You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The library with its old Berkley signage. Alamy Stock Photo

Trinity renames library after poet due to protests over George Berkeley's links to slave-trade

The move also means that the Eavan Boland Library will be the first building on Trinity’s campus to be named after a woman.

TRINITY COLLEGE DUBLIN has renamed its central library after the celebrated poet Eavan Boland, following a decision to remove the name of George Berkley from the building.

The ‘denaming’ of Berkeley – an Anglo-Irish Bishop, scholar and philosopher who lived in the 1700s – came about following protests from students and representatives over his ownership of slaves and connections to the slave trade.

It follows a consultation process the college was “marked by thoughtful conversations”, resulting in a total of 855 public submissions on the library’s name. The process was overseen by the Trinity Legacies Review Working Group (TLRWG).

The move also means that the Eavan Boland Library will be the first building on Trinity’s campus to be named after a woman.

Provost Dr Linda Doyle said that it would be a “fitting recognition of Eavan Boland’s poetic genius” that the university’s main library will now carry her name.

Boland, who studied at Trinity, won numerous awards throughout her career writing about Irish history and the role of women in Irish society. She died in 2020 aged 75.

“Eavan’s poetry is well-known across the generations, and her outstanding artistic contribution to highlighting the role of women in Irish society is widely appreciated,” Doyle said, paying thanks to all who took part in the process that led to today’s decision.

The working group said it identified several options for the renaming of the Library, with their preferred recommendation being The Eavan Boland Library.

Its chair, professor Eoin O’Sullivan paid tribute to students “who not only called for a change in the library’s name, but who worked with us to achieve that change”.

“We are grateful for the 855 submissions from within Trinity and outside which animated our deliberations and reflections on the matter,” he said.

This was led by the Students’ Union which said the name did not reflect the values of Trinity in the 21st century.

Students of colour also said they did not feel comfortable entering a library that was named after an enslaver and some labelled it “abhorrent”.

History of Trinity library

The library opened in 1967 and was named after George Berkeley in 1978.

In a statement in April last year, Trinity said the decision to dename the library “represented a nuanced approach and the result of careful consideration and detailed analysis”.

Trinity added that Berkeley bought slaves and “sought to advance ideology in support of slavery” and that the “continued use of the Berkeley name on its library is inconsistent with the University’s core values of human dignity, freedom, inclusivity, and equality”.

“The denaming does not deny Berkeley’s importance as a writer, philosopher, and towering intellectual figure,” said the Trinity statement.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

79 Comments
    Mute pauley870
    Favourite pauley870
    Oct 9th 2024, 4:33 PM

Woke brigade at it’s best

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 9th 2024, 4:43 PM

@pauley870: nope

Mute Ollie McGlinchey
    Favourite Ollie McGlinchey
    Oct 9th 2024, 5:29 PM

@pauley870: Grow up little boy

Mute Chutes
    Favourite Chutes
    Oct 9th 2024, 7:12 PM

@pauley870: Better than the opposite, asleep.

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Oct 9th 2024, 4:34 PM

What’s next? Streets, towns, areas, pull down statues????
    Erase history?

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 9th 2024, 4:43 PM

@Paddy: places named after historical figures, writers etc should be reviewed and revised regularly. I don’t see the harm. Times change, people change.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Oct 9th 2024, 4:46 PM

@Paddy: History wasn’t erased when Nelson’s pillar was blown up – we just don’t have a statue of him on the main thoroughfare of our capital city

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Alan OConnor
    Favourite Alan OConnor
    Oct 9th 2024, 5:25 PM

@Dermot Blaine: never mind that Berkeley was an absolutely reprehensible individual. Some people deserve to be cancelled and he’s one of them.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 9th 2024, 5:45 PM

@Alan OConnor: for sure.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Oct 9th 2024, 6:06 PM

@Alan OConnor: Cancel history and it becomes forgotten. Only by remembering our history can we learn from it.

Mute Kieran Duffy
    Favourite Kieran Duffy
    Oct 9th 2024, 6:17 PM

@Paddy: Ireland already renamed loads of streets, towns and even counties. When’s the last time you heard anyone talk about Sackville street or Kingstown?

