You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Health Minister Stephen Donnelly RollingNews.ie

Vaccine target of 100,000 doses last week missed after delay with AstraZeneca

The delays follow a change in AstraZeneca’s vaccine delivery schedule for last week and this week.

THE HSE FAILED to hit the Government’s target of administering 100,000 vaccine doses last week due to delivery issues with the AstraZeneca dose. 

The aim was to administer 100,000 doses last week as Ireland’s vaccination programme ramps up but the AstraZeneca doses did not arrive in Ireland as planned. 

The delays follow a change in AstraZeneca’s vaccine delivery schedule for last week and this week, something the State’s vaccination taskforce was informed of at “very late notice”, chair of the group Professor Brian MacCraith said on Sunday. 

Professor MacCraith said the delay is “not a reduction in deliveries” and that the State can “recover completely what had been lost” from next weekend.

It’s understood the delay last week and this week will affect the delivery of 25,000 AstraZeneca doses in total. 

The total number of doses administered last week was just over 81,000. 

The Government had said the vaccination rollout would accelerate this month with 100,000 doses being administered per week in March, rising to between 200,000 and 300,000 doses per week in April.

Latest figures show that between Monday and Saturday last week, 78,465 vaccine doses had been administered. Of these, 70,627 of these were first doses and 7,383 were second doses. 

A total of 435,895 vaccine doses have been administered in Ireland to date up to last Saturday. 

Meanwhile, the target of vaccinating all over-85s by the end of this week is unlikely to be achieved, Health Minister Stephen Donnelly has confirmed. 

Donnelly said the “large majority of 85s and overs” will have received their first dose of the Covid-19 vaccine by Sunday.

However, some who are housebound will have not received their vaccine yet, he said.

Donnelly also said that Ireland has pre-ordered 18.5 million doses of Covid-19 vaccines, meaning that if a ‘booster’ shot is needed next winter, then it can be given as long as it is still effective against Covid-19 variants circulating at that time.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

115 Comments
    Mute Ned Gerblansky
    Favourite Ned Gerblansky
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:00 AM

Last week I saw a lad heating up his own vaccine in a spoon in the North inner city, perhaps the government should ask him for his source?

Mute Martin Galvin
    Favourite Martin Galvin
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:39 AM

@Ned Gerblansky: Only problem is, the side effects of that vaccine are :
    - pupils like p-holes in the snow
    - a constant yearning to say ‘howaryeah booood’

Mute Ned Gerblansky
    Favourite Ned Gerblansky
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:06 AM

@Martin Galvin: perhaps €2 for D’Luas can be dispensed along with each dose?

Mute Sparky
    Favourite Sparky
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:07 AM

It’s time to go it alone and purchase the vaccines.lets look after ourselves.the eu rollout is a joke

Mute Derek Walsh
    Favourite Derek Walsh
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:11 AM

@Sparky: So you want us to go into a bidding war with 26 other countries, most of which are larger than us? We’d end up paying a lot more for a lot less.
    In reality, the EU strategy – while not an unqualified success – has been remarkably fair and efficient and is far better than what we could have hoped to achieve “going it alone.”

Mute Macca1986
    Favourite Macca1986
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:15 AM

@Derek Walsh: going it alone, no but I’d ask the question, if we were willing to pay, could we get extra doses ourself. going the way we’re going, id have no trust in government and will be an eternity before the % required are vaccinated.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Dara Mac Fhionnain
    Favourite Dara Mac Fhionnain
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:57 AM

@Sparky: Wow, great idea. I can’t wait to hear our cost and lead time.

Mute Donal McCarthy
    Favourite Donal McCarthy
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:06 AM

@Sparky: Sure. Actually – why can’t I buy my own vaccines today? Why am I waiting for all these smelly old people to get vaccinated first when I can afford to pay for myself, Sorcha, Tarquin and the twins.

