TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

“A sustainable economic recovery”: FULL text of Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore’s EU referendum speech

The full text of the Tánaiste’s comments after it was revealed that Irish voters would go to the polls on the fiscal compact.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

THIS IS THE full text of Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore’s speech to the Dáil this afternoon, after the Taoiseach confirmed that Ireland WILL go to the polls to decide on whether we should sign up to the EU Fiscal Compact Treaty (European Stability Treaty).

A Ceann Comhairle:

Today, the Attorney General has advised the Government that it is best for Ireland to have a Referendum in order to ratify the European Stability Treaty.

On foot of that advice, and in line with our public commitment, the Government has decided to consult the people by Referendum, and to seek their approval for the Treaty.

In the weeks ahead, there will be ample opportunity for debating the detail of the Treaty provisions. In the end, what this will come down to is a Vote for Economic Stability and Economic Recovery.

When this Government was elected, one year ago, Ireland was in the depths of a political, economic and financial crisis.

In the past twelve months, that situation has been transformed, through the hard work and sacrifice of the Irish people

We have re-established financial and political stability, and we are working all out to achieve economic recovery.

It has been a difficult path for all of us, but, as a country, we have made important progress.

Our cost of borrowing has fallen. We have substantially re-negotiated the EU/IMF Programme. Our reputation internationally has been transformed. Money is coming back into the country, and jobs are coming also.

Once again, we are seeing international companies investing and creating jobs in Ireland. Just yesterday, we saw the benefits of the renewed confidence in this country being translated into 200 more jobs in Cork. That in turn followed on from the announcement of 1000 jobs in Dundalk.

Those announcements were made possible by the turn-around that has been achieved in Ireland’s reputation and in the renewed sense of financial and economic stability.

Ireland has a small and extremely open economy. Our living standards, and our capacity to create jobs, depend on our ability to trade, and to attract investment. For that to happen – for economic recovery to be possible, we need stability – stability in Ireland and stability in Europe. The kind of stability that gives investors and families reasonable certainty about what the future holds.

Until we achieve that certainty at home and in Europe, confidence will not fully return to the domestic Irish economy, and our recovery will be delayed. We need a thriving and prosperous European economy that has moved beyond the present crisis.

That is the purpose of this Treaty. It is part of a package of measures being put in place in Europe, to stabilise the situation in the Eurozone. As I have said before, that is vital to our national interests.

The Treaty is an important part of that package, because it provides assurance that the kinds of problem that have emerged in Greece, cannot happen again.

Ratifying the Treaty will also provide Ireland with access to emergency funds in the future, if we need them, through the new European Stability Mechanism. Our intention is to emerge from the EU/IMF Programme without having to resort to the ESM, but the facility itself is an important backstop that will further enhance international confidence in Ireland.

After years of crisis, and sacrifice, the Irish people now have the basis on which to build a sustainable economic recovery. We now have an opportunity to go beyond the Casino capitalism that brought us to this point, and to build a sustainable prosperity, based on our capacity to sell goods and services abroad, to attract investment, and to re-build confidence in the domestic economy.

What this comes down to is:
- What is best to attract investment to this country in order to create the jobs we need?
- What will make existing jobs more secure?
- What will help a young couple today to have the confidence to buy a house?
- What will help a person who has an idea and the drive, to start a business.
- What will help families plan and save for their children’s future?

As I said last December, if we have to have another referendum in this country, then so be it.

If that is what we have to do to save our currency, to restore our economy, to be able as a sovereign nation to borrow again on the financial markets and to ensure that no future government can ever again bring us to such a sorry state, then I am confident that the Irish people will do what is necessary.

Endorsing the Treaty will be another important milestone for Ireland in our road to recovery. In the weeks ahead, as the Government puts in place the necessary measures for a Referendum, that is the case we will make to the people, and I am confident that the people will respond by saying Yes to the Treaty.

Read: “In Ireland’s national interest”: FULL text of Enda Kenny’s referendum speech >

Live: Ireland WILL hold referendum on EU fiscal compact treaty >

Read: Government confirms referendum on EU fiscal compact treaty >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (78 Comments)

• As soon as the polls start showing a likely no vote we will start to get concessions from Europe instead of the two fingers. The government will then start threatening us that we will be thrown out if we vote no. Do you think for one minute the Europe can or will throw anyone out even if they had the power? Look at the lengths they are going to keep Greece in.

