You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Why is this TD so incredibly upbeat about Fianna Fáil?

Timmy Dooley spoke to TheJournal.ie about sexy heaves, grand ideas and stagnant poll numbers today.

TIMMY DOOLEY IS considered by some to be Fianna Fáil’s enforcer, marshalling the restless troops and staunchly defending the leadership amid wobbles over poor poll numbers.

“Stagnant” and not “poor” is the word that the Clare TD applies to the party’s current ‘becalmed’ polls numbers.

The latest figures have prompted another round of public commentary from some peeved party backbenchers, notably Éamon Ó Cuív.

Timmy smile gif TheJournal.ie TheJournal.ie

With all the talk of Micheál Martin’s leadership being under threat in recent days we thought it was a good time to speak to one of his loyal lieutenants.

Here’s what some of what we learned when Dooley visited TheJournal.ie‘s offices earlier today…

1. Heaves are sexier than transport policy 
https://vine.co/v/OLIJEgFLmYX

An argument made in recent weeks is that some Fianna Fáil TDs are working harder than others. Here’s what Dooley said:

Everybody works to their own ability, works to their own rate… some people work more on the national stage, some people work more on the local stage. I don’t know any TD that gets elected successively that doesn’t work.

But the Clare deputy believes the problem is the media’s perception. The press will always focus on the internal battles and not policies, he thinks.

Media, as it is, will concentrate on the sexy end of things, which is usually around an internal battle or a heave or whatever.

Video: Nicky Ryan / TheJournal.ie

2. He has a pretty positive outlook 

Far from the doom and gloom of other Fianna Fáil deputies in the media, Dooley believes the party has done incredibly well to come back from its position 2011 when “the general narrative was that Fianna Fáil are finished”.

He said that the strategy pursued in opposition has paid off when it came to the local elections – it’s now the largest party in local government – and as a result the party has a “suite of new people and candidates” ready for the general election.

3. “Fianna Fáil shouldn’t exist just for Fianna Fáil’s sake” 

Earlier this week, party veteran Éamon Ó Cuív suggested that there was a complete collapse in self-belief within Fianna Fáil ranks. Dooley does not share his view and argues that all this introspection isn’t helping:

The more we look inward and convulse ourselves about how we’re doing in the polls, then that takes up all the oxygen in the minds of the people, rather than saying what is it that Fianna Fáil are about.

Video TheJournal.ie / YouTube

4. What does Fianna Fáil stand for? 

It’s a problem and a question that won’t go away. Dooley said he has ideas but it’s not as easy as just putting them out there:

“I can have a whole lot of grand ideas, and I have them… We’re not going to fight the election like the Labour Party did the last time in some kind of a bubble that’s not related to the economic reality. That has bedevilled politics for so long.”

In the below clip – which is worth your time – we asked Dooley exactly what does Fianna Fáil stand for. He launched into an anecdote about an old friend of his:

https://vine.co/v/OLI5w3q9HHl

5. Micheál Martin is safe

We asked Dooley if he thinks his party leader is safe from a heave… and whether he has any leadership ambitions of his own. Here are the very brief and definitive responses:

There will be more from our interview with Timmy Dooley on TheJournal.ie tomorrow and in the coming days. 

Read and watch: 7 things we learned from our VERY revealing interview with Ronan Mullen

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

46 Comments
    Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Mar 31st 2015, 8:36 PM

“Why is this TD so incredibly upbeat about Fianna Fáil?” Because he’s deluded.

Mute JakeTheMuss7
    Favourite JakeTheMuss7
    Mar 31st 2015, 8:41 PM

Good man les, you beat me to it.

Mute John Jones
    Favourite John Jones
    Mar 31st 2015, 8:46 PM

As I read the article the only comment I wanted to make was the word ‘deluded’…

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Mar 31st 2015, 9:23 PM

It just seemed like the obvious answer.

Mute richard ferris
    Favourite richard ferris
    Mar 31st 2015, 9:28 PM

How to spell Fianna Fáil in English = SDLP

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Mar 31st 2015, 9:40 PM

Ff the so called republicans that sold our sovereignty to the neo- liberals for paper.They are deluded nuts

Mute emeraldninja
    Favourite emeraldninja
    Mar 31st 2015, 11:17 PM

Timmy Dooley, the Jeremy Kyle of the parliamentary sheep. baaaaaaaaah

Mar 31st 2015, 11:45 PM

I read the headline, the 1st thing i thought of was “deluded”. Then read the comments, “deluded, deluded, deluded….. So consensus, the poor guy needs some help, medical help!

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Apr 1st 2015, 12:19 PM

Totally DELUDED & BRAINWASHED.

Another FF Party Sheep who allowed FF (specifically Ahearn & Cowen) wreck this country & enslave future generations.

Total Gombeens.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Mar 31st 2015, 8:34 PM

Show me a time when Fianna Fail didn’t just exist for its own sake?

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Mar 31st 2015, 8:36 PM

The poor man must be smoking soon skunk he’s usually an angry so and so.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Mar 31st 2015, 8:38 PM

No substance can be blamed for ones closed mindedness.

Mute Mick
    Favourite Mick
    Mar 31st 2015, 8:40 PM

Looking forward to not voting Fianna Fail in the next election. As bad as things may be they are not the answer that I’m looking for.

Mute Fergus Fring
    Favourite Fergus Fring
    Mar 31st 2015, 11:02 PM

Too right. I’ll be leaving them off my ballot completely.
    17% support is still shameful for this treasonous party.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Apr 1st 2015, 12:22 PM

Just goes to show 17% of our population are drug addicts.