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:17 AM

@Derek Walsh: How do we know we’d pay more when we don’t even ask ? It precisely that attitude that always leaves us at the back of the queue.

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:21 AM

@Derek Walsh: So, it’s all about money now. They dont give a hoot about the citizens

Mute Fred the Muss...
    Favourite Fred the Muss...
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:25 AM

@Derek Walsh: Derek the reality was the EU delayed and procrastinated for three months before they actually did something. As bad as the UK are, they were months ahead of the EU.
    The EU also funded AZ for €300m and they roll out has been a fiasco. So no, they haven’t done a good job.

Mute Freddie Rincon
    Favourite Freddie Rincon
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:58 AM

@Macca1986: meanwhile the germans are turning their noses up at the Astra vaccine and are not showing up to get it …

Mute Dixieblue
    Favourite Dixieblue
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:02 AM

@Fred the Muss…: Not before lots and lots of UK citizens had to die before BJ got his head out of his backside! How easily people forget!

Mute Darren Anthony Corr
    Favourite Darren Anthony Corr
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:12 AM

@Derek Walsh:
    Nonsense!!!!! Absolute nonsense response.

Mute Joe Johnson
    Favourite Joe Johnson
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:28 AM

@Sparky: talk to the NHS they have more than enough for the UK

Mute Hugh Corcoran
    Favourite Hugh Corcoran
    Mar 3rd 2021, 12:01 PM

@Derek Walsh: Denmark is the shining light of EU rollout, and they have supplemented their EU procured supply with extra bilateral purchases of spare vaccine from other countries. While I agree with you on the merits of the EU procurement strategy, it has fallen down with what it promised, and I see no reason why we too can’t try to supplement our supply. Germany & Hungary have also sourced other supplies.

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Mar 3rd 2021, 12:27 PM

@Sparky: 117000 doses of AZ a arrived in Thailand last Wednesday I read in the Thai newspapers and was sent the news item by Thai friends. But know this … Ireland always punches above its weight .. very important to remember that.

Mute Kieran Byrne
    Favourite Kieran Byrne
    Mar 3rd 2021, 1:06 PM

@Derek Walsh: we should have with the Childrens Hospital.

Mute Derek Walsh
    Favourite Derek Walsh
    Mar 3rd 2021, 1:26 PM

@Declan Doherty: If there were 27 countries in competition against each other for a limited number of products, they would each have less negotiating power than if they all worked together. How do we know? Really?

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Mar 3rd 2021, 1:26 PM

@Derek Walsh: The EU strategy is a joke. “don’t close borders because, muh, freedom of movement” in the middle of a flamin’ pandemic, coupled with a joke of a vaccine rollout. The EU is stuffed with failed politicians from all across Europe, it’s no surprise that we are where we are.

Mute Derdaly
    Favourite Derdaly
    Mar 3rd 2021, 2:04 PM

@Sparky: my comment linking the Examiner report on number of AZ vaccines delivered and the HSEs own numbers on vaccine administered and pointing out the discrepancy and it’s relationship to this story gets deleted. Meanwhile the issue of vaccine appointments being cancelled for the over 85s is openly discussed on Joe Duffy..

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Mar 3rd 2021, 4:41 PM

@Derek Walsh: We should have been purchasing additional vaccines to supplement our EU supply and you’re correct, how would we know when we don’t even bother asking. It’s shameful at this point.

Mute artur fil
    Favourite artur fil
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:08 AM

Austria and Denmark announced a pact with Israel, and Slovakia received its first shipment of doses from Russia.
    Poland is also in talks to follow Hungary in acquiring China’s Sinopharm vaccine and several other countries are preparing to make their own arrangements amid frustration at the slow pace of distribution across the bloc.

Mute Kim Steen Hansen
    Favourite Kim Steen Hansen
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:45 AM

@artur fil: the Danish prime minister is flying to Israel tomorrow to discuss this.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:01 AM

@Kim Steen Hansen: Are they moving their embassy to Jerusalem?

