TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

AS IT HAPPENED: Announcement that Ireland WILL hold referendum on EU fiscal compact treaty

Later in Leader’s Questions: the Taoiseach will discuss his trip to Davos, the cost of running his press office and his cabinet’s subcommittees.

Screenshot of Enda Kenny and Eamon Gilmore making the announcement in the Dáil this afternoon.
Image: HEANet

ENDA KENNY IS taking the stand in the Dáil as Opposition deputies take the opportunity to grill the Taoiseach on the cost of running his office and his trip to the World Economic forum, among other issues.

However, he has pre-empted Leader’s Questions with the announcement that Ireland will hold a referendum on the EU fiscal compact treaty.

Read his full speech HERE and the speech made by Tanaiste Eamon Gilmore HERE.

15.48 – Deputy Finian McGrath challenges the Taoiseach on what he calls silent cuts to carers’ allowances.

16.13 – Richard Boyd Barrett tries to sneak in a question about the just-announced referendum. He is swiftly rebuked by the Ceann Comhairle.

He claims that there is a link to Davos (what deputies are allowed to grill the Taoiseach on today). He says that the Government is saying one thing to the people at home but quite different to thsoe at Davos and the EU.

16.21 – Kenny wants to re-iterate the Government’s commitment to prioritise job creation in Ireland. He continues to detail how he used the WEF in Davos to hold face-to-face meetings with the heads of various companies, including Facebook and EMC. He said he found the experience “fruitful and interesting”.

There is now a suggestion that Ireland should hold a similar conference on the creative industries, such as film, acting etc.

16.25 – Now onto the cost of the Taoiseach’s press office – which has reduced its cost by 9 per cent in 2011, said the Taoiseach.This has been achieved through greater efficiencies.

Adams asks for the total number of people working in the office. Kenny details the three staff working at MerrionStreet.ie.

If that is not the correct number, Kenny said he will come back with another answer.

16.38 – Gerry Adams is bemused that after asking a question about families in mortgage distress, Kenny spoke about credit to medium and small businesses.

Kenny said he has held constructive meetings with the three banks. He said that each bank is anxious to get back into being available to people to help grow the economy.

Following another question by Adams, he said the Government had “of course” raised the question of sustainable agreements between banks and those who are in mortgage distress.

Each bank has set out its strategy on such cases but each will be dealt with individually as each situation is different.

16.57 – Dáil deputies have been reacting to the announcement that a referendum will be held on the EU fiscal compact treaty on Twitter (where else?).

Most believe today has been a good day for democracy. We’ve compiled a slideshow of everything else they had to say.

Read next:

Comments (113 Comments)

• So for all their twisting and squirming to try and avoid a referendum with their pals in the EU Ireland and her people will finally get a say on what is being done to them.

• Tim_h 28/02/12 #

Kerry. There is a clear choice here, People can either vote no and side with the Motley crew of Shane Ross, Sinn Féin and most of the leading economists of the world or they can vote Yes and follow FF/FG who have successfully led us to 10 good years out of the last 90 and created massive Irish colonies in places as far away as Perth and San Francisco – Empire builders!

Vote Yes for Jobs, laughter and lollipops for your children.

Vote No if you want your children to be eaten by wild dogs. Do you, do you!

Brought to you by “Yes to Europe”.

• @ Tim……. People have been shot for less……. We need more sarcasm and satire here and way less spin and politico speak…… Here’s to several NO VOTES

• When were FG and FF in government together? I don’t recall that ever happening…

• @ Eoin.. since the foundation of the state, but not together….

• Enda’s not looking at all happy he will be needing 50 000 euro for his toilet paper bill…he will be shitting himself, and rightly so!

• Enda doesnt look too happy about that!

• will it be best out of 3?

• How many attempts to pass this will they need, several I would think.. If at all… Thanks A.G. for doing the right thing

• stick it in the same hole that the Lisbon treaty should be in after we voted NO the first time…

thanks….

