
    Apr 23rd 2021, 4:22 PM

@Sos: you’re completely right. We need to rid ourselves of the idea that cars are necessary. But, proposals are for large apartment complexes in cherrywood. The Luas is already packed, buses on the N11 packed, no walkable amenities, and even as somebody who enjoys cycling I don’t fancy 15km into the city every day. If we want to rid ourselves of car dependence we need to build high density housing in the places where things are walkable (i.e. the city) rather than plonking them in the suburbs.

The current proposals are lunacy, and as little as anybody wants to sit in traffic for an hour each morning, we’re not exactly giving them much choice.

Mute Drunk in Dublin
    Favourite Drunk in Dublin
    Apr 24th 2021, 4:51 AM

@Tomo: it’s extremely unfortunate that the people in charge of Dublin City planning have absolutely no idea what they are doing. There is no forward thinking, there is no logic, only dollar signs.

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Apr 23rd 2021, 1:48 PM

What a mess of a city. Can’t wait to get out of here once I graduate.

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Apr 23rd 2021, 2:05 PM

@Mark: lol, i feel like i have to defend da pale here and im a Culchie , ring a ring a rosie, da rare owl times, i remember da m50, in da rare owl times

Mute Tomo
    Favourite Tomo
    Apr 23rd 2021, 3:03 PM

@Mark: Same here. Actually when I finish my bachelors, I will continue a masters in another EU state where tuition fees aren’t through the roof. We can’t get any sort of infrastructure built it seems (and yet we’re supposed to be one of the richest countries???). This results in having to spend 5 hours a day on the M50 in traffic. Plus, this government is diametrically opposed to what the people of Ireland voted for or want.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Apr 23rd 2021, 3:36 PM

@Tomo: well I take it you haven’t traveled or paid attention to other countries. You can never please people. Fees here are very cheap compared to many many other places. Try have a disability in Spain and see how much aid they give compared to here. Fine if it is just ignorance but if you aren’t paying attention to other countries then it is wilful ignorance

Mute This time its personable!
    Favourite This time its personable!
    Apr 23rd 2021, 3:44 PM

@Tomo: you might not remember the M50 before they extended the lanes, it’s not great now but dread to think what it would be like if they didn’t!

Mute Tomo
    Favourite Tomo
    Apr 23rd 2021, 4:36 PM

@Craic_a_tower: I don’t have a disability. Like I just said, as a struggling student, I want to be able to get an education without having to remortgage the house and I’d like to be able to get healthcare without having to pay an arm and a leg for health insurance. I think a society that values people prioritises things like healthcare, public transport, education, etc. and not a race to the bottom for corporations worth hundreds of billions. Interesting how you jump straight to Spain. Have a look at Germany, the Netherlands or Sweden. We have the highest tuition fees in the European Union.

Mute Tomo
    Favourite Tomo
    Apr 23rd 2021, 4:43 PM

@Tomo: race to the bottom for corporation tax*

Funny. Whenever I suggest improving society or public services here in Ireland, I am attacked. I love this country, it has great potential to prosper and that’s what I’d love to see. Every country has problems, and people who want to see the best out of their country openly criticise its faults and don’t claim it to be the best.

Mute Drunk in Dublin
    Apr 24th 2021, 4:56 AM

@Tomo: just think how amazing Ireland would be if the cannabis plant were legal. All of the police resources could be used for actual policing, new revenue streams could be built on the taxes collected, innovative city improvements… just think of the tourism! ah sure but you’d need to have leaders who cared about their people for that now wouldn’t ye

Mute Tomo
    Favourite Tomo
    Apr 24th 2021, 12:08 PM

@Drunk in Dublin: very off topic but I agree.

Depending on the taxes, it would create 2-400 million in taxes.

It would mean Garda resources could go to fighting actual real crime. 70+% of court time is spent for minor drug possessions.

It would also create thousands of new jobs, improving consumption in the economy and collecting more tax for the government. Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil are just really really dumb when it comes to economics.

Mute Diar O Doc
    Favourite Diar O Doc
    Apr 23rd 2021, 2:25 PM

The solution isn’t to build less houses, its to build more infrastructure! The city needs transformative leadership but unfortunately our public sector is full of short sighted administrators who want so do whatever is handiest for them.

