You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/gresei

Vaping is now officially less harmful than smoking, and it's time the Irish health authorities acknowledged that fact

Ireland’s health bodies, cancer charities and societies need to follow the facts and treat electronic cigarettes with an open mind, argues Joe Dunne.

THERE ARE  1.3 BILLION people who smoke worldwide. Premature deaths from smoking amount to approximately 1.5 million each year. Meanwhile, the World Health Organisation (WHO) estimates that in the 21st century, on current trends, there will be 1 billion premature deaths due to smoke related illnesses. The public health value of e-cigarettes may be to reduce this by hundreds of millions, if the promise is fulfilled.

Recent research done by Public Health England (PHE) has shown what we knew already, that e-cigarettes are less harmful, 95% less so, than tobacco cigarettes. People who smoke need another option apart from QUIT or DIE and the e-cig gives them that option. It gives them another choice in their life to reduce the harm they cause themselves by smoking.

Reasoned approach

The UK has a reasoned approach when it comes to e-cigarettes, Ireland as yet has not. The UK public health community will identify a possible risk and then look to find the risk. Cancer UK has done so with e-cigarettes and found no gateway to smoking via vaping. Ireland’s public health community vocalise and exaggerate the potential risks with no back up or research to prove what they are saying.

Ireland is all about the possible risks of e-cigs and not the possible risks of vaping as compared to smoking. If you have a theory that you do not prove, does it become a myth? The answer in my opinion is yes.

shutterstock_272625431 Shutterstock / Andrey_Popov Shutterstock / Andrey_Popov / Andrey_Popov

For me smokers need to see this as a big plus in their battle to quit smoking, another option which has been proven to be less harmful and also more successful than other NRT (Nicotine Replacement Therapy) products. The Cochrane Library recently published a report which showed people attempting to quit smoking, without professional help, are approximately 60% more likely to quit using e-cigarettes than NRT.

Another recent study in the UK suggested that vaping can be a gateway to smoking in children. In reality, the stats show that in 2013 22% of 11-15 year olds smoked and in 2014 that figure dropped to 18%. Surely it’s clear that experimentation with vaping is not currently proving to be a gateway to smoking amongst young people as the number of of juveniles smoking continues to decline?

Smoke for nicotine, die from tar

Action on Smoking and Health (ASH) in the UK have released figures that show 2.1 million people there using e-cigarettes, while 700,000 have stopped smoking and 1.3 million people use both. The UK stats office has shown that e-cigarettes are predominantly used by smokers and ex-smokers. Almost none of those who never smoked were using e-cigarettes.

Nicotine, the active drug in tobacco, is not the primary cause of harm in smoking. For four decades now it has been understood that people who smoke do so for nicotine. That isn’t what kills them, they die from tar. Nicotine doesn’t cause cancer, cardiovascular disease or respiratory conditions that dominate the cited ill effects of smoking.

In Ireland we need public health officials to start looking at e-cigarettes as a less harmful alternative to smoking and to support the use of them by smokers. Where are the open minds in cancer, heart and respiratory charities and societies? The message for others is simple: stop believing the rhetoric of prohibitionist activists and anti-corporate campaigners and take a cool hard look at what is really going on and what the evidence tells you – then act accordingly.

Joe Dunne is the managing director of VIP E-Cigs Ireland.

Read: Vaping is about 95% less harmful than smoking

Read: Revenue and gardaí need to clamp down hard on the owners of rickshaws before it’s too late

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 104 comments
104 Comments
    Mute baz brock
    Favourite baz brock
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:29 PM

Has anyone suggested they could be in Mexico by now? Just an idea I came with all by myself….

Mute Supergran
    Favourite Supergran
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:30 PM

nope

Mute Glenard
    Favourite Glenard
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:33 PM

Mexico
    feckin brilliant. Hey I think you should call 911 with that info

Mute baz brock
    Favourite baz brock
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:38 PM

I was just sitting here eating my burrito and I had this epiphany. I’m not sure if there’s a reward involved if they’re caught but I’m sure I’m entitled to something

Mute luke frankus
    Favourite luke frankus
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:44 PM

@glenard. I’m just asking out of curiosity, are you Glen? I haven’t seen him around in weeks and I’ve just got a hunch it’s you…

Mute Glenard
    Favourite Glenard
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:50 PM

luke
    I neither confirm or deny that I am Glen ;)

Mute luke frankus
    Favourite luke frankus
    Jun 21st 2015, 8:01 PM

You dont need to confirm. I know its you! Nobody can spam an article like Glen! Welcome back…

Mute Ian O' Connor
    Favourite Ian O' Connor
    Jun 21st 2015, 8:07 PM

Just no.

Mute baz brock
    Favourite baz brock
    Jun 21st 2015, 8:08 PM

Lads stop flirting on my comment

Mute Ian O' Connor
    Favourite Ian O' Connor
    Jun 21st 2015, 8:08 PM

Oh didn’t see the sarcasm in that

Mute Hugh McCann
    Favourite Hugh McCann
    Jun 21st 2015, 9:40 PM

100,000 dollar reward

Mute cp
    Favourite cp
    Jun 22nd 2015, 1:28 AM

I have family in America that know people that knew one of those guys.. I was told one of them is very clever and he’s tricked the police/fbi using look alikes to throw them off the scent.. He’s been known to have planed all off this years ago.. If this is true hats off to them cause it’s worked. They could be on the opposite side of America at this stage and living free past the border..