• I hope unHappy Gilmore has not forgotten Wikileaks.Careful what you say in public and private Gilly boy.

• Come on The Journal put up a poll so we can get any early guess of how the country feels about this….pls

• “In the past twelve months, that situation has been transformed, through the hard work and sacrifice of the Irish people” whats that now? i see, so there are less unemployed, less people leaving, less people defaulting on mortgages, less immoral payouts to bondholders? i hadn’t noticed these things or maybe he is talking about the situation in his own bank balance?

• Do you think they had those giant ‘Yes’s left over from Lisbon…?

• The NO Campaign starts tomorrow. Tonight we dance. ;)

• NO {style=”font-size: FUCKING MASSIVE;”}

• Excellent news on the referendum!! – I can’t wait to vote no on this – although there is no doubt that austerity is needed, the criteria laid out in the Fiscal compact for Ireland to reduce it’s gross debt to GDP ratio is far to strict given our current expenditure reduction requirements which must take precedent. Also, hopefully, if the Government is smart enough, although I’m beginning to believe that is an Oxymoron, they will get rid of the EUR 31 Billion debt to IBRC. In case anyone is unaware, this debt is merely money that will be paid back and then dissappear. It was created by the Irish Central Bank out of thin air, i.e. printed and then once paid back will be disposed off. To encourage growth in the economy this “printed / created debt” needs to disappear and then the EU can watch or Debt to GDP ratio shrink. This is the basis upon which I will be campaigning for a no vote!

• EM 28/02/12 #

How much did it cost to make those big stupid Yes’s? Whatever it cost, what a waste of money! Stop wasting tax payers money on stupd yes signs, ink cartriges and bonuses for your friends, you incompetent gits. #yesgate

• A treaty that financially penalises countries who are broke, don’t think so. I will not be listening to all the threats, the point of a referendum is you have a choice, bend over or stand up.

• jimbo 28/02/12 #

I can smell the sh1te from here enda and co shut up.

• No. No no no no no. NO.

• Will Labour canvass for Frankfurts way I wonder.

• Shut up Enda. We don’t believe you anymore. We remember Davos. You won’t frighten us this time.

Éireann go brach.

• You tell him Reada love your comments. @cormac thanks for the laugh. War it is.

• So Reada,
      You think mad borrowing was not a problem?
      Ok then….obviously had your eyes open when people borrowed 400k for 3bed semi D

• And I love you Daffy Duck. I love (nearly) everyone today. Yay!!!! ;)

• Good news at last, thankfully!

• @Tom – People in this country had no choice but borrow €400 thousand for a 3 bedroomed semi. That was the going rate back then. Anybody who wanted to buy a house had no say in the price of the house they were buying. Or would you prefer them to pay €350 thousand for a 2 bedroomed apartment, just so that they wouldn’t “go mad”. Spoken like Enda Kenny himself. The fact that your profile pic shows you standing in front of a poster saying “Lets get Ireland working” shows your politics and shows the way you will vote in this referendum. That is your own choice but lets not come on here spouting Enda’s spin, trying to say the Fiscal Treaty goes way beyond the bailouts. Let people make up their own minds.

• Fiona,
      Given that Enda Kenny said almost verbatim what David McWilliams said (as well as Alan Ahearne, Morgan Kelly and Richard Curran) and given your reaction, you presumably disagree.
      I think it is axiomatic that borrowing was out of control. If you think otherwise then you’ll forgive me if I think your opinion is not correct.

• Borrowing was out of control for the higher up in society ie. the rich and the developers. Not the average Joe Soap. Boom or not, not a lot of people could afford a €400,000 mortgage. People were put to the pin of their collar to borrow as the prices of houses went bananas. Who’s fault is that? Is it the people’s fault? Or the people who are supposed to keep an eye on these things. I know of a man who borrowed 220,000 to buy a 3 bedroomed semi for himself, partner and child. An average sum of money for a small house. The house is now worth 120,000 – if even. Did this man go mental borrowing? No, he didn’t but he finds himself in the same situation, jobless, banks breathing down his neck and saddled with a mortgage for a house that is worth about half of what he bought it for. With no help from the banks or Enda. No light at the end of the tunnel for him. But developers? Sure they’re still sitting pretty owing millions and millions. Do you think this is ok? These people were the cause of this mess. It is the ordinary folk who are suffering and they certainly didn’t go mad. It annoys me when I hear that and it annoyed me when Enda Kenny said the same thing to the whole world. What kind of a leader would do that? Lay the blame for the state of the country firmly at the door of its ordinary citizens. You may aspire to that kind of man but I, and judging by the vast majority commenting on this thread, certainly do not. And let’s be honest, the only reason Enda is calling a referendum is because he has no choice in the matter.

