TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

AIB hits back at claims it ‘harassed and intimidated’ Ivan Yates

The bankrupt former government minister and Newstalk presenter was heavily critical of the bank in a newspaper interview at the weekend.

Ivan Yates (File photo)
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

ALLIED IRISH BANKS (AIB) has hit back at claims by the bankrupt former government minister Ivan Yates that it unfairly targeted him in seeking to recoup debts he owes the bank.

In a highly unusual move, the bank has commented on the case of the former Newstalk presenter who accused AIB of harassing and intimidating his family in pursuit of debts he owed them following the collapse of his bookmaking firm.

The bank said it was disappointed with the comments Yates made in an interview with the Sunday Independent and insisted that it does not set out to target specific individuals.

Yates was declared bankrupt in the UK last week having previously been the subject of an AIB attempt to have him declared bankrupt in the High Court in Dublin under the more stringent Irish bankruptcy laws.

The former Fine Gael minister previously claimed AIB had pursued him with “sense of vindictiveness and a desire to make an example of me as a high-profile individual”.

Speaking to the Sunday Independent yesterday, Yates said he would an “economic zombie for a year” following a Welsh court’s declaration that he is bankrupt, a process which will see him discharge his bankruptcy in August of next year under the UK’s less stringent bankruptcy laws.

Yates has been living in a Swansea since April following the collapse of his Celtic Bookmakers firm and claimed that the bank had “harassed and intimidated me and my family since April”.

“When I left Newstalk on Thursday Apr 3, the following day, Good Friday Apr 4, they tried to serve a summons on my 80-year-old mother as she was leaving Mass,” he told the Sunday Independent’s Ronald Quinlan and John Drennan.

But in a statement issued this evening, AIB said that while it does not usually comment on individual cases it noted “with disappointment” the comments attributed to Yates at the weekend.

“AIB had originally sought, in good faith, to negotiate a solution with Mr Yates,” the statement said.

“AIB is acutely aware of the financial difficulties facing many individuals and businesses in Ireland. The bank is working in good faith, on a case by case basis,with customers to agree, wherever possible, solutions based on consensus.

“AIB acknowledges that the vast majority of our customers are working collaboratively with us to resolve their difficulties.

“AIB does not set out to target specific individuals in any circumstances andapproaches each case on its own merits. AIB only pursues bankruptcy in a limited number of customer cases and for valid and considered reasons.

“These potentially include situations where a customer, in AIB’s view is no longer co-operating with the bank or where a customer seeks to establish residency in another country which might result in a lower recovery for the bank and the Irish taxpayer.

“At all times AIB must seek to maintain its economic position, including where necessary the use of legal channels, to ensure an appropriate economic outcome forthe bank and, by extension, the Irish taxpayer.”

Read: Ivan Yates to leave Newstalk

Read: Receiver appointed to Ivan Yates’ Celtic Bookmakers

Read next:

Comments (77 Comments)

• I used to listen to him every morning and enjoyed his opinions and views on the economy. he stuck it to the failed businessmen, developer, bertie ahearn et al and played to the masses. I must say he fooled me good as he has taken the money and ran more so than the rest. bankruptcies outside of the republic of Ireland should not carry any water and he, especially should at least make an effort to pay. he has numerous pensions and wasn’t on peanuts at newstalk. I sympathise with many struggling small business owners out there who are negotiating every day to try and meet their debts and those who are in the know and have the means can pay for a good legal rep and go to the UK and cancel their debts. this is a disgrace

• It’s pretty clear why they were harnessing him. he moved to the uk in April and according o himself they only started harnessing him them. AIB and the country knew what he was at, what did he expect them to do

• Swansea is a kip though

• It’s ironic that AIB uses the taxpayer card to defend it’s actions against Ivan Yates while at the same time they are screwing the same taxpayers by paying excessive salaries & benefits to their executives. It’s a pity that AIB did not have this same moral conscious during the Celtic Tiger period when they broke practically every banking regulation guideline and in doing so effectively blackmailed the Irish taxpayer into bailing them out.

• Nappy 04/09/12 #

you are right but I dont think people are behind aib one bit what they are pissed of about is all these people going over to united kingdom for 3 months and getting away with all there debts then back on the gravy train again in a year Why the small man has to suffer Savage tax rates ect…………

• Who would believe a word either of them has to say.

