TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

86 per cent of Irish people believe corruption is a major problem

Some 36 per cent of respondents said they believed they were personally affected by corruption in their daily lives, according to the latest report by the Standards in Public Office Commission.

Image: Images_of_Money via Flickr/Creative Commons

THE VAST MAJORITY of Irish people think that corruption is a major problem in the country, according to the Standards in Public Office Commission’s annual report for 2011.

A substantial minority of respondents (36 per cent) believed that they were personally affected by corruption in their daily lives, and 65 per cent said they believed that bribery and abuse of position for personal gain was widespread among politicians at national level.

Commenting on findings, Chairman of the Commission, Mr Justice M P Smith said that progress in reforming Ireland’s anti-corruption legislation – including legislation regarding ethics and elections – was an “absolutely essential” step in regaining the people’s trust in public institutions and in restoring Ireland’s international reputation.

Smith said there were “encouraging indications” that the recommendations of the Mahon and Moriarty Tribunals, together with many of the Standards Commission’s recommendations for change, were being taken seriously by the Government.

The Standards Commission welcomed, in particular, the proposed changes in political funding and whistleblower protection as well as the announcement earlier this year by Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform that he intends to introduce ‘root and branch’ reform of the existing ethics legislation.

The Commission said it had been seeking the introduction of a comprehensive act consolidating the Ethics Acts and all other legislation providing for disclosure of interests – and related provisions for public officials along with wider disclosure of interests – for a number of years.

The report also showed that the overall expenditure in Dáil Éireann for last year’s general election was nearly €18. million less than in 2007 – and that there were 100 fewer candidates.

Read: Over €1m spent on sending children of Irish diplomats to school>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (52 Comments)

• Yes Ireland is corrupt but so are many other countries, it’s our response or lack of response that’s the most depressing aspect!

• If people and ex leaders were brought to court and put in prison it would be a step in the right direction. Then after that change all the politics and start again through the people of Ireland voice.

• We are the 86%.

• The real and most flagrant corruption occurs among the Irish people at large, not just the politicians and bankers. We are a nation if chancers and cheaters and liars and thieves. It has only gotten worse as the masses turn their back on the church. I’m tired if finger-pointing and wonder when ye will accept the result of your actions.

• I think the journal need to start doing a “rediculous comment of the week” bit.

• The people of Iceland forced their corrupt government to resign.
      A public assembly was created to rewrite the constitution.
      The banks were nationalized, it was decided not to pay the debt that PRIVATE banks created.
      All of this in a peaceful way…
      What would happen if the rest of the world took this as an example?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w5l_Hea-5TE

• Is Mr. Moon from another planet, like his god? Oh Lord!

• And the other 14% are Politicians and Bankers.

• @ Patrick Moon …
      Speak for yourself, I am not corrupt and neither are my family .

• With suspicion of Group Think
      in the media, and the same media telling us what to believe, can we be sure we are not now all part of a contrived Group Think.

• @patrickmoon You are either a troll or what is commonly known as a bawbag where I come from. Never has there Benin a bigger liar, cheat, thief or abuser of trust than the church.

• @ Patrick Moon How bloody dare you describe the ordinary decent people of this country as a nation of “chancers, cheaters, liars and thieves” because they have turnned their back on the church. You’re tired of finger pointing yet that’s exactly what you do.
      Has it ever crossed your mind that those who simply don’t believe in the myth of religion, who finally got fed up with the church because of its abuse of children and cover up’s, the fraud and scandal’s, those who are left get totally fed up listening to the likes of you spouting this kind of condescending, arrogant shite?
      You arrogantly assume a person must first have belief in a mythical being, presumably only a Christian god would suffice, in order to live a fulfilling, respectable life. Instead you prefer to base your life around a book in which the god is a jealous, petty, unjust, unforgiving, vindictive, bloodthirsty ethnic cleanser, a misogynistic, homophobic, racist, infanticidal, genocidal, filicidal, pestilential, megalomaniacal, sadomasochistic, capriciously malevolent bully. You seem to think anyone who doesn’t believe in a god, an atheist, has something wrong with them, describing atheism as a fault is akin to describing intelligence as a disease.
      I’m reminded of a quote I read recently, I think you should consided this;

During many ages there were witches. The Bible said so. The Bible commanded that they should not be allowed to live. Therefore the Church, after doing its duty in but a lazy and indolent way for 800 years, gathered up its halters, thumbscrews, and firebrands, and set about its holy work in earnest. She worked hard at it night and day during nine centuries and imprisoned, tortured, hanged, and burned whole hordes and armies of witches, and washed the Christian world clean with their foul blood. Then it was discovered that there was no such thing as witches, and never had been. One does not know whether to laugh or to cry.

Mark Twain – Bible Teaching and Religious Practice

• @PatrickMoon And all this corruption bloomed during the Irish Theocracy when Leinster House took its directions from Rome.

• Are all the Holy Mary’s/Joes, Thumbing me down? My response to that is, LOL!

• A task force of untouchables and minimum Life sentence for corruption, That easy!

• And the other 14 percent are corrupt

• How much to take this article down?

• Ha ha,you’re stung, there’s only one €50 note in that photo. The rest is, perhaps, cut up pieces of the Irish times, monopoly money or toilet paper!!

• 86% of Irish people think that corruption is a problem? Jesus what gave that away to think that???

