You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'He put blame on the victim because she asked him to watch less porn'

The Court of Appeal Magnus Meyer Hustveit was given a 15-month sentence today.

TODAY MAGNUS MEYER Hustveit got put in jail for the repeated rape and sexual assault of his former girlfriend.

Meyer Hustveit is going to jail almost seven months after his initial sentencing and four years after his initial confession to his ex partner.

Today the Court of Criminal Appeal said suspending the entire seven year sentence was legally in error and Magnus Meyer Husveit will now spend 15 months of that sentence in jail.

One of the issues raised about this case was the minimisation of crime and harm that started with Meyer Husveit himself.

He initially reasoned that because his partner was asleep his actions of raping her – even though he appeared to understand it to be rape – were ‘victimless’.

Explaining his actions in an email 

Having identified his crimes he did not go willingly to the gardai. Instead, upon being pressed repeatedly by his then ex partner, he explained his actions in an email, rationalising his needs and his sense of entitlement.

He also attempted to lay the blame on his victim as if rape was his due because he was complying with her wishes for him to use less pornography.

Meyer Husveit also demonstrated a continued sense of entitlement when he put pressure on his ex partner to allow him to continue to minimise his crimes when he added in an email – “Now I’ve written this, you can have me prosecuted. I hope you won’t”. His later cooperation with the prosecution does not wipe his slate clean.

Niamh Ní Dhomhnaill took a stand for herself and all victims of sexual violence when she took on a culture of minimisation and stood firm, demanding justice.

The wholly suspended seven-year sentence in July 2015 and the last seven months have been an additional burden on her.

In that time she delivered clear, resilient and dignified challenge to both the justice she felt she had not received and the court of public opinion who debated the rights and wrongs of the case.

No victim should have to go through that.

Often in sexual violence we look for evidence of harm in the physical bruising and wounds inflicted and we neglect to understand sexual violence as a pernicious violation of trust, autonomy and dignity.

Unduly lenient sentence

The decision to suspend a sentence or part thereof involves layers of legal considerations which balance justice with mitigation with incentives to encourage better cooperation with the justice process.

Such encouragement may include incentives for those accused to plead guilty at an early stage in order to spare the victim the ordeal of a court case.

For the public and for victims understanding the justice in suspensions does not always match the legal or practical rationale. Immediately after the sentencing, the victim and many public commentators agreed that it did not look like justice to them.

The journey through the justice system can be a trying experience for a survivor.

For this reason all possible processes, practices and supports should be put in place to ensure that there is no undue delay in a sexual violence case.

Through Niamh’s actions and words, lessons will have been learnt and many will have gained a greater understanding and empathy for survivors of sexual violence.

For many survivors like Niamh, whose violation resulted in no physical injury, they fear minimisation, disbelief or perhaps even condemnation.

We believe Niamh Ní Dhomhnaill added greatly to a culture that understands that rape and its severity is about the inner wounds as much and perhaps even more so than it is about the visible scars.

Clíona Saidléar is the policy and communications director for the Rape Crisis Network Ireland

Read: ‘We need to assess the threat to the 1916 commemorations’>

Read: ‘Having lived in Dublin all my life, I’m not used to being stopped at checkpoints, harassed and searched’>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

80 Comments
    Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    Mar 15th 2016, 7:09 PM

Madness really. Poor woman, can’t be something you’d easily bounce back from. 15 months is minuscule

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 15th 2016, 8:00 PM

@Stephen Todd,
    Are you saying it’s as bad as if she was raped by a stranger at knife point.

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    Mar 15th 2016, 8:08 PM

No of course not but the key communality is the word “rape”. It is what it is and should carry a longer sentence

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 15th 2016, 8:16 PM

The whole case makes no sense.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Mar 15th 2016, 8:59 PM

you make even less sense eamonn

Mute Sarah Collier
    Favourite Sarah Collier
    Mar 15th 2016, 9:44 PM

Yes it’s as bad rape is rape

Mute Caroline Gillespie
    Favourite Caroline Gillespie
    Mar 15th 2016, 10:51 PM

I do think there are different degrees of rape ,i know im putting my head on the block by saying this but it is something i feel quite strongly about

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Mar 15th 2016, 10:54 PM

No matter how it happened, rape is always a violation of someone’s bodily integrity whether it be at knife point or otherwise.