Mute Niall Power
    Favourite Niall Power
    Mar 31st 2015, 8:52 PM

What does Fianna Fáil stand for?
    A Great question,
    I guess that if you look back at the last 30 years Fianna Fail stand for theft, corruption and enriching Fianna Fáil people at the expense of the rest of us!
    They would embarrass the Mafia in fairness.

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Mar 31st 2015, 8:52 PM

1. Remove head from a^se
    2. Look upbeat
    3. Shove head back up ar^e

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Mar 31st 2015, 10:45 PM

Looks like Tony Blair when his heads out.

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Mar 31st 2015, 8:44 PM

See kids, this is what happens when you do drugs. Just say no!

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Mar 31st 2015, 8:46 PM

“Just say know” was a campaign in america against just say no. Prohibition has failed so let’s educate the population on responsible drug use.

Side issue sorry

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Mar 31st 2015, 8:53 PM

grange hill had a just say no campaign when zammo was chasing the dragons as well great show his girlfriend was a cracker.

Mute Ivor O'Sullivan
    Favourite Ivor O'Sullivan
    Mar 31st 2015, 9:36 PM

Met him canvassing in Meath a few years ago, absolute muppet.

Mar 31st 2015, 9:00 PM

Another deluded politician for feck sake I saw him standing at a roundabout in the Shannon industrial estate a number of years ago waving at the cars going past. Shows the standard of politicians we elect sadly……

Mute emeraldninja
    Favourite emeraldninja
    Mar 31st 2015, 11:20 PM

Maybe he thought he was at Shannon airport. ..waving at all the cars!

Mute Mike O'Sullivan
    Favourite Mike O'Sullivan
    Mar 31st 2015, 8:51 PM

Dummy Tooley.

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Mar 31st 2015, 8:51 PM

“Fianna Fáil shouldn’t exist just for Fianna Fáil’s sake”
    … hello! ….“Fianna Fáil DO exist just for Fianna Fáil’s sake”

Mute Bill Madden
    Favourite Bill Madden
    Mar 31st 2015, 8:35 PM

That’s simple , because he is Timmie (the dog)

Mar 31st 2015, 9:30 PM

Go away Timmy go away FF. PLEASE PLEASE just f**k off back down the sewer de Valera formed ye in all those yrs ago.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Apr 1st 2015, 12:25 PM

Yeah De Valera formed them to satify his own ego & in so doing caused a civil war after the majority of Irish Citizens voted for the treaty.
    F^u^kers the lot of them.
    Murdering b^^tards.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Mar 31st 2015, 9:02 PM

Destroy them in election.

Mute Spoddgy
    Favourite Spoddgy
    Mar 31st 2015, 9:18 PM

Deluded as usual!

Mute The Artic Monkey
    Favourite The Artic Monkey
    Mar 31st 2015, 10:45 PM

Man makes me want to puke!!! A career wanna be politician with absolute zero to offer. Get off the stage Timmy FFS.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Mar 31st 2015, 9:27 PM

“Do you have any policies?”

“Meh”

Same applies to renua, this new independent alliance and labour given their love of all things FG.

Mute gerrymiah
    Favourite gerrymiah
    Mar 31st 2015, 9:44 PM

I will be voting for Fianna Fáil as I think that they are the only credible party and always have been.

Mar 31st 2015, 10:29 PM

gerry you lost me when you said “I think”…..

Mar 31st 2015, 11:43 PM

Ok gerrmiah it’s time for your nighty nighty snoozy snooze.

Mar 31st 2015, 10:14 PM

Deluded fool!

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Mar 31st 2015, 11:33 PM

Well would you look at that. A political artical in the journal that nearly everyone can have agreement on. Even the FG/LAB supporters.
    And that Agreement is. Jesus Christ What ever you DO DON’T VOTE FOR F.F. things are bad enought.

Mute D. Moran
    Favourite D. Moran
    Apr 1st 2015, 12:59 AM

FF will soon be confined to the pages of history and we will be free from one of the biggest parties of corruption and greed..more to follow, I hope and pray.

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Apr 1st 2015, 2:35 PM

Will only happen if you and me and the rest of the electorate make it happen. They are a cancer. My personal belief is that the main players in the last government would be in jail if we had proper protections and laws in this country. So the only thing that’s open to me as a voter is to ensure I vote in every election and to vote strategically to ensure that FF get absolutely no benefit or preference from my vote.

I’ll be doing the same for FG and Labour as well if they don’t get their act together.

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Mar 31st 2015, 10:51 PM

TIMMMAAAY!

Mute D. Moran
    Favourite D. Moran
    Apr 1st 2015, 12:54 AM

Because he is a bit of an as$ hole!

Mute Tim Kearney
    Favourite Tim Kearney
    Apr 1st 2015, 3:36 AM

Hang down your head Timmy Dooley.

Mute Iona Cult
    Favourite Iona Cult
    Apr 1st 2015, 9:10 AM

Because the gravy train rolls on no matter who is leader of the party.

Get up- claim expenses- fix pot hole up road for Mrs Murphy- discounted drinks in Dail bar- collect massive salary

Repeat

Mute benny dowling
    Favourite benny dowling
    Apr 1st 2015, 1:18 AM

The man he smoke all the crack

Mute mrmeade
    Favourite mrmeade
    Apr 1st 2015, 10:26 AM

And this is why they are doing so poorly. Because they refuse to deal with reality