“Israel to Send Thousands of Vaccines to Countries Opening Embassies in Jerusalem”

Mute Kim Steen Hansen
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:56 AM

@David Jordan: They have a embassy in Tel Aviv. Can see anything about moving it.

Mute Anne Jordan
    Favourite Anne Jordan
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:11 AM

@Kim Steen Hansen: isn’t it a terrible pity and shame then that they won’t speed up the vaccinations to the people of Palestine first. As the occupying power that is their moral responsibility to ensure that all people get the vaccine.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:23 AM

@Kim Steen Hansen: Mehole should swallow the pride and go do a deal with BoJo…we are next door neighbours and they are going to have 60 million completed by June – would make perfect sense to try wiggle a few million astrazenica to thee neighbours and allow them gloat to the EU to boot but if it means Ireland also gets done by end of June it’s be a win win.

Mute Kim Steen Hansen
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:28 AM

@Anne Jordan: I’m not aware of the Danish governments thoughts about this.

Mute artur fil
    Favourite artur fil
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:31 AM

@artur fil: Mabion, a Polish biotech company, will be manufacturing a Covid-19 vaccine under a licence with US pharmaceutical firm Novavax.
    https://www.thefirstnews.com/article/poland-to-produce-novavax-coronavirus-vaccine-20236

Mute Kim Steen Hansen
    Mar 3rd 2021, 12:21 PM

@Dave Hammond: oooh noooo, you are asking them to do something….. that would work:-)

Mute Leonard Barry
    Favourite Leonard Barry
    Mar 3rd 2021, 12:28 PM

@Dave Hammond: Why can’t you address people by their correct name and stop acting the child by trying to by funny by doing so, gow up and act your age.

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Mar 3rd 2021, 1:07 PM

@David Jordan: give it a rest with your anti Israel nonsense… it’s boring

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Mar 3rd 2021, 1:29 PM

@Dave Hammond: BoJo will make the Irish Govt and the EU look like fóols by setting up vax centres in the north near the border and inviting ROI residents to get a free jab.

Mute Maurice O Neill
    Favourite Maurice O Neill
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:10 AM

Everything’s an excuse with this Gov. Waiting for the lessons learned comment to be thrashed out as well now today

Mute Jacqueline Cregan
    Favourite Jacqueline Cregan
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:28 AM

All the “well dones” and” keep it going” are wearing very thin along with nerves. Our government are as usual are dragging their heels so badly to be a danger to our health and heads. Northern ireland have vaccinated nearly all their adults over 60.They are at the point where one can make an online appointment if you are over 60, and thinking of starting to open up again. The lack of 30000 doses makes no difference to the overall lack of vaccination full stop. I do not agree with willful abandonment of masks or demonstrations but the government should understand its people are tired.

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:27 AM

@Jacqueline Cregan: They seem to work though. Look at some of the posts on here and you can see those “well done’s” fool a very gullible but not insignificant portion of the population.

Mute Rhoda Cunningham
    Favourite Rhoda Cunningham
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:34 AM

They will have a new excuse for not “hitting targets” every week

Mute Joe Kennedy
    Favourite Joe Kennedy
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:00 AM

@Rhoda Cunningham: Next government/NPHET meeting….”okay lads, first up on the agenda….vaccines…..give us the update, how are we doing with the roll out? Any ideas how we can improve things? All ideas welcome.” “Ah I’ve been keeping an eye on Twitter and the Journal for ye lads, as there can be some very good ideas on there sometimes….Good few saying to speed up and that we’re useless etc.” “Oh wow, that’s a brilliant idea, how come none of ye thought of that here? Alright, look….pass the word on to the vaccinators…..no more chit chat, hellos, goodbyes or advice on how to treat any side effects etc…..tell them just lash the needle in, pull the trigger and drive on to the next person!! All in favour…..”

