You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE WEB SUMMIT is well under way, but the issues surrounding the fact that the summit will be held in Portugal from next year aren’t going away.
Over the last day or so barbs have been flying, with summit founder Paddy Cosgrave asserting that €700,000 offered by the government to the event amounted to ‘hush money’.
On yesterday’s RTE Six One news presenter Sharon Ní Bheoláin conducted an interview that was, well, a little aggressive you might say, with co-founder of the summit Daire Hickey.
The interview has an inauspicious start with Ní Bheoláin bemoaning the fact that Cosgrave had pulled out of the broadcast moments before it was due to go live. From there, little new information is revealed, but the exchanges are typified by regular interruptions from the host, and emphasis being placed on words like “bitter” and “testy”.
“It’s been a fairly testy day from web summit management hasn’t it,” begins Ní Bheoláin.
Hickey counters that he and his colleagues have simply been expressing their frustration over why they have had to move the event to Lisbon, when they would far rather stay in Ireland.
“Is it not rather pointless to engage in this kind of bitter broadside at this point? Why not let bygones be bygones? Why not move on?” persists Sharon (emphasis is hers).
“We were asked a series of questions and we answered them,” responds Hickey. “We’re bringing in over 30,000 people internationally into Ireland here.”
The aggressive questioning continues:
But he obviously doesn’t care enough to continue to base the web summit here (in reference to Cosgrave)?
Did the web summit ever offer to pay for traffic calming measures, pay for garda resources, pay for the outriders to accompany your vips? You never moved on that unilaterally?
You weren’t putting your hand in your own pocket for that?
Why contact the Taoiseach in relation to hotel prices?
The line of questioning is perhaps understandable given the hosts have been using the web summit to get across their own point of view almost constantly since the event began. However the constant interruptions could certainly be perceived as an indication that RTE wanted to put Hickey on the spot in a very aggressive manner (which may have had something to do with Cosgrave’s absconsion).
Hickey rounds off his comments by saying that Lisbon had offered €1.4 million to the summit to up sticks, but that the money was of no consequence to the organisers.
“What’s important is that you can stay in a hotel in Lisbon for four days for €200,” he said.
Reaction
Reaction online to the interview has been polarised. There are those in favour:
These #websummit nerds really don't like being questioned. Excellent stuff from Sharon Ni Bheolain. No wonder Paddy Cosgrave chickened out.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
@adrian – no the government are not to blame on this one – the web summit got offered 1.4 million from lisbon. If these lads really beleive hotels in Lisbon are going to keep the prices at €200 for four nights they are deluded unless Portugal has turned communist.. as for traffic management Dublin is Dublin streets can’t get any wider and rush hour traffic is rush hour traffic – ideally we need a purpose built venue – if the summit was on in the evening – no problem, Dublin hosts all – irelands and many other large events without hassle – the summit organisers want more than Ireland inc can give them.
Interesting project for a budding journalist would be to keep an eye on Portugal next year and see if they keep their ‘promises’ and that’ll mean that Ireland can learn and get the summit back the year after. After all these lads were forced to leave Dublin because it couldn’t handle it.
The way i see it is, its an opportunity for a lot of millionaires and billionaires, with very deep pockets, who are probably used to paying extra for extra special service, to spend a lot of money in ireland, and unfortunately, they’ll be splashing their cash in portugal next year. Paddy could have possibly been pushing the boat out and maybe asked for too much but yet again it shows that this gov is an absolute amateurish incompetent mess. In fact, I wouldn’t credit this gov for any economic recovery, its the businesses thats making the recovery. All this gov have done is raise taxes and collected the money
Four weeks ago , I booked my usual budget hotel in Dublin for tomorrow night only to discover that because of the Web Summit , my friendly Hotel Owner had raised his prices by 60% for the week .
A similar Budget hotel in Lisbon is €42 Euro, including Breakfast – for me only tomorrow night, it’s €95 including brekkie !
Now would you blame them for moving it to Lisbon ?
Sorry Eddie but there is no comparison between this. Check next year when the summit is on how much the hotel rooms are. I think it will be more than 42e.
According to the details for Cosgrave which I checked recently, I noticed his educational background in Trinity was in political science, and not IT, surprisingly enough. It would make you wonder why he considers himself a judge on the quality of IT degress in Trinty vs other Unis though…
Adrian can you explain to me how 40,000 approx attendees at a conference can amount to hundreds of millions in revenue? Not saying it’s not a loss, but people keep saying hundreds of millions lost and I can’t figure how they reach that figure unless they are counting future revenue over a number of years.
