You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

OpenAI CEO Sam Altman. Alamy Stock Photo

Sam Altman to return as CEO of OpenAI less than a week after being sacked

The board of the ChatGPT-maker had pushed its former boss out after disagreements.

SAM ALTMAN WILL return to OpenAI after an agreement in principle was reached, the company has announced.

Posting on X, formerly Twitter, OpenAI also announced a new initial board of former Salesforce chief executive Bret Taylor, the former US treasury secretary Larry Summers and Quora chief executive Adam D’Angelo.

Altman also posted, saying “I love OpenAI, and everything I’ve done over the past few days has been in service of keeping this team and its mission together.”

Last week the board of OpenAI, which created the ChatGPT artificial intelligence tool, said it had pushed Mr Altman out after a review found he was “not consistently candid in his communications” with the board.

Greg Brockman, the company’s president and co-founder, who left in protest at Altman’s sacking said on X: “Amazing progress made today. We will come back stronger and more unified than ever.”

“Returning to AI & getting back to coding tonight,” Brockman added.

The previous board of directors, which included D’Angelo and Brockman, refused to give specific reasons to why they fired Altman last Friday.

This led to mounting pressure within the company to reinstate Altman, including a threatened exodus of nearly all of the company’s 770 employees.

Microsoft, which has invested billions of dollars in OpenAI, moved to hire Altman and Brockman on Monday.

In a post on social media this morning morning, the chairman and chief executive of Microsoft, Satya Nadella, said he is “encouraged by the changes to the OpenAI board”.

“We believe this is a first essential step on a path to more stable, well-informed, and effective governance.”

21 Comments
    Mute Ross Ross
    Favourite Ross Ross
    Jan 21st 2015, 10:20 AM

Regardless of Israeli army actions please explain exactly how it’s acceptable that the general public of any city deserve acts of terror against them because of their governments choices???

Jan 21st 2015, 10:11 PM

Gaza city?

Jan 21st 2015, 10:14 PM

Razed to the ground because of something Hamas was supposed to have been responsible for. Hundreds slaughtered. Kids, elderly, babies. Any wonder lads get angry? Let’s be real.

Mute Paddy OConnor
    Favourite Paddy OConnor
    Jan 22nd 2015, 12:51 AM

@Jamie. Hamas was responsible for building the terror tunnels in which over 200 kids were smothered to death in Hamas’s fanatical, Mohammed inspired lust, to kill Jews. And they admit it. And who cries for them? So please read the Hamas Charter to find out the nature of evil.
    http://avalon.law.yale.edu/20th_century/hamas.asp

“But who built those tunnels? The answer is Hamas, of course—using some of the same children who are now trapped under fire in Gaza.

The Institute for Palestine Studies published a detailed report on Gaza’s Tunnel Phenomenon in the summer of 2012. It reported that tunnel construction in Gaza has resulted in a large number of child deaths.

“At least 160 children have been killed in the tunnels, according to Hamas officials”
    –to 2010. To 2014 another estimated 40+ teens smothered to death.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:02 AM

People will fight back when you oppress them. Sadly its the innocent ones that pay the price of bad government decisions.

Mute Gavin
    Favourite Gavin
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:11 AM

They are repressed because the extremists have drive the situation to that end, Israel has and always will have the right to defend itself from these murderous thugs.
    This kind of attack would be far far more common only for the fact that Israel controls its boarders tightly.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:17 AM

Hamas praised this as ‘a brave and heroic act’ – gotta love those jihadis.

See 31 more replies ▾
    Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:19 AM

Too true Gavin if Israel dropped their guard and allowed the Palestinians unrestricted access to Israel these loonies would leave Israel literally swimming in innocent blood.

If the Palestinians really wanted peace they could have had it 10 times over by now but they much prefer to play the victim card for their many useful idiots in the west.

