You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Google Blog

So a lot of tech companies had fun with April Fools Day today

Especially Google, but that was already expected.

SO APRIL FOOLS day is over for another year and a lot of tech and digital companies got involved.

With the majority aiming for entertainment instead of fooling people, today meant that a lot of silly, crazy and genuinely funny products were announced today.

There were a lot out there, but here are a small selection of the best ones.

Google

When Google does April Fools jokes, it goes all out and this year was no exception.

In no specific order, its jokes included (deep breath now) Gmail’s selfies background, Google Japan’s Magic Hand, Google Maps’ Pokemon Challenge, Google Chrome’s translate to emoji feature, Chromecast for squirrels, delivering coffee through Google Fiber, a Chrome plug-in which provides a virtual keyboard for cats, a Google+ feature that has David Hasselhoff appearing in all your photos, and a feature that auto-optimises your resume.

Although the best one was YouTube’s announcement that it had created every viral trend in existence and it announcing what’s trends will be big this year.

YouTube Spotlight / YouTube

Samsung

Apart from its announcement it was introducing its first wearable smart glove  (which HTC also did a version of), Samsung also announced Fi-Fly, bringing wifi to everyone by attaching mini-routers to pigeons.

SAMSUNGMOBILEUK / YouTube

Ocado Technology

“With this breakthrough size and weight, it not only felt larger, it was *actually* larger.”

Ocado Technology / YouTube

Virgin Airways and Nest

Virgin Airways teamed with the Google-owned Nest to introduce Total Temperature Control, allowing passengers to control the temperature at their seat.

Nest / YouTube

Sony

Sony sees the next future power source in your food, and… well, you can see where this is going.

sgnl / YouTube

Reddit

Headdit allows you to browse Reddit using just your head, nod to upvote, frown to downvote, and look surprised to open up a link.

reddit / YouTube

Nokia

Since everyone has such fond memories of the 3310, Nokia reinvented the model and updated it to include a modified version of Windows Phone 8 and One fan, Norman Gage (no prizes for guessing what that’s in reference to) said:

It’s an historic day. For five years, we’ve worked hard to make our voice heard and now our dreams are about to become reality. Personally, I’d have preferred to keep the five-line, monochrome screen, six ringing-tone volume levels and original message templates, but you can’t win them all!

Although that said, there is a demand for Nokia 3310s so maybe this is an plan to gauge interest by claiming it’s a joke before releasing it proper.

3310-pureview-in-line1 Nokia.com Nokia.com

Roku

The Roku Watch allows anyone to stream TV shows on their wrist, a must have for anyone who really enjoys the feeling of squinting at a tiny screen.

Roku-watch_standalone_BLOG_resize Roku Roku

SwiftKey

Having created one of the best touchscreen keyboards out there, SwiftKey April Fools joke brings the same features to your physical keyboard.

SwiftKeyApp / YouTube

Read: A Definitive Ranking of Ireland’s April Fools’ Day Pranks >

Read: You’re not the only one who hates April Fool’s Day >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

8 Comments
    Mute Les McQueen
    Favourite Les McQueen
    Aug 20th 2016, 6:35 PM

600 – The number of people travelling from Ireland to Germany to celebrate the Feast of the Assumption.

Mute Cathal Finnerty
    Favourite Cathal Finnerty
    Aug 20th 2016, 6:37 PM

Haha!

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:18 PM

Lol!!!

Mute dave muller
    Favourite dave muller
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:48 PM

its because they Assume its their right to be there, and they are entitled to destroy, steal, crap anywhere they want.

Mute Naoimh Ó Murchadha
    Favourite Naoimh Ó Murchadha
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:31 PM

Interesting to see how the majority of comments were deleted from the traveler article and even have removed the comment facility. Obviously we dont want to offend Pavee Point!

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:44 PM

Bit late!!!!!!!!!!!

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:44 PM

Bad day for Pavee Point…2 atrocities by 2 of their “client” groups in 2 days…Gypsy slavers in Meath and the Traveller Jihadis in the Vaterland….poor vulnerable minorities….

Mute james Goodyear
    Favourite james Goodyear
    Aug 20th 2016, 6:44 PM

Is this the thread about the traveller story?

Mute Les McQueen
    Favourite Les McQueen
    Aug 20th 2016, 6:45 PM

Yep. Just don’t mention them.

Aug 20th 2016, 6:54 PM

It sure is !

Mute james Goodyear
    Favourite james Goodyear
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:19 PM

The Eu open border is working to Irelands advantage.

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:27 PM

Lol, very witty!

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:29 PM

Meant for Les!

Mute Les McQueen
    Favourite Les McQueen
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:36 PM

Thanks Kate. How you doin’?

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty
    Aug 20th 2016, 8:55 PM

Good thanks thanks Les!, hope you got those towels dry, enjoying the lighthearted banter, makes a pleasant change!?

Mute Les McQueen
    Favourite Les McQueen
    Aug 20th 2016, 9:10 PM

Indeed Kate. Things have gotten very serious here in the journal.ie recently. Have to do our best to bring some mirth to the proceedings. What you up to tonight? I’m getting locked.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Aug 20th 2016, 9:25 PM

Funny…!