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 9th 2024, 6:32 PM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: but he’s not cancelled, his books are still in the library and his work will be continued. A building has been renamed is all, not for the first or last time.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 9th 2024, 6:41 PM

@Dermot Blaine: continue to be studied I mean

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Oct 9th 2024, 8:42 PM

@Dermot Blaine: Alan used the phrase, and I was pointing out howI feel that attitude is incorrect.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Oct 9th 2024, 8:55 PM

@Dermot Blaine: why cancel history ? Learning more about it is what’s needed.
    The lrish like to blame the English for everything, and ignore the important part we played in the British Empire.
    Peasants were treated abomnimably all over Europe. The French ended up eating snails and frogs legs. Then, the American and Australian continents opened up and European peasants got shipped off at a massive rate.
    Context is everything.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Oct 9th 2024, 9:16 PM

@H Woo: the past is important. Knowledge of history is more important than ever. I’m aware of the wordplay :
    ‘his-story’. You have to sift through the interference, that’s all.

Mute Liam OTailliuir
    Favourite Liam OTailliuir
    Oct 9th 2024, 9:21 PM

@Paddy: we already did that. Should we put all the British names back on our streets? Put the column and royal statues back in our parks?

History is a living thing. Acknowledging that values once held and people once respected aren’t up to scratch isn’t anything new.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 9th 2024, 9:32 PM

@offside again: I agree with you, there would not have been an empire without the Irish, but I don’t think he’s being cancelled. It’s a building being renamed is all.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Oct 9th 2024, 9:37 PM

@H Woo: no, nothing like that

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Oct 9th 2024, 10:17 PM

@Dermot Blaine: I’m not being contrary but would not keeping the name be more of a reminder ? But as you seem to imply, it probably makes no difference what it’s called anyway. Not sure too many people actually care.

Ned
    Mute Ned
    Favourite Ned
    Oct 9th 2024, 4:53 PM

Left wing woke culture at it again, anyway history won’t change so what’s the point?

Mute Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Favourite Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Oct 10th 2024, 7:44 AM

@Ned: There’s nothing left wing about these people, don’t not conflate me as a leftist with these people, either that learn who is a leftist to those screaming reactionary types.

Mute Éamonn O'Kane
    Favourite Éamonn O'Kane
    Oct 10th 2024, 10:00 AM

@Ned: do you know what woke mean?

Mute Alex
    Favourite Alex
    Oct 9th 2024, 4:48 PM

Changing names because a tiny minority is offended is crazy.

Mute Alan OConnor
    Favourite Alan OConnor
    Oct 9th 2024, 5:26 PM

@Alex: so you’d rather an absolutely discount human being continue to be celebrated?

Says it all

Mute Alan OConnor
    Favourite Alan OConnor
    Oct 9th 2024, 5:27 PM

@Alan OConnor: disgusting human being.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Oct 9th 2024, 6:14 PM

@Alan OConnor: Discount individual has a nice ring to it too

Mute Patricia Doyle
    Favourite Patricia Doyle
    Oct 9th 2024, 5:48 PM

Stop changing history because you don’t like it , it’s important to remember people for both the bad and good they did , educate people to the name not change because someone’s offended .

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 9th 2024, 6:39 PM

@Patricia Doyle: so should we go back to Kingstown for Dun Laoghaire, Queens Town for Cobh, King’s County, Queens County, Sackvilke Street? Times change, attitudes change. Berkeley will still be studied in trinity, his books will still be there. Nobody is changing history, just the name of a building.

Mute Patrice Ahern
    Favourite Patrice Ahern
    Oct 9th 2024, 5:12 PM

As someone on the radio just now pointed out, we should, based on Trinity’s “logic”, change the name of the month of July as it’s named for Julius Caesar, a slave owner. It’s getting more and more ridiculous!

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Oct 9th 2024, 5:24 PM

@Patrice Ahern: It was already changed from Quintilis to July and I’d be all up for changing it back.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Oct 9th 2024, 7:13 PM

@Patrice Ahern: And also August as it’s named after Caesar Augustus, a slave owner!

Mute declan flynn
    Favourite declan flynn
    Oct 9th 2024, 5:02 PM

Oh give me a f..k break

Mute rory Mcgovern
    Favourite rory Mcgovern
    Oct 9th 2024, 5:33 PM

The word Royal should be removed from organisations based in the republic. It is terrible when RTE broadcasts royal events. Are they not aware that we are an independant country of over 100 years. As for the millions spent on the queens visit another example of the waste of taxpayers money.

Mute Patricia Doyle
    Favourite Patricia Doyle
    Oct 9th 2024, 5:49 PM

@rory Mcgovern: check out all the post boxes most have GR on them but painted green no one notices

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Oct 9th 2024, 6:08 PM

@rory Mcgovern: So we shouldn’t spend any money when a Head of State visits?

Mute rory Mcgovern
    Favourite rory Mcgovern
    Oct 9th 2024, 8:09 PM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: ONLY somebody spending other peoples money would consider millions as any money. The president of Vietnam recently visited and millions were NOT spent. As for the Irish people who curtsied the queen have they have NO shame. Her family continues to discriminate against Catholics. Her son head of a regiment who shot dead totally innocent people in Derry who were looking for basic human rights like housing and the right to vote. The late queen is now the same colour of DUST and BONES as all dead people. Something to consider before more millions are wasted.

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Favourite Vincent Alexander
    Oct 9th 2024, 8:30 PM

@rory Mcgovern: As the visit demonstrated a lot of Irish people admired the Queen. Not everyone goes about with a chip on their shoulders where England is concerned. I’m more ashamed of what was done by the IRA in our name.

Mute rory Mcgovern
    Favourite rory Mcgovern
    Oct 9th 2024, 9:45 PM

@H Woo: british royal family are PROTESTANTS. No such words in english greeding and majory. My wife would not let me also have a girlfriend. I will decide who is good enough for me. And yes in the seventies CATHOLICS in NORTHERN IRELAND were not given a vote in elections.

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Oct 9th 2024, 11:05 PM

@rory Mcgovern: It is incorrect to say Catholics per se had no vote in the seventies. The Electoral Act was passed in the late sixties. Prior to that there was gerrymandering and a property requirement for voting in council elections. This also affected poor Protestants as well as Nationalists.

Mute den
    Favourite den
    Oct 10th 2024, 12:41 PM

@Vincent Alexander: if it wasn’t for the ira you’d still be munching on English langer!

Mute Vincent Alexander
    Oct 10th 2024, 2:59 PM

@den: We can thank the IRA for years of poverty after independence, handing over health and education to the church and the brown paper envelope culture.
    PS Until 1970 there was RC ban on catholics attending TC.

Mute Kieran Duffy
    Favourite Kieran Duffy
    Oct 9th 2024, 6:14 PM

As if it wasn’t already bad enough that the woke brigade changed Kings County and Queens County to Offaly and Laois. Snowflakes need to stop now!

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Oct 9th 2024, 7:40 PM

There’s also a Berkeley Street in Phibsboro, guess they’ll want that changed too.

Then when they find out Eavan Boland told a racist joke at a private dinner party they’ll insist on the college denaming her.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Oct 9th 2024, 5:24 PM

A good decision and choice by Trinity in my view.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 9th 2024, 4:30 PM

A good pick.

Alan
    Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Oct 9th 2024, 4:52 PM

@Dermot Blaine: much better writers than boland. Even among her own generation

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 9th 2024, 5:47 PM

@Alan: I’m sure there are. But she was chosen by students so I’ve no problem with it

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Oct 9th 2024, 7:43 PM

@Dermot Blaine: If they chose it then you should have a problem with it.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Oct 9th 2024, 7:53 PM

@Billy Joe: why? She’s an ex student and teacher of the college and a world renowned poet. The students that use the library helped choose the name. Nothing wrong with any of that.

Mute Mick Joe
    Favourite Mick Joe
    Oct 10th 2024, 5:44 AM

@Dermot Blaine: World renowned? I doubt few people outside of Trinity has actually heard of her.

Mute Pat Corr
    Favourite Pat Corr
    Oct 9th 2024, 6:10 PM

Berkeley in California is name after him too.

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Oct 9th 2024, 7:42 PM

Trinity, the bastion of Anglo Irish establishment criticising Berkeley?

Mute Brendan Buggy
    Favourite Brendan Buggy
    Oct 9th 2024, 9:13 PM

They might need to look at the full legal name of the college (Look it up!) Woke nonsense. If we judge everyone in the past by today’s standards, we will have to cancel half of history or more!

Mute Ollie McGlinchey
    Favourite Ollie McGlinchey
    Oct 9th 2024, 5:28 PM

Sad little edgelords out in force in the comments. They would have ratted to the brits too, no doubt.

Mute Minnie Mouse
    Favourite Minnie Mouse
    Oct 9th 2024, 10:58 PM

Politically correct nonsense. The Trinity Authorities should be ashamed. Far better to have left the name of the library unchanged but put notices at entrances confirming Berkeley was a beneficiary of the slave trade. Much better to explain and contextualise history than to deny it.

Mute Stephen McGovern
    Favourite Stephen McGovern
    Oct 11th 2024, 12:58 PM

@Minnie Mouse: no one’s denying it man, this is a clear recognition of it.

Mute Martin O Connell
    Favourite Martin O Connell
    Oct 9th 2024, 9:36 PM

There’s an Arch in Youghal called Cromwells Arch, maybe we should pull it down??? The world is gone mad.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Oct 9th 2024, 10:16 PM

@Martin O Connell: no need to pull it down, though cork co co might consider renaming it

Mute Minnie Mouse
    Favourite Minnie Mouse
    Oct 9th 2024, 11:00 PM

@Kevin Kerr: why should it be renamed? Doing so achieves nothing other than appeasing revisionists.

Mute Martin O Connell
    Favourite Martin O Connell
    Oct 10th 2024, 2:41 AM

@Kevin Kerr: it was named because of its historical significance.!!! Historical!!!!!!!! Renaming things eradicate s our history. Ignorance of where we “as a nation” came from and what we endured is an insult to all that came before us.

Mute Stephen McGovern
    Oct 10th 2024, 1:27 PM

@Martin O Connell: relax pal, you’ll live longer

Mute Declan O'Driscoll
    Favourite Declan O'Driscoll
    Oct 9th 2024, 9:45 PM

How ironic considering trinity was a absentee landlord who employed middle men to evict families in this country and built there college out of peasant rent money

Mute Shelley Keary
    Favourite Shelley Keary
    Oct 9th 2024, 7:32 PM

Incredibly proud to know that a building in Trinity College is to be called after a woman for the first time and who is also a cousin of mine!

Mute Billy Joe
    Favourite Billy Joe
    Oct 9th 2024, 7:44 PM

@Shelley Keary: well whoppie s…

Mute Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Favourite Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Oct 10th 2024, 7:42 AM

As an ex Trinity student it’s amazing how in 20 years since I went there we’ve finally arrived at this. Berkley was, as was Burke, figures of their time, to literally now remove them because it is politically expedient and emotionally upsetting to a few shows you that the future generation will be further molly coddled and insulated by actions carried out by dead people a few centuries ago. While we are at it let us start trawling through modern chapters of political figures, Simon Harris hasn’t thrown out the Israeli Ambassador here, he’s complicit in Israel’s actions, shall we now see him as a divisive figure in 100 years, see where this goes?

Mute Stephen McGovern
    Oct 10th 2024, 1:30 PM

@Marcus Maher – Triskellion Films: I mean, yes? History likely won’t treat Harris kindly. You’re suggesting people if the past deserve a pass because what they did happened a long time ago, which seems a bit odd.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Oct 9th 2024, 9:03 PM

How about Anglo Irish Banks should they be remembered the golden circle, some of those guys should be never be remembered, they puts this country almost on its knees, the pin stripe brigade.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Oct 9th 2024, 9:06 PM

@Phillip Smyth: and they are still calling the shots how silly are we all changing names

Mute Trump23
    Favourite Trump23
    Oct 10th 2024, 6:58 AM

Berkeley was a great man this name change is typical of the nonsense going on in the college

Mute You're Not Serious
    Favourite You're Not Serious
    Oct 9th 2024, 8:14 PM

Would it have it been named after her if she was still alive? Doubt it

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Oct 9th 2024, 9:49 PM

What’s next? Rename Adolf Hitler Plaza in Berlin?

Mute Paul whitehead
    Favourite Paul whitehead
    Oct 9th 2024, 10:14 PM

Fantastic decision. Eavan Boland is a great choice, though I would have preferred Brendan Keneally.

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Oct 10th 2024, 7:46 AM

The crazies here would defend the Jimmy Saville Children’s ward and the Joseph Stalin memerorial gardens if they existed. Horrible figures from the past should NOT be honoured.

Mute Blaney Richard
    Favourite Blaney Richard
    Oct 10th 2024, 5:04 PM

Oh good god!!you far lefties or righties,need to cop on!just go straight down the middle lads,life is easier and common sense is abundant!ps grow up

Mute Keth Tgi
    Favourite Keth Tgi
    Oct 10th 2024, 9:15 AM

Can we not just rename it as a number, a letter or a symbol, and then refer to it as ‘formally known as’? That’s….so in ever since ‘¥’ (formally known as Prince) intro’d it.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Oct 9th 2024, 7:10 PM

not as entertaining as usual

Mute karl mc garvey
    Favourite karl mc garvey
    Oct 10th 2024, 10:15 PM

Brilliant