Israel the cruel heartless monster, the Palestinians the poor starving destitute innocents who would think twice about standing on an ant so passive are they.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:22 AM

Well said William

Mute Dungeon Master
    Favourite Dungeon Master

Mike’s point stands,Israel undermines whatever rights it has when it knowingly slaughters hundreds of innocent children & civilians without restraint,it was only a few months ago they massacred almost 2,000 civilians,or have you forgotten already? What would you do Gavin?

Mute Dungeon Master
    Favourite Dungeon Master
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:25 AM

Charles / William,leave a slightly longer gap between comments and don’t finish your three comments with ‘Well said (insert account name here)’ it’s a bit too obvious you’re the same person

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:27 AM

Dungeon, please try again. Or is your next moment of clarity suggesting I work for Israel?

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada

Here is a useless statistic;
    40% of Stalin’s NKVD secret police who were charged with pogroms and ethnic cleansing, (forerunners of the KGB), were Jewish..

Mute Dungeon Master
    Favourite Dungeon Master

‘Loonies would leave Israel literally swimming in blood’ Again the only loonies who have unfettered access and leave innocent people swimming in blood are the psychopathic Israeli Army & Government. Please look up Ariel Sharon genocide and then get back with your sanctimonious shite

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:28 AM

I’m sure Charles will be along soon dungeon to put you right as well, we are not the same person, can people not agree with each other on here?.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:36 AM

Dungeon, Sharon withdrew and removed all settlements from Gaza giving autonomy to the Palestinians a huge concession to the Palestinians in any un-blinkered view point and what did he get for his troubles?, a hard line Islamic terrorist organisation voted into power and the attacks on Israel continued unabated.

Give the Palestinians a mile and they want the whole damn world, nothing Israel does ever satisfies them, but its always Israels fault?.

Mute Joe Travers
    Favourite Joe Travers
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:36 AM

Jihadi Charles. Really?? Enjoying the fox news bandwagon I see. I thought you would maximise for your own utter idiotic and never ending defence of Israel.
    Jihadi kills in the name of religious extremism internationally.
    This man wounded Israeli’s in an act of crime.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:38 AM

Thanks Joe. You’re such a cutie.

Mute Paddy OConnor
    Favourite Paddy OConnor
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:10 AM

@Charles rex et al -And why wouldn’t they! They’re the Prime Mover behind all the terrorism against Israel. They make no secret of this fact. See Hamas Charter page 1 and Art 7.
    Hamas Covenant 1988

In The Name Of The Most Merciful Allah
    “Israel will exist and will continue to exist until Islam will obliterate it, just as it obliterated others before it” (The Martyr, Imam Hassan al-Banna, of blessed memory) 7

—And Art 7+8
    “The Day of Judgement will not come about until Moslems fight the Jews (killing the Jews), when the Jew will hide behind stones and trees. The stones and trees will say O Moslems, O Abdulla, there is a Jew behind me, come and kill him. Only the Gharkad tree, (evidently a certain kind of tree) would not do that because it is one of the trees of the Jews.” (related by al-Bukhari and Moslem).
    The Slogan of the Islamic Resistance Movement:
    Article Eight:

“Allah is its target, the Prophet is its model, the Koran its constitution: Jihad is its path and death for the sake of Allah is the loftiest of its wishes.”
    Unfortunately the Israeli/Jew bashers are blind to the facts. They prefer to align with the evil expressed above without understanding that they are in part responsible for the very same evil.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:10 AM

Joe, when you’ve finished spluttering into your coco pops you’ll be directed to the comment I made and asked to reconsider it. Hamas are the jihadists. I was referring to their comment on the attack. Wipe your chin and try again.

Mute Joe Travers
    Favourite Joe Travers
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:27 AM

I apologise Charles. Hamas cannot be defended. Neither can the IDF and israeli government.
    Both are hell bent on the death and destruction of the other.
    I would really love to see the UN introduce a force to ease tensions between both and look after innocent Israeli and palestinian people. But America will never let that happen. Pity really. I think with a UN force introduced a lot of lives would be saved.
    The status quo isn’t working and the sooner everyone accepts that the quicker tensions can be eased.

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Jan 21st 2015, 10:49 AM

Looking forward to the day when Isis attacks Israel . Israel will wipe them off the face of the earth .

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Jan 21st 2015, 11:32 AM

Tommy, theres not such group as ISIS. There are groups, many groups of people who hate the west for killing their relations amd robbing their country, but no actual group that has a brand, a calling card, a phone nu.ber, a business address, a website, a flag etc etc called/names ISIS.

ISIS is the new enemy to continue the 100 year war.

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Jan 21st 2015, 1:07 PM

Jason what would you like to call them . They have to be identified by some name . We all know there a bunch of savages but they have to identified with a name . The media calls them Isis and that’s the name they are known by across the world .

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Jan 21st 2015, 6:40 PM

Jason, the names ISIS, ISIL and latterly IS are direct translations of the group’s self-declared arabic title.

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Jan 21st 2015, 6:40 PM

From the Philippines to Nigeria the Islamic terror machine is ethnically cleansing the lands of Christians, Jews, Buddhists and even other Moslem’s and by the cruellest of methods, slaughtering them like animals as a final insult and all the armchair Irish Jihadis have to offer is to cry for the destruction of Israel ? Shame on you for your stupidity in the face of the greatest threat to ALL religions posed by Islamofascists be it under the name of IS, Hamas or whatever.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 21st 2015, 6:54 PM

+1

Mute Paul Ahern
    Favourite Paul Ahern
    Jan 21st 2015, 7:25 PM

Israel has borders?? News to Israelis.

Mute Gavan Duffy
    Favourite Gavan Duffy
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:29 PM

Israel is not defending anything , it is maintaining an occupation and a siege. Israel is not defending its borders as it has never declared them, probably because it has not finished stealing land.

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:37 PM

@william @charles get a room! You do know the place is called palistine not Israel? That’s like me running into your town with an army killing loads of people and calling it shanes town, then move you and all your family out and my boys get your house and everything you own. I wonder what you would do about that????

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:39 PM

@charles no they just want back their land!

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:44 PM

@paddy love the quotes do you also quote the tanakh when the idf go into gaza and wipe out thousands? You know that stuff is in their Bible too?

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:46 PM

@tommy along with everyone else if they get their way!

Mute Paddy OConnor
    Favourite Paddy OConnor
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:52 PM

@Dungeon. You need an update on psychopathology; so I recommend the following from The Hamas Charter-
    Preamble/Page 1:
    “Israel will exist and will continue to exist until Islam will obliterate it, just as it obliterated others before it.”
    And Article 7:
    “The Prophet, Allah bless him and grant him salvation, has said: ‘The Day of Judgement will not come about until Moslems fight the Jews (killing the Jews), when the Jew will hide behind stones and trees. The stones and trees will say O Moslems, O Abdulla, there is a Jew behind me, come and kill him.’”
    —– And take your time there’s full 32 pages of this madness.

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:57 PM

@gavin spot on bud they also believe Syria and bits of Iraq and Egypt belongs to them, given to them by god who will wipe out all gentiles ( everyone that’s not Jewish) bit by bit. Check it out it’s in their tanakh the wiping out the gentiles part! Sounds a bit like religious extremism to me???

Mute Gavan Duffy
    Favourite Gavan Duffy
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:57 PM

‘Give the Palestinians a mile and they want the whole world, nothing Israel does ever satisfies them’ , as all Israel ever does is steal land and murder torture and jail civilians , it is no wonder they are not satisfied. Far from being autonomous Gaza is under a vicious military siege with its citizens on an Israeli imposed ‘diet’ as part of their collective punishment for daring to elect a government of their choice, a government ,Hamas, funded for years by the Israelis. The people of Palestine have suffered long enough and have given more than enough to accommodate the state of Israel and its endless demands for land and ‘security’.

Mute Joe Burns
    Favourite Joe Burns
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:49 PM

Hezbollah and Iran are threatening attacks now. Nasrallah doing a lot of sabre rattling in the last week.

Mute Joe Burns
    Favourite Joe Burns
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:53 PM

@Gavan, what a pile of shite. LOL Khaled Meshaal loves you brother and has promised you 72 virgins if you keep up the propaganda and the useless marches in Dublin. He wont however share any of the $2.6 billion he stole from the supposedly starving people of Gaza.

Mute CitizenSmith©
    Favourite CitizenSmith©
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:14 AM

Another idiot with some warped mindset.

Mute Silver Planet
    Favourite Silver Planet
    Jan 21st 2015, 6:14 PM

My ears are burning…

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 21st 2015, 6:17 PM

I don’t condone any violence but was there any mention in the Western Mainstream Media about the 2 Palestinians that were shot dead along with 11 injured in the last two weeks.

Were those that carried out this act also of a warped mind set?

http://www.haaretz.com/news/diplomacy-defense/1.590861

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins
    Jan 21st 2015, 6:32 PM

Frank, the link in the Israeli paper details a killing that happened in May 2014. Is last week May 2014 in your head?

“I don’t condone any violence but …”

“I don’t deny the holocaust but …”

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Jan 21st 2015, 6:45 PM

Here’s one from last week that went unnoticed
    ” The body of French mountaineer Hervé Gourdel was recovered by Algerian troops Thursday 15 January, four months after he was abducted and beheaded by jihadists”

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 21st 2015, 6:47 PM

David HIggins_would’t make a difference anyway as more than likely we would not have heard of it.

BTW there was two Palestinians shot dead by the IDF in the West bank last week, I got the link wrong.

http://mondoweiss.net/2015/01/palestinians-etzion-settlement

Speaking of Harretz, They are probably more liberal on controversial issues than most Western media. One of their Journalists got badly beaten for reporting on Illegal settlements in the West Bank last year.

They also published this last week.

http://mondoweiss.net/2015/01/journalists-publication-newspaper

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jan 21st 2015, 7:08 PM

Uncle Mort _ The Mainstream Media probably buried it for fear of it being exposed.

This latest ISIS horror story on those two Japanese hostages is starting to show cracks.

http://s29.postimg.org/h27u15g2f/FALSEFG.jpg

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Jan 22nd 2015, 3:01 AM

Frank, I’m surprised that your not calling this a false flag operation?

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:15 AM

It didn’t take long for a Hamas supporter to arrive and blame the Israelis for his actions!

Apoplexy would be the order of the day if they had actually killed him!!!!!!

Mute Craig Barry
    Favourite Craig Barry
    Jan 21st 2015, 6:53 PM

You seem to use the word “Apoplexy” a lot in your posts, is this an attempt to come across as semi intelligent?

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Jan 21st 2015, 6:56 PM

Why do you ask is it making you apoplectic? I sincerely hope so!

Mute Craig Barry
    Favourite Craig Barry
    Jan 21st 2015, 7:15 PM

Lol good man :-)

Mute Ross Ross
    Favourite Ross Ross
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:37 AM

Easy for you all to say it’s all Israels fault etc… I wonder how all you far lefts would feel if someone you loved more than anything in the world was killed on that bus??
    I suppose you’d justify the murder of your husband /wife/family member because Israel have done much worse??
    I suppose it was alright that the ira knee capped the odd random young lad back in the day, sure an eye for an eye….
    Yeah

Mute Dungeon Master
    Favourite Dungeon Master
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:49 AM

I wonder how all you far rights would feel if your entire family,neighbours and village was wiped out in a matter of seconds and no one was held to account,the perpetrator here will be punished and rightly so,unlike the IDF and war criminals in The Knesset.

Mute Karl Waters
    Favourite Karl Waters
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:49 AM

I haven’t seen one person condone the stabbings on here. People are speculating as to the root cause of this. It’s the internet, you get that. Relax.

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:01 AM

Why do you presume that everyone who supports Israel comes from a far right view point Dungeon?, I would class myself as extremely liberal but a liberal without a guilty conscience and not ashamed of our western values unlike some of the Che Guevera T/shirts.

Israel is a mostly liberal secular society their core values have more in common with the liberal in me than the Palestinians who will only use the Che Guevera t/shirts for propaganda purposes, in other words “useful idiots”.

Mute Phil Jones
    Favourite Phil Jones
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:04 AM

An eye for an eye is an Old Testament belief , something the Israelis practice in spades. Killings are horrible be they in Tel Aviv or Belfast. Israel has done so much worse to the Palestinians and the ICC will uncover all that.

Mute Karl Waters
    Favourite Karl Waters
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:24 AM

William Boyd, what does “western values” even mean? Do you think Israel and Ireland have common “western values” for example? Or are you just regurgitating soundbites you heard on Fox News?

Mute William Boyd
    Favourite William Boyd
    Jan 21st 2015, 10:07 AM

Ask Hamas Karl the difference between their ideology and what most of us consider western values/culture, “chasm” springs to mind.

Mute Karl Waters
    Favourite Karl Waters
    Jan 21st 2015, 10:55 AM

Explain to me what “western culture” is, William.

Is it free speech? Because we don’t have that.
    Is it separation of church and state? We don’t have that either.

What exactly is it? I’m aware of Irish culture, but I don’t know what “western culture” is.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Jan 21st 2015, 5:58 PM

Dungeon, of those 2000 ‘innocents’ over 1000 have been proven to be known Hamas terrorists.

Mute Paul Ahern
    Favourite Paul Ahern
    Jan 21st 2015, 7:24 PM

Nope, not even according to the IDF who have said that 45% of the 2,200 killed were militants. The GHM says 30%.

Mute Gavan Duffy
    Favourite Gavan Duffy
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:27 PM

Israel is a mostly liberal society if you happen to be Jewish, if on the other hand you are Palestinian Muslim or Christian you are a second class citizen in your own country, also ‘ the only democracy in the Middle East ‘ has been holding a civilian population under military occupation for nearly fifty years while it transfers its own population into the confiscated lands, a war crime according to the Geneva convention.

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 21st 2015, 10:24 PM

@jason by who? And if so what about the rest?

Mute Ross Ross
    Favourite Ross Ross
    Jan 21st 2015, 11:11 AM

Three of my comments deleted so far, not offensive either.

So much for free speech on the journal

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:30 AM

Horrible attack on people on bus. Why is the attacker called a terrorist. Could he not be someone with mental issues. Or something else. Or are all Palestine people labelled a terrorist.

Mute Phil Jones
    Favourite Phil Jones
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:00 AM

I was just going to comment the same thing. The man acted on his own, if this was an Israeli killing Palestinians who would be called a ‘crazed attacker’. If it happened on a bus in Dublin would he be called a terrorist? I abhor violence and my thoughts are with those poor 9 people who were stabbed, I hope they will be ok, but lets not connect the entire Palestinian population to this attack. Tulkarem has a bloody history at the hands of the Israelis, worth doing a bit of research into it.

Mute An Taoiseach
    Favourite An Taoiseach
    Jan 21st 2015, 5:49 PM

Phil, if it happened on a bus in Dublin he would be called a crazed Junkie.

Mute Gary Gary
    Favourite Gary Gary

Isreal.
    Look at how to treat the people of Palestine.
    A man becomes radicalised and then the world calls him a terrorist.
    Isreal as a “state” has commited war crimes this is the natural reaction to oppression

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:05 AM

Luckily he was shot before he stabbed more innocent people.
    I can see the day when even a common criminal is referred to as a terrorist.

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Jan 21st 2015, 7:28 PM

Not lucky for him he was only shot in the leg.Tis very far from the paradise he was hoping for he’ll end up in a few hours.

Mute sean Bhoy duffy
    Favourite sean Bhoy duffy
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:13 AM

The attacker was staying in Israel ilegally now that’s a joke!

Mute Joe Burns
    Favourite Joe Burns
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:13 PM

Why is it a joke? Let us all in on the secret.

Mute Karl Waters
    Favourite Karl Waters
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:17 AM

Depressing incident. But you reap what you sow.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:21 AM

What did the passengers sow?

