You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

TijanaM via Shutterstock

The 10 billionaires whose net worth rose the most in 2012

Nope, we haven’t heard of some of these rich folks…

BILLIONAIRES HAD A good 2012.

According to Bloomberg, the richest 100 billionaires added €184 billion  to their wealth this past year.

As a whole they’re worth $1.45 trillion.

Bloomberg kindly gave us the data on the Top 10 gainers, how much they’re worth, and how much they made.

They come from a range of industries including tech, telecom, and chemicals.

Rinat Akhmetov (up €5.2bn to €16.2bn)
1 / 10
  • Rinat Akhmetov (up €5.2bn to €16.2bn)

What he does: Russian oligarch with massive investments in natural resources. (Image: Wikipedia)
  • Jeff Bezos (up €5.2bn to €18bn)

What he does: Amazon CEO and founder. Amazon shares had a huge 2012. (Image: Flickr/Steve Jurvetson)
  • Bill Gates (up €5.3bn to €47.8bn)

What he does: Microsoft founder and Chairman. (Image: World Economic Forum via flickr)
  • Lee Shau Kee (up €5.4bn to €18bn)

What he does: Hong Kong property tycoon.
  • David Koch (up €5.4bn to €31.2bn)

What he does: Co-founder of Koch Industries (chemical and industrial company) as well as major conservative backer. (Image: AP)
  • Charles Koch (up €5.4bn to €31.2bn)

What he does: Co-founder of Koch Industries (chemical and industrial company) as well as major conservative backer.
  • Bernard Arnault (up €6.2bn to €22bn)

What he does: Europe's richest man and Chairman and CEO of LVMH Moet Hennessy Louis Vuitton, the Paris-based luxury goods empire. LMVH shares rallied 37 per cent in 2012. (Image: AP Photo/Michel Euler, File)
  • Prince Awaleed (up €8.6bn to €21.9 bn)

What he does: Uber-rich Saudi billionaire investor. (Image: tuancoi1 via flickr)
  • Carlos Slim (up €10.22bn to €16.9bn)

What he does: Mexican telecom magnate.
  • Amancio Ortega (up €16.9bn to €43.9bn)

What he does: Head of Spanish clothing retailer Inditex, which owns Zara.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Published with permission from
View 89 comments
89 Comments
    Mute John Prenderville
    Favourite John Prenderville
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:09 PM

Prince Awaleed is like a crook out of a bad 80′s movie. I bet he chews gum.

Mute Keith Humphreys
    Favourite Keith Humphreys
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:51 PM

He wouldn’t look out of place in military fatigues chasing Joan Wilder and Jack Colton through Columbia…

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:02 PM

Where’s Sean Quinn?

Mute Cornelius Crow
    Favourite Cornelius Crow
    Jan 5th 2013, 7:31 PM

He’s in your head.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jan 5th 2013, 8:52 PM

@cornelius- every single time my insurance premium is taken from my current account…

Mute Figo murphy
    Favourite Figo murphy
    Jan 6th 2013, 10:29 AM

No one person should have an accumulation of such wealth, it’s unethical and it’s the reason why we have so much poverty in the world. Greed. No man needs that much.

Mute Barry Chandler
    Favourite Barry Chandler
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:25 PM

Money doesn’t buy you happiness but its easier to cry in a Ferrari.

Mute Keith Humphreys
    Favourite Keith Humphreys
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:47 PM

He wouldn’t look out of place in military fatigues chasing Joan Wilder and Jack Colton through Columbia…

Mute Nigel Farrell
    Favourite Nigel Farrell
    Jan 5th 2013, 9:21 PM

Yes. As they say, I’d rather by rich and unhappy than poor and unhappy.

Mute Steven Drury
    Favourite Steven Drury
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:10 PM

Money must have little meaning to them.

At least they weren’t handed it on a plate. Hard work and a lotta work got them to the position they’re in now.

Mute Fergal Kelly
    Favourite Fergal Kelly
    Jan 5th 2013, 9:23 PM

Except that prince guy who inherited loads of money

Mute Mike Hall
    Favourite Mike Hall
    Jan 6th 2013, 12:56 PM

….or ripped off the Russian people of the natural resources they collectively owned, in cahoots with members of the KGB.

….or exploited monopoly situations

….or bribed public officials

….or were in fact handed it on a plate by virtue of their family & connections

…..or caused massive destruction to the natural environment, often where other people lived, destroying their lives, & walked away scot free

The kool aid must be strong stuff where you are Steven.