• Wasn’t there a minimum time frame, in the past, before a referendum could be re-presented to the electorate….. For some reason I have ten years in my mind and that’s going back to the first Divorce & Abortion referenda in the eighties…….. I may well be wrong, but it’s in my mind for some reason…… And furthermore if there isn’t one, there should be one … minimum of 5 year gaps

• “Fianna Fáil is supporting the ratification of the treaty”…enough said?

• paul mc 28/02/12 #

Fianna Fáil also support imprisonment for people who are convicted of rape.

Are you opposed to that too?

• are you sure? they didnt seem very motivated to imprison certain members of certain types of organisations

• tell me this paul, do people whos views and practise you oppose also support the imprisonment of rapists?, your question is immature and irrelevant

• paul mc 28/02/12 #

You’re missing my point. I’m saying that opposing something because someone supports it is pointless.

• Not when those FF traitors are involved.

• i most certainly would oppose many things because ff support it, and that would be based on their performance and the esteem in which i hold their ability to know the right course of action(none), but on this particular issue, having read a small part of it, it says in no uncertain terms, that this will set up a body of authority that is outside any lawful jurisdiction, in effect it supersedes all law in europe, i cannot understand why this particular section has yet to be raised by any of the parties

• 3. The ESM, its property, funding and assets, wherever located and by whomsoever held, shall enjoy immunity from every form of judicial process except to the extent that the ESM expressly waives its immunity for the purpose of any proceedings or by the terms of any contract, including the documentation of the funding instruments.
      4. The property, funding and assets of the ESM shall, wherever located and by whomsoever held, be immune from search, requisition, confiscation, expropriation or any other form of seizure, taking or foreclosure by executive, judicial, administrative or legislative action.
      5. The archives of the ESM and all documents belonging to the ESM or held by it, shall be inviolable.

• 15.13 – Gilmore on a yes vote:
    A vote for economic stability and a vote for economic recovery.

4 Feb 2011 – Gilmore on the General Election
    Frankfurts way or Labours way.

Thanks Eamon I know which way I’ll be voting ;-)

• Vote Yes to say goodbye to low corporation tax, recovery and sovereignty.

• This is the worst idea any Attorney general ever had in Ireland. She says herself that this latest treaty is outside of formal architecture of the EU. Of course it is, it is just an agreement between consenting countries. Every part of that agreement is designed to Germany’s advantage, no matter what Enda Kenny or Eamonn Gilmore say. It won’t matter if a NO vote is delivered, but a yes vote will place austerity in our constitution for at least another generation, if not longer. People, don’t listen to any more lies by this latest bunch of nest featherers, vote NO NO NO

• I reckon this time it’s gonna take at least FOUR referendums on the EU fiscal compact treaty before FG will get the result they want.

• ooohhh hooooo hooooooo haaaaa haaaaa haaaaaaaaaahaaahaaahaaa……ah jaysus, I nearly soiled myself.

Reasons why I will vote YES to austerity for ALL, did I say ALL….I meant some of us…..the rest of us….some of us…all of us….all of us except our politicians and senior civil servants,

Ok, lets try again….ooooooohhhhhh hoooo haaaaa haaaahhaaaaaaa hooo hoooo aaaaaaah….sorry

Ok lets go,

Reasons why I will vote YES to austerity for some of us…

Printer cartridges
    Increases in salary for government Advisors despite the existence of a salary cap
    Jan O Sullivans 17,000 salary top up for becoming a soooopppperrr doooopppper cabinet minister
    Civil service pension plans from outer space
    Three years on a hospital waiting list to get my piles fixed
    Mileage allowance (€1.14 per mile) One requires a very special sense of humour to appreciate this one
    Phone allowance (Free unlimited land line calls)
    €8,000 per TD to set up and kit out a constituency office
    Free parking in central Dublin
    Free Gym membership
    Subsidised restaurant
    Private Members bar at Leinster House with subsidised drinks
    Free tax advice service (Now this one makes me feel warm all over)
    Free unlimited fixed line telephone calls
    Max of €750 every 18 months to buy a new mobile phone
    VHI Group scheme
    Automobile Association group scheme (eg €46 for Home Start)
    Laundry allowance
    Waking up allowance
    Going to sleep allowance
    Hangover allowance
    Headache allowance
    Too many emails allowance
    5 Star hotel allowance
    Mini bar allowance
    Photography allowance
    Lunch allowance
    Dinner allowance
    Tax free “party leaders” allowance UNVOUCHED (€23,000)
    Dual Abode allowance
    Free cheese (offer of to electorate)
    Angela M’s leather recliner with built in DVD player, SAT NAV, 50oz cup holder installed in Dail chambers
    Eamon Gilmores face
    The Angelus
    Joan Burtons voice
    Enda Kennys winning personality

