Readers like you keep news free for everyone.

More than 5,000 readers have already pitched in to keep free access to The Journal.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can help keep paywalls away.

Support us today
Not now
Dublin: 14°C Monday 8 August 2022

Three Irish authors make Man Booker Prize longlist

This year’s exciting longlist features 13 authors from across the world – including three Irish writers.

Image: Marc Dietrich via Shutterstock

THE JUDGES OF this year’s Man Booker Prize have whittled down the longlist of this year’s coveted prize.

After assessing 151 entries, a total of 13 novels have been selected for a longlist that represents both established and first-time authors across seven different countries.

Ireland boasts three authors on this year’s longlist – Colm Tóibín, Colum McCann and Donal Ryan.

Eight of the 13 novelists included are female.

Just two authors have previously appeared on a Man Booker shortlist: Jim Crace with Quarantine (1997) and Tóibín with The Blackwater Lightship (1999) and The Master (2004).

This year’s judging panel was chaired by Robert MacFarlane and included Martha Kearney, Stuart Kelly, Natalie Haynes and Robert Douglas-Fairhurst.

Commenting on the longlist, MacFarlane said the works chosen “range from the traditional to the experimental, from the first century AD to the present day, from 100 pages to 1,000 and from Shanghai to Hendon”.

The longlist:

Tash Aw – Five Star Billionaire (Fourth Estate)

NoViolet Bulawayo – We Need New Names (Chatto & Windus)

Eleanor Catton – The Luminaries (Granta)

Jim Crace – Harvest (Picador)

Eve Harris – The Marrying of Chani Kaufman (Sandstone Press)

Richard House – The Kills (Picador)

Making a difference

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.

Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

For the price of one cup of coffee each week you can make sure we can keep reliable, meaningful news open to everyone regardless of their ability to pay.

Jhumpa Lahiri – The Lowland (Bloomsbury)

Alison MacLeod – Unexploded (Hamish Hamilton)

Colum McCann – TransAtlantic (Bloomsbury)

Charlotte Mendelson – Almost English (Mantle)

Ruth Ozeki – A Tale for the Time Being (Canongate)

Donal Ryan – The Spinning Heart (Doubleday Ireland)

Colm Tóibín – The Testament of Mary (Viking)

Read: Kevin Barry’s City of Bohane wins the prestigious IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award
Read: Original manuscript of Samuel Beckett’s first novel for sale

About the author:

Read next: