#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 4°C Wednesday 8 December 2021

Names of 100 garda stations to close next year

Minister Shatter said that a garda sitting at a desk in a small garda station for three hours a day is not the best way to tackle crime.

File image of a garda station.
File image of a garda station.
Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

ONE HUNDRED GARDA stations are to close next year, the majority in the first six months of next year.

The Minister for Justice and Equality, Alan Shatter announced the closures in the Annual Policing Plan for 2013 yesterday.

Of the stations to be closed, 98 per cent are currently open part-time, 94 per cent are open for three hours or less each day and 88 per cent are served by one garda member.

Here are the names of the garda stations that are due to close:

1 Offaly: Shannon Bridge
1 Wexford: Kiltealy
1 Carlow: Leighlinbridge
2 Waterford: Ballyduff, Stradbally
2 Laois: Ballacolla, Ballianakill
2 Meath: Crossakiel, Kilmessan
2 Longford: Ballinalee, Newtowncashel
2 Wicklow: Donard, Hollywood
2 Dublin: Stepaside, Kill O’ the Grange
3 Kildare: Kill, Ballymore Eustace, Ballytore
3 Cavan: Bawnboy, Redhills, Stradone
3 Monaghan: Shantonagh, Corrinshigagh, Newbliss
3 Sligo: Aclare, Easkey, Cliffoney
3 Kilkenny: Ballyragget, Johnstown, Inistioge
4 Westmeath: Ballinahowan, Castletown Geoghegan, Finea, Rathowen
5 Donegal: Malin, Annagaire, Gleann Cholm Cille, Na Brocacha, Min an Labain (Church Hill)
5 Tipperary: New Inn, Grangemockler, Terryglass, Rearcross, Dundrum
5 Leitrim: Cloone, Dromod, Keshcarrigan, Dromahair, Glenfarne
5 Roscommon: Ballintubber, Ardagh, Ballyforan, Knockcroghery, Ballyfarnon
6 Mayo: Ballycastle, Lahardane, Blacksod, Ballyglass, Ballyvary, Hollymount
6 Limerick: Galbally, Kilfinnane, Mary St, Castletown Conyers, Kilmeedy,Tournafoll
7 Cork: Barrack St, McCurtain St, Mallow Rd, Rathduff, Ballinspittle, Adrigole, Meelin
8 Clare: Quin, Inagh, Lahinch, Broadford, Mountshannon, Doonbeg, Kilmihil, Labasheeda
9 Kerry: Ballinskelligs, Valentia Island, Beaufort, Kilgarvan, Lauragh, Brosna, Abbeydorney, Camp, Fenit
10 Galway: Kilconly, Menlough, Kiltullagh, Tynagh, Kilchreest, Kilcolgan, Leenane, New Inn, Shanaglish, Ballymoe

Read: 100 garda stations to close and 28 districts to amalgamate >

#Open journalism No news is bad news Support The Journal

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support us now

Read next: