You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Jacob Lund

How can I be taken seriously at work?

You’re always being assessed by colleagues, peers and your boss, writes Eoghan McDermot.

OVER THE LAST few weeks we’ve had politicians knocking on our doors asking us to vote for them, hoping we remember them on election day. This is essentially an extended job interview or performance review; a series of candidates looking to their ultimate bosses to give them a job.

People at work often worry that they’re not being taken seriously – what they do isn’t being appreciated and that others are getting the limelight that they deserve. The same thing is running through the heads of election candidates.

“Do the voters know what I’ve done? And what I hope to do?”

It’s fair to say that most of us want our politicians to do good work, keep their promises, look out for us, show a bit of initiative and plan for the future. A boss’s expectations don’t differ much from that. It’s important for the politician, and us, to let the boss know what we’ve done. And how you communicate that plays an important role.

To be taken seriously at work you need to figure out what your boss cares about and then deliver on it, and make sure they know you’re doing it.

There is no zero option in work; you’re always being assessed by colleagues, peers and your boss. You may or may not understand what is being rated but every boss makes judgements about the people working for him or her.

These judgements could be based on you showing up on time, or being constantly late. They could be based on the colour of your shoes, whether you smile or present a grave face to the world, how quickly you react to instructions and how much care you take over projects given to you, whether you are outspoken or quiet. It doesn’t matter.

shutterstock_343038986 Shutterstock / Maryna Pleshkun Shutterstock / Maryna Pleshkun / Maryna Pleshkun

To be taken seriously at work you need to figure out what your boss cares about and then deliver on it, and make sure they know that you’re doing it.

Every day you are conditioning your boss to view you in a certain way. That can be hugely positive, or negative. Like a politician, if we feel that they were a lazy clown for almost five years, the fact they’re telling us that they’re great two weeks before an election won’t make a difference. That impression starts being formed from the get go, but you can also make a good one at points of transition.

For example, if a new boss starts, or a new team, or new role, or during a restructuring, you’ve got fertile ground to start afresh. Work on it.

Think about the places where you can impress

You should also think about the specific places where you can impress – on projects, at meetings, in a presentation, dealing with clients and supporting colleagues.

Politicians have a chance to shine on local initiatives, media, on committees, in debates and in Dáil Éireann.

Clothes matter. Maybe they shouldn’t, but they do. How you dress and present yourself every day can have a huge impact on how you’re perceived. Dress how you want to be viewed. And bear in mind how your boss would like their team to be viewed. A three-piece suit can be just as inappropriate in work as jeans and a t-shirt if it doesn’t fit the ethos of the workplace. Take Mick Wallace or Richard Boyd Barrett.

Their casual dress style in the Dáil drives some people nuts, but their voters are anti- status quo so they dress as they want to be perceived.

shutterstock_315827591 Shutterstock / GaudiLab Shutterstock / GaudiLab / GaudiLab

Use your job description as a starting point, not a destination.

In every role delivery is crucial. If you have nothing credible to communicate, the style or timing of that communication won’t make a huge difference.

You could be totally likable but if you aren’t doing the job properly, you’re not going to be taken seriously. Imagine yourself almost as a little company. You provide a service. You should deliver it well. You should be good at marketing it. But delivery of the service is the crucial factor.

One way that can help you perform more effectively and stand out in the workplace, is to show a bit of initiative, taking on something nobody else will tackle, and delivering on it. Use your job description as a starting point, not a destination.

If you want to be taken seriously at work, it has to be an ongoing project, not just the three weeks leading up to a review, just like a politician shouldn’t just focus on the three weeks running up to an election.

You know how voters say “we never seem them except at election time”? The equivalent happens in the workplace: bosses hardly notice someone until their annual review happens. Not good. You need to be a positive, and a visibly positive, presence in your work place all of the time.

Eoghan McDermott is a Director of The Communications Clinic and is Head of Training and Careers there. You can follow him on Twitter @EoghanMcDermott

Read: What if we could call the election result before it even happens?>

Read: “Tax the rich” isn’t going to solve our problems after the election>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

19 Comments
    Mute Billy Cotter
    Favourite Billy Cotter
    May 19th 2015, 9:06 AM

If you wish to vote yes vote yes, if you wish to vote no vote no, if you wish to stay at home stay at home. But please people don’t shove it down other peoples throats.

Mute Tommy_Numan
    Favourite Tommy_Numan
    May 19th 2015, 9:11 AM

‘Vee haff vays of making you not vote’

Mute Dublinguy2013
    Favourite Dublinguy2013
    May 19th 2015, 9:16 AM

Billy you were telling people last week on this to vote no. Hypocrite much?

Mute Billy Cotter
    Favourite Billy Cotter
    May 19th 2015, 9:24 AM

I may have said stay at home but that’s not the same thing

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    May 19th 2015, 9:31 AM

Billy have you witnessed people having voting cards and pencils shoved down their throats already, or is this just a pre-emptive warning?

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    May 19th 2015, 9:33 AM

If you wish to vote yes, vote yes. If you wish to vote no, stay at home and rethink your choice.

Mute Philip
    Favourite Philip
    May 19th 2015, 9:44 AM

Just look at the odds in the bookies

They have it a cert the referendum will be passed

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    May 19th 2015, 9:55 AM

What if it’s raining on Friday…do I still have to vote? I don’t have an umbrella

Mute Eliouse Johnston
    Favourite Eliouse Johnston
    May 19th 2015, 10:37 AM

@ Beano hailo are given free taxi to and from the polling station. Save you having to get a lend of of umbrella.

Mute Tommie2cans
    Favourite Tommie2cans
    May 19th 2015, 10:56 AM

Philip, the bookies have it around 80% that it will pass and 20% it wont, they also have it that Yes vote will only be around 59% so this is no “cert”

Mute r keane
    Favourite r keane
    May 19th 2015, 2:35 PM

Paddy power is rarely wrong!!

Mute Fran McCarty
    Favourite Fran McCarty
    May 19th 2015, 4:18 PM

Gay people shove it down each others throats!

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    May 19th 2015, 9:10 AM

“Shy” No voters. I think that means people who are afraid to say what they believe for fear of being beaten with the largest politically correct stick we have ever seen.

Mute Tommy_Numan
    Favourite Tommy_Numan
    May 19th 2015, 9:12 AM

A Mayo tyrant with a big shillelagh.

Mute Trea Lynch
    Favourite Trea Lynch
    May 19th 2015, 9:17 AM

So much persecution complex going on here! I’d swear Rupert Murdoch bought the journal!

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    May 19th 2015, 9:20 AM

Well if being called a homophobe and being compared to a racist is a persecution complex well then I guess I have a complex

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    May 19th 2015, 9:26 AM

Aw poor you. A couple of weeks od discomfort because you don’t believe others should have the same rights as you. LGBT people have to put up with the likes of you all their lives.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    May 19th 2015, 9:34 AM

I wouldn’t call you a homophobe. Just ignorant and backward.

Mute Tommy_Numan
    Favourite Tommy_Numan
    May 19th 2015, 9:43 AM

Jeez Liam.
    That has to be the worst selfie ever.

Mute Donal Flynn
    Favourite Donal Flynn
    May 19th 2015, 9:45 AM

Well for some that the only problem this issue creates in their lives is that it clogs up their Facebook feed or they see too many articles on the journal. Put yourself in the shoes of gay people who have been under the microscope for weeks in the run up to this, being compared to child abusers and told they’ll want to marry a horse next and all the other rubbish being thrown about.

Vote yes on Friday, you’ll wake up on Saturday with it all over, you’re lives won’t have changed a bit, but it will be absolutely huge for gay people.