Mute Karl Waters
    Favourite Karl Waters
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:26 AM

Their government did it on their behalf. You don’t read the news then?

Mute Seán Donnelly
    Favourite Seán Donnelly
    Jan 21st 2015, 10:43 AM

Using your ‘logic’ Gazan citizens are responsible for Qassam rockets being fired into Israel as they elected Hamas.

Ordinary citizens are never accountable for the actions of their government, be they Palestinian or Israeli.

Mute Gary Gary
    Favourite Gary Gary
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:51 AM

The paid Israeli shills at out in force this morning.
    Hi guys

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Jan 21st 2015, 6:30 PM

Why do you assume people with a different view to you are paid?

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 21st 2015, 7:03 PM

Because it’s easier than coming up with a coherent argument. Apparently I work in the Israeli embassy/ mossad/ somewhere in tel aviv… to me it merely confirms that they’ve driven up an intellectual cul de sac

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:09 PM

@charles I just think you like oppression and the murder of innocent women and children!

Mute Joe Burns
    Favourite Joe Burns
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:25 PM

I want to apply for the job of paid shill for Israel, I’ve been doing it for free for years. :) (what an idiot)

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:40 AM

There is no point in trying to reason with supporters of terrorism because they are unreasonable people to begin with.

Mute Éamonn OKane
    Favourite Éamonn OKane
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:56 AM

How could be in Israel illegally it is his country annexed by Israel.

Mute Joe Burns
    Favourite Joe Burns
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:41 PM

What’s the name of his country? Pick up a feckin bible and see how many times the word “Israel” is mentioned ye heathen. No mention of a country named “Palestine” ever, anywhere, not even in the Qur’an. Did you pass history at school?

Mute Joe Burns
    Favourite Joe Burns
    Jan 21st 2015, 5:48 PM

Gotta love the Journal anti-Israel reporting

“The police shot the attacker in the leg.”

Who cares? What about the civillians he tried to murder?

Wouldn’t it be newsworthy to report that the PA and Mahmood Abbas praised the terrorist? Of course Abbas is no stranger to terrorism himself, he funded the terrorist attack at the 1972 Olympic Games in Munich.

How about doing a story on Khaled Meshaal the leader (coward) of Hamas who hides in Qatar and lives in a luxury hotel surrounded by bodyguards as he orders his henchmen to keep people in their homes when Israel has given warning their homes will be bombed. Meshaal stole $2.6 BILLION from the people of Gaza, Yasser Arafat only stole $43 Million and Abbas is a multimillionaire also.

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Jan 21st 2015, 6:06 PM

I think that Qatar has asked Meshaal to get out?

Mute Free Gaza
    Favourite Free Gaza
    Jan 21st 2015, 7:37 PM

Abu Daoud, the mastermind behind the 1972 Munich attack, was the one who named Abbas as the person who provided funds, but he also said that Abbas didn’t know that those funds would be used for that

Mute Joe Burns
    Favourite Joe Burns
    Jan 21st 2015, 7:46 PM

No, another fictional story. Of course if the coward had any cohones he would go to Gaza. Egypt offered to open the Rafah border especially to allow him safe passage into Gaza.

https://www.middleeastmonitor.com/news/middle-east/16288-reports-of-meshaals-departure-untrue-qatar-fm

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=a19_1405405877&comments=1

Mute Joe Burns
    Favourite Joe Burns
    Jan 21st 2015, 7:53 PM

@Free Gaza Oh right Ted, Sounds legit.

He provides money for terrorists who are going to do what with it?

So no argument that Meshaal stole $2.6 BILLION from your beloved of Gaza?

Or that Yasser Arafat stole $43 Million?

Khaled Meshaal thanks you from the bottom of his heart for marching in the streets of Dublin and urges you to keep it up. Maybe even use your children as human shields.