This is all bad enough when this planet could still be seen as a bottomless pit of resources to exploit & a pollution dump with no consequences.

You might care to reflect that that situation has now profoundly changed.

We are now so numerous and resource greedy that the logical conclusion of ‘limits’ to +exponential+ growth (in ‘material terms) is due in the next decade or two & will have devastating results. Warnings to adapt have not been heeded by authorities, even whilst they finally admit (quietly) that the truth is now undeniable.

If you are under 30 years old, I can cast iron guarantee you that your life will not remotely resemble that of previous generations – one way, or another – in perpetual increase in use of non-recycled, non-renewable resources. First barrier to hit – oil & gas liquids, definitely before 2030 (Michael Kumhof, IMF chief economics researcher, & others), maybe before 2020.

Mute john cooling
    Favourite john cooling
    Jan 6th 2013, 4:20 PM

Jealous much?

Mute Mike Hall
    Favourite Mike Hall
    Jan 7th 2013, 12:15 AM

See my reply to ‘family guy’ above john. Likewise I hope you come to realise what your comment says about yourself & what you value in life :)

Mute Seamus Donoghue
    Favourite Seamus Donoghue
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:35 PM

No one there from KPMG,

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:15 PM

Fair play to them all. More power to them. I applaud anybody that has done well for themselves. Pity this country doesn’t give more incentives for people to thrive. Reform bankruptcy law for starters would help. I bet a few of these people lost everything the first time around before they made their billions. Bankrupting them for 12 years would sure not have helped them.

Mute Thomas Roche
    Favourite Thomas Roche
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:22 PM

Agree 100%

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:49 PM

Also this country’s mentality need to change. People think that once a failure always a failure. This needs to change. I would back a failed business man in a new venture before a new beginner any day.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:52 PM

@familyguy- I think you need to factor in the carnage left behind by any failed businessman before you bemoan bankruptcy laws. There are always people left out of pocket by a bankrupt, sometimes massively so and I think they’d prefer if the perpetrator couldn’t just wash his or her hands of the debts they accumulated and set up again twelve months later.

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jan 5th 2013, 7:02 PM

Vincent I think you have a flawed argument. No one in their right mind would go into bankruptcy as a business choice it’s a last resort. Punishing those that had the initiative to go into business is not the way to go. We should be encouraging and nurture our business people not punishing them at every turn. All business has an element of risk. If we have such negative consequences if things go wrong less people are likely to get into business. New jobs have to come from somewhere.

Mute Kevin O'Sullivan
    Favourite Kevin O'Sullivan
    Jan 5th 2013, 7:40 PM

Bankruptcy laws are being reformed by this current government. The Personal Insolvency Bill 2012, passed by both houses of government, represents the most radical and comprehensively reform our insolvency and bankruptcy law and practices since the foundation of the state. For example, the mandatory bankruptcy period is being from 12 to three years in Ireland. Its with the president now to be signed in.

Mute GatheringYourMoney
    Favourite GatheringYourMoney
    Jan 5th 2013, 7:46 PM

Amen Family Guy!
    In Ireland all that we currently have is overcomplicated useless “insolvency legislation”,
    written by stoogeens whose only goal is to
    protect their corrupt/criminal banking buddies.

@ Vincent
    Ask yourself this.
    How can Ireland compete with other developed countries, when it is kept in the dark ages by our useless ancient
    so called “insolvency legislation”?

Good luck to all the Irish emigrants that our government have failed.
    I sincerely hope that you excel in a (pro business/pro ambition) jurisdiction.

Mute GatheringYourMoney
    Jan 5th 2013, 7:49 PM

Far to little far to late, Kevin.
    I wont be holding my breath for this half a***d attempt.

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jan 5th 2013, 8:32 PM

@Kevin Northern Ireland had similar insolvency laws years ago and they didn’t work. As long as the banks have the final say it’s totally flawed. The state is too scared to bring in the same laws as the UK as the banks still have too much pull over our government. Having the same laws as the UK is the only answer.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jan 5th 2013, 9:36 PM

@familyguy- that’s simply not true. I’m absolutely pro- business but you work off the naive assumption that everyone who goes into business is responsible. Not so. It’s a real problem in the UK that gangsters can just set up a new company can set up 12 months after defaulting on huge debts. You’re right. All business carries risk. So you shouldn’t be so quick to want to mitigate the consequences of failure where business operators have conducted business irresponsibly.

Mute MojoRise
    Favourite MojoRise
    Jan 5th 2013, 10:05 PM

Vincent, all business bar the banks appear to carry a risk…. Ordinary SMEs fail no safety net provided… The bankruptcy laws are atrocious…. Banks fail and get bailed out…. And the Tax payer pays… Increased taxes…. And hence as a direct result most ordinary people have Less disposable money to spend in SME’s…. It’s a vicious circle and a sad state of affairs….

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jan 5th 2013, 10:09 PM

Vincent it sounds like you work for a bank?

Mute Kevin O'Sullivan
    Jan 6th 2013, 1:00 AM

GatheringYourMoney; Don’t go blaming this government. Blame Fianna Fail. This was done in under two years under a new government and is a significant level of reform that has never been done by this state since its foundation. What else did you lobby your TD for that wasn’t included?

family guy; I agree that the banks shouldn’t be given the final say. No doubt about that one.

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jan 6th 2013, 1:05 AM

Kevin the FG and the Labour party had a real chance here to bring us in line with modern bankruptcy laws of other countries and they chickened out no doubt about it. Probably after being lobbied by the banks no doubt.

Mute Vincent Dolan
    Favourite Vincent Dolan
    Jan 6th 2013, 2:25 AM

@familyguy- outside of my mortgage, no connection to banks whatsoever. I’m more worried about suppliers who are left high & dry without any recourse when a customer goes bankrupt. Irresponsible operators can drag good business’ down with them and should pay a penalty for doing so.

Mute GatheringYourMoney
    Jan 6th 2013, 9:53 PM

Who mentioned FG or FF Kevin?
    They are all the same.
    They are all very willing to do nothing,
    as they stand by and watch their people being abused to the point of insanity, emigration and suicide.

Mute Niall Boylan @ Night
    Favourite Niall Boylan @ Night
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:04 PM

I’m waiting for all the begrudging post to start.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:21 PM

http://www.trueactivist.com/list-of-top-10-documentaries-watch-online-for-free/

Zeitgeist the movie is first on the list, some stuff in it that might get you reaching for your tinfoil hat but check out how honest and benevolent those billionaires are

Mute Buckwheat MacMillan
    Favourite Buckwheat MacMillan
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:26 PM

Luckily Niall, there’s a cabal of journal ‘commenters’ who will indeed fulfill that wish!

Mute Kevin O'Sullivan
    Jan 5th 2013, 7:41 PM

Bring in a wealth tax folks. Tis the only solution. Fecking cheek, earning all that money and not giving it to us. ;)

Mute Clàr nic Oitir
    Favourite Clàr nic Oitir
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:15 PM

*childish giggle* Koch

Mute Declan Mannix
    Favourite Declan Mannix
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:22 PM

Ha ha, hope his first name or nickname isn’t Tiny.

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Jan 5th 2013, 7:20 PM

Or willy

Mute Cornelius Crow
    Favourite Cornelius Crow
    Jan 5th 2013, 7:36 PM

Koch is his first name, Innhole is actually his surname

Mute Phil Clarke
    Favourite Phil Clarke
    Jan 6th 2013, 1:25 AM

It’s pronounced coke, like the drink. Was my first reaction too though!

Mute Stephen Church
    Favourite Stephen Church
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:12 PM

Fair play to all of them

Mute Phil Donohue
    Favourite Phil Donohue
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:41 PM

This time next year, Rodney, We’ll be billionaires!

Mute greg renwick
    Favourite greg renwick
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:08 PM

But are they happy!

Mute anonymous citizen
    Favourite anonymous citizen
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:21 PM

They didn’t look sad in the photos

Mute Diarmuid Brennan
    Favourite Diarmuid Brennan
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:35 PM

The rich get richer, the poor stay poor and the middle class pay nearly all the worlds taxes and do all the work!

Such is capitalism!!

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Jan 5th 2013, 8:28 PM

Such is *government*

Mute Pierce2020
    Favourite Pierce2020
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:07 PM

Good luck to them

Mute Mike Hall
    Favourite Mike Hall
    Jan 6th 2013, 12:36 PM

Well, they say ignorance is bliss.

None of these people got this wealthy by any ethical operation or ‘free market’ entrepreneurial endeavour.

They either got there by straight theft (the Russian oligarchs), other dishonest means (including political corruption) or the ruthless exploitation of a ‘natural’ monopoly situation.