MS
    Mute MS
    Favourite MS
    Apr 23rd 2021, 2:59 PM

There is very little thought on the planning process in Ireland apart how much money can be made. For example, the new town in Cherrywood is being built on the premise that it is on the green line with direct access across the whole city. In theory a good plan but reality is the green line capacity was bursting at the seams pre-Covid. Add a few more thousand house on this commute and how does this work? Dublin is most profitable location and easiest place for the big boy developers to influence decisions which is why it’s the centre of all plans. The areas surrounding Shannon airport for example would be an excellent location to establish a 2nd business hub in Ireland. Not that UK is always a great example, but there is a shift there from London to Leeds to establish a 2nd financial hub.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Apr 23rd 2021, 3:40 PM

@MS: reality is there is also a lot of jobs in cherrywood and the idea people can live and work there and it easy for them to travel around not as commuters at rush hour. I was offered a job in Cherrywood and the commute to get there was too long for me

Mute Baile na Rí
    Favourite Baile na Rí
    Apr 23rd 2021, 1:51 PM

DLRCOCO are the worst. They ignore the elected councillors and run the council like a dictatorship.

Mute ChronicAnxiety
    Favourite ChronicAnxiety
    Apr 23rd 2021, 4:32 PM

@Baile na Rí: The dictatorship wants to build a white water rafting folly in Docklands- careful what you wish for.

Mute OpenMinded
    Favourite OpenMinded
    Apr 23rd 2021, 5:01 PM

@ChronicAnxiety: different Coco. And they would be better off developing the old fruit markets with that money. Turn it into a huge food hall/small producer market.

Mute rockmast
    Favourite rockmast
    Apr 23rd 2021, 2:33 PM

At this stage they are narrowing the existing roads with plastic bollards all over Dublin to facilitate cycling. Why not create wider footpaths with cycle lanes and forget about these ridiculous plastic bollards on the roads which are easily broken and can become a hazard for all forms of transport.

Mute Zmeevo Libe
    Favourite Zmeevo Libe
    Apr 23rd 2021, 3:54 PM

@rockmast: Hate those things! And when turning you have to concentrate on not missing the gap between them, instead of watching for pedestrians or cyclists. Totally countreproductive!

Mute Ignorant Carbon
    Favourite Ignorant Carbon
    Apr 23rd 2021, 5:15 PM

@rockmast: I counted over 45 cars parked illegally on paths and cycle lanes on my 10km commute into town yesterday, that’s the type of ignorance that requires bollards and ruins cities for the rest of us. Even at that I regularly see drivers just drive over the bollards
    Best practice is segregated road, footpath and cycle lane spaces, and narrowing of driving lanes forces people to adhere to a more sensible speed in urban areas.

Mute Type17
    Favourite Type17
    Apr 23rd 2021, 5:31 PM

@rockmast: Shared footpaths/bike lanes are a disaster, with pedestrians wandering into the bike lanes, causing near misses (if lucky), and cyclists passing vulnerable pedestrians at what feel like excessive speeds for the proximity (they feel that way because peds/cyclists are actually too close, by design). I rarely use them because of the risk of collision. They are also covered in glass and other debris thrown up by motor traffic. And before someone says that cyclist must use cycle lanes where they are provided, the Statutory Instrument stating that was rescinded when it was realised that the poor design and condition of most bike lanes was leaving Local Authorities open to legal action by those injured in accidents whilst being forced to use dangerous facilities – that really is how bad many bike lanes in Ireland are.

Mute Drunk in Dublin
    Apr 24th 2021, 4:58 AM

@Zmeevo Libe: yeah why would you want to avoid hitting a cyclist with your car

Mute Drunk in Dublin
    Apr 24th 2021, 4:58 AM

@Zmeevo Libe: yeah why would you want to avoid hitting a cyclist with your car

Mute Dearbhla O Reilly
    Favourite Dearbhla O Reilly
    Apr 23rd 2021, 3:24 PM

Just look at what SDCC are doing to Rathcoole and saggart. Sharing one exit with the largest logistics estate in the country. Gigantic developments. Non stop traffic. Add in garda checkpoints and huge housing developments. No tonnage limits on the villages. Roadworks staring the week the kids return to schools. No joined up thinking at all.
    Disaster waiting to happen.

Mute Gabe Brolly
    Favourite Gabe Brolly
    Apr 23rd 2021, 3:58 PM

@Dearbhla O Reilly: yup, all the villages have been wrecked with over development and under infrastructure, a sad shame.