• Comment removed because I said newstalk is boring without Ivan? Reasonable moderation…

• Scarr 03/09/12 #

Retired at 42 on a dail pension of just less than €75,000 a year since 2001, yup, my heart sure does bleed for hypocritical, Ivan.

• He moved to England to avail of their lenient bankruptcy laws and to leave the Irish people with his bill. And for him to say ” I’m leaving newstalk to concentrate on my financial affair” is typical of the mentality of these people who think they are above the rest of us

• Did he use his mothers house or farm or both as collateral?
    Politicians are something else – imagine putting your family through that ordeal.
    I think himself , Mick Wallace, Lowery, Raoire Quinn, Olivia Mitchell and Bertie could start a new party. They could call it the untouchables.

• Oh how the tide is turning back in favour of the banks. Horribly, they are showing signs of winning the PR battle as the fickle, dumbed-down majority turn to the latest convenient scapegoat.

Nappy, you are an idiot.

• The article in The Sunday Independent yesterday was a complete joke! Poor auld Ivan being forced abroad by the banks and his mammy being harassed by the banks! The article attempted to create public sympathy for Ivan, The Independent his stage and Denis O’Brien his violin player. To make it worse in the same paper they had a feature on property developers and speculators who bankrupted the country and left us paying for their excess and greed, the feature included profiles of nearly 20 people who owe money to NAMA and left the people of Ireland to pay the bill. Ivan of course was not featured in this list( even tough he is exactly the same as all the rest), no he got his own page to tell the nation how hard it has been on him and his family, yes Ivan I am sure it is hard on you and your family but not as hard as it is on countless numbers of families in this country who have endured cuts and tax increases to pay for the debts people like you left behind. Media ownership in this country needs to be seriously looked at and the ethics of journalism. The fact that this man worked for Newstalk and TV3 and had this pathetic piece in a paper owned by the same man that paid his wages in TV3 and Newstalk is a complete and utter joke.

• What Mass was that ? There’s no Mass in a catholic church on a Good Friday. Maybe Ivan has turned and hasn’t got his head around the lingo yet.

Or is this a porky pie.

• I believe he has always been church of Ireland. But I don’t see that it is relevant to the debate.

• Politicians, current and retired, get away with inaccurate language all the time and their apologists question the relevance of this all the time, well I have a right to question his assertion that AIB tried to serve something on his mother as she left ‘MASS’ on Good Friday. It is relevant to me, as I will judge his truthfulness based on all of his assertions.
      As far as I am concerned, by moving to the UK, he has attempted to put assets beyond the reach of the creditors and transferred the liability to me and all other taxpayers.
      He says loads, has a big opinion on everything.
      Can we believe what he says.
      That’ the question.

• I just love the way the bank is always trying to recoup money for the taxpayer…so when will I receive a cheque in the post from the bank..I’m a taxpayer so where is my cheque ?

• The point that I am trying to make is that businesses fail. Banks will give you a brolly when the sun shines and take it back when it rains. Why demonise failure particularly in the midst of the greatest recession since 1929. Yates offered the bank a farm worth €2m off a debt of €3.6m. They refused. What was he to do. How many jobs have his critics created and how are they faring in the recession.

• Nappy 03/09/12 #

ivan yates is Just as bad as the banks he makes my blood boil with all his opinions on news talk of cutting everything on public spending once it does not effect him .there is something wrong when someone can move to england for a few weeks and be declared bankrupt there .I wonder will he still be getting his big dail pension after the year and im sure he will be back on the radio soon .His a pig and the reason Why him and his ex minister brought this country down to its knees cause all they do is look after no 1

• Mjhint 03/09/12 #

Whatever your view of Ivan is, & I,dont have one, he moved to the UK to avail of better & softer bankruptcy laws & good on him. We were told these laws would be here by last March at the latest & even though they have been before the dail still nothing. You blame Ivan,I blame our politicians. Legally he is entitled to do this & once he has lived in the Uk longer than 3 months & 2 weeks he can apply to the courts. On top of this the process takes about another 3 months & after he is fully discharged all debt. After 6 months from then he can start again. We have nothing here & we are told its not going to be easy & its not meant to be to protect the banks & we must wait 3 years to be able to move on. Also there will be restrictions in that if you declare bankruptcy once thats it. You cant do again. So Ivan may be this or that I dont know but what I do is we have no protection here & thats not his fault. If you say AIB are not capable of what he says you have no idea of them. So well done ivan & there maybe a few more to follow & f##k the banks & the Irish state because if they wont do something we will.

