You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sean Quinn Junior arriving at the High Court on Friday Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

Seán Quinn Jr to serve sentence in semi open, low security prison

After spending his first night in Mountjoy Jail, Seán Quinn Jr is to be moved to the low-security Training Unit of the prison.

SEÁN QUINN JR is to serve his three-month sentence in the Training Unit of Mountjoy Jail – a semi-open, low security prison.

Last night, Quinn Jr – the son of bankrupt businessman Seán Quinn – spent his first night in prison in Mountjoy Jail.

Quinn Jr was sentenced to three months for contempt of court yesterday, along with his cousin Peter Darragh Quinn, after Justice Elizabeth Dunne ruled the men had not made appropriate efforts to reverse steps taken to put assets worth hundreds of millions of euro out of the reach of the Irish Bank Resolution Corporation, formerly Anglo Irish Bank.

Darragh Quinn did not turn up to court on Friday, sending word that he was unwell. Despite Gardaí visiting all of his known addresses in the Republic, the whereabouts of the 34-year-old remains unknown and a warrant has been issued for his arrest.

Meanwhile, Seán Quinn Sr has been given more time to reverse the asset stripping scheme.

Read: Arrest warrant still in place for Peter Darragh Quinn>

Read: Seán Quinn’s son and nephew jailed for three months>

Read: The investigation of Seán FitzPatrick: a timeline of the story so far>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

42 Comments
    Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Jul 21st 2012, 3:14 PM

Pity. A week in the proper prison might clarify his thoughts.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Jul 21st 2012, 4:28 PM

agree. he is exaclty the kind of person who helps create the kind of society which produces many of the population of mountjoy. why not let him share a cell with a few of his creations?

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jul 21st 2012, 3:15 PM

I’m sure Darragh will be pulling up, out front, in the 4X4 any time now so they can go on the hop together with their 2.8bn swindled from the Irish people.

Mute Anel Cceram
    Favourite Anel Cceram
    Jul 21st 2012, 3:39 PM

Hey wake up and smell the roses these people were robbed and the case hasn’t come up yet. Anglo was a biffo baby it’s that pig and slimy seanie fitz should be in jail

Mute Stephen Mc Partlin
    Favourite Stephen Mc Partlin
    Jul 21st 2012, 3:55 PM

What is that Anel one on ?? !! ‘shocking miscarriage of justice ‘ .. We agree , Biffo should be behind bars but to say these 3 are being wronged is a joke. If you bet your family fortune on a horse called Anglo a few yrs. ago and that horse lost , sorry died you wouldn’t expect the rest of the Irish people to foot the bill for your gamble . Have you only landed in the country ?

Mute fotocrat™
    Favourite fotocrat™
    Jul 21st 2012, 3:20 PM

Training Unit Of Mountjoy….
    Is he training to be a prisoner or training to adapt to jail life or what!!!

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Jul 22nd 2012, 8:35 AM

Training in the family business….. Breaking stones.

Mute Too Trueleft
    Favourite Too Trueleft
    Jul 21st 2012, 3:56 PM

Clare Daly went to Mountjoy for contempt of court fighting for the working class. Sean Quinn Jr. gets sent to Butlins for his part in hiding half a billion quid owed to the taxpayer.

And that my friends is a good example of why we’re in this mess.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Jul 21st 2012, 4:18 PM

What are you on about? the women’s prison in Mountjoy is certainly not like you are making it out http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/D%C3%B3chas_Centre There are hardly watch-towers and guard dogs. The training unit is much the same as far as I know http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Training_Unit. Neither could be described as Butlins and both prisoners were jailed for the same reason. The difference between Daly and Quinn is the reason they ended there in the first place.

Mute Anel Cceram
    Favourite Anel Cceram
    Jul 21st 2012, 3:11 PM

Shocking miscarriage of justice I hope he gets billions in compo. And biffo the liar strutting around Offaly.

Mute John O'Sullivan
    Favourite John O'Sullivan
    Jul 21st 2012, 3:47 PM

How was justice miscarried exactly? Seems to be a crystal clear contempt of court from where I’m standing. And a more general contempt of the tax-compliant public too.

Mute Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Favourite Nuffsaid Thatsall
    Jul 21st 2012, 5:08 PM

@ John– Don’t mind the bo**ix above!! He’s little to be at!!