Its a pity that Sharon or dobbo don’t be this aggressive when interviewing Kenny the rare time he comes on the six 1 news, but that will never happen because the must protect the crown jewel that is the TV licence tax to keep their gravy train going.
Agree Kevin. Why are people so shocked when an interviewer asks ‘hard’ questions? That’s their job. Paddy Cosgrave’s dealings with the authorities over the Websummit is his own business not our business. Maybe everyone should grow up and start acting like adults.
She was doing her job as a journalist…. Questioning and critiquing. Whether she was coming from a completely unbiased perspective though is a different question.
How come it’s only everyone else apart from our leaders that they question, though? Whenever they interview anyone who might have a negative thing or two to say about our great leaders, they’re suddenly “journalists”. I wish they’d scrutinize everyone equally.
She’s doing a job in the interests of the Irish people these techie nerds have has carte blanch to say as they wish unchallenged up on stage at their snooty exclusive summit, about time someone faced a grilling. Telling that big man cosgrave bailed on the interview.
I couldn’t give a flying f… They can grill anyone and everyone apart from the only people the whole country wants them to grill. Anything else is just petty distraction at this stage until they deal with that.
aisleen…no she was not. ..she was a nasty arrogant sort trying to bully and intimidate the person being interviewed. she constantly cut off this man and prevented him from replying. ….so in a nutshell a nasty sort trying to prove she can be as useless as other Rte so called intervierers
She is in her behind as she has a nervous breakdown if you dare question the Goverment line on thing. She is clearly overrated and her aggressiveness typifies the D4 mind set that we are other fools not to believe the RTE spin machine
Not a great performance from the interviewer, RTE don’t grill politicians that hard but some of her arguments were valid.
The two lads behind the web summit have come across as a pair of whines. It’s not up to the government to police hotels, hotels are a privately run business. Businesses tend to capitalise on opportunities – look at the food vendors at the web summit..or the €50 web summit hoodies…..or the extortionate prices for tickets to…the web summit.
FYI the food vendors at the web summit were told to prepare €8 meals. The web summit then sells food tokens to attendees for €20, we can only guess where the extra €12 is going…….
They might be good at hosting a web summit but they have a lot to learn in PR. However legitimate their complaints are, the constant sniping from Cosgrave does his brand no good. There seems to be very little goodwill towards the man. Does anyone seriously think that the government should get hotels to offer special deals to attendees of the web summit? Or that VIPs should be whisked through rush hour traffic while us plebs sit on the bus applauding the fact? His latest claims that any money the received was “hush money” and that all the controversy ( which he started) around the move to Lisbon was a smoke-screen to divert attention from real problems is just basic nonsense – anyone with kids can spot a sulking brat. And unless you’re planning on staying in no-star pensao in Lisbon, you won’t find anywhere for €50 a night. Well done Sharon for calling out the spoofers.
Can I get the address of the hotels in Lisbon that will charge me €200 for 4 days during the web summit next year…Stuff the summit..Im going on holidays..lol
Since when does a government get involved in controlling hotel prices, that is that wonderful economic world of supply and demand which the lads seem to be missing the point on….
Kinda gettin a bit tired of the web summit organisers and the never ending whinging, they’ve made good money here and they’ll do the same in Lisbon or wherever they go after, so bog off lads hopefully the Portuguese govt will give you more than the €700,000 “hush money” you got here
Once Cosgrave bailed it was inevitable that she was gonna go hard on them. Those guys are bluffers but also grasping capitalist sharks that want to suck every euro from both their poor unfortunate customers (the 20 euro sambo!) and any government that gets into bed with them. She had to interject as the guy would spoof on all day if he was let. The notion that the lisbon organisers will hold down hotel prices is also extremely risible – how will that work in reality?
As some-one who expected hard-hitting questions and was anxious to hear the spokesman’s replies, Sharon’s constant interruptions were rude in the extreme and of little use to those listeners who were genuinely interested to hear what the interviewee had to say.
Yes respondents should be allowed waffle on answering different questions they were asked, preceeded by ‘Let me be absolutely clear about this’ before being totally unclear.
How dare RTE try to focus them to give a straight answer.
Bryan Dobson did the same to a water metre protestor. I can’t remember if it was a politician or a member of the public. It was at the very beginning of the introduction of the charge. I remember thinking it was a scandalous interview. I couldn’t care less about the charge one way or another. So it’s not a bias comment I’ve made.
Cosgrave made a big thing of it in his opener, he deserved to be asked about it.
I thought Sharon was focused, though a little aggressive. Daire Hickey did a fine job of responding, and almost didn’t lose the cool! Would have been interesting to see Paddy Cosgrave’s reaction!
To be honest his business partner threw him to the dogs by bailing on the interview at the last minute. Daire was onto a loser from the get go. He did well although did trip himself up on some of his responses especially the Hotels Federation point. His biggest mistake was ripping off the mic and giving Sharon the “look” just before the coverage finished.
When they announced they were moving to Portugal they should have shut up and left it at that. The constant whinging is nothing more than massaging their egos in public and is showing them up for exactly what they are.
Paul, I’d hazard a guess that Mr. Cosgrave didn’t accumulate the moolah he obviously has today by failing to through colleagues and underlings ‘under the bus’ , so to speak, when he felt it was required.
It’s government lackies vs tech spoofers in a fight to..something I dunno.
All we know is, whoever wins, the Web Summit is a run-of-the-mill tech conference with no serious business or learning opportunities for 99% of those in attendance, and the management team are overflowing with bullshit.
RTE/GOVMT INTERVIEW SEEMS TO BE RAISING AN EYEBROW OR TWO.. WOULD HAVE BEEN GOOD TO HEAR A FULL ANSWER FROM THE GUY… ATTACK IS BEST FORM OF DEFENCE FOR THE GOVT oops! SORRY RTE…KEEP GETTING THISE TWO MIXED UP…
I bet if Enda Kenny was been interviewed she would have to stick to the preprepared script. And if she went off script Enda’s advisors would never let her interview him again.
I have noticed a tendency for Rte interviews to be rude and disrespectful. They almost seem like they have to prove that they are real interviewers with their constant interruptions and disregard for the points that are trying to be made by the person being interviewed. I am very surprised that someone hasn’t walked off one of these interrogations yet. classic example of big fish in small pond interview style
It’s seems the way TV interviews are going for example Sky has eamon Holmes and Kay burley and they are just pig ignorant in their interviews it just descends into them sneering and badgering people
I have no problem if she used the same technique when interviewing politicians but we know that will never happen agreed script only or they will not be interviewed.
She doesn’t interview people she bombards them with questions. Doesn’t give them a chance to fully answer the question especially if the interviewee is not giving the answer she wants.
It’s just like a tender process really, a higher bid came in from Lisbon. The Websummit is a business at the end of the day but don’t expect Rte to understand the finer details of running a business for profit!!
Good riddance to them threatening to hold the country to ransom with their arrogance. “€200 for 4 nights hotel accommodation in Lisbon… You couldn’t get one night in a hotel in Dublin for that “…. Bullshit
not the fairest interview from Sharon. but the Web scammit dudes brought this on themselves by over-whinging. one of the dumbest pr moves that I’ve seen in a while. trying to pressure the government publicly back-fired for them. this discussion should have been conducted out of the media and if it didn’t work out then spin some auld corporate-speak shyte about moving to Lisbon for some made-up reason.
She should have afforded him the opportunity to answer the questions in full instead of interrupting him in mid sentence. Fab Enda as usual offering to help without any real intention of doing so. Of course the hotel section did what they usually do in Dublin, they jacked the prices.
The organisers of the Web Summit come across as practical people who wanted to get the best for the attendees. Obviously Lisbon recognised that and put an appropriate package in place. Same old story of government throwing a pittance to indigenous entrepreneurial efforts while soaking the foreign nationals in all sorts of largess. Time to even up the playing pitch.
Sharon Stated in her biased interrogation that the web summit organisers did not offer to pay for the increase in number of gardai which would have to be paid by the tax payer, there was no such mention of this line of thought when the Queen came to visit Ireland. When The Queen came to Ireland we were told that the event would promote Ireland and promote our tourism sector. I believe we have lost something just as valuable in the promotion of the technology sector and the promotion of our country to entrepreneurs. I cringed throughout the interview and thought Daire Hickey was so professional in the way he held himself.
Quote : “RTÉ FACTUAL: This week presenter George Lee visits Silicon Valley in America to see what lessons we can learn from them about start up business, cracking the American market and their overall attitude to entrepreneurism” The Irony!!!! Maybe RTE should of sent Sharon to Silicon Valley or let George do the interview.