Well, just for the record…..YOU CAN KISS MY FURRY BUTT

Want my YES vote? Well then…..SHARE IN THE AUSTERITY otherwise…

YOU CAN KISS MY FURRY BUTT

Just in case you missed that,

YOU CAN KISS MY FURRY BUTT

• Andrew 28/02/12 #

Well whatever ye choose to vote, VOTE THE SAME BOTH TIMES.

• Woohoo! VOTE NO!

• Here’s a dozen printer cartridges, now get printing those leaflets.

• Chris 28/02/12 #

Whats the basis of the NO campaign? Havent made up mind, and im genuinely interested?

• Chris I read the treaty and had 48 concerns so I’m not going to bore you with all of that. However I’ll give you a good reason, the treaty specifically states that states over the limit must have their budgets approved by a majority not all states contrary to current circumstances. When we exit the bailout program, we will then be bound by that rule(the bailed out countries won’t have the bailout agreements changed) which means we essentially risk loosing all control over our budgets permanently if other states just suspect we are in danger of becoming in trouble(i.e breaking the very low limits) and the debt is based on market rates at time of meeting not the actual rates that any contract states falsifying the books and putting states in further danger of having their budgets taken over by unelected people.

• If all goes well, Kenny will make a vote of confidence is he Government too.. two birds with the one stone springs to mind

• Is he not ‘jumping the gun’ slightly in signing the treaty this Friday?

Is this not tantamount to an illegal action seeing as the referendum has not taken place yet, thus giving him the authorisation to do so (or told not to) ?

• That’s an interesting question. Anyone have an answer to it?

• bashar al-assad has been giving the vote rigging lessons, so the results are already in……

• He’s signing it, not ratifying it — there’s a difference. Ratifying would make it officially valid, which he cannot do with just his signature alone.

• Yes, I think:)

Signing and ratifying the treaty are two different things. The poster above has obviously been reading Ed Conway (from Sky) and his twitterings on the Twitter machine.

Having said that, if I were Enda, I wouldn’t touch the treaty (which by his act of signing, only becomes an agreement to put it to the people anyway), until the referendum is held. I think he’s wrong to do so without the people’s consent to ratify its contents.

• @ Ryan, You’re right.. The very arrogance of signing it when the people have to vote on it is absurd… He knows that the people are let’s say ” UNHAPPY” at the moment…. So why piss everyone off……. It’s the they’ll do as they are told even if it takes 5 attempts……

• Signing up to something too early – then having to do a complete reversal in front of the whole of Europe (if the result is a “NO” vote), not just Ireland would be a MASSIVE humiliation for not just him but for the country additionally?

Ratifying it later or not, the fact that he’s already signing us into the treaty this Friday, is like jumping on a bus and then later half way through the journey, then tell the driver(s) “Sorry, I now have to go back! I shouldn’t have got on in the first place!”

Surely if he is actually signing something, this alone has legal implications at European level?
      I get what others are saying about ratifying later – but thats a closing process of something that we have ALREADY signed up to?

Enda Kenny signing a document doesn’t automatically alter Irish law but it does in European terms legally state that we are signed up to something – when in fact despite this legal (European level) promise to see something through, we might have to further at European legal level, revoke ourselves?
      This could further turn the whole process into a right legal mess thats all!

I would suggest the best course of action is that he sign nothing till the public’s wishes has become clear and he THEN has a CLEAR and FULLY legal mandate.
      He can then tell the minority to go jump in a lake!
      (Yes, I know he won’t but he might love to do it anyway later)

• Clearly no one here has read the treaty. Enda Kenny signs the paper, this means he agrees to attempt to ratify the agreement in his country through the appropriate ratification instrument(in our case referendum), if the treaty is rejected by the Irish electorate we then aren’t involved in the treaty.