Mute OpenMinded
    Favourite OpenMinded
    Apr 23rd 2021, 5:00 PM

Before the pandemic I used to have to get the outbound luas at Carrickmines out to Cherrywood and then back in towards town because the inbound tram was too full. And that was BEFORE the enormous number of apartments (being) built at Cherrywood.

Mute SPQH
    Favourite SPQH
    Apr 24th 2021, 2:24 AM

@OpenMinded: In other words forget the Luas if you live any closer to town than Carraig mines. Double decker Luas anyone?

Mute Shaner Mac
    Favourite Shaner Mac
    Apr 23rd 2021, 2:52 PM

Good. The uncontained urban sprawl has been one of the major causes to our housing, congestion and transport issues.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Apr 23rd 2021, 3:05 PM

@Shaner Mac: So you feel that people should live where they’re put? People move out because they can’t afford to live any nearer! Many to the next county. Some in known flood plains. Most planners just emigrate and improve the country they settle in. Decentralisation would help.

Mute Hugh Mc Donnell
    Favourite Hugh Mc Donnell
    Apr 23rd 2021, 3:24 PM

There is plenty of commuter towns that are completely packed with sprawling housing estates and they never get a mention. Is the OPR a Dublin centred organisation as well

Mute Bennett blaster
    Favourite Bennett blaster
    Apr 23rd 2021, 1:59 PM

An bord pleanala will fix it

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Apr 23rd 2021, 5:52 PM

@Bennett blaster: A new QUANGO criticising other QUANGO’s.

Mute Carmelisa Dunne Fitzgerald
    Favourite Carmelisa Dunne Fitzgerald
    Apr 23rd 2021, 8:41 PM

@Bennett blaster: SHD is answerable to no one, not An Bord Planala, not councillors, not the people, no-one! It is an unconstitutional scheme but unless we win the lottery who has the money to challenge the government and developers in the courts in time to stop the damage?

Mute Gabe Brolly
    Favourite Gabe Brolly
    Apr 23rd 2021, 3:56 PM

Do you remember what it was like when there was a toll booth there, effin nightmare, total joke.

Mute Carmelisa Dunne Fitzgerald
    Favourite Carmelisa Dunne Fitzgerald
    Apr 23rd 2021, 8:53 PM

Around my estate we are looking at 1200-1500 additional units, as in within 100m around all sides. Multiply that by 5-6 within 3km. No provision for additional infrastructure, luas’, bus’, school places, or any of the other things a community needs. We need to be building communities that work not quick fixes that will present more problems than they fix. No issues with apartments, issues with high rise. SHD is a disgrace, unconstitutional as it is unanswerable to anyone and can ignore the recommendations of their own representatives and it is leading to horrendous buildings. Have you seen the 22 story proposal, it’s like something from 70′s London. Good town design has been thrown out. We need homes, where people can live properly, not just a badly designed roof over their heads.

Mute Drunk in Dublin
    Apr 24th 2021, 5:02 AM

@Carmelisa Dunne Fitzgerald: spot on with building communities, not just buildings.

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Apr 23rd 2021, 8:19 PM

@Tomo: Craic- a- Tower always defends the FFG cartel from scrutiny with diversion tactics. What you said about where policy focus should be is 100% correct. However, these boys don’t know how often/long they are likely to get elected for so keep the business community sweet. They may need a job later from the business community, and want party campaign contributions now to try and get re-elected. All politician’s look after number one as a rule.

Mute Brian Tracy
    Favourite Brian Tracy
    Apr 23rd 2021, 7:56 PM

At least they have a luas líne. I love in one of the most populated part of Dublin and no luas líne ór d’art service.

Mute GClare
    Favourite GClare
    Apr 23rd 2021, 10:57 PM

@Brian Tracy: if you live anywhere after the first stop on the Luas you may as well not have it

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Apr 24th 2021, 6:53 AM

Let’s just call it the Anti-planning Department. Let’s all forget about the so called “housing crisis” and stop even considering these pesky planning applications. And don’t forget the vote hungry, usual suspect, publicity seeking politicians who will jump on board most planning objection buses to join a headline!!

Let’s be serious. We need houses and apartments and we need them now. If the Luas is coming under pressure then more carriages please. Can they be longer??? If the M50 is under pressure then improve the junctions now please.

Time to get our priorities straightened out a tad!

Mute Kieran O'Riordan
    Favourite Kieran O'Riordan
    Apr 24th 2021, 9:10 AM

No S*** Sherlock?!?!