Actually, I have no problem with entrepreneurs who create something of value to the real economy amassing 10s of millions, but there comes a point beyond which such wealth has to have been achieved at least unethically, if not illegally. And even more importantly, that wealth is then applied to further corrupt the basis of democracy ultimately causing poverty & premature deaths of other citizens. (Do a little searching on the Koch brothers for example.)

A further point.

The fact that their wealth has grown so much means just one thing:

The increase represents the increased extent to which their ‘investments’ are expected to extract a ‘return’ from the real economy and work activity of ordinary citizens.

The maths are simple.

When the real economy, in global terms is growing by perhaps 3 or 4 % (in ‘nominal’ terms) and these people’s ‘returns’ are growing by 5 to 10 times as much, their increased income is only coming from one place – the income & living standards, past present & future, of ordinary citizens.

So, when you say ‘good luck to them’, you are either ignorant or one of the top few percent for whom their is no ‘austerity’ in return for their ‘service’ to the elites at the top (like these billionaires).

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jan 6th 2013, 5:36 PM

Mike what’s your problem? Your making sweeping statement with no facts to back them up. Jealous are we?

Mute Mike Hall
    Favourite Mike Hall
    Jan 7th 2013, 12:13 AM

Oh dear ‘family guy’…..by making that comment you reveal your own lack & understanding of inner peace and fulfilment. You haven’t realised that wealth is a distraction from real contentment. I hope you are young & still have time to discover this truth.

If the greed of these billionaires (& many others like them) did not harm other people and/or the natural environment & distort the functioning of democracy to these selfish ends, I would not care & consider their wealth their own problem :)

Mute Ruairi O' Sullivan
    Favourite Ruairi O' Sullivan
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:38 PM

I’ve worked with the rich and wealthy and I’ve seen first hand how easy it is to make money when you have money.

It takes an enormous ego and insatiable stupidity to loose billions.

While that comment wasn’t aimed at the Quinns, it fits. In his own words he was arrogant.

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:45 PM

Have you ever heard of the phrase “it takes money to make money”. A millionaire told me once that the first million was hard earned and every million after that got easier and easier. Makes sense really.

Mute Susanne Hayden
    Favourite Susanne Hayden
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:31 PM

I wonder are any of them single ??

Mute Declan Mannix
    Favourite Declan Mannix

Fair play lads. Ca bfhuil na cail?n? ?

Mute Declan Mannix
    Favourite Declan Mannix
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:13 PM

Cailini

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:06 PM

Poor bastards.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano

I bet that none of them are as happy as me though. UPC undercharged me again!’!!

Mute Phil Donohue
    Favourite Phil Donohue

Putting into context, the lowest earning ones earned €5.4bn. If they started writing “One Thousand Euro”, they would have to do it 5,400,000 times just to make up the numbers. It’s very easy to make money when you have money. However, the ones with money get fewer and richer every day.

Mute Cian Doherty
    Favourite Cian Doherty
    Jan 5th 2013, 8:19 PM

Why were the Koch brothers the only 2 on the list to have their political affiliations listed?

Mute Artemius
    Favourite Artemius
    Jan 5th 2013, 8:56 PM

Because the Koch brothers have devoted hundreds of millions of dollars trying to defeat Obama. It has been their obsession since he was first elected. These are scary scary guys. Google the article done on then in The New Yorker.

Mute Cian Doherty
    Favourite Cian Doherty
    Jan 6th 2013, 10:33 AM

They are scary guys because they donated money to someone other than Obama?! Who did all the others on the list donate their money to (politically speaking)?

Mute Paddy BeBop
    Favourite Paddy BeBop
    Jan 6th 2013, 12:27 PM

Chelsea are a solid right wing team Cian. Congrats.

Mute Stephen Brown
    Favourite Stephen Brown
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:16 PM

Good luck to them all.

Mute Kevin Murnaghan
    Favourite Kevin Murnaghan
    Jan 5th 2013, 7:07 PM

Carlos ‘Slim’. Classic

Mute Michael Cannon
    Favourite Michael Cannon
    Jan 5th 2013, 7:32 PM

Your spot on family guy. But it’s also Irish society. We love to see failure. It’s in our blood. We should have a more encouraging ethos. It takes the Irish to go away to be a success because they are encouraged. Come home and someone wants to take you down a peg or two.