• Corruption is endemic at all levels of irish society. We are not known as a nation of “cute hoors” for nothing. Tax evasion, social welfare fraud etc is absolutely monstrous in this country. And no one really wants to fix it! If it was fixed….we would be in a much healthier social and economic climate

• The Elephant in the room is what you speak of. Tackle corruption, and it gets tackled at all levels……….many might prefer the status quo!

• In Iceland, the first European country to wake up to an economic crash, people became aware that they could and should intervene in society and started demanding more democratic participation.
      The payment of bank debts by citizens went to referendum. The government was forced to create a Council to write a new constitution: a citizens’ group – without politicians, lawyers or university professors – who opened the discussion process to everybody and managed to approve by consensus a draft proposal.

http://potspansdocumentary.wordpress.com/

• What rock are the other 14% under?

• the sales of brown envelopes during the boom and even now is more than alcohol and fags combined Id say!

• Mick Wallace being at liberty, just goes to prove that Ireland is still a corrupt little kip of a country! Despite all the tribunals and promises made by the gangsters that run the place, nothing’s changed!!

• The actual figure was 100%, but someone slipped someone in the journal a few quid so it wouldn’t look so bad…

• There have been reports out over the past 10 years by international organisations that have shown Ireland to be an extremely corrupted country per capita.
    The reports lay out how this reputation has lost us lots of inward investment. The problem is, we ( as a people not me myself) will vote the same corrupt people into government who will put the same corrupt chromite into corrupt positions etc etc etc

• We’re the Italians less stylish cousins.

• It is a core requirement in a democracy that you trust those whom you elect. Inevitably there will be corruption and you will never stamp it out completely. The only thing you can do is impose much greater penalties on those who abuse it. Impose large financial penalties that ensures the crime does not pay. Greed is the underlying cause of corruption. Jail should only be used for those who are a physical threat to society. Jail should only be used against corruption when the perpetrator has previous form.

• Just think of the number of families that are in negative equity because of corrupt Estate Agents (Market Fraud) and their commission and not one of them in jail. They were major players in every town who by their corruption brought Ireland down and yet it is only the bankers some politicians and some developers who get the blame.Why can so many not see the real Elephant in the room, only this time it is in society , And then we had the Estate Agent who was also a county councillor , now this combination would put Judas to shame

• There is a lot of corruption in this country. Particularly in the Govt and in the people that have been given jobs by the people of Ireland. In our stupidity we have never insisted on accountability for any of our politicians or bankers or gardai that have been corrupt. Maybe we are a nation of chancers and rogues but corruption is something that is not funny it is sinister and evil.
    I would personally bring in public flogging for any official, banker, priest, garda or anyone in a position of authority that abuses the trust of the Irish People. These people live extremely comfortable lives out of our pockets and to abuse our trust and to bite the hand that feeds them should be rewarded with an extreme punishment.
    I believe that we don’t understand what democracy is, that it can only exist through the consent of the people. If the Govt abuse our trust then they no longer represent the people that put them in a job to represent their affairs. Why should anyone born free in this country have to abide by legislation created by a Govt that represent a shower of plebs that won’t stand up for themselves if they do not consent.
    Don’t give me the law of the land bullshit. Either we are born free or we are not. I am not advocating breaking the law, but I am advocating questioning the legislation that is currently being brought in to rob us of our rights by spastics that have no authority to do so other than an army of blue policy enforcers that will break down your door if you don’t agree with a rule that has been lobbied and sneaked through the Dail by shrewd business pigs.

• Slowly the world is beginning to realise the true scale of this madness..a Icelandic revolution is the way for ward..
    £13 Trillion hidden offshore.. http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/2012/jul/21/global-elite-tax-offshore-economy

• It’s a catholic thing. The countries who are mostly responsible for the crises in the Euro zone are catholic i.e. Spain, Italy, Ireland, Greece, and Portugal. Their politicians are like ours – they don’t often resign for breaking rules etc. like the church they attend it is easy to ask forgiveness and carry on abusing the following week. We accept it and vote them in.

• IMO most politicians are not corrupt, the corrupted tends to be the public servants in local authorities especially in the planning dept. I’ve had first hand experience of this were breaches in planning regs are clamped down hard on if your a private individual but if your a developer your given tons of leeway.

• oreo 21/07/12 #

i think what mr moon was trying to get is…

for the HUMAN failures of the church, it has been quickly forgotten what great good the church and it’s VALUES have been to this country. The chruch by want or not gave this country a spiritual backbone that has been slowly erroded away by way of the media. It gave us guidance and strong virtues that could carry any an through good or bad times. Please dont confuse this with the terrible wrongs of some men. If you do this u only lend a hand to the impending victor. The media. Our children will now hear guidance from Lady Gaga, Rihanna, other sexualised artists and TV personailities. We will reep what we sow.

• I wonder how many people who comment here about corruption, tax evading, ect. calling for people to be thrown in jail also buy black market cigs. If it’s good for the goose……

• It’s only corrupt when other people do it…

• Very true Jim. That type of corruption among the minions is very prevalent in a colonized country. It comes from believing that the establishment does not have your or your fellow citizens’ best interests at heart.

It seems plausible too that it is also present in our government, as they clearly don’t behave with an inner confidence and self-belief but instead act as if they’re on borrowed time and out to make the quick buck.

• 1/3 of the world’s GDP is held in secret bank accounts.

Add New Comment