However, if the Irish electorate votes yes(which they shouldn’t from my point of view) it must enter into our constitution in a month and as of then we would be bound by the treaty.

• Maybe by voting no we are doing ourselves no good. However the politicians will once & forever understand where the real power lies in this country. As Irish citizens we have been lied to down the generations & we were quick to blame the british but now we have been lied to by our own politicians & the eu. It is time for us to take back our country from these elites no matter what happens. As a european I will vote no.

• So we will get the chance to save Ireland, Europe, the planet and possibly far flung places of the galaxy where it is only the good health of bankers and bondholders that prevent us all being atomized in a gigantic black hole. Should we refuse this great mission there is always the possibility that a messiah from Goldman Sachs could replace our present dear leader and re-educate us properly as to the necessity of assimilation.

• I’m exited, really I am. If Lisbon was anything to go by this will be altogether great fun.

• I reckon gun to the head and a Yes vote by the usual margin second time around.

• Vote Yes for Sunshine, lollipops,rainbows and everything that’s wonderful!!!

Vote No for Death,Pestilence War and Famine!!!

This has been a referendum broadcast from the Fine Gael/Labour coalition government..

• Totally damned if we do – not quite so if we don’t.
    But good to see democracy alive still in Europe’s little thorn in the side.
    Hooray for us!

• lets get the ball rolling with yet another North Korean style approach to polling the Irish electorate.

I will vote NO….wait a minute, maybe I’ll vote YES. Hang on, I’ll vote NO the first time and then when we get to vote again I’ll vote yes, or should I vote YES first, and then NO. I’m confused ….how many votes do we get with this referendum…three, four, twelve…..after I vote, can I go back into the polling station and change my vote…will there be any biscuits….can I draw down my pension early if I vote yes…..will there still be a pension fund if I vote no…..

• As always….concise information is not forthcoming…the voting public need to be informed as to what ramifications this will have in the long term…..yes isn’t always positive…..

• Thank God
    Sanity reigns.

• How many ink cartridges will be needed for this!?!?

• lets give them a resounding no. But we all know the scare tactics Will come. I bet they had them lined up long ago. They want to look democratic by giving us a vote but not until they had their scare tactics prepared

• In fairness 500 ink cartridges is not a lot when you consider the amount of leaflets sf actually print to educate the people of Ireland on political matters and their rights. I am not a sf supporter. I just think it too much a coincidence that enda was forced to hold a referendum as a direct result of sf pressures, and next thing you know a finger is pointed a sf. Petty stuff.

• Woot! Let’s save time and default now for an instant solution to public sector pay problems and competitiveness – I’ll continue to get paid in hard currency so it’s all good.

• I love how the whingeing and moaning has gone from:

“Kenny is doing Merkels bidding and there won’t be a referendum!!!1. We want deomcracy!”

to

“Ah shure they’ll keep asking us till they get the right answer!!!11″

• I am Delighted with the good News” Now we can have Our Say of the Fiscal Treaty Reform” i Know my Anwser” enda Eat your heat Out” you Lost and We Won Horray” We have a Referendum” now that is Something To Celebrate” best News Ever” i Say a Referendum is Here for us ” no No No” gotta take care of of Ouselves Yo Yo Yo” Rita Cahill

• Neil 28/02/12 #

What will be the wording of the treaty, and will there be any debate about what a No vote actually means?

On the latter, I kind of doubt it. It’ll mean whatever anyone wants to mean: leave the EU, join the UK, leave the euro, stop all borrowing?

• Neil
      Cheer up ! We will all have a chance to have our say …
      Brilliant .

• paul mc 28/02/12 #

Good point, Neil. The ignorance on here is, as ever, astounding. Ms Gabbett in particular continues to prove her worth as a cartoon character.

The referendum hasn’t been drafted, and people are already saying NO. In all caps. Because, you know, that makes you seem smart.