Dell
    Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    May 19th 2015, 9:49 AM

“Nothing unusual about that Robert, all the lesbians I know are just men trapped in an ugly fat womans body.” this is what gerry o donnell posted in the article about the new mural and tony kilduff has actually said he thinks homosexuals are pedophiles, I don’t think people should be calling anyone names but in the grand scheme of things which do you think is more damaging, most particularly to teenage lgbt people who see that?

Mute Graham Quinn
    Favourite Graham Quinn
    May 19th 2015, 10:49 AM

Well said sir.

Mute r keane
    Favourite r keane
    May 19th 2015, 2:42 PM

Here Here, it won’t make a difference to anyone’s lives but those it directly effects.
    We have moved on from a religious controlled society. And after it all came out in the wash they have no rights to any opinions on this matter. They should have all been burned at the stake for their mass collusion in how they treated the poor women & children of Ireland, America, Austria, South America. Short memories breeds bullsh&t

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid
    May 19th 2015, 4:50 PM

I don’t agree we have moved on from a religious controlled society. The RCC controls 95% of our schools.

Mute Tommy_Numan
    Favourite Tommy_Numan

The Yes vote is crumbling quicker than a Fred Dibnah chimney stack.
    We’ve seen it many times before.
    Loaded polls engineered to sway public opinion then the opposite happens.
    The establishment are going to have egg on their faces after this one.
    Hope they go into Anaphylactic shock and implode.

Mute cormac o connell
    Favourite cormac o connell
    May 19th 2015, 9:14 AM

Agree . It is going to be defeated by 60 / 40 and Paddy Power has cut the odds dramactically over the last couple of days

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    May 19th 2015, 9:27 AM

Lindbarr’s put on another sock!

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney

Just did a screenshot of Tommy’s comment for Saturday,thanks Tommy! Xxx

Mute Tommy_Numan
    Favourite Tommy_Numan
    May 19th 2015, 9:54 AM

Cool Dick.
    Little projects like that will help keep you off the streets. Please God.

Mute Jax Maxwel
    Favourite Jax Maxwel
    May 19th 2015, 10:05 AM

dramatically? its gone from 1/10 to 1/5 still money on, while no side is 3/1. I take it you don’t bet much but if it was a horse race or a football match it would be a grand national winner vs a donkey or Barcelona vs. Cabinteely. Bookies are seldom wrong.

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid
    May 19th 2015, 10:19 AM

Paddy power is still saying it’s likely to be a yes

Mute Al Fonso
    Favourite Al Fonso
    May 19th 2015, 1:33 PM

And here is the funny thing, if you asked people if they are ok with SSM a few years down the line after it is passed, you will find that a massive majority will support it.

Why? Because it will have zero negative impact on their lives.

Right now, I think, many will be voting no because they are allergic to change.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    May 19th 2015, 9:21 AM

As we know, this referendum is being fought on the issue of potential access to surrogacy. Leo said on Claire Byrne last night that the government will ban commercialised surrogacy. If this is true, why didn’t they come out and say it earlier, thus clarifying the issue at the beginning; and why was surrogacy mysteriously removed from the family act at the last minute?
    If this referendum is lost, it will be lost on government incompetence. They have allowed the surrogacy issue to boil over when, according to Leo, they could have explained how commercial surrogacy would be banned at the outset, thus assuaging many people’s concerns.

Dell
    Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    May 19th 2015, 9:42 AM

I agree, they fecked up but at least people know now that it is not a reason to worry.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan

Think that’s unfair Anne Marie.

Leo is advocating a Yes vote. It sends a much more powerful message when someone who is neutral confirms that surrogacy is nothing to do with the referendum (i.e. as the Chair of the Referendum Commission has done) than if Leo says we’ll pay commercial surrogacy.

I don’t at all believe that this referendum will be lost because of Government incompetence because ALL parties are in favour of it, not just the Government ones.

An think it is naive to say this rests on “commercial” surrogacy – it may be being used as a convenient excuse by some but commercial surrogacy has exited and been taken advantage of many couples for years without any public outcry at all.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    May 19th 2015, 9:50 AM

When can we get an edit button?

“ban commercial surrogacy” not “pay”

Mute Greg McGarry
    Favourite Greg McGarry
    May 19th 2015, 10:18 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin: I put it to you that a Yes vote demonstrates approval of LGBT Surrogacy while a No vote is vote against Surrogacy for LGBT. Here’s my reasoning: Justice Cross was on RTE Radio 1 this am. He was clear on two points -but they are contradictory: 1) He said this Ref. is not about Surrogacy 2) He said Surrogacy is currently unregulated here but when the Gov. moves to tackle it, unless it’s banned outright, then, with a Yes Vote, LGBT will be as entitled to it as Hetero by reason of Equality (unless LGBT are deemed bad Parents, but we all know that won’t fly). So, a Yes vote can therefore be interpreted as tacit approval of Surrogacy for LGBT. There can be no doubt about it.

Dell
    Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    May 19th 2015, 10:30 AM

Grey mcgarry. Are you going to try to ban all couples, hetrosexual or homosexual from marrying given that both sets of marriages could lead to surrogacy? No, you wouldn’t darelationship attempt to trample on hetrosexuals right to marriage on the grounds that said marriage may lead to surrogacy. What if the hetrosexual people getting married already know they can not produce children without the use of surrogacy, will you be banning them from marriage as well on the off chance they might try to use it? commercial surrogacy will not be legalised in this country As stated by Leo vradker lastnight. Stop trying to scaremonger, please.

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    May 19th 2015, 2:33 PM

Dell

Oh did Leo say that? Then it must be true. On that basis I will take anything a politician says as truth. pfft

Mute Greg McGarry
    Favourite Greg McGarry
    May 20th 2015, 12:47 AM

@Dell: Ok, based upon my earlier comment, we all agree that this Referendum has a clear link to paving the way to Surrogacy for LGBT let me clearly state this: I think it is wrong for LGBT to access gestational Surrogacy as it means a biological parent is removed from the life of that child before even he/she is born. Such an issue does not arise for traditional Surrogacy for hetero couples who have fertility issues. That said, Surrogacy is not without its challenges.

Mute Diarmuid Lucey
    Favourite Diarmuid Lucey

Let us have our own Voting system here.

YES Vote GREEN
    NO Vote RED

Mute Tommy_Numan
    Favourite Tommy_Numan
    May 19th 2015, 9:10 AM

Sorry Diarmuid, have to give this one a miss.
    I’m busy doing a poll on the Catholic Herald.
    I’ll log back in later to check the outcome.
    (can’t wait for the informative result)

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    May 19th 2015, 9:25 AM

Vote no on Friday. This is about children.
    Do the decent thing, protect them.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    May 19th 2015, 9:28 AM

Red Herring.

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    May 19th 2015, 9:44 AM

Tony, totally agree, we need to protect the kids. 13 charities including barnardos and ispcc are urging a yes vote. A no vote sends out a green light to marginalise and bully lgbt kids further, 29,000 called childline last year with sexuality issues. vote yes to protect kids so that they can live in a fairer society.

Mute Edel O'Reilly
    Favourite Edel O'Reilly
    May 19th 2015, 10:04 AM

Don’t you mean protect certain children tony? What about the children who already have same sex parents? Do they not deserve the same rights and protection you’re referring to?

tom
    Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    May 19th 2015, 10:14 AM

Brian.
    They are thinking about not alienating the fundraising. What are the ispcc saying about the huge surge in surrogacy amongst same sex couples in countries where marriage is legalised? How about babies handed over at birth.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    May 19th 2015, 10:15 AM

Protect them from what?

Dell
    Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    May 19th 2015, 10:20 AM

You have no facts or statistics to back that Tom so why do you keep saying it?

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    May 19th 2015, 10:58 AM

Protect them from dem quares, John Everyman. Ye can’t be letting quares have kids and showing them how to do the bumsex the way TomJoe_Kilduff”s mammy and daddy showed him how to do the missionary fully clothed and with no sinful pleasure involved.