Mute Danny Grey
    Favourite Danny Grey
    Jul 21st 2012, 7:38 PM

Sean Quinn was going to sell his shares in Anglo in mid March 2008 but had pressure put on him by Fianna Failers to hold off. Put on the green jersey, they said. If you sell, Irish banks will collapse. Do it for the country.

So he held off on the sale. Now he’s left holding the can while everyone else who was involved is sitting pretty financially.

Mute Fagan's
    Favourite Fagan's
    Jul 21st 2012, 8:55 PM

He walked out of the courts with his hands free, he wasn’t cuffed. The state are trying to get 500million in property off his family, money that the tax payer will have to cover if they get away with it, on top of the nearly 2 billion hit we have already taken.

Justice and proper governance would demand that he was cuffed and that he was jailed for contempt indefinately. If it takes 30 years to get him to talk, then so be it.

If he had stolen a mars bar from a Centra, he would get more than 3 months, and would not be able to have the cuffs left off.

An absolute disgrace and the guards that took him out should be disciplined for failing in their duties.

Mute HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Favourite HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Jul 21st 2012, 9:37 PM

And Seán Fitzpatrick to serve sentence in Marbella/K Club being shuttled around on Denis O’Briens Jet.

Mute Joey Dempsey
    Favourite Joey Dempsey
    Jul 21st 2012, 4:06 PM

Sure god bless him, no doubt he will be transferred to the open prison in Cavan, you know the one with the gates left open, sure he will be able to get sangwhiches sent over from the slieve russell hotel, Ooop’s forgot they don’t own that anymore.

Just amazed at the sympathy shown towards this family, people seem to forget pure greed led to the Quinn Empire demise, not the recession or downturn and whilst i have little sympathy for any bank, especially anglo, it was the sale of the quinn assets that at least saved some of the Jobs. Anyone who doubts this showers attempt to hide assets and no doubt create a little nest egg for themselves is Niave in the extreme. I think the judge was actually more than patient and reasonable.

Mute CM
    Favourite CM
    Jul 21st 2012, 5:20 PM

The sympathy comes because while Quinns downfall was down to his greed and wreckless investing, those investments they were based on false fraudulent information provided to him by Anglo. There’s an unfairness in the manner Anglo are pursuing him and the amount of public blame and vitriole he’s received, while the Drumm’s and Fitzpatricks who were so much more at fault carry on barely affected.

If anyone had everything taken from them by a bank that had contributed so much to their downfall they would feel justified in trying to save something.

Mute John McG
    Favourite John McG
    Jul 21st 2012, 6:28 PM

CM, The Quinns admit they owe over 2bn but disagree about a further 4bn or so. Instead of trying to pay back the 2bn they agree they owe they have done everything in their power to make sure the taxpayers of this country don’t get a cent. For once the courts have got it right, lets hope there is more to follow.

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Jul 21st 2012, 8:05 PM

The Anglo pursuing him is not the Anglo of Seanie Fitz he lost his ill advised bet on. It belongs to us, the taxpayers who ended up with its debts. They have a duty to recoup as much for us as they can.

Mute Anel Cceram
    Favourite Anel Cceram
    Jul 21st 2012, 3:28 PM

Disgracefully not one Anglo banker in jail. And Biffo in OffAly disgusting I hope he gets billions in compo

Mute Emerald Phoenix
    Favourite Emerald Phoenix
    Jul 21st 2012, 3:31 PM

Heard ya the first time!

Mute Liz Gallagher
    Favourite Liz Gallagher
    Jul 21st 2012, 9:03 PM

yawn

Mute chucky.arla
    Favourite chucky.arla
    Jul 21st 2012, 3:47 PM

It’s not what you know, it’s who you know that gets you moved to the luxury quarters of mountjoy

Mute Jim O Connell
    Favourite Jim O Connell
    Jul 21st 2012, 5:03 PM

I think its a disgrace that this family are being treated in this way and the big bankers that caused the sinking of our country are still in their high paying jobs and the politicians are happy to keep them there as they have so much dirt on eachother

Mute Frank Bohan
    Favourite Frank Bohan
    Jul 21st 2012, 5:08 PM

Sean Quinn practically owned Anglo!

Mute Frank Bohan
    Favourite Frank Bohan
    Jul 21st 2012, 5:10 PM

What?? The Quinn family practically owned Anglo.

Mute Emerald Phoenix
    Favourite Emerald Phoenix
    Jul 21st 2012, 5:30 PM

Amnesia much?

