We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

RTÉ presenters Miriam O'Callaghan and Ryan Tubridy (File photo) Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Tubridy, Finucane and Duffy take pay cuts as RTÉ reveals stars' salaries

Ryan Tubridy was paid €723,000 in 2011, according to figures released by the State broadcaster this evening.

LATE LATE SHOW presenter Ryan Tubridy was paid €723,000 in 2011 but has taken a 31 per cent pay cut and is now on just under half-a-million euro, according to figures released this evening.

The presenter’s salary has been reduced by over 30 per cent to €495,000 in his latest contract as other star names took pay cuts including Marian Finucane, Joe Duffy and Miriam O’Callaghan.

The State broadcaster said this evening that it had reached its objective of cutting pay for presenters by at least 30 per cent since 2008 and also pointed out that annual broadcast output had been increased among a range of presenters.

Radio and TV presenter Pat Kenny was RTÉ’s second highest-paid broadcaster in 2011 earning €630,000 with his contract up for renewal this year.

His Prime Time colleague Miriam O’Callaghan was paid €307,000 in 2011. This has dropped to €211,000 in her latest contract.

Weekend radio presenter Marian Finucane was paid €492,000 in 2011 and her fees have been reduced to €295,000 in her new deal. Liveline presenter Joe Duffy was paid €378,000 in 2011 which has dropped by a fifth to €300,000.

Saturday Night Show presenter Brendan O’Connor was paid €228,500 in 2011, reduced to €158,000 in his latest agreement.

Sports commentator and Lyric FM presenter George Hamilton received nearly €203,000 in 2011. This dropped to €168,000 in his new contract.

The top ten highest-paid RTÉ presenters in 2011 were:

1. Ryan Tubridy – €723,000

2. Pat Kenny – €630,000

3. Marian Finucane – €492,000

4. Joe Duffy – €378,000

5. Miriam O’Callaghan – €307,000

6. Brendan O’Connor – €228,500

7. Derek Mooney – €220,000.

8. Sean O’Rourke – €209,000

9. George Hamilton – €203,000

10. Bryan Dobson – €198,000

RTÉ added that Mooney, O’Rourke and Dobson are employees rather than contractors of the broadcaster so new contract fees are not applicable to them and their figures also include pension contributions.

Read: Joe Duffy defends pay levels for RTÉ presenters

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.