• Mjhint
      What a silly rant. You own Allied Irish Bank and this Ivan Yeates debts are yours and will be for some years to come in case you didn’t know. Ivan doing a runner to the UK cannot criticise AIB for pursuing him to the fullest extent. If they behaved any other way people like you would be down on them like a ton of bricks.

• Mjhint 03/09/12 #

I dont own AIB or any part of it regardless of your view. The state owns it. The banks have tried to slow down the bankruptcy legislation to protect themselves from those that can never pay. They destroyed this country on their own. They lied & continue to do so. I had no say in the state taking over the banks but if I had they would have been left go to the wall as any normal business that gets into trouble. Ivan Yates wont get bailed out by the state. So he has taken matters into his own hands & legally out witted the banks & I admire him. I would advise anyone that can get of trouble to this & move on with there lives. The Irish state will survive & maybe the banks wont but f##k them. If this so wrong & so damaging how is it it can be done in the UK.

• censored 05/09/12 #

@Mjhint, you haven’t a clue. Since you’re so happy to pay Ivan’s debts – yes, it is *you* that will be paying it – can you take on my share as well? Thanks for your generosity.

• I’d say Shane and Chris are minus craic on the beer. Ivan non-stop banter. That’s how I judge my radio presenters.

• If we’re lucky he’ll stay there… :-))

• While I don’t have much sympathy for Ivan it amazes me people coming on here ranting about how they’re paying for his losses and supporting AIB. The history of this institution includes organised tax evasion (dirt scandal, Irish registered non resident accounts are two that spring to mind) , overcharging customers, writing off Charlie Haugheys loans, bankrupting itself twice (see ICI scandal and reckless lending for property speculation). Irish citizens will pay for this for the rest of their lives, Ivan’s 3.8million is irrelevant in this context

• Nappy 03/09/12 #

is that right Apple core. i hate the banks my gf went to aib last week for a small loan and was refused she is a theatre nurse for last 10 years I Just think is crap that politicans as well as bankers and Developers get away with murder and we end up paying for it .your the idiot

• It’s sad to see Mr Yates has gone down this route to settle his finances. He, as a FG TD, , did great things for Enniscorthy – more than the Resident FF TD did anyway. I feel let down that He would go to Wales for his bankruptcy but I can understand as a businessman he would chose the easier option. As for AIB – a bit rich implying they are trying to recoup monies for the Irish taxpayers mere days before they plan on paying bondholders – ( at least i think it was AIB i read about – open to correction)

• iBob101 03/09/12 #

I liked listening to Ivan on Newstalk. It’s a pity he had to go to Wales for his bankruptcy but I guess he had no choice given how much worse the Irish system is. It’s sad that he’s so sore about how things ended up that he says he’s never coming back.

By the way, for those who think he’s getting some kind of great deal – remember that bankruptcy means you have to give up all your cash and other assets. The main benefit of the UK system is that after just 1 year (compared to 3-8 years under the new Irish system coming in soon!) you get your life back – you can get a job and keep what you earn after tax without the bank coming after you.

• I believe Ivan Yates. Had he wanted the easy option he would have stayed in the Dail and probably be Taoiseach today. Instead he tried a business and failed. In the meantime he paid out a lot of wages and put a lot of dinners on tables. Why are we so vicious against those who try and fail. If we continue this nobody with any bit of go in them will even try business. Where will we get the jobs then. Nobody starts a business with the intention of bankrupting themselves and having that stigma attached to them and their family for generations. And if anybody thinks that option is attractive they don’t know what they’re talking about.

• Sham 03/09/12 #

Dude, it’s the fact that he went elsewhere to avail of bankruptcy laws that suited him. Given his populist crap on newstalk as well people are annoyed about it

• I work in the private sector. Ivan Yates didn’t go into business to put food on his staff members’ tables. He wanted to make a profit for himself. Fair enough – but don’t dump your debts on the tax payer after over-extending yourself.