Mute Free Gaza
    Favourite Free Gaza
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:03 PM

You can speculate all you want, but you have no hard evidence that Abbas had prior knowledge of the massacre. Black September had, before Munich, targeted what could be considered legitimate military, political, or strategic targets, so it’s not entirely unlikely that Abbas had not known that civilians would be targeted, or he could easily have just assumed that it would be a similar target are previous attacks. But again, there’s no hard evidence either way

I don’t support Hamas, terrorism or corrupt politicians who steal money from the people. So no, I’m not going to say anything else on that issue because we don’t disagree on that.

I have never attended one of those protests. And if I ever do I certainly don’t want Khaled Meshaal thanking me for it as I’m not doing it for him or for Hamas.

Mute Paddy OConnor
    Favourite Paddy OConnor
    Jan 21st 2015, 8:14 PM

@Mort et al . I hope Qatar gives up on building Clongriffin megafort too…

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:07 AM

Christ, that would cost atleast 500 lives.

Mute Oisín O'Connor
    Favourite Oisín O'Connor
    Jan 21st 2015, 6:17 PM

He used a kitchen knife. Hardly bears resemblance to organised terrorism. More likely to be someone who’s mentally ill as a result of spending so long in a repressive society in constant conflict.

Mute Joe Burns
    Favourite Joe Burns
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:23 PM

What a pathetic comment, doesn’t make any difference whether he used a Stanley Knife or a Swiss Army Knife, he stabbed people. Then you try to excuse away his behaviour.

He was in Israel, not WB or Gaza. Israel is not a “repressive society”, ask the 20% of Muslims, Arabs and Druze who proudly call themselves Israelis. You are a sick human being, I hope you are not carrying any weapons.

Mute Oisín O'Connor
    Favourite Oisín O'Connor
    Jan 21st 2015, 11:55 PM

The difference is that the label “terrorist” implies that there is some organisation behind the attacker. My reaction was to the commentary on the incident which, I believe, adds to the climate of fear in an already unstable area. I clearly wasn’t attempting to excuse what happened.

Mute Ross Ross
    Favourite Ross Ross
    Jan 21st 2015, 10:17 AM

Where are my reply comments going? Journal what’s your problem?

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Jan 21st 2015, 7:03 PM

An open prison with luxury hotels and crawling with millionaires and billionaires ?
    “Today, Abu Marzouk is one of the major billionaires in Hamas. “Arab estimates peg his fortune at 2-3 billion dollars,” Elad says. Another senior-official-turned-terror-tycoon is Khaled Mashaal, head of Hamas’s political wing. “Global estimates say Mashaal is worth $2.6 billion,” but Arab commentators, with other sources, say he is worth between 2 and 5 billion, “invested in Egyptian banks and Gulf countries, some in real estate projects.”

Next on the list is Ismail Haniyeh, who until the recent signing of a unity deal between Hamas and Fatah was the Prime Minister of Gaza. “His fortune is estimated at 4 million dollars, and most of his assets in the Strip are registered in the name of his son in law Nabil, and a dozen children of his and other less known Hamas officials,” “

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:01 PM

Where are all the jewish billionaires that back the murder of thousands of innocent women and children? Any chance of those stats? What about all the news companies they own that make out thry were defending themselves by bombing schools and hospitals and call them hamas strong holds?

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Jan 21st 2015, 6:33 PM

According to our Islamofascist apparatchiks only persons wearing a large beard and carrying a Kalashnikov and/or a suicide vest can be classed as terrorists. Kitchen knives and other hacking implements and the use of motor vehicles to cause mass death and injury are not to be called terrorists even if they do shout Allah Hackbar while cutting children’s throats .

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:07 PM

@unclemort your definitely @scipio exactly the same posts everything written the same an all, get a life dude you incite hate and I can’t help but wonder why but I won’t ask you again in case you know what!

Mute sarah cullen
    Favourite sarah cullen
    Jan 21st 2015, 6:49 PM

Don’t condone violence but these people are desperate,they are living in an open prison.Hard to see any future thats good in this conflict.

Mute Joe Burns
    Favourite Joe Burns
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:32 PM

@Sarah, which of the 3 or 4 “Palestines” are you referring to as an “open prison”? WB, Gaza, Jordan, Lebanon?

