We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Derek Dignam/

Seán Ó Fearghaíl has been re-elected Ceann Comhairle of Dáil Éireann

Ó Feargháil received 130 votes with Independent TD Denis Naughten receiving 28 votes.

FIANNA FÁIL TD Seán Ó Feargháil has been re-elected Ceann Comhairle of Dáil Éireann.

The Kildare South TD – who first took up the role in 2016 – defeated Independent TD Denis Naughten in a vote today. 

Ó Feargháil received 130 votes with Naughten receiving 28 votes.  

The Ceann Comhairle is the chair of the Dáil and is expected to observe strict impartiality and keep order in the house.

Whoever is elected to the role is automatically re-elected to the next Dáil.

Ó Feargháil was Ceann Comhairle of the 32nd Dáil and was the first to be elected by secret ballot in 2016. Previously, the government of the day would simply choose who would take up the role. 

He was the first Fianna Fáil Ceann Comhairle to be elected since Seámus Kirk who held the post in the 30th Dáil between 2009 and 2011.

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel