Christopher Ewing via Shutterstock
Peace Award

Short list announced for 2012 Tipperary International Peace Award

Previous recipients of the Tipperary International Peace Award include Nelson Mandela and Mary McAleese.

A SHORT LIST nominees for the 2012 Tipperary International Peace Award has been announced by Tipperary Peace Convention.

The award recipient for 2012 will be announced on 1 January, 2013 and the award will be presented in Tipperary on a date to be confirmed next year.

Previous recipients of the Tipperary International Peace Award include former South African President Nelson Mandela, former Soviet President Mikhail Gorbachev, the late Senator Gordon Wilson from Enniskillen, former US President Bill Clinton and last year’s recipients former President of Ireland, Professor Mary McAleese and her husband Senator Martin McAleese.

The five nominees for this year’s awards are:

Hillary Rodham Clinton

Clinton joined the US State Department in 2009 serving in the administration of President Barack Obama as the 67th United States Secretary of State – and joined the State Department after nearly four decades in public service as an advocate, attorney, First Lady, and Senator.

The Convention says that. throughout her tenure, she has looked towards “smart power” as the strategy for asserting US leadership and values, combining military strength with US capacities in global economics, development aid, and technology.

Malala Yousafzai

Pakistani schoolgirl Malala Yousafzai blogged about her experiences of seeking education as a female, and of her desire to go to school without fear in a part of the country where the Taliban had once imposed strict Shari’a law.

As a result of her outspoken statements and writings, Taliban gunmen boarded her school bus last October, sought her out and shot her in the head. Eventually airlifted to a hospital in Britain, she survived her severe wounds and is now reported to be making a good recovery.

Sonia Ghandi

President of the Indian National Congress Sonia Ghandi, is an Italian-born Indian politician and the President of one of the major political parties of India. She is the widow of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi. After his assassination in 1991, she was invited by the Indian National Congress to take over the Congress but refused and publicly stayed away from politics amidst constant prodding by the Congress. She finally agreed to join politics in 1997 and in 1998 was elected as the leader of the Congress.

John Githongo

Former Kenyan journalist John Githongo investigated bribery and fraud in his home country and later, under the presidency of Mwai Kibaki, took on an official governmental position to fight corruption. After he left that position he accused top ministers of large scale fraud. The story of his fight against corruption is told in Michela Wrong’s book ‘It’s our turn to eat: The story of a Kenyan Whistle-Blower’.

Pax Christi International

Pax Christi International is a non-profit, non-governmental Catholic peace movement working on a global scale on a wide variety of issues in the fields of human rights, human security, disarmament and demilitarisation, just world order and religion and violent conflict.

Read: Former President and husband win Tipperary International Peace Award

Read: Ireland seeking election to UN Human Rights Council, says Taoiseach

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.