Mute cp
    Favourite cp
    Jun 22nd 2015, 1:29 AM

I have family in America that know people that knew one of those guys.. I was told one of them is very clever and he’s tricked the police/fbi using look alike to throw them off the scent.. He’s been known to have planed all off this years ago.. If this is true hats off to them cause it’s worked. They could be on the opposite side of America at this stage and living free past the border..

Mute Stefan
    Favourite Stefan
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:05 PM

They are probably on a beach in mexico by now…

Mute Stefan
    Favourite Stefan
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:06 PM

Didnt see the prev

Mute Supergran
    Favourite Supergran
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:24 PM

Don’t know bout the rest of you but I’m thinking the could be somewhere in Mexico. I’m pretty good at this shit, you heard it here first.

Mute Glenard
    Favourite Glenard
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:26 PM

My arse
    Look at the time stamp I said it first

Mute Supergran
    Favourite Supergran
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:29 PM

Yeah the journal deleted my first comment couple of hours ago. So I had to post again. Anyway sure jump on the bandwagon Glenard, honestly I don’t mind.

Mute Glenard
    Favourite Glenard
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:32 PM

Now why would the journal delete a comment like that? It doesn’t add up.

Mute Supergran
    Favourite Supergran
    Jun 21st 2015, 8:00 PM

I said a bad bad word

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:21 PM

They’re obviously in Saywatanao.

Mute Nick
    Favourite Nick
    Jun 21st 2015, 9:24 PM

Red nd Andy got pain in their billix sanding boat so axed for some new help from governor warton him with the spex, with the project before they stick it up on donedeal.

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:17 PM

They’re probably in Mexico by now.

Mute manneen beag
    Favourite manneen beag
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:53 PM

I hate to admit it, and although they’re convicted killers I can’t help but be happy they’re giving the US authorities a run for their money. Hope they are in Mexico.

Mute fiachra29
    Favourite fiachra29
    Jun 21st 2015, 8:11 PM

Have you heard what these lads did? The lad on the left shot a policeman who came across him on a patrol with a stash of guns and then ran him over in his car to finish him off. The guy on the right tortured his elderly former boss, he even snapped the mans fingers backwards trying to get information about money out of him, he then broke the mans neck and cut up the corpse I don’t think they ever found his head.

I know we have a tendency to romanticise jail breaks probably after watching the likes of Shawshank Redemption or Prison Break, but the fact is those men are dangerous psychos and need to be recaptured.

Mute Beach Master
    Favourite Beach Master
    Jun 21st 2015, 8:14 PM

Yeah, who doesn’t hope a cop killer and a murderer who dismembered his victim get to live out their lives in Mexico?!

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Jun 21st 2015, 8:15 PM

Manneen what are you on? If these two convicts end up dead I won’t shed a tear.

Mute Glenard
    Favourite Glenard
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:00 PM

They are probably across the border and in Mexico by now.

Mute Glenard
    Favourite Glenard
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:19 PM

This was a well planned escape. It’s not like they would of got out and not had a plan for the outside.

Mute Noah_MacMurchada
    Favourite Noah_MacMurchada
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:34 PM

The best laid plans gang aft agley
    Rabbi Burns.

Mute seamus mc manus
    Favourite seamus mc manus
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:58 PM

I reckon these sightings are correct. Yer wan (the prison worker) was meant to be parked near by and was to be their getaway driver, but she chickened out at the last minute. This setback left them on foot, so their backup plan was crap. I’d say the chance of them being in Mexico is stretching it as apparently there has been no reports of cars been robbed or lifts given to gentlemen fitting their description either . But then again,the cops can’t be sure or they’d have caught them by now.

Mute Biodiversity Watch On Biology-ie
    Favourite Biodiversity Watch On Biology-ie
    Jun 21st 2015, 9:41 PM

There probably somewhere now.

Mute Noah_MacMurchada
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:25 PM

I gave two hitchhikers who looked just like these two guys a life yesterday.
    I asked them where they were going.
    They said ‘Scotland’.
    But when they were getting out of the car I noticed the tags on their suitcases.
    Mexico.
    My guess is they’re heading south for the border.
    Copa America.

Mute Glenard
    Favourite Glenard
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:27 PM

how exactly do you give hitchhikers a life?

Mute Cross
    Favourite Cross
    Jun 21st 2015, 8:17 PM

Their probably in Canada by now…

Mute Supergran
    Favourite Supergran
    Jun 21st 2015, 9:41 PM

or Mexico. just saying

Mute Noah_MacMurchada
    Jun 21st 2015, 7:46 PM

So.
    I take it Mexican beaches are somthin like Spanish beaches then.
    Full of fcuking criminals sippin the Pina Coladas.
    Sounds like a good place to while away the winter.

Mute Hugh McCann
    Favourite Hugh McCann
    Jun 21st 2015, 9:42 PM

Keep her lit lads

Mute Ray O Sullivan
    Favourite Ray O Sullivan
    Jun 22nd 2015, 8:00 AM

theres been reports these guys have been found