Watched that and interview was spot Cosgrove bottled out and wants the irish taxpayers to fund his company. It will be interesting to see how many go to lisbon. If you want bigger take it Europe’s biggest exhibition centre in hannover. We were in a hotel an hours train ride away cos the company booked late. Cost a fortune as well.
This whole web summit thing is becoming the new Garth Brooks concerts. At first I was thinking “Ah lads, surely you can work this out,” but after hearing these nerds bleating about it for the last few days I’m just thinking “F off to Portugal already.”
I don’t want to hear anybody who serves the lunch they did for 20 euro complaining about anything.
I watched the interview and didn’t see any problem with it. She asked questions that to be fair most of the population would like to ask. The Web Summit organisers have become tedious at this point. Stop sledging Ireland and the Irish government and just move on. They are tarnishing their own brand at this pont with the negative PR.
Is it true that the WebSummit are going to refund the taxpyer/enterprise Ireland for the 800k we’ve given them, now that they are moving their wildly profitable business offshore?
So ask anyone who needed a hotel in Cardiff during the rugby quarter finals weekend about hotels price gouging? price gouging happens in the UK, in continental Europe, in the USA etc… What precisely is the Government to do? What precise legislation that is constitutional can the Irish Government bring in?
I don’t begrudge the web summit company any money they make or success they have in Dublin, Lisbon or anywhere but whatever damage they might be doing to the Government is overshadowed by the damage they are doing themselves quite deliberately to Ireland’s reputation and , in my view, to their own brand.
Cosgrave ranted on Morning Ireland. he comes across as a spoilt brat. This is the same man, a Trinity alumni who totally dissed other Irish universities a few years ago. He seems straight out of Ross o Carroll Kelly in my view.
How much did they pocket personally?
Lisbon offered €1,4 million no wonder they are moving .. All I say is ” bye bye good riddance” my tax payer money deserves to go to more important things like pensioners and hospital beds
The nub of Dublin’s traffic issue is the banning of busses between the canals. For that to happen light electric street trams or busses would be needed meeting all the main arteries coming into the city center sending the busses right back out to the suburbs again. After coming on a visit to Dublin some weeks ago – to visit the Mammy and d-Uncle – I had the misfortune of trying to get round to the north road via College Green and, after almost having a psychotic break-down, had to turn round and drive back up Dame St. to escape my tormenters: fleets of Bus Eireann busses, stuck tail2rostrum, nose2nose, criss-crossing from designated bus lanes to every and any other lane. All the while playing rubsies-dubsies, two-men-in-a-tubsies, with private motorists and taxies alike.
Here’s some advice from celestial inteligences: The taxies job is to go door2door whereas the Bus can involve walkies from door to bus stop and bus terminal to destination; whereas the tube/tram system take people on cross-city journeys; all meaning the city center can, should and ought, be left for a light-n-long, hi-frequency city-tram or electric bus fleet systems. Park-n-Ride is an idea, or maybe its several ideas in one, but in the traffic management context it means getting out of one mode of transport and on to another. But people already know this coz that’s what those Leap tickets are about. So why then does no-one talk of getting the double decker diesel busses out of the city center? Afterwhich well what can anyone say? The market prices cannot be managed for a single event so I guess free transport passes courtesy of some government agency or another are the thing perhaps bundled with promotional offers. And my sincere apologies to that bus driver I got out of my car to yell at before about turning and heading back to the Liberties.
Well done Sharon. Henceforth hump all begrudgers with traffic cones.
Not sure the panacea for these guys will be Lisbon – similar number of hotel beds (50,000) but Lisbon gets less than half the tourist numbers than Dublin.
Its a fantastic city and the weather at this time of year fantastic but they have not got the hotel capacity of the biugget european destination that will not led to the exact same issues with prices of accommodation than affects Dublin.
Three arrested over suspected 'jihadist-inspired' terror plot targeting Belgium prime minister
15 mins ago
peace plan
Israel and Hamas agree to pause in Gaza war as Trump eyes Egypt visit for signing of agreement
Updated
29 mins ago
RTÉ Radio
Ray D'Arcy 'hugely' disappointed with RTÉ management as he leaves in shock move
6 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 241 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 172 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 220 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 180 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 137 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 139 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 54 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 51 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 195 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 80 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 124 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 130 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 54 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 68 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 40 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 135 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 138 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 107 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 73 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 131 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 119 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say