Mute Phyllis Murphy
    Favourite Phyllis Murphy
    Mar 15th 2016, 10:59 PM

No consent! That should be clear Caroline. No means no but also if you don’t say yes… Well that no. I can’t understand how someone can look for pleasure from a sleeping person. So if he raped a corpse would you think ‘ah sure there’s no victim?’ Rape is rape is rape. No consent = rape. Simples.

Mute Loreto Weir MSc.
    Favourite Loreto Weir MSc.
    Mar 15th 2016, 11:56 PM

Actually it’s worse and it’s scary you do not know this and the reason why it’s worse!

Mute Caroline Gillespie
    Mar 16th 2016, 8:05 AM

Where in my comment did I say there was no victim .I have reread it and nowhere did i say there was not a victim in this case and nowhere did I say it wasnt rape.I know what rape is Im not stupid but I still stand by my comment. The one you deliberately misunderstood.If he raped a corpse it would be rape because there was no consent just as he raped this young woman because there was no consent but to say this is on a par with all rapes and they are all the same is ridiculous.Just for the record I speak from personal experience.

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Mar 16th 2016, 8:20 AM

A debate that gets brought into criminology courses around the country. I believe there is such a thing as implied consent but I’m not saying this existed in this case. Whether there is a prison sentence should be determined on whether the offender is a danger to society.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Mar 16th 2016, 2:22 PM

If I were to say to you, “How do you do, my name’s Seamus.” and then rape you, would it be different than if I just flat-out raped you without the introduction?

Mute Caroline Gillespie
    Mar 22nd 2016, 7:13 AM

Sorry Seamus that comment is beyond stupid.

Mute Jim Brady
    Favourite Jim Brady
    Mar 15th 2016, 7:49 PM

Can anybody please shed light or explain how or why the victim continued her relationship after multiple rapes?
    I understand from a previous article that this was a pattern in their relationship that went on for months.
    Did she not wake up?
    Did she voluntarily get back into bed and sleep with him?
    I genuinely don’t understand this…

Mute Jonny Irish
    Favourite Jonny Irish
    Mar 15th 2016, 7:54 PM

I’m having the same difficulties with this. How did she not know he was abusing her? It makes no sense

Mute Fiona Brown
    Favourite Fiona Brown
    Mar 15th 2016, 7:54 PM

She was drugged, suspected something had happened but didnt really know (or could possibly have inagined) what was going on.

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Mar 15th 2016, 10:55 PM

If you were paying attention to when the case first came about it was made clear that she was taking sleep medication at the time.

Mute Killian O'Hara
    Favourite Killian O'Hara
    Mar 16th 2016, 12:22 AM

Frankly I’d like to read the transcripts before passing not too much judgement on this one. This case feels a little weird.

It’s interesting though he used enough porn that she asked him to stop.

That suggest strongly either he was looking at it in an in excessive way and she is overly sensitive to it like many. Some even going as far as considering it cheating. Or he was actually using an excessive or prodigious amount of it.

In the first instance is there any possibility she was denying him sex but insisting on maintaining the relationship? His actions aren’t excused but a certainly motivated.

In the second instance he likely needs some help.

Sexuality is as innate and important to people as food. Rape is abhorrent. The feelings of sexual violation are horrific.

While at the same time, there are many areas of this blocked off by an unwillingness to understand sexual psychological motivations and mental sexual dysfunction.

Unfortunately I think groups who do saddeningly necessary work like the Rape Crisis Center are also partially responsible for stopping any further progress because they don’t seem to care much for understanding why it happens but pass sweeping judgement instead.

Lack of any option for open discussion just undermines the thing itself. There seems to be a bit of a line that if you don’t think that ALL rapists are inherently evil and that’s why they do it then you are nearly as bad as them.

If there is a more useful option than prison we should be taking it. It may go to even preventing it through deeper understanding. Anyone who disagrees with that must logically then agree that it’s better the rape is committed first and the punishment after without regard for rehabilitating the offender ensuring a greater chance they will offend further upon release, what with having been locked up without any female contact.

Having said that we’re you a rapist in Ireland you probably wouldn’t be shitting yourself over getting charged. We have to stop appointing 80 year olds to the bench.

Mute mary carey
    Favourite mary carey
    Mar 15th 2016, 7:06 PM

As disgusted by what he did to her that I am, I am also surprised. There was no evidence except his email, which he continued to plead guilty to in court. Also there is no extradition relationship between Norway and Ireland so he could simply have stayed there and continued a non custodial sentence.

Perhaps he is regretful and seeks redemption…. Or something…

Mute Luke Sarpish
    Favourite Luke Sarpish
    Mar 15th 2016, 7:08 PM

Or perhaps he’s just a weirdo who doesn’t think much about sexual assault.

Mar 15th 2016, 7:29 PM

He must have been laughing at our “justice” system.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 15th 2016, 7:40 PM

@Deborah Behan,
    This case was all over the RTE news. The case of the Nigerian asylum seeker who savagely raped a young woman in Waterford was never even aired.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/woman-raped-waterford-2606362-Feb2016/
    By the way, I don’t see any comments from your good self in that article.

Mute Aislinné Freeman
    Favourite Aislinné Freeman
    Mar 15th 2016, 8:47 PM

@mary I’m confused… What evidence would you be looking for??

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Mar 15th 2016, 9:04 PM

are you implying this was a gentle rape eamonn?

Mute mary carey
    Favourite mary carey
    Mar 15th 2016, 10:26 PM

@Aislinn – I’m not questioning his guilt or anything. I’m just pointing out that his admission in writing got him convicted, otherwise his victim knew nothing about it. And he came to Dublin today when he could have dodged it. So I’m just wondering if he’s sorry. I hope he is. I hope he decided it was the right thing to do to come back to be sentenced.

Mar 15th 2016, 10:56 PM

To be fair I doubt there would be many who would come back to Ireland knowing they are going to face a prison sentence when they didn’t have to . I think he is genuinely sorry .

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 15th 2016, 11:09 PM

@Matty Reese,
    It was a very grey area.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Mar 15th 2016, 11:16 PM

grey area???

Am I to understand that means you have no objections to anybody sticking their penis into you while you’re sleeping.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 15th 2016, 11:23 PM

@Matty Reese,
    Are you saying all rapes are exactly the same?

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Mar 15th 2016, 11:30 PM

I’m saying all rapes are rapes.
    He was charged with raping her, he admitted to raping her, he has now being jailed for raping her. Why do you think it is ok to rape people who are asleep? If I murdered somebody in their sleep would that make it less of a murder? Why are you defending him, at least he accepts his guilt.

Mute Sam Barkley
    Favourite Sam Barkley
    Mar 15th 2016, 7:22 PM

‘We believe Niamh Ní Dhomhnaill added greatly to a culture that understands that rape and its severity is about the inner wounds as much and perhaps even more so than it is about the visible scars.’
    I don’t know.
    I think the public were let more confused than anything by this very unusual case.

Mute EmmaQ@gmail.com
    Favourite EmmaQ@gmail.com
    Mar 15th 2016, 8:40 PM

I am very uneasy about this.
    There is a strong whiff of someone trying to appease feminists by portraying someone who is not a real threat to society into a monster and destroying his life.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 15th 2016, 8:49 PM

@EmmaQ@gmail.com,
    It was a bit of a feminist show trial.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Mar 15th 2016, 9:03 PM

he admitted to rape and was found guilty of rape, what is so show trail about that. Are you somehow claiming that he did not rape the girl but was coerced into admitting that he did.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Sarah Collier
    Favourite Sarah Collier
    Mar 15th 2016, 9:47 PM

He admitted to raping a woman he was supposed to care about. That’s a monstrous thing to do.

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    Mar 15th 2016, 9:56 PM

Emma, he raped her!!!!

Mute EmmaQ@gmail.com
    Mar 15th 2016, 9:58 PM

This case is not so black and white.
    50 years from now, people may look back on this case as another low point in the Irish judicial system.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Mar 15th 2016, 10:10 PM

If he’d robbed several thousand euros from her, but she was never aware of the robbery, does it make her less robbed?

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Mar 15th 2016, 10:23 PM

Why, Emma? He confessed to a crime. What’s your issue?

Mute EmmaQ@gmail.com
    Mar 15th 2016, 10:47 PM

Do dangerous rapists even confess to Rape?
    This woman invited him into her bed.
    Being blunt about it, to me it seems they had a lovers tiff, she then plotted to get him to admit to having sex with her over a private email exchange. (However we know nothing of their usual sexual habits)
    She then used that private email exchange to destroy this mans life.
    She then plastered herself all over the media, (very few rape victims would ever do that!)
    She got her 15 minutes and became a poster girl for the feminist movement and won the praise and sympathy of the media for being “So brave”

Meanwhile real predator rapists are able to get off scot free if they have enough money or twist the law with the usual crappy story of a troubled upbringing etc.