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    May 19th 2015, 3:31 PM

Back it up or shut up about it Tom. It is largely used by heterosexual couples not lgbt couples.

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    May 19th 2015, 3:34 PM

That’s one hell of an accusation Tom have you evidence to support it? You think all children’s welfare organisations are placing funding above the welfare of children in their stance on ssm? You really believe that? And you think the government would cut their funding if they were advocating a no vote?

Mute Jorge Thompson
    Favourite Jorge Thompson
    May 19th 2015, 1:41 PM

Ha!
    “The Dáil sits for just one day this week as all parties concentrate on the final hours of campaigning.”

They should be running the country and leaving the voters to decide. I hope they don’t get paid this week.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    May 19th 2015, 4:56 PM

The second referendum has hit a major pothole ..
    The Government allocated unfair resources to each topic …. They did not put in a Director of elections for the second referendum – an uninformed public is an illegal voting public …
    Too stupid to dot the is and cross the ts legally when it comes to run referenda – I think this is grounds for a general election under Article 6 …
    Deliberately underinforming the citizens !

And the Attorney General removes the light-blocking blindfold and realises that the sound she heard was the hull scraping of an iceberg.
    A Big one !

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche

Asher Bakery and Daintree
    2 examples that will negatively affect the Yes vote.

Mute Rebecca Hegarty
    Favourite Rebecca Hegarty
    May 19th 2015, 9:24 AM

Both clear examples of how not to run a business, don’t alienate your customers and they won’t take their business elsewhere? It’s hardly rocket science.

Mute cormac o connell
    Favourite cormac o connell

And you forgot about the Labour party

Mute Barry Humphreys
    Favourite Barry Humphreys
    May 19th 2015, 9:48 AM

But they’re not taking their business elsewhere, they’re insisting on a particular one, why?

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    May 19th 2015, 10:04 AM

Rebecca,
    You think you can tell people how they should run their businesses?
    Ashers are thriving while I don’t think the same can be said for Daintree.

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid
    May 19th 2015, 10:21 AM

I’m pleased Daintree is under new management. It wasn’t because of courts but consumers voting with their wallet

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    May 19th 2015, 9:18 AM

Regarding the “smear” campaign and Hanafin, It`s the truth, She did!
    A smear campaign, smear tactic or simply smear is a political tactic that is an unfair or untrue political attack, Clearly in this case it is the truth, I for one will gladly travel all over the borough putting these posters up, and would have absolutely no problem with it.

Mute Tommy_Numan
    Favourite Tommy_Numan
    May 19th 2015, 9:20 AM

Ballybeg says NO.

Mute Gay Stepher
    Favourite Gay Stepher
    May 19th 2015, 9:29 AM

I say YES!!

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

Finest example in the country of a 13th century Dove cot is in Ballybeg….
    https://c1.staticflickr.com/9/8557/8747561566_5ea2856a4c_b.jpg
    If you’re driving by Ballybeg Abbey, drop in for a look.

Mute Tommy_Numan
    Favourite Tommy_Numan
    May 19th 2015, 9:41 AM

If you’re driving in my Ballybeg (Waterford) don’t even look out the window.

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid
    May 19th 2015, 10:19 AM

I say hello hello hello hello hello

Mute Etheric Projection
    Favourite Etheric Projection

Judging by
    Media and celebrity bias , those undecided or impressionable will vote yes.
    Albeit I am voting yes I still feel the no side didn’t get a fair share of air time.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    May 19th 2015, 10:53 AM

What’s “fair” about looking to deny and deprive people of rights?

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    May 19th 2015, 9:52 AM

The surrogacy issue is surely the biggest red herring ever introduced into any public debate. Now that is has been clearly demonstrated that it is NOT affected by whichever result comes out of the referendum every far minded person who has a vote should vote YES. ( average number of surrogacy cases per annum is ELEVEN most of them involving heterosexual couples).

tom
    Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    May 19th 2015, 9:59 AM

Lie lie lie
    Back up this outrageous lie.
    Heterosexuals rarely use surrogacy because they have IVF.
    Same sex couples have little other option.
    Tell me how Leo will stop surrogacy by making it illegal? The same way they stopped people getting abortions by making it illegal?