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty
    Aug 20th 2016, 9:29 PM

You enjoy Les, don’t drink myself!, enjoy the fight, I’ll be chilling myself!

Mute Les McQueen
    Favourite Les McQueen
    Aug 20th 2016, 9:42 PM

Sure you’ll have one?! Antibiotics?

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:03 PM

Lol, do my best to give them a miss as well Les!

Mute Les McQueen
    Favourite Les McQueen
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:09 PM

You’re right too Kate. Anyway, there’s stuff to be dried here so I’ll head.

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:22 PM

Pleasure Les!

Mute paddy
    Favourite paddy
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:54 PM

Completely out of character in fairness maybe they were travellers from some other country ?

Mute dave muller
    Favourite dave muller
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:42 PM

Posting to comments in the story re the “ethnic” group destroying any good will we have in Europe is disabled. Someones cousin must be married to their cousin

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:47 PM

Ethnic/racial/disenfranchised/marginalised/vulnerable/oppressed ( take your pick ) group…..

Mute dave muller
    Favourite dave muller
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:58 PM

Peter, Sounds like to open statement from yer man from pavee pointless. You know the fellow, he is the one that did a diploma in sociology and trots out all the terminology in the first 30 seconds ( irrespective of what he is asked)

Aug 20th 2016, 8:05 PM

I could add a few more to that I list ..but I’ll refrain ..

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Aug 20th 2016, 8:18 PM

Go on…you are among friends here…

Aug 20th 2016, 9:16 PM

I don’t have such an eloquent way with words like you do ! ..

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Aug 20th 2016, 9:36 PM

Suzie…that “eloquence” is a complete sham….it hides the fact that im actually quite thick and my unprecedentedly large vocabulary implies i actually comprehend the meanings of many of the words i use….

Aug 20th 2016, 9:56 PM

Of course … you hide it so well … Lol !

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:56 PM

Sociology….sociologists state that as an oppressed and marginalised and vulnerable minority ethnic social group Travellers are forced by society to compete – with conflict when necessary – with each other and other oppressed, vulnerable and marginalised minority social and/or racial/ethnic groups for scarce resources due to forced unemployment, racism, oppresdion, stigmatisation, bigotry, poverty, police harrassment, poor housing, health inequalities, educational discrimination etc…..that is Sociology and why the Travellers are victims..not responsible for behaving like Visigoths in Germany.

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:00 PM

Sorry…”oppression”…and not cut and paste.

Aug 20th 2016, 11:44 PM

Always someone else’s fault , always has to be a reason or an excuse for their behaviour . They’re not forced into anything !

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:53 PM

Did i not mention how Islamaphobia and homophobia have an egregious and deliterious effect on the homogeneity of the Traveller “community”? How did i overlook such contemporaneous causal factors in Traveller delinquency?

Mute Mo
    Favourite Mo
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:21 PM

Bloody German “country people” spoiling all the fun sure it’s just our culture, we have it beat into us that we can’t sleep with our own women till we marry them so what are we supposed to do, aye they may look, dress and dance like (insert your own words here) but they can’t go anywhere without a chaperone – no siree that’s the gods honest truth I swear on me dead granny’s grave. Now where do ye want this Tarmac it’s a one day only deal, are ye sure tell ye what I’ll clean them gutters for 20 spuds and a chicken…

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:16 PM

LoL….German “Buffers”!!!!!

Mute paddy
    Favourite paddy
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:57 PM

Oh yeah that’s right no other country produces them just us sorry

Mute funkytown
    Favourite funkytown
    Aug 20th 2016, 9:30 PM

Those colourful traveler boy’s, up to their old tricks again!

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Aug 20th 2016, 10:25 PM

There must be a market for gates and shed painting in Germany then.

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings
    Aug 20th 2016, 6:33 PM

Hey

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty
    Aug 20th 2016, 7:26 PM

Hey a/s/l?

Aug 20th 2016, 7:57 PM

Charlie. . You’re in way too many chat rooms ..

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty
    Aug 20th 2016, 8:34 PM

@ FCR

WB

@ Suzie

Just cause you won’t talk to me Suzie..

Aug 20th 2016, 9:15 PM

Not true I always have time for Charlie ….

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Aug 20th 2016, 11:45 PM

Is “Charlie” slang for Colombian marching powder? Jeez im starting to become jism stoonhager or Tariq or Liam…

Aug 21st 2016, 12:11 AM

Tariq .. I mean Peter ..I don’t know what you’re talking about .. I was just referring to Mr. Fogarty ..lol

Mute Peter Fechter
    Favourite Peter Fechter
    Aug 21st 2016, 12:22 AM

Great Craic Sis….and no Tariq/Jester/Liam/Rowe/Phil/Avina/Malachi/Mick/Jason/Rowe/Prousse for miles….so..do you come here often?

Aug 21st 2016, 12:34 AM

Lol .. sshh Tariq has just arrived in the building … I’m a night owl so I’m around a lot ! Makes a change to have a bit of craic on here ..

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Aug 20th 2016, 9:38 PM

1 idiot online Journal that provides a bit of lite entertainment with their stupid articles.