Now can someone explain two things to me:

1) If we vote no, what do the treaty’s opponents envision to be the next step?
      2) What are the reasons to vote no OTHER than making some sort of anti-authoritatian stand?

• Paul. For a person giving out Report Cards you seem to know very little. This Treaty is basically the last one written in biro this time as opposed to pencil. What more horrors they may add are irrelevant. We know what the last one brought. No more thanks. And leave Eileen alone. I like her

• Ah Paul Mc
      Now don’t be like that
      Sure aren’t we all Irish men and women at the end of the day ?
      And I am the last person to be anti – authoritarian .In fact Paul
      I am all for fair play and justice .
      I may be coming to my senses and thinking twice or even thrice
      before I vote establishment again….
      Happy days.
      Réada@ How are you ?

• I am beside myself with delight Eileen. There are several Réadas dancing around my kitchen. Ireland is coming home. Éireann I love you.

• I am really delighted myself Réada, in fact I feel that the light at the end of the tunnel has been switched back on again…:)

• paul mc 28/02/12 #

Sorry girls, but what exactly are you so happy about? You are speaking in abstracts. I’m asking for specifics.

What happens when we don’t ratify this treaty? What next?

• Paul Mc ;Have a listen to this
      It just speaks volumes as to how I feel and not a cartoon in sight
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aFd5Cci_pE4

Enjoy your evening :)

• paul mc 28/02/12 #

You really aren’t the brightest, are you?

• Sticks and stones . sticks and stones :)

• Sorry Paul. I’m not sure to which Réada you refer. There seem to be several tonight, but they’ve all asked to to inform you that they are taking the evening off to celebrate.

Campaign for the NO VOTE commences in the morning and I’m sure you’ll find her floating about some thread or other.

My apologies. But think of me. I have to work for her… :-(

• paul mc 28/02/12 #

Still no answer between the two of ye. It would be laughable if this wasn’t actually somewhat important.

• @ Paul, what happens next if we say no? To answer your question nothing we stay in the current program we are in and those countries who want to ratify the fiscal compact do so and good luck to them. Does it mean we have to leave the Euro Zone or the EU? No. Does it mean the funding for the current ‘rescue’ program dries up? No.

Does it mean we will not be able to access more funding after 2013? Well that is the suggestion but seeing as we will be in hock to the ECB/EU for around 80 odd billion if they want Ireland to default on that and bring down the euro currency that is their choice. Me I’d expect them to carry on with funding if we require it.

• The ink scandal is a sad attempt by fg to undermine st and in particular aongas. He was the main opponent to fg trying to pass the treaty without the people getting a vote. I believe aongas will be cleared of any wrongdoings. Also its nice to see at least one party has held firm to its founding beliefs. The freedom of the people of Ireland. Sinn fein take a bow.

• Maybe I’m being foolish-but I reckon the best traditions of EU referenda would suit us well, here.

That is, reject it the first time, and let them come back with a sweetener-lower interest rates/longer repayment schedules on our borrowings to fund the deficit and the pillar bank recapitalisations, a couple of tens of billions to offset the ECB’s refusal to let us tear up the Anglo promissory notes, or a combination of both.

Once we balance the books, the interest repayments, even on what we’ve borrowed for our budget deficit alone (which is the bulk of what we owe), is going to hobble us in the medium to long term anyway.

Greece is up shit creek without a paddle, they are facing massive austerity and a widening divide between the haves and have nots (despite widespread tax evasion-the Greeks work longer hours by far than the rest of the EU), and resultant civil unrest, and they’re still in the Euro club, even though by necessity they’re receiving write downs. We haven’t. Yet.

A more conciliatory approach to our financial woes would benefit the entire Eurozone.

• Or they (the EU) could do all those things before referendum day – á la the goodies we used to get from FF before election day :) – It would save us having to run the 2nd referendum which would save us money in itself.

Mind you with all the money and cartridges that are going to be spent on both sides of this referendum campaign, it might be just the economic stimulus that we needed. Perhaps, that is part of the governments stimulus program to have a series of referenda (incl. children’s referendum, resizing of Dail referendum, a rerun of the Dail committee’s powers referendum, and the European Referendum) to encourage the Declan Ganleys, Michael O’Learys, political parties, EU etc to spend their money :)

Seriously, I hope the majority of the debate will be focused on what is actually in the treaty and its implications and not what seems like the inevitable scare mongering from both sides.