• Dear God,
      Saying that borrowing went mad and that it’s people’s fault are two separate things.
      Had borrowing not gone mad the price of houses would not have gone mad. Pure and simple.

• But who are the people who are suffering? The average person? Or the developers who have been re-employed and are paid enormous wages by NAMA? The bankers who lent the money? They are still in their high powered jobs. Was there not reckless lending going on? And under Enda Kenny’s leadership it is still these people who are suffering. Enda, who promised pre-election that he would not pay bondholders, promised the earth moon and stars should FG get into power that he would look after the people. The vast majority of which he has done a u-turn on. And he expects people to back him now?? And don’t say he didn’t know, it was all FF’s fault. Enda was in the room, he voted with FF on the bank bailout scheme and then told people he would burn the bondholders. How honest and transparent is that?

The people (developers) who went mad borrowing caused this mess. They are the ones who caused house prices to inflate as you say. And they are the ones who forced ordinary people into a situation whereby they had no choice but take out a larger mortgage.

• You seem to be contradicting yourself. In one breath you say it wasn’t your fault that borrowing went mad (which I agree with) but in another you seem to think that mad borrowing was limited only to very priviledged people.
      Paying 400k for a 3bed semi d was based on supply and demand. While Alan Ahearne & Morgan Kelly are obscure induviduals, Richard Curran and especially David McWilliams were telling people not to borrow and screaming it from the rooftops.

• I think the person contradicting themselves here is you. “Mad borrowing” WAS limited to a number of priviledged individuals. These people borrowed millions and millions and millions and the banks gave it to them. Take a look at the number of ghost estates and developments around the country. Developments half finished but developers got greedy and just continued to borrow and borrow to fund even more. This is not even remotely in the same league as the man borrowing €400,000 to buy their family a home. Who had no choice but pay that in the market of the day. Enda generalised when he made that statement in front of the whole world. He used the word “people”. Not “developers” or “bankers”.

When people seen the market go up and up of course the natural reaction is we better get on the property market now, as the prices will soon be out of our reach. Which is why people paid €400,000 for their house as they thought well next year it’ll be €500,000 or more. And when they went to the bank for their mortgage it was a case of “of course, here you go, would you like some more?”. And then the bubble burst. The average person who only wanted to buy a home for themselves didn’t see it coming. Indeed our own Government didn’t see it coming either.

Reckless lending was rife in the boom. These are people who are supposed to have a bit of knowledge about the economy. And yet when it all went pear shaped these institutions were bailed out. By the ordinary people. Who voted in FG under the false assertion that “not one more red cent” would be paid to bondholders when all the while Enda had already voted on the bank bailout scheme. So he knew that he would have to continue paying them.

All the average person wanted was a home. They weren’t greedy. They weren’t looking to make a profit.

So yes, “mad borrowing” was limited to a priviledged few. The priviledged few who got greedy and who the banks wouldn’t refuse giving them loans for millions and millions of euro. Millions that the average person is now paying back for them.

• Who said the average person was greedy? Are you actually reading any posts, mine or your own?

• If you read back my post you will see I never implied that anyone said people were greedy. Where did I say that somebody else said it? I said it. Are YOU actually reading the posts?

• Your last post includes the line “They weren’t greedy.”

:)

• As matter of interest what do you work at?

• Yes, Tom, it did but I didn’t say or imply anyone else said it. I said it. And it is true. And why do you want to know if I am employed or not?

• I wish I shared your confidence, Mr Kenny.

• That’s gotta be the crankiest, moaniest whine of the whole comments section!! Good trolling Dennis

• Remove the debt burden and all the stupid taxes you want to bring in and I might vote yes then. I would think this has a snowballs chance in hell of passing otherwise. And when we vote no just tell the media and bankers we went “mad”.

• Renage on the odious debt of private corporations that this country is lumbered with and I’ll still vote no. When I noted that the staff of the stability mechanism were granting themselves legal immunity in the draft treaty it was enough for me to vote No the first, second, third and subsequent times I am asked.

• At least one person thinks that unaccountable power immune to legal action is just fine.

• The vote in this referendum needs to be a resounding NO.

The fiscal compact does not even remotely address the funsamentally flawed structure of the Euro curency union as it makes no attempt to addtess inherent economic imbalances between countries. A comment I made a few days ago in respect of Greece is equally applicable. The relevant part I repeat here:

“For those who wish to see it, the flawed nature of the currency union has been exposed. And peripheral countries like Ireland should be paying most attention.

Exposed, as in the ‘mercantilist’ intentions of the core laid bare. Just as there are more industrialised, high tech, financially productive regions within countries, the same is true in the Eurozone. Greece is just an extreme example of a country that cannot possibly compete, industrially, financially, with the likes of Germany, for all manner of reasons. County Kerry will likewise never be as financially productive as Dublin – at least in any foreseeable timescale.

But in a country with full fiscal union, as well as shared currency, this fact doesn’t matter. We are one nation, one people, and the implicit fiscal transfers from Dublin to Kerry are accepted without question. Were Kerry to seccede from the republic, if it tried to share a currency without such transfers, it’s economy & standard of living would plummet.

However, what is now clear is that Germany (& others like Netherlands etc.), whilst gaining exchange rate advantage of the Euro for it’s exports, is not prepared to accept the quid pro quo of fiscal transfers to the less productive regions. (As David McWilliams has pointed out, it lent it’s surpluses back to us.) Nor is it inclined to recognise that any attempt to match German levels of productivity, if even possible at all, considering natural geographic, population size & resource bases, would take decades, not years. And most especially not under the economic contraction of austerity policies.

What we seeing in the Eurozone is ‘beggar thy neighbour’ geo politics at its worst.

But we do need to recognise, above and beyond ‘countries’ that fall one side or other of the ‘mercantilist’ race to the bottom, that in every country there are a few percent at the top who benefit from this. Instability is the friend of those at the top of the financial ‘markets’ food chain. They gain disproportionately skimming ever larger profits & bonuses in the ‘boom’, and from the buying of assets at firesale prices in the bust. Reports by Merrill Lynch & Citigroup show unequivocably that ‘Ultra & High Net Worth Individuals’ (U/HNWIs), globally, recovered quickly from the crash in 2008 (largely only only a ‘paper’ loss from an equity slump) and have powered ahead in every year since at some 2 to 5 times the general rate of economic growth.

It may come as no surprise that near all political leaders either are HNWIs, or can expect to join this club during or following office. Likewise a great many in senior public service positions. Regardless of the corruption that undoubtedly exists, there is no ‘crisis’ for society’s policy makers.

There are solutions – even to the Euro system – that can quickly transform our economies back to – in fact exceeding in most cases – prosperity. They are to be found in the macro economics known as ‘MMT’. But the stability & low unemployment that such policies would produce is not in the personal interests of the current policy makers.”

A weekend conference exclusively explaining & discussing MMT economics recently held in Italy, incredibly, was attended by over 2,000 people from Italy, France & Spain. We should inviting the MMT Professors here to do the same. The Euro currency is a failure. MMT offers the paradigm change required to make it work for all citizens. Vote NO, and demand fundamental reform for full employment and prosperity for all.

• Interesting post Mike.

Anything online on MMT that you’d recommend reading?

• The best commentary blog is by Prof Bill Mitchell, a co-founder & developer of MMT over the last 20 years. Bill hyperlinks all the important concepts to further explanations in previous blogs. It takes a little time & care to study thoroughly – macro economics is proundly different to the ‘micro’ of our households & businesses. For that reason it tends to be counter intuitive. Bill’s blog is here:

http://bilbo.economicoutlook.net/blog/

The other co founders are mainly at the University of Missouri Kansas City, who have a ‘Modern Money Primer’ series at their blog here:

http://www.neweconomicperspectives.org/p/modern-money-primer.html

Profs Mitchell & Wray are co-writing a new textbook on macro economics which is nearing completeion & due out this year.