Mute Nigel o'Neill
    Favourite Nigel o'Neill
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:54 AM

@Rhoda Cunningham: yup, zero surprises here.. We all knew, deep down, when the breakthroughs were announced last October /November and that applications had been sent for regulatory approval, that Ireland would be way behind on and clumsy when it came to the actual rollout once these were approved (as they were always going to be)

Mute Hear me now
    Favourite Hear me now
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:13 AM

Off you go Martin…cap in hand to the UK for some vaccines…make yourself useful…oh call them btw…don’t actually go & see it as an photo op like when u tried to head away to America on a jolly…

Mute Joe Thorpe
    Favourite Joe Thorpe
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:33 AM

@Hear me now: Has he seen the staircase at Downing Street yet?

Mute Sean Fallon
    Favourite Sean Fallon
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:45 AM

One of the biggest issues is that we cannot actually believe one single word from the Government or any politician…’making it all up as they go along’ and each one contradicts the other..

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Favourite Ally Mc Culladgh

Brilliant news to read, it’s nice to see the vaccine roll out being ramped up, I think though it’ll give people more hope when they start to see their neighbours and friends being vaccinated. Its great that transmission in hospital workers has fallen and nursing homes. Vaccines are working.

Gives me hope. We are so fortunate to be in this position, thinking back to almost a year ago when we all wished we had a vaccine and hearing the small inkling that we could have a vaccine, that excitement, that light at the end of the tunnel was incredible, thats how I feel now.

I’m genuinely happy with how the roll out is going.

My only concern is the mandatory quaratine, I wish it was fully in place, I want to give this roll out the best possible chance to suceed.

Mute Barney r
    Favourite Barney r
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:39 AM

No housing issue, no problem with health care which drove us to such extreme lockdowns in the first place. No problems with building most expensive delayed childrens hospital in the world. Give the lads back their golf meeting.

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:15 AM

@Barney r: Hey Barney, not sure how housing is related in anyway to vaccine roll out.

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:24 AM

@Barney r: sorry is my comment related to the vaccine roll out too positive?

Oh that bleedin’ stephen fella is about as useful as a chocolate teapot on a summers day. Don’t even get me started on Leo, about as leaky as sive trying to contain leaky pipes in a heating system.

Government are a joke, wouldn’t even trust them to run a joke shop.

And yer man minister for finance, holy jaysus, wouldnt trust him with the pricing policy of a 2 euro shop

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Mar 3rd 2021, 12:11 PM

@Ally Mc Culladgh: he’s showing a sequence of bad cockups by these incompetent overpaid politicians and this is now continuing with vaccinations.

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Mar 3rd 2021, 12:19 PM

@Liam O Connor: Hey Liam, still doesn’t answer the question which is on the topic of vaccine roll out. How is housing related to the vaccine roll out?

Mute Bramley Hawthorne
    Favourite Bramley Hawthorne
    Mar 3rd 2021, 1:06 PM

@Ally Mc Culladgh: Both are the responsibility of the government and it is failing to act.
    Their attitude is that the EU is responsible for the supply of vaccines and the ‘market’ (their speculator pals) is responsible for housing.

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Mar 3rd 2021, 2:34 PM

@Bramley Hawthorne: But the article is not about housing? So I’ll ask again, how is housing related to the vaccine rollout.

Mute Kevin O'Hara
    Favourite Kevin O'Hara
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:10 AM

We have spent a year just getting to this point, with many missed opportunities and errors. If we let the new more transmissible P1 Manaus variant in here it will take another year to sort out if we are fortunate. The focus of Government and NPHET should be on keep such strains out as opposed to arbitrary 5km restrictions and a locator form.
    https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/mar/02/brazil-variant-evaded-immunity-previous-covid-cases

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:12 AM

@Kevin O’Hara: The Pfizer-BioNtech, Moderna and the Johnson and Johnson vaccines work well against the South African and Brazil variants, in fact the J&J vaccine performed just as good in Brazil and as it did in the US.

But the AstraZenica vaccine performed very poorly against the South Africa variant, was practically useless, and it likely performs just a bad against the Brazil variant. So the less AstraZenica vaccine we use the better as far as I’m concerned, we should stick with vaccines known to work on these new variants.

Mute Kim Steen Hansen
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:47 AM

Why does the AstraZeneca delay have any impact on the +85 role out, when we only want to use this vaccine for under 65? I believe the plan was to use AstraZeneca for only under 65? Or do I get this wrong?

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Mar 3rd 2021, 1:33 PM

@Kim Steen Hansen: Health minister covering for his in-competent HSE buddies.

Mute Pat Kelly
    Favourite Pat Kelly
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:18 AM

Something doesn’t add up here.

1. How can AZ shortfall affect over 85s when over 85s are not being given AZ vaccine?

2. My 95 year old uncle has been told by his doctor that he (the doctor) will let him know when vaccine supplies arrive but he doesn’t know when that will be. My uncle is not housebound.

Mute Kim Steen Hansen
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:57 AM

@Pat Kelly: great question, it doesn’t make sense.

Mute Tony Humphreys
    Favourite Tony Humphreys
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:24 AM

When the Journal contacted the government about this announcement and asked them if they are now using teh AZ vaccine on over 85s, what did they say?
    The lack of media quesioning is astounding.
    Where are the proper investigative journalists – not just those who can cut and paste.

Mute GAA / LGFA / Camogie Ref & Coach
    Favourite GAA / LGFA / Camogie Ref & Coach
    Mar 3rd 2021, 1:23 PM

@Tony Humphreys: ya get what ya pay for

Mute Eoin Ó Cuinneagáin
    Favourite Eoin Ó Cuinneagáin

Humpty dumpty sat on a wall …….. you know the rest

Mute PJ Connolly
    Favourite PJ Connolly
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:55 AM

Maybe hit up the Germans and French for the masses of the stocks they have sitting in their fridges after scaring everyone off having the jab. Probably enough sitting there to do a first and second dose for everyone.

Mute Davy
    Favourite Davy
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:09 AM

This country will never hit a target.

Mute der Fussballmeister
    Favourite der Fussballmeister
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:36 AM

I wonder what is the rollout rate in the north compared to the republic?

Mute Stan Papusa
    Favourite Stan Papusa
    Mar 3rd 2021, 12:38 PM

They can blame the EU and AstraZeneca only for so long. After all, Malta is also an EU state and has vaccinated 18.5% of the population vs 8.8% here.

Last but not least, if this is going nowhere they go with a different supply. The govt clearly ignores EU when it suits them: the excise duty for new and used cars has been simply renamed VRT and they have been getting away with that for nearly 30 years.

Mute Marc Johns
    Favourite Marc Johns
    Mar 3rd 2021, 12:53 PM

@Stan Papusa: it appears that the Irish psyche, particularity in the ruling class, has an inferiority complex about being unable to make our own decisions. We threw out the Brits but bent ourselves right over the table to Rome, and now we are fanboys for Germany&France. I know a lot of Germans and they could barely locate Ireland on a map. Like the Brits, the EU has let us down on the one thing that matters most. It’s time to throw off these shackles and row our own boat.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:48 AM

Is anyone surprised

Mute Trevor Conroy
    Favourite Trevor Conroy
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:50 AM

Were any of you really expecting anything else ??.
    Fr Ted, hasn’t a patch on this government.

Mute Tony Humphreys
    Favourite Tony Humphreys
    Mar 3rd 2021, 2:31 PM

@Trevor Conroy: The vaccines were just resting in the lockup!

Mute Dara Mac Fhionnain
    Favourite Dara Mac Fhionnain
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:59 AM

89,000 doses last week ain’t bad. At least we are getting them into peoples arms as soon as we have them.

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Mar 3rd 2021, 12:34 PM

@Dara Mac Fhionnain: Not bad at all for such an incompetent administration.

Mute paul
    Favourite paul
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:39 AM

My 89 year old grandmother in Cork City is still awaiting contact from anyone regarding getting her vaccine. She’ll be 90 this year. Rollout is a complete disgrace!!

Mute Marc Johns
    Favourite Marc Johns
    Mar 3rd 2021, 12:56 PM

@paul: Paul it’s at the stage you need to
    Contact your TD and councilors and threaten to out them on a social media. The GPS can do nothing, some jobsworth is sitting at a table somewhere saying that your practice is not getting supply yet, because it doesn’t suit his arbitrary ticklish

Mute sandra clifford
    Favourite sandra clifford
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:52 AM

No surprise there

Mute Seanie Hurley
    Favourite Seanie Hurley
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:08 AM

Why does this not surprise me..

Mute Keith Richardson
    Favourite Keith Richardson
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:29 AM

Heard it was to do with billing currency, billed in dollars, agreed in Eur, not supply.

Mute Darren Anthony Corr
    Favourite Darren Anthony Corr
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:10 AM

BUY OUR OWN BLOODY VACCINE!!!

Tired saying it, but relying in EU bureaucracy to catch up with the urgency of this is ridiculous.
    It takes them almost 2 months to even approve a jab. Then almost a month after approval to physically supply them.
    It’s a joke.
    Other EU countries (Denmark, Germany, Hungary) have purchased their own hand alongside the EU supply, allowing them to meet demand. It’s ludicrous that we couldn’t do the same. Hungary even went so far as authorising the Russian Sputnik jab that EU hasn’t even talked about, which is proven to be 95% effective, but because it’s Russia we have to pretend it doesn’t exist.

Mute Odd Socks
    Favourite Odd Socks
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:19 AM

It’s it a coincidence that Dublin West the area who gave FG/FF the lowest number of votes in the last election haven’t even started to vaxcinate the over 85s. And in dublin South the area that gave the most number of votes to Fg/Ff in the last election are starting to vaxcine the over 70s

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Mar 3rd 2021, 1:35 PM

@Odd Socks: No coincidence at all.

Mute Michael Fleming
    Favourite Michael Fleming
    Mar 3rd 2021, 1:02 PM

So since the start of the vaccine role out Steven Donnelly has under achieved. mislead lead the people. Lied on numerous occasions. And has yet to get 1 thing right. He has yet to achieve any of the targets set out since the 27th Dec in relation to the role out and has constantly blamed every man woman and dog on the street. He has not taken responsibility for any of the above. I work in sales and if did 50% of thise things wrong I wouldn’t be in a job today. But he will probably be moved eventually and get a golden handshake with it

Mute southside
    Favourite southside
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:59 AM

Fasten seatbelts, huuuuge ramp next week.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Mar 3rd 2021, 10:29 AM

@southside: We heard that for the last 4 or 5 weeks.

Mute Eddie Michael
    Favourite Eddie Michael
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:47 AM

A bad tradesmen blames his tools. A bad health minister blames the supplier.
    Where’s Simon Harris when we need him…

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Mar 3rd 2021, 1:36 PM

@Eddie Michael: Simon’s blaming school kids on the radio

Mute Mikey
    Favourite Mikey
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:24 AM

Quelle surprise!

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Mar 3rd 2021, 12:04 PM

What’s new, what’s new, what’s new.

Mute Urgencia
    Favourite Urgencia
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:51 AM

Why are comments closed on the protectionist rubbish CETA story?

Mute Kieran Byrne
    Favourite Kieran Byrne
    Mar 3rd 2021, 1:04 PM

Are you surprised.

Mute Seamus Moran
    Favourite Seamus Moran
    Mar 3rd 2021, 2:18 PM

The Government just love the Blame game, surprised they didnt get Sinn Fein in there as well. Anyone but the themselves.