Mute Karolyn Cassidy
    Favourite Karolyn Cassidy
    Jan 6th 2013, 12:28 AM

@Michael Cannon.. Oh we are a nation of begrudgers alright! I loved watching my boss’s business fail, loved it, paid me pittons while he drove around in his sports range rover, lived in his big mansion with all his expensive holidays. While my working partner and I couldn’t even afford a wk end away. Yes I know I’m a nasty horrible person but I can’t explain it, it’s almost built in us Irish, we hate seeing anyone do well, we are happy to slash front line workers to nothing, moan about the guards and how easy they have it yet say “oh wouldn’t do that job meself”, if these jobs are so great then why doesn’t everyone phucking go for them! Private sector varies from poor to rich, we say the poor should earn more, those doing ok should be cut and made to suffer! Begrudge begrudge begrudge.

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jan 6th 2013, 12:58 AM

Karolyn you blame everyone else but yourself. Maybe if you tried harder in school you would have got better grades and therefore a better paid job. Oh but it’s easy to blame others rather than yourself isn’t it?

Mute Joseph Colclough
    Favourite Joseph Colclough
    Jan 5th 2013, 7:26 PM

I thought Carlos slim was worth 70 Billion Dollars??

Mute Albert Mata
    Favourite Albert Mata
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:16 PM

It’s not a crisis… it’s a fraud…

Mute Albert Mata
    Favourite Albert Mata
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:38 PM

What I mean is… we’ve been living in a “crisis” for the last 3-4 years. During this time, richest people have become richer and richer and have been able to find better and better business opportunities. Meanwhile, the rest of the people has lost social rights, jobs and hope. In my opinion that’s more a giant fraud than a real crisis.

Mute Esme England
    Favourite Esme England
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:36 PM

No women then?

Mute Jo Kennedy
    Favourite Jo Kennedy
    Jan 5th 2013, 9:02 PM

Giz a lend???

Mute Suzanne Markey
    Favourite Suzanne Markey
    Jan 5th 2013, 7:27 PM

Don’t you just love the fact they Are all middle age men.. not one woman amongst them goes to show the reality of gender inequality..

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Jan 5th 2013, 10:21 PM

Maybe it just means women aren’t as greedy? Or greedy women aren’t successful? Just trying to put a positive spin on it!

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jan 5th 2013, 10:26 PM

Suzanne I don’t agree with you. How is there inequality when your the boss of the business. Surely if a woman is the boss she has control. You don’t become a billionaire by being an employee. Also women are more risk averse than men. This has been proven by numerous studies. To become this wealthy you need to take some big risks.

Mute DB
    Favourite DB
    Jan 5th 2013, 8:32 PM

No need for billions just pure greed.

Mute BcuTCM0P
    Favourite BcuTCM0P
    Jan 5th 2013, 10:02 PM

#8 looks like someone from a cheesy eighties porno.

Mute Darren Hogan
    Favourite Darren Hogan
    Jan 5th 2013, 6:19 PM

But are they happy????? :D

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Jan 5th 2013, 9:01 PM

Yes we are.

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Jan 5th 2013, 9:03 PM

We have all the bananas.

Mute Damien Flinter
    Favourite Damien Flinter
    Jan 5th 2013, 9:06 PM

And we dine out on your famines.
    Your hunger is our sauce.
    You and your paltry planet are just chips in our casino.

Chase your carrots, suckers.

Mute jason stenson
    Favourite jason stenson
    Jan 5th 2013, 10:38 PM

wonder how many of those guys are holding Irish bonds??

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Jan 5th 2013, 10:15 PM

Money makes the world go around the world go around dum diddly de dum diddly de

Mute Darren Hogan
    Favourite Darren Hogan
    Jan 6th 2013, 2:25 AM

Van Persie is a legend!

Mute Tony O'Regan
    Favourite Tony O'Regan
    Jan 6th 2013, 12:36 AM

Fair play family guy if someone want to put there whole life on the line and assume all the risk, they deserve all the reward ! Because of these kind of people we have a job to work in .. I have massive respect for entrepreneurs . I once heard a guy say that failure is an event not a person ! Bankrupted in England is 3 years I think plenty of time to learn from our mistakes

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Jan 6th 2013, 12:49 AM

Bankruptcy in England is 1 year the same as the USA and many other countries.

Mute Kevin Balanda
    Favourite Kevin Balanda
    Jan 6th 2013, 3:22 AM

Isn’t this just an obscene situation that got more obscene in 2012?

Mute Darren Hogan
    Favourite Darren Hogan

Oops! Sorry Greg! :/

Mute Alan Quinn
    Favourite Alan Quinn
    Jan 8th 2013, 12:44 AM

carlos slim is worth 69 billion and is the worlds richest man and has been for some time. I’m confused with these figures?