• Its a plty that Mr Kenny did not think before he spoke last June in Athlone when he decided to destroy Roscommon Hospital with his announcment that he was closing the Roscommon A+E and today in the Dail he said that the dept of health was looking at smaller hospitals to improve services at the larger hospitals well if he did not close our A+E. N.U.H.G.WOULD NOT HAVE HAD the worst winter in history When are you going to cop on Md Kenny and your entire cabinet that whatever you say we in roscommon have no faith in you, you are proven liar And with your lies You and JAMES REILLY. have put Roscommon Lives at RISK

• Vote yes for Jobs!

• Paul, Steve Jobs passed away last October. I doubt he cares.

• Dont be ridiculous Paul, we get told that same crap everytime there is a referendum regarding our relationship with Europe, Lets sign up to the Euro – say yest to jobs. Say yes to Mastricht – say yes to jobs. Say yes to Nice – say yes to jobs. Say yes to Lisbon – say yest to jobs and if we all say yes Europe wont be able to interfere in our national fiscal policies or our taxations system blady blady blah.
      And look where we are now, its about time the government starts to listen to us when we say NO!

• Interesting… very interesting!

• Mr Lee 28/02/12 #

I think it’s very immature to assume that politicians always lie.
    I personally hope the people vote yes, but I don’t think that’s going to happen.

• It only took 96 years for us to return to the Commonwealth, not much of a choice really – either ruled by Angela or Elizabeth (who is 1/4 German anyway) – welcome back 1940’s & 50′s.

I’d say we’ll vote an overwhelming no & 2 years from now go ‘oh sh*t..”

• And they’ll get away with it too, you know.

• Fred I think we heard the same poppycock about Ivor the Engine.
    I am not really concerned as to whether Snoddy is cleared as you put it but for a Sinn Feiner to take fifty thousand Euro in “cartidges” from the Irish Taxpayers at a time of serious want shows clearly their levels of integrity. And on top of that they believe they have the high moral ground on fiscal matters?
    What we really need to do is wait until the Constitutional amendment is framed and then debate it in a rational manner.
    Sinn Fein on and off these pages have already made their position clear.
    Please let’s put cartridges verifiably beyond use.

• Worst news ever.

• Is it a coincidence that the scandal about Sinn Fein breaks, and the government release a bigger item to divert the media and public attention on the printing scandal!? There all in cohorts I tell ya!! (I say this because people moaned about the SF expenses scandal breaking as a poll shows them at 25%).

I have mixed feelings on a referendum. Firstly, we are going to get a whole range on issues being debated on the No side that have nothing to do with the treaty. A new army, abortion, everyone has to get a GPS chip implanted in them etc. The looney left always seem to bring in a raft of issues that have no connection at all with the treaty. Expect a loss of jobs and a downfall in the economy being suggested also. It makes for a depressing period.

But in good news, its not being swept under the carpet by the government like was being suggested by the above good folk. The government did as they said they would – bring it to the AG for review, wait on her recommendation and then decide what to do. They have done just that and many believed the answer would be “No Treaty folks”. Instead, the good news is that the Irish will get to have a say on whether we wish to integrate further into the EU for better financial control to avoid a repeat of our current fiasco.

Its a mixed day for everyone. Those who claimed the government would not give the people a choice are disappointed that their allegation was false but on the same side they get to campaign and raise awareness of their random accusations and policies. Those who were neutral now get a chance to have a say but have to listen to a load of nonsense from the No side.

• So you didn’t hear Mr Gilmore say that the government actively sought to avoid a referendum.Plus i’m not on the looney left.I just don’t like being lied too.

• “Those who claimed the government would not give the people a choice are disappointed that their allegation was false”????? are you sure? don’t you think they are delighted to have a say? i know i am, and btw, i see no party, right, left or centre that dont use scare mongering as a tactic, that and derision of opponents, where the lying ends the stupid verbose jibes begin

Add New Comment