I presume you mean Gaza which has a 13Km border with Egypt at Rafah Crossing. How can a prison have a 13Km opening with fellow Muslims in Egypt? Turns out the Egyptians hate Hamas and Gaza even more than the Israelis and closed the border, even to humanitarian aid. The Israelis sent in 160 trucks of humanitarian aid, Hamas killed 160 children building their terror and smuggling tunnels into Egypt and Israel. I think you need to read a map sometime and not that ridiculous Hamas map that seems to forget that Israel gave up the Sinai, an area twice teh size of Israel in the hope of peace.

Mute shane murphy
    Favourite shane murphy
    Jan 21st 2015, 10:42 PM

@joe you know that the first twelve books of the old testament is from the tanakh? The reason it’s called Israel in our bible is because it was written by jew turned Christian get it? And can you tell me what it was called before 1948 and who lived their?

Mute Stephen Cumbers
    Favourite Stephen Cumbers
    Jan 21st 2015, 11:09 PM

Shane
    It was called Mandatory Palestine or British Palestine and was populated by Arabs and Jews. What’s your point ?

Mute Free Gaza
    Favourite Free Gaza
    Jan 22nd 2015, 12:29 AM

Stephen, that general area has been known as Palestine since the Romans ruled in that region. Even the 1922 League of Nations Mandate refers to it as Palestine: “the establishment in Palestine of a national home for the Jewish people, it being clearly understood that nothing should be done which might prejudice the civil and religious rights of existing non-Jewish communities in Palestine”

At the time of this Mandate the Muslim and Arab population was seven times the size of the Jewish, mostly non-native, population. Even in 1947 the Muslim and Arab population was twice the size of the Jewish population. The point is that land belonging to indigenous Arabs and Muslims was set aside for the establishment of a Jewish homeland on the basis of the belief that their god granted it to them. Not only that, but the conditions laid out in the 1922 Mandate that a Jewish homeland be established and supported so long as “the civil and religious rights of existing non-Jewish communities in Palestine” not be prejudiced has clearly not been honoured.

Mute Paddy OConnor
    Favourite Paddy OConnor
    Jan 22nd 2015, 4:30 AM

@Joe Burns et al. Can anyone imagine the world-wide furor if this teen had been shot by the Israelis.
    The Israeli-bashers would be up all night banging away at their keyboards.
    REUTERS – Egyptian border troops shot dead a Palestinian youth as he tried to cross illegally from the Gaza Strip on Friday, Palestinian and Egyptian sources said. Jan. 3/2015

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:25 PM

Interesting restraint. First warning shots in the air, then shots to the legs.

In other jurisdiction, as explained with immense relish by the many Irish gun experts, you cannot ever shoot at the legs. You must shot to kill. Are Israeli policemen more accurate at shopping.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:26 PM

More accurate at “shooting” , not shopping.

Mute Joe Burns
    Favourite Joe Burns
    Jan 21st 2015, 10:08 PM

Interesting observation. I’m sure the Hamas propagandists here in Ireland will come up with a reason. :)
    It was actually prison officers as I understand it. Training in Israel is second to none and of course everyone, man or woman, straight or gay has to serve in the IDF. In weapons training you are taught shoot to kill but an experienced firearms expert would rather not kill unless absolutely necessary.

When your country is surrounded by neighbours who want to kill you, there tends to be a high level of expertise. Possible they missed the chest in the panic. Chances are the attacker wasn’t so brave when confronted. He will get well treated in Israel and face the rest of his miserable life in jail. I don’t think he will get his 72 virgins though.

Mute Michael Owens
    Favourite Michael Owens
    Jan 21st 2015, 9:42 PM

Why not let every country govern their own land? Why let invaders have a say? Why do world powers only stick up for fellow world powers?

Mute Leo Casey
    Favourite Leo Casey
    Jan 22nd 2015, 6:48 AM

It’s a wonder how more incidences like this don’t occur given the level of oppression suffered by Palestinians on a daily basis at the hands of apartheid israel.