You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

What is the 'polar vortex' sweeping across the US, and how did it form?

The weather system is sweeping across the States right now causing temperatures to drop to dozens of degrees below 0.

AS TUNDRA-LIKE temperatures and wind chills as cold as 70 below zero fan out across the United States, everyone is blaming the “polar vortex”.

Polar vortexes, though, are nothing new. They occur seasonally at the North Pole, and their formation resembles that of hurricanes in more tropical regions: fast-moving winds build up around a calm center.

Unlike a hurricane, these are freezing polar winds, circling the Arctic at more than 100 miles per hour. The spinning winds typically trap this cold air in the Arctic.

Splits apart

The the problem comes when the polar vortex weakens or splits apart, essentially flinging these cold wind patterns out of the Arctic and into lower latitudes.

NOAA scientists have suggested that warming temperatures in the Arctic may be responsible for the weakening of the polar vortex. When the vortex weakens, it’s more likely to break apart and become a factor in our winter weather.

A 2009 vortex breakdown drove temperatures in parts of the Midwest down to -22F. Here’s a NASA illustration of the polar vortex (left) and it splitting in two (right):

Click here to view a larger version. (Image Credit: NASA Earth Observatory)

It won’t just feel like Arctic temperatures in parts of the United States this week — the weather system is actually Arctic air invading from the north.

Of course, the idea that the polar vortex is responsible for the current cold snap is a strong theory, not a fact. As NOAA notes: “Many factors, including random chaos in the development of weather patterns, can produce such extreme winter events.”

- Lauren F Friedman

Read: US prepares for ‘polar vortex’ which could plunge temperatures to -51 degrees Celsius >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Published with permission from
View 57 comments
57 Comments
    Mute Jay Finn
    Favourite Jay Finn
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:42 PM

Ah lads, can we not have a universal temperature scale?? Up the Celsius!!

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:45 PM

We do. It’s called Kelvin.

Mute Hippocrateeth
    Favourite Hippocrateeth
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:35 PM

Hardly universal if it is used by absolutely no-one is it?

Meteorologists tend not to be found in chemistry labs.

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:39 PM

It is the SI temperature scale. It is used in many industries, schools, colleges and labs worldwide.

Mute Hippocrateeth
    Favourite Hippocrateeth
    Jan 6th 2014, 10:18 PM

It is not used at all by anyone anywhere in the world to refer to weather temperatures.

As a chemist myself I have learned to accept this. It’s time for you to move on also. Celsius is grand.

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Jan 6th 2014, 10:40 PM

I’m surprised that as a chemist you don’t use it.

It is widely used in physics and particularly astrophysics.

Mute John Hayes
    Favourite John Hayes
    Jan 6th 2014, 11:26 PM

I get 40 Kelvins to the hogs head.

Mute Mitch Connor
    Favourite Mitch Connor
    Jan 6th 2014, 11:37 PM

Is it widely used on the street Darth?

No.

End of

Give me Celsius or give me death!

Mute John Mcloughlin
    Favourite John Mcloughlin
    Jan 8th 2014, 5:23 PM

Wha dah ?

Mute Brian Hicks
    Favourite Brian Hicks
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:23 PM

Sheeesh…enough already! It’s Canada, the Northern US and New England. You know what happens here in the winter? It gets cold! Sometimes VERY cold! Nothing new…nothing we haven’t seen before. Some winters we have to shovel out from under 30-40 inch snowstorms, some winters we might not see 40 inches of snow for an entire season! Again, it’s winter, nothing new, nothing we haven’t seen before, nothing we can’t deal with. Please make the alarmists go away!

Oh, and thoughts and prayers for the homeless. All of our communities make a concerted effort in these conditions to find the homeless and bring them in to shelters. We also open up our schools and public buildings for the purpose if needed. Kudos to the police, fire and EMT personnel for specifically going out to locate and bring these people in…

Mute Jim Flavin
    Favourite Jim Flavin
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:48 PM

Was Sandy Routine too . If so why did we get so many articles linking Sandy To GW – sorry climate change . Will we learn the lessons of Sandy etc etc etc etc – on and on it went .

Also this storm[s ]] are not like the normal cold spells in NE USA – these are record low temps
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-25609411

Mute Brian Hicks
    Favourite Brian Hicks
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:34 PM

Ahhh…the BBC…the best place to get the news from the US!?!? These temps are record…or near record lows, yes. But this Arctic Blast is very similar to the Arctic Blasts we get every year! Because this one is a degree colder than the last one, or the one 10 years ago doesn’t mean we don’t see this type of activity routinely…we do…we’re used to it…we know how to deal with it! Again, it’s winter, it gets cold!