• DaveC 03/09/12 #

So what if he went to Wales for the lenient bankruptcy laws and so what if he wanted to make profit for himself? Neither are illegal last time I checked.

• @DaveC
      See my comment below re:bankruptcy.

Oh so you’re one of those – make a loss – others can pick up the tab. Hope you’re enjoying all the extra taxes to pay for the losses of others.

• DaveC 03/09/12 #

Nobody wants a business to fail BlackQueen but unfortunately it happens and will continue to happen. If risks are never taken in the first place then employment levels would reduce to zilch, so go figure.

• Because we John have to pay his bill while he comes back to Ireland as if nothing happened, I too used to like him on Newstalk but when he ran away to save himself it made me sick.

• censored 05/09/12 #

This is not about being vicious against those who try and fail. There are plenty of honest decent people who have created jobs. Why defend those who are liars, cheats and thieves at the expense of the rest of society?

• I posted a long comment in relation to AIB and their attitude to lending and how they treat their customers these days, where is it gone…deleted?

• I don’t believe either of them?!?!?

• I can only say that I am envious of Ivan and his ability to take on AIB. He has not broken the law, he has followed it perfectly. AIB who are now state owned could take a lesson from his brightness instead of burning lights all weekend in an empty head office building in Ballsbridge!!! Who is paying that ESB bill ?

• I agree!!! I’ve started cycling 15km to work just so I dont have to listen to Chris!

• Terrible ;)

• Nappy 03/09/12 #

apple core if u look down a bit I fixed my spelling mistake of shot to shoot .now go away your boring me if thats all u can challenge me on

• My word, you’re really not the brightest spark. Shot, shoot. The sentiment is the same.
      Also, I’m not posting for your entertainment. Sorry if you had your hopes up – try Nickelodeon.

• Fine, he ran off to Britain to be declared bankrupt there under an easier law. Now change the law here so that if he ever comes back, he will then have to be declared bankrupt here as well, and be subjected to his own country’s laws, which, as an elected political representative, he swore to uphold.

• I am Mrs. Faith Brodie from United State of America, God has bless me with two kids and a loving husband, I promise to share this Testimony because of God favor in my life,2months ago I was in desperate need of money so I thought of having a loan then I ran into wrong hands who claimed to be a loan lender not knowing he was a scam. he collected 2,000USD from me and refuse to email me since. then I was confuse, but God came to my rescue, one faithful day I went to church after the service I share idea with a friend and she introduce me to KATHERINE LOAN FIRM, she said she was given 50,000USD by MR BRUCE , THE MANAGING DIRECTOR OF KATHERINE LOAN FIRM. so I collected his email Address ,he told me the rules and regulation and I followed, then after processing of the Documents he gave me my loan of 30,000POUNDS .you can contact him on via email (Katherineloanfirm@gmail.com) I am sure he will help you.

• 10/04/13 #

Dear Investors/Financial Seekers.

We are a Registered Private Investors/Loan Lender, Do you need FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE? Are you in financial mess OR debts? We offer loan at 3% interest rate within 1 year to 30 years repayment duration period to Individual and Companies that are in need of financial assistance and to any part of the world.

We give out loans ranging from $5,000.00 to $500,000,000.00, CURRENCIES: USD, CAD, KWD, OMR, SGD, RUB, GBP, AUD, MYR, ZAR, IDR, UAH, PHP, EURO.

Our loans are well insured for maximum security is our priority, Are you losing sleep at night worrying how to get a legit loan lender? Are you in poverty? Do you need financial assistance to set-up a business? We can assist you financially.

Interested Individual OR Companies should contact us via:
    Email: linpohloanfirm@yahoo.com.sg

Regards,

Lin Poh Loan Firm Team.

• censored 05/09/12 #

I’d bet Yates was expecting a special deal like Haughey got. I’d like to see the gorillas that “intimidated” him. Ivan Yates has a brass neck. I don’t believe that AIB would be able to “harass and intimidate” him. What did they do? Make a few phone calls? Oh Golly.

• Didn’t Lizzy Windsor impress so many Irish people during her recent visit?

• Intimated what though? That’s what I’d like to know.

• Nappy 03/09/12 #

shoot

Add New Comment