Other main blog sites of MMT academics and professionals:

Yves Smith’s http://www.nakedcapitalism.com/

Uk economist Neil Wilson http://www.3spoken.co.uk/

Co founder Warren Mosler http://moslereconomics.com/

Supporter Mike Norman http://mikenormaneconomics.blogspot.com/

Another important economist is Prof Steve Keen, who along with MMTers correctly predicted the financial crisis & uses the same ‘Accounting Methodology’ and (correct) understanding of banking/central bank monetary operations and macro economic principles. Keen’s book (somewhat technical) ‘Debunking Economics’ is a superb treatise on the intellectual bankruptcy (& straught dishonesty) that has pervaded mainstream economics for the last 3 decades. His focus is on finishing his ‘dynamic system’ economics forecasting model which in contrast to all the mainstream (junk) models actually incorporates the existence of ‘banks’ & the effects of debt/credit on the macro economy. (Yes, you read that right. The world’s existing mutil-million € ‘models’, OECD, Washington & all the rest do not include those latter items. That is why they had no clue the crisis & crash was coming.)

Keen blogs here:
      http://www.debtdeflation.com/blogs/

• Is it possible under a Yes scenario that Ireland will still have low corporation tax five years from now?

• it will be interesting to hear the axis, sorry i mean fench, german and ecb response

• I couldn’t believe it when I heard it what a
    Day for the people I just hope the hear the quiet click of the gun in Europe that slow train is not so far away now now come on the people lets take back our country give me back my punt it’s a big fat NOoooooooo

• The basic problem here regardless of rights or wrongs of proposal is the fact that kenny Gilmore and co have lied in relation to so many things there is a major creditability problem with what they say in support of anything

• Ah sure lads don’t worry, we’ll vote no the first time and then we’ll have a vote on EST2 and prehaps we might vote yes on that one!!!! They’ll keep coming back till we give a vote that they want!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• You had your chance Eamon, you fluffed it. Now off with to join Harney et al on a mega pension! On your way to trough, you have destroyed what was left of the Labour Party.

• Ha ha, when I first saw the pic I taught they were holding the word MAYBE!

• Obvious already that this referendum will be about everything except the fiscal compact.

• FF have destroyed this economy on two seperate occassions in the last 40 years. I don’t want them or any other Irish government to have the power to do that again. I have more trust in EU involvment in keeping our economy on track than some of our political parties. I will be voting yes to secure our future and avoid us becoming a permanently failed economic entity.

• If you vote No, you are actually voting for even greater austerity.

• Eh no not correct. If Ireland chooses to vote no we will have rejected tighter EU oversight into our budgets. If we vote no we might be refused further funding if required after the current arrangement finishes. But as both Enda and Eamon have stated we will have returned to the markets before that date there is no problem.

• we don’t believe you or enda or eamon or michael or gerry, they have lied to us too often, do they honestly think we dont know bullshit when we see it? no for independence

• Because Enda says so. Bahahahahah

• Ah but Kerry, the Fiscal Compact goes far beyond the Irish bailout.

• Tim_h 28/02/12 #

Tom. This pact is the wrong one for all of the EU. It’s a radical economic experiment, simultaneous impose austerity across a continent and then expect all the countries in that area to export to growth. This treaty has been widely derided as unworkable and dangerous by economists from across the world. Most of its provisions will be thrown out and ignored, as well Paris and Berlin know. It is the power grab in the rest of it, that should worry us all, whether one is in Berlin or Paris or Dublin or Kerry

• Care to prove that assertion, Tom, or is it just another Feckin’ Gobshites talking point?

• “If you vote No, you are actually voting for even greater austerity.”

I can the yellow FG posters emblazoned with this nugget…LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL.

• What’s the point of holding a referendum?, if we vote No they will only have another one till we vote Yes.

• Craig
      Just keep voting NO NO NO NO ……… and so on if the they have more than one.
      This government are terrified that the no vote will be carried .This government
      are cowards.They will not defend us .We must defend ourselves.

• Denis 28/02/12 #

Thankfully the load of cranks on here don’t represent the average joe, a poll of these jokers would be a complete waste

• Denis 29/02/12 #

Would someone who is advocating a no vote, please articulate what the consequences will be. Some responsible comments for the no camp , for a change , would be useful.

Add New Comment