So that’s why I am un easy about this one.

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Mar 15th 2016, 10:57 PM

Emma, she was asleep on medication when he raped her. At no point did she consent to his actions.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 15th 2016, 11:07 PM

@Matty Reese,
    It is not in the same league as a woman being violently raped by a stranger.

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Mar 15th 2016, 11:14 PM

In some ways it’s worse Eamon. Someone you thought you trusted violating you when you’re in a compromised state? How would you trust anyone again?

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Mar 15th 2016, 11:15 PM

I don’t know. Do those who confess deserve to be acquitted because of that confession? We don’t know of their relationship. We do, however know, that while she was under the influence of very heavy meds, he raped her. To my mind, rape is rape, non consensual sex, violation. That’s not feminism (although why feminism is being bandied about is perplexing), it’s bringing a rapist to justice. Why would anyone try and blame the victim here?
    As to destroying a man’s life, I think the moment he crossed the line into rape, he pretty much did that all by himself.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Mar 15th 2016, 11:21 PM

all rape is violence eamonn or do you have fantasise about being “gently” raped in your sleep?

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 15th 2016, 11:22 PM

@Matty Reese,
    The whole case is a mess and doesn’t make any sense.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Mar 15th 2016, 11:24 PM

What part of he raped her and he pleaded guilty to raping her makes no sense to you?

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 15th 2016, 11:37 PM

All right Matty, just to please you “it was the worst, most violent brutal traumatic rape that ever occurred anywhere”
    There , are you happy now?

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Mar 16th 2016, 12:58 AM

I would say all rapes are violent and traumatic, I would also say its not a competition.

Mute WesternAtheistRadFem
    Favourite WesternAtheistRadFem
    Mar 16th 2016, 1:06 AM

Sure natty boys will be boy’s, whats the point of a willy if you can’t stick it anywhere any time? #feministoppression :(

Mute Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Mar 15th 2016, 7:23 PM

The Journal seem like their trying to incite a witch hunt with that photo.

Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    Mar 15th 2016, 7:35 PM

Does he really deserve special treatment and protection?

Mute Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Mar 15th 2016, 7:39 PM

Does he deserve to be hunted down and beaten by a mob?

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Stephen Todd
    Favourite Stephen Todd
    Mar 15th 2016, 7:42 PM

No he doesn’t, but media doesn’t make exceptions in countless other cases so why is this one a witch hunt?

Mute Seán O'Ceallaghan
    Mar 15th 2016, 7:51 PM

It doesn’t? 3-4 articles down… Man rapes girl with screwdriver… uses stock photo of courts. (Not 100% the same) but could the photo not be removed? Is it of benefit to anyone in Ireland? What’s the purpose of it?

Mute Fiona Brown
    Favourite Fiona Brown
    Mar 15th 2016, 7:53 PM

No, he just deserves to be in jail, which he now is.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 15th 2016, 8:03 PM

@Seán O’Ceallaghan,
    Not 100% the same, you betcha. I’m only guessing, but somehow I’d say the screwdriver case was just a little bit worse.

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Mar 15th 2016, 8:16 PM

In the screwdriver case the rapist is not named to protect the victim’s (his sister’s) identity. That restriction on reporting on that case is placed there by the courts. There is no such restriction on this case.

You know what Fr Brendan Smith looked like Sean? I assume you don’t have a problem knowing what he looks like or the fact that his image was published on TV and in the papers when he was convicted.

Mute Carol Oates
    Favourite Carol Oates
    Mar 15th 2016, 8:34 PM

It’s of benefit to any woman he might meet in the future. Any potential victims. It is of no benefit to hide the face of rapists for their protection. Because it doesn’t protect any woman who comes into contact with them. The only time a rapist’s face should be kept out of media is by request of a victim who may fear it inadvertently exposes their identity.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 15th 2016, 8:46 PM

@Ron North,
    Are you really saying that he’s as bad as Fr Brendan Smyth?

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Mar 15th 2016, 9:00 PM

Are those words in the comment I made Eamon? If they are the answer is yes. If they’re not the answer is no.

Now be a good boy and read it again….