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    May 19th 2015, 10:10 AM

Tom, IVF does NOT work for 33% of people accessing it. It is not the end of the road or indeed the only option for having a family. Heterosexual couples absolutely use surrogacy. All in all total numbers from this island will be low anyway. Now, to state again, this referendum is about who should be allowed marry, nothing more, nothing less.

Mute Greg McGarry
    Favourite Greg McGarry
    May 19th 2015, 10:43 AM

@John Campbell: “Every far minded person” should vote Yes? An insulting and delusionary comment. Every No voter has had to wade through an ocean of Propaganda, Unanimous Government support, €25 Million worth of Yes advertising by Atlantic Philanthropies, let alone vilification & Hatred to arrive at and maintain their position. To suggest it is short-sighted to Vote No is nonsense and precisely the opposite. No voters are ignoring the fact that it is popular now to say Yes in favour of the LONG TERM consequences.

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    May 19th 2015, 11:04 AM

Maybe so Greg, but nobody prevented the YES campaigners from doing their work of convincing people. LGBT people in our society have had years and years of being forced to hide their sexuality and been unable to openly display their natural love. Is it any wonder then that they are shouting from the rooftops that they deserve EQUALITY!

Mute Al Fonso
    Favourite Al Fonso
    May 19th 2015, 1:30 PM

Please look at the countries that currently have marriage equality and tell me what are the negative long term consequences.

Mute Lylucifer
    Favourite Lylucifer
    May 19th 2015, 9:40 AM

If the surrogacy situation had been dealt with it would be a landslide yes. Nobody wants a situation where gay or straight couples can order babies on demand. Trying to succinctly state that on a poster without looking homophobic is impossible.& looking ahead (which yes side are refusing to do) anyone giving a child for adoption should be able to choose a straight over gay couple without being accused of being a homophobe & taken to court.

Dell
    Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    May 19th 2015, 9:56 AM

All of that has been dealt with and voting yes or no will not affect any of it .

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid
    May 19th 2015, 10:18 AM

Married couples do not have a right to surrogacy. The courts have found against attempts to argue otherwise

Mute Greg McGarry
    Favourite Greg McGarry
    May 19th 2015, 10:31 AM

@Dell: That comment, ‘…voting Yes or No will have no effect…’ is wholly inaccurate. The Constitution’s intent is interpreted by the Courts. Therefore, people are entitled to seek approval for given actions under the relevant Articles of the Constitution. If the Referendum is carried, LGBT shall be entitled to seek access to Surrogacy, by reason of equity, unless Surrogacy is banned for everyone. Therefore, the way one votes in this referendum is directly linked to the availability of Surrogacy for LGBT.

Mute Dermot O'Reilly
    Favourite Dermot O'Reilly
    May 19th 2015, 2:37 PM

Vote NO and protect marriage as the world understands it for over 2000 years.

Do not be frightened by the yes people who call any person who advocates NO as homophobic!

We live in a democracy not a Dictatorship!,

Vote NO and protect the true definition of Marriage!

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid
    May 19th 2015, 4:56 PM

We don’t even have the marruage format of 2000 years ago. As recently as the 19th century a wife was legally her husband’s possession. Marital rape was legal until 1990. Wives had to resign from the civil service because of church teaching until 1979 which was enforced in law. And of course the big redefinition was divorce in 1995. The no sides arguments are rehashed from the divorce campaign. Even some of the antis are the same eg William binchy.

Mute mr magoo
    Favourite mr magoo
    May 19th 2015, 9:25 AM

“Shy no voters” what a load of crap

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    May 19th 2015, 9:41 AM

I would say there will be a lot of no voters in rural areas. No campaigning , or any yes posters whatsoever, the yes side have completing ignored these areas. Where I live absolutely not one yes poster. The 2 towns close to me all have no posters. Think its a mistake on the yes side. As a lot of people who don’t use social media will not have all the information and for this reason will vote no. Almost like concentrate on cities and forget the rest . that could be a major mistake.

Mute Irish Druid
    Favourite Irish Druid
    May 19th 2015, 12:39 PM

In my mother’s village there are only no posters. Shameful laziness by the parties

tom
    Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    May 19th 2015, 9:50 AM

Banning surrogacy in this country is irrelevant. Like abortion (which is illegal here), if you want it you go abroad.
    Surrogacy will thrive after this vote is carried and there is nothing Leo and his cronies can do about it.

They govern this country and no other country. You want surrogacy, go abroad, which is what most people will want to do anyway to avail of privacy.

Can even have a nice holiday to boot.

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    May 19th 2015, 9:58 AM

Tom, you have been asked time and time again to prove your claim that demand for surrogacy will increase should ask be passed. you continue to pedal your untruths but cannot back them up. A handful of Irish people go abroad for surrogacies, ninety five percent of these cases are heterosexuals. You are scaremongering tom. Provide facts and figures to back up your statement!

Mute David Hanlon
    Favourite David Hanlon
    May 19th 2015, 10:03 AM

Eh by your “logic” Tom, there should be people heading abroad in droves already for surrogacy considering there’s no law against it. No reason why a yes vote should increase the numbers…

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    May 19th 2015, 11:36 AM

Do we need to spell this out for you again Tom?? Maybe if we use crayons it might sink in better.

tom
    Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    May 19th 2015, 9:55 AM

So how will Leo stop surrogacy? Will we have military police at the airport stopping people going abroad to avail of surrogacy services?
    Just like we stop people going abroad to have abortions or going to Amsterdam to smoke weed.

Great idea Leo. That’ll stop surrogacy alright.

Dell
    Mute Dell
    Favourite Dell
    May 19th 2015, 9:59 AM

If people know that there will be legal or even criminal repercussions Tom that will be a deterrent. How is your campaign to ban all marriages coming along, given that all marriage could lead to surrogacy, not just the marriages of one section of one minority group?

Mute Brian Madden
    Favourite Brian Madden
    May 19th 2015, 10:05 AM

Tom, you are saying that Leo cannot stop surrogacy but yet voting no to ssm. (Which has nothing to do with ssm will)?

Mute The whistler
    Favourite The whistler
    May 19th 2015, 10:54 AM

John Lyons there..better known as “lyons low” in his constituency as he hasn’t been seen in the parish since he was elected.

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan
    May 19th 2015, 9:39 AM

Hopefully not, it’d be hilarious

May 19th 2015, 4:11 PM

The fact is they didn’t think it out and some gays want a no vote because they say that it will harm gay marriage in the long term but my view is that it will harm the family and children under our constitution by removing the family from it rather than adding a clause to it, which they should have done instead.

Mute Myles Duffy
    Favourite Myles Duffy
    May 19th 2015, 10:52 AM

Sure they now have ‘the icing on the cake’. Who would take the cake from them?

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    May 19th 2015, 10:58 AM

There is no cake. The cake is a lie.

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee
    May 19th 2015, 3:40 PM

Have any of the pollsters asked the Nigerian community here, or those who have secured citizenship, how they may vote on this issue?
    My own questioning of people from this, and other African countries, is they are wholly opposed to gay’s, let alone permitting persons of the same gender to marry.
    If Friday’s vote is tight between citizens who are indigenous, it may be just this section of our electorate which could, although I don’t believe it’s that close, make it NO, rather than YES!
    This is of course, based on the particular fundamental religious bias of this section of our community, evangelical Christian and Muslim, if this is so, where do we go from here?

May 19th 2015, 5:01 PM

If gay marriage fails this time, then they can hold another referendum on it as it is not the end of the world but if they pass it then it will be the end of the world for family protection under our constitution, do people not see this. It was another rush job by this government where adding to article 41 would have been better than changing it?