…and yes, Sandy was routine! Every 30 years or so the hurricane cycle changes a bit and we see them hit the Northeast instead of the Carolinas…or Florida…or the Gulf Coast…

Katrina was also routine in that it was a Cat-4 when it hit land. We’ve seen many Cat-4 hurricanes in the past….and a few Cat-5s. Where Katrina was different was in that the backside of the storm hit a city that was built below sea level…and a flood levee broke…

Mute Hippocrateeth
    Favourite Hippocrateeth
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:36 PM

Jim Corr spotted.

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:39 PM

Fear is control and distraction. Weather,terrorism, immigrants and all the other made up crap. Stops us concentrating on the stuff that really matters.

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Jan 7th 2014, 12:10 AM

Jim, I live in Vermont and I’m backing Brian on this. This is my 26th winter here and I’ve seen all sorts of weather here.

Mute Thomas Mcgrath
    Favourite Thomas Mcgrath
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:14 PM

It’s a bipolar vortex.

Mute Tom Sheridan
    Favourite Tom Sheridan
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:13 PM

Please quote thermometer temperatures, not wind chill temperature. While the latter may give an indication of what it feels like, there are numeraous ways of calculating them and the subjective estimate of coldness involves many factors (temperature, wind speed, humidity, sunshine etc.). Also, the standard scale for temperature here and across most of the globe is Degrees Celsius – why just cut and paste the US Fahrenheit values when they can be converted using primary schol maths?

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:14 PM

Chill out man

Mute Denis O Donovan
    Favourite Denis O Donovan
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:15 PM

Cool down gent!

Mute kg
    Favourite kg
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:22 PM

Primary schol maths? You weren’t in the day they taught primary school spelling?

Mute Tom Sheridan
    Favourite Tom Sheridan
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:12 PM

Sorry – keyboard problem – I have to hit the “o”!

Mute Good Will
    Favourite Good Will
    Jan 6th 2014, 11:35 PM

School
    :)

Mute Mick Jacobs
    Favourite Mick Jacobs
    Jan 7th 2014, 12:41 AM

hummm – just to point out that temperature is a measure of heat (or the movement of molecules) that occurs above absolute zero …. 3:)

Mute Shane Flynn
    Favourite Shane Flynn
    Jan 8th 2014, 12:29 AM

Way too many big words there Tom…you lost me completely!

Mute Mick Lally
    Favourite Mick Lally
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:13 PM

Thought the plural would be vortices.yawn!!!!!

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:15 PM

Both are acceptable

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:18 PM

What would the rebels call it?

Mute Just Chief Now
    Favourite Just Chief Now
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:43 PM

Vortexes bhoy

Mute Dawn Keeballs
    Favourite Dawn Keeballs
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:35 PM

Did we not get a blast of it after it finished with the U.S. the last time

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:18 PM

Before they Yanks know it, snow camo’ed Canadian Troops will have taken over their cities.

Mute Páraic Walsh
    Favourite Páraic Walsh
    Jan 6th 2014, 10:38 PM

Pffft Canada is -45 and colder with the wind. Grow a pair America!

Mute Hazel Walsh
    Favourite Hazel Walsh
    Jan 7th 2014, 12:47 AM

Chicago is -51 so you grow a pair Canada

Mute Páraic Walsh
    Favourite Páraic Walsh
    Jan 7th 2014, 6:26 AM
    Mute ciaran clarke
    Favourite ciaran clarke
    Jan 7th 2014, 7:07 AM

Fight fight fight!!!!!!!!!!!

Mute John Hayes
    Favourite John Hayes
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:06 PM

Hows your Polar Vortex ?

Mute DurkaDurkaDurka
    Favourite DurkaDurkaDurka
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:08 PM

Chilly on the willy.

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:10 PM

Cold on the hole

Mute reg gordon
    Favourite reg gordon
    Jan 6th 2014, 10:21 PM

Put your hand on me diddy,
    And we’ll go for a stroll

Mute thomas the tank
    Favourite thomas the tank
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:35 PM

Breezy on the vajeezie

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:45 PM

Freezin’ on the geezin’

Mute Patrick Gormley
    Favourite Patrick Gormley
    Jan 6th 2014, 8:44 PM

Me thinks it’s time to get my willy warmer out.

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:03 PM

She won’t like you calling her that…

Mute Plantation Watch
    Favourite Plantation Watch
    Jan 6th 2014, 10:44 PM

Ship Trapped in Antarctica = global warming.

Cold winter in the US = global warming.

Hmmm……

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Jan 7th 2014, 8:54 AM

The

Mute Miss Filed
    Favourite Miss Filed
    Jan 7th 2014, 1:01 PM

If you read up on why you will understand!
    Global weather systems are very complex. Climatologists are not saying it is definite that global warming is responsible for all of the extreme weather events in recent times, but each is being looked at on its own evidence, and there is some evidence that warmer air in the Arctic is disrupting the jet streams that affect weather in the northern hemisphere, and channelling unusual weather to certain areas. You could at least look at their scientific papers before commenting – they are not making it up you know!!!