…There, that wasn’t difficult now was it? All it took was just a little bit of basic reading comprehension, nothing that an average nine year old couldn’t master.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Mar 15th 2016, 9:01 PM

which one would you prefer to be raped by eamonn?

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 15th 2016, 11:20 PM

@Ron North,
    You never made any comments about Rotherham or the mass rapes in Cologne when they were featured in the Journal.
    You ignored these barbaric rapes, yet you are getting yourself into a frenzy over this very controversial borderline case.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Mar 15th 2016, 11:34 PM

I think I understand your logic now eamonn, he was white and presumably not a muslim, therefore by your twisted logic that makes it a lesser rape. The poor girl should be thankful it wasn’t some durty brown or black furriner

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Mar 16th 2016, 12:13 AM

Yeah Matty, only white people commit rape.

Mar 16th 2016, 12:49 AM

She really should be, raped being one of her own, you would say it was a good rape. non white: bad rape. racist logic 101, when was women’s rights their focus of agenda? now we know its when it suits the agenda.

Mute Ron North
    Favourite Ron North
    Mar 16th 2016, 12:37 PM

@Eamon
    I know this is going to come as a shock to you but unlike you I don’t sit on my ass waiting for a chance to comment on the journal all day every day. Perhaps if those other rapes had occurred when I was off for two weeks as I am now, and they had been published on one of the rare days that I happened to be bored and came to this site, and I had been in the humor of commenting on them, then I may have put a comment on them.
    But that didn’t happen because I had more to be doing with my life on those days than reading or commenting on The Journal.

You must have been delighted with those rapes though, not only were the victims of the rapes women, who you clearly don’t like, but the perpetrators were brown skinned and Muslim, who you also clearly don’t like.
    Bit of a win win for you there Eamon, you must have been ecstatic.

Mute Christopher Ryan
    Favourite Christopher Ryan
    Mar 15th 2016, 8:47 PM

Was she drugged??

Mute Anon Ymous
    Favourite Anon Ymous
    Mar 15th 2016, 8:51 PM

From what I understand, she was taking prescribed medication, which I presume would have sedated her enough for this to happen?

Mr D
    Mute Mr D
    Favourite Mr D
    Mar 15th 2016, 9:55 PM

I’ve said it before on TheJournal, and I’ll say it again. Mr Justice Patrick McCarthy should be shot

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Mar 16th 2016, 1:48 AM

Rape or sexual assult should always be proscuted but something very very strange in this case

Mute Killian O'Hara
    Favourite Killian O'Hara
    Mar 16th 2016, 12:24 AM

0 0 Killian O’Hara
    1 minute ago
    Frankly I’d like to read the transcripts before passing not too much judgement on this one. This case feels a little weird.
    It’s interesting though he used enough porn that she asked him to stop.
    That suggest strongly either he was looking at it in an in excessive way and she is overly sensitive to it like many. Some even going as far as considering it cheating. Or he was actually using an excessive or prodigious amount of it.
    In the first instance is there any possibility she was denying him sex but insisting on maintaining the relationship? His actions aren’t excused but a certainly motivated.
    In the second instance he likely needs some help.
    Sexuality is as innate and important to people as food. Rape is abhorrent. The feelings of sexual violation are horrific.
    While at the same time, there are many areas of this blocked off by an unwillingness to understand sexual psychological motivations and mental sexual dysfunction.
    Unfortunately I think groups who do saddeningly necessary work like the Rape Crisis Center are also partially responsible for stopping any further progress because they don’t seem to care much for understanding why it happens but pass sweeping judgement instead.
    Lack of any option for open discussion just undermines the thing itself. There seems to be a bit of a line that if you don’t think that ALL rapists are inherently evil and that’s why they do it then you are nearly as bad as them.
    If there is a more useful option than prison we should be taking it. It may go to even preventing it through deeper understanding. Anyone who disagrees with that must logically then agree that it’s better the rape is committed first and the punishment after without regard for rehabilitating the offender ensuring a greater chance they will offend further upon release, what with having been locked up without any female contact.
    Having said that we’re you a rapist in Ireland you probably wouldn’t be shitting yourself over getting charged. We have to stop appointing 80 year olds to the bench.

Mar 16th 2016, 1:09 AM

so he’s the victim am I right? of technology……..WTAAF!

Mar 16th 2016, 1:09 AM

@Klliian