Mute Marlnor
    Favourite Marlnor
    Mar 3rd 2021, 2:53 PM

The over 85 group not in nursing homes are the smallest group. There are reports of younger than 80 being vaccinated in the last couple of weeks while others much older are still waiting. Why is there such a disparity in the amounts being received by different GP practices? In the UK they have decided to vaccinate by age only because it is faster to keep going than to stop and decide who is in which lobby group. We haven’t even got to this part yet but you can see where it is going, we are about to tie ourselves in knots on this. People were saying that the Master of the Coombe was right to give the vaccine to his kids now it turns out that medical students who were lined up were pushed aside. Lack of organization and lack of oversight promotes unfairness.

Mute Daragh Hackett
    Favourite Daragh Hackett
    Mar 3rd 2021, 1:31 PM

The headline should read failure to meet pathetic vaccine rollout

Mute gary mcnamara
    Favourite gary mcnamara
    Mar 3rd 2021, 11:35 AM

Great to see trialsite news covering our Ivermectin Trial. We clearly need international oversite. https://trialsitenews.com/international-clinical-trial-remap-cap-includes-ivermectin-among-study-drugs-for-covid-19-treatment/

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Mar 3rd 2021, 2:09 PM

Sign of things to come. Shambles.

Mute Thomas O'Donoghue
    Favourite Thomas O'Donoghue
    Mar 3rd 2021, 2:09 PM

Efficient? Seriously? Its lagging behind Serbia.

Mute Spbeak
    Favourite Spbeak
    Mar 3rd 2021, 1:57 PM

At a rate of 81k a day is will take us 55 more weeks to vaccinate the remaining number of people who need to be vaccinated. Looking forward to opening up fully in April 2021 so….

Mute Anita OGalligan
    Favourite Anita OGalligan
    Mar 3rd 2021, 4:08 PM

So the target of the vaccine rollout is missed again. Unless this government does like some of the other EU countries like Hungary, Denmark and go to other countries to obtain the vaccine eg: Russia or Israel then I can see we will still be waiting into 2022.and still be locked down. The EU has made a mess of this along side all the excuses this government is making. The dithering and excuses I’m totally sick of.

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Mar 3rd 2021, 2:54 PM

Brilliant that’s so typical. No other western country seems to have trouble except us. I’m so sick of it. We have the least number of people and it should be nearing the end by now.

Mute Spbeak
    Favourite Spbeak
    Mar 3rd 2021, 1:59 PM

At a rate of 81k a week it will take us another 55 weeks to get the remainder of the country vaccinated. Looking forward to April 2021 so…

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Mar 3rd 2021, 2:57 PM

@Spbeak: no way….oh please don’t let that be true :-(

Mute Spbeak
    Favourite Spbeak
    Mar 3rd 2021, 3:48 PM

@Anna Carr: That is assuming we get the J and J one does vaccine approved and rolled out also and full population vaccination. If we can ramp up to 250k a week and use (get access to enough of) the J and J one shot vaccine we could be sorted with the full adult population vaccinated in 13 weeks, so by mid June. A lot of ifs there though.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 4th 2021, 1:09 PM

@Spbeak: Simple maths, the amount of vaccines will increase as new production lines open as has already happened in Poland.
    More factories will be producing the vaccine and more people will be vaccinated as we get the vaccine.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 4th 2021, 1:12 PM

Israel gave the peoples information to big pharma to jump the queue for vaccines. Others did not.
    If we had of people would be in arms over their private information been given out without their permission.
    A Solomon type decision

Mute Tom Mc Phillips
    Favourite Tom Mc Phillips
    Mar 3rd 2021, 9:56 PM

EU handling of vaccines has been catastrophic to say the least. Its interesting that Austria and Denmark are going it alone with Israel to develop further vaccines. Thats a real fingers up to Europe.