Mute Fagan's
    Favourite Fagan's
    Jul 21st 2012, 9:04 PM

Quinn is part of the problem, he did great work in bringing employment, making an empire out of a small wet farm. Yet he blew it through greed, hubris etc. Their actions since the downfall have been a disgrace and atypical of the gombeen business practices that destroyed us, kept the economy down for decades.

If he is not punished severely for that, then we are finished long term

Mute Frank O Shea
    Favourite Frank O Shea
    Jul 21st 2012, 3:51 PM

These guys are like drug addicts – they will do anything for a fix. It will take years in prison for them to detox and a lot of therapy for these guys to look at their wrong doing. They live in denial and think it is everybody else’s fault. These guys are real junkies so they have a lot in common with the rest of the inmates. Sadly their families are now also addicted to the cash so it goes on and on. Justice Dunne would be a great therapist with great desciline. Well done Ms Dunne.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jul 21st 2012, 3:38 PM

Possibly planning the Great Escape as we speak! Green-thumbed Anel’s comment by mistake.

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Jul 21st 2012, 4:16 PM

He’ll probably be transferred to Arbour Hill,so he can stay in the Ray Burke suite,just get it nice and cozy from when his papa arrives.

Mute William Mcgee
    Favourite William Mcgee
    Jul 21st 2012, 6:02 PM

They may as well have booked him into a hotel , we still have the two kinds of justice one for the rich and one for the poor , no change no proper justice.

Mute Martin Grehan
    Favourite Martin Grehan
    Jul 21st 2012, 6:49 PM

Yet people who refuse to pay unjust fines get put in the actual prison. Jokeshop as usual. Big slap up bribes or words were had in the ears of the right people to sort a nice comfy stay out for the lad. I don’t believe anyone should be kept in the disgusting conditions of mountjoy but once again we say one law for them and another for us.

Mute Barry McSweeney
    Favourite Barry McSweeney
    Jul 21st 2012, 4:37 PM

I am surprised that he was not sent to Loughran House.
    That way he could slip across the Border and leave the jurisdiction!!

Mute Benny benson
    Favourite Benny benson
    Jul 21st 2012, 9:53 PM

The banks messed us all up. Private banks with private debts, but our foolish politicians made it, our debt. That is why this country is under very serious pressure financially. As taxpayers we own the banks, so as we own the banks, we should lessen the burden on mortgage holders by lengthing terms as in years of mortgages up to 40 years etc. forgive up to 60 per cent of debt where loans should not have been approved by banks in first place. Knock at least 1/3 of all debt not just those in arrears. We need to be radical and free people from onerous debt. Goverment as they own banks and thus mortgages owed can do this. They need to give people a chance even if it means taking over mortgages and giving people a chance to pay back and keep what they worked hard for. Quinns were foolish but were fooled by bankers who chased and pressured them to buy shares. Sean Quinn knows how to make money and he should be allowed continue in business and repay the debt we are now on hook for. Jail is not the answer in this type of case

Mute HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Jul 22nd 2012, 1:15 AM

Spot on!

The Government wants to tie our hands behind our backs for a lifetime (with their banker written laws) and make us a nation of beggars.

Mute Kevin Hunt
    Favourite Kevin Hunt
    Jul 22nd 2012, 12:17 AM

The bankers should be made take full losses! If you go into a casino, since when, if you lose do you get your money back!!!!!! They should lose it all!! And let any bank that needs to fail, fail and start over fresh, Iceland = progressive approach

Mute peter
    Favourite peter
    Jul 21st 2012, 9:35 PM

I bet the people who think They are hard done by are culchies. They owe 2.5 billion for Christ sake

Mute HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Jul 21st 2012, 9:43 PM

A convenient diversion from the real Seanie’s and the Irish government’s €32 Billion and counting pin striped and wigged theft.

Mute Loulou Walsh
    Favourite Loulou Walsh
    Jul 21st 2012, 10:21 PM

love that the gardai don’t know where he is!!!! did they not think he would go over the border to his other house in the north. makes me sick that them and the bankers are not thrown in jail or preferably off the planet.

Mute Enda Story
    Favourite Enda Story
    Jul 22nd 2012, 1:35 AM

Liberty Insurance were rubbing their hands together when they were gifted Quinn Insurance by the incompetent prats at NEW ANGLO supposedly acting in the interest of Irish taxpayers. I wonder if any sweeteners passed to get that one over the line?

Mute pacahill
    Favourite pacahill
    Jul 22nd 2012, 2:37 AM

Semi open low security prison?? Sounds like a good idea