Antarctica was never predicted to warm in the way that the Arctic has warmed. The Arctic has amplified warming because of its position.

You can find a lot of charts about warming and ice melt in polar regions on these websites:
    NASA http://climate.nasa.gov/news/986

National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC)

and NOAA http://www.noaa.gov/

Mute Mitch Connor
    Favourite Mitch Connor
    Jan 6th 2014, 11:36 PM

Somebody call Denis Quaid.

If he is unavailable, call Randy Quaid!

Mute sean t bugger
    Favourite sean t bugger
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:10 PM

Dont believe it folks. It’s a false flag operation carried out by the cia

Mute Just Chief Now
    Favourite Just Chief Now
    Jan 6th 2014, 9:44 PM

*fleg

Mute Marilyn Maroney
    Favourite Marilyn Maroney
    Jan 6th 2014, 10:36 PM

Joke away..hope you never experience this, it’s horrible and dangerous..it’s not the snow it’s artic temps.

Mute John Hayes
    Favourite John Hayes
    Jan 6th 2014, 11:28 PM

Lighting up we’ve taken so much shite in Ireland we HAVE to joke. Gets me by anyway

Mute Adrian Mc Sweeney
    Favourite Adrian Mc Sweeney
    Jan 7th 2014, 3:38 AM

Was just waiting to see the ‘global warming’ shtick here, and hey presto there it is. Meanwhile , colleagues of these noaa ‘scientists’ on an antarctic trip to investigate the all but evaporated antarctic icecap find their ship completely frozen in by the hale and hearty spreading ice down there.. Global warming, the flying spaghetti monster of our times..

Mute Florence Nightingale
    Favourite Florence Nightingale
    Jan 7th 2014, 11:20 AM

@Adrian

Please don’t comment on global warming if you don’t understand how it works.

Mute Miss Filed
    Favourite Miss Filed
    Jan 7th 2014, 1:16 PM

You are flying in the face of scientific evidence when you rubbish the fact of global warming, and not offering any of your own!

The Antarctic was never predicted by climatologists to lose ice; the Arctic was and indeed it has had dramatic ice loss in recent decades!!!

I am constantly amazed by the people who describe global warming as rubbish when there is now so much hard scientific evidence! Thousands of scientists with more knowledge than us, from all of the earth disciplines, are all working together across the globe making observations, doing studies, trying to work out what is going on. They have some very definite conclusions with hard evidence (one is that global warming is definitely happening, and that the recent dramatic warming is largely due to human influences), and their are other areas that they are gathering evidence on and trying to figure out what is going on (for example local weather – for example basic science tells us that warm air holds more moisture, so there would be an expectation that this would lead to heavier precipitation in some areas – as either rain or snow). They are always totally upfront about their level of certainty with any of the statements and predictions they produce.

Climate change denial memes always focus on the uncertainties that are part of the science, and never on that which is proven with peer-reviewed evidence.

The Arctic has warmed dramatically and there is evidence emerging that this warm air is disrupting the jet streams that affect weather in the northern hemisphere. Why is that so very hard to believe as a possibility? I guess if you are a professor of climatology and have been studying climate in the field for decades, or one of the agencies like NASA that has been recording sea ice loss by satellite, you will have a better idea of what might be going on than commentators on an online newspaper!

I would much prefer people to actually engage with the huge amount of scientific evidence, gathered from thousands of highly reputable experts from universities around the whole world in all of the earth scientists, and say if you have any evidence to rebut their conclusions. As things now stand, all of the experts, all of the universities, all of the national and international scientific institutions of the world have a consensus view that global warming is happening and it is largely manmade, and that it is a cause for grave concern.

It is beyond belief that all those thousands of reputable people, universities and institutions are in a huge global conspiracy to fake all of their evidence and lie to the public!!!

Forgive me if I look to them for scientific evidence rather than some of the people who post on here or the misinformation that is spread around by oil-funded anti-AGW campaigns.

Mute Eoin O'Hagan
    Favourite Eoin O'Hagan
    Jan 6th 2014, 10:53 PM

The Day After Tomorrow !

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Jan 6th 2014, 11:32 PM

Wednesday

Mute Suzanne Reynolds
    Favourite Suzanne Reynolds
    Jan 7th 2014, 3:06 AM

Our first Christmas in Nj and currently -2 Celsius but feels -10 last Christmas it was -6 c easy in Dublin… Everything here is called storms.. rain storms and snowstorms I was surprised :-) to us it’s a bit of heavy rain and some snowfall.. Saying that once to adjust to 40 c heat in summer you feel the cold more!