TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Barrister whose ad led to Mahon calls for an anti-corruption commission

Colm Mac Eochaidh has said the information revealed by the Mahon Tribunal has been priceless but has offered an idea for how such costs might be avoided in future.

Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

THE BARRISTER WHO was one of the two men behind the offer of a reward for information about planning corruption that led to the Planning Tribunal has called for the establishment of an anti-corruption commission.

Colm Mac Eochaidh and the former chairman of An Taisce Michael Smith were the two men whose offer of a reward of IR£10,000 for information about corruption in the planning process in 1995 would eventually lead to the establishment of the Flood – later Mahon – Tribunal in 1997.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie following the publication of the final report of the longest running Tribunal in the history of the State, Mac Eochaidh said that his proposed anti-corruption commission would not be as costly if it sat behind closed doors.

Much of the criticism of Mahon has centred on its expected cost of over €250 million including large legal fees incurred by the various parties involved.

“[The anti-corruption commission] has two advantages. One, the allegation is made in private and if it turns out to be untrue the person whom the allegation is made against keeps their good name,” Mac Eochaidh said.

“Second, they don’t need the battery of lawyers which is required when the allegation is made in public. All the due process rights which are all terribly expensive, are neutralised.

“If the inquiry reveals prima facia evidence it can then alert the police and ask them to prosecute in the normal way.”

Mac Eochaidh, a former Fine Gael general election candidate in Dublin South East, said that he did not think there would be “the stomach” among politicians to establish something like the Mahon Tribunal ever again given its cost.

However, he said that the information unveiled by the Tribunal was “priceless”.

“€100m or €200m is a small price to pay for something which is priceless,” he said. “The whole process is not susceptible to a value for money analysis. One doesn’t do it to achieve an economic end.”

In an article for TheJournal.ie Mac Eochaidh also reveals that no one ever claimed the initial IR£10,000 reward and says that if Mahon had been televisied and former taoiseach Bertie Ahern had given evidence live on TV, he would not have survived as long as he did in office.

Read more: ‘I thought it would last two months’ – the man whose ad led to Mahon

Full coverage of the Mahon Tribunal fallout on TheJournal.ie>

Read next:

Comments (22 Comments)

• We owe a great deal of gratitude to these two guys. We should listen carefully to what they have to say.

• For all those moaning about the cost of the tribunal and taking pot shots at his “priceless” comment – he did not propose a multi million Euro tribunal and in this article is proposing an alternative to prevent such a cost ever mounting up again.

I personally agree that it was way too expensive, but at the same time it is the first time I can remember smug politicians who believed themselves to be above the law of the land finally being put on the spot. I just hope there are consequences now, otherwise it will end up being a waste of money in my books.

Bring on the anti-corruption department I say, and do it quick.

• His recommendation needs to be followed ASAP, problem is that our leaders are probably shitting themselves at the prospect of this proposal.

As previously, think this guy is great and wish that there were more like him. Instead of just moaning about corruption in a pub or on forums like this (OK, forums like these didn’t exist back then), he got off his arse and did something about it. And not just for himself, but for the greater good.

Am sceptical, but hope that this tribunal actually brings some convictions – the Politicians need to be shitting themselves, otherwise they will never change!

• The Tribunals brought €3 Billion in unpaid tax etc back to the government, while they cost €1 Billion – it was worth it. These bullies in the positions of power(for all the wrong reasons) need to be brought to task – and then jail. Just look at Oisin Quinn labour councillor who recently was found guilty of breaking 4 rules of ethics in the council chambers trying and succeeding in lobbying for planning on a developement he part owned. All this right under the noses of all to see – was he expelled or jailed? Never uncle Raoire wouldn’t have that. Not much has changed.

• terry 27/03/12 #

Very funny little country we have spend a fortune on a tribunal no criminal charges for the majority of the implicated parties all at the behest of two legal professionals

• terry 27/03/12 #

Anyone know how much these guys made out of the Mahon tribunal or are we all going to sing their praises this is a job for the police if they can’t do it then fix that fecking problem

• Ed 27/03/12 #

That’s a bit like blaming turkeys for Christmas, politicians set up the tribunal knowing full well it no real teeth and would draaag on n on, so what was it haughty said about Bertie?

• Colm is right, we need an anti-corrpution commission. He has done the state some service in starting the ball rolling with this one. Irish politics has had a rough few weeks over Mahon, but now we must get the political processes and party funding processes right. I remember Colm Mac Eochaidh from his attempts to get onto the Dublin MEP ticket in 2003 when I was in Dublin West FG. He seemed a very capable, articulate and energetic fella. I think the fall out from Mahon now shows why he didnt get on the ticket. Corruption runs deep in FF, FG and elsewhere … and the forces were against him!

• Yes we do need an anti corruption agency in this country ,but none of them be irish and work in this country ,we need people from over seas people that you can trust,,just look at the farce of an investigation in to anglo and other banks and institutions from the director of corporate enforcement ,five people are holding that investigation by refusing to hand over encrypted codes for phones belong to anglo , but they are going to change the law on the data protection act to get money from thye poor ,people of ireland stop voting these criminals into power

• terry 27/03/12 #

No tribunals no commission use the police they need the practise look at the bank investigation getting a man out of bed at 6 am no breakfast and question him for 12 hours much more effective in my opinion

• Frankly the tribunal was worth every penny in exposing these criminals and the endemic corruption. Even these useless gombeens in government can’t totally ignore the findings!

• Pen Name 28/03/12 #

Definitely. Effective criminal law is what’s needed.

• The tribunal did good work in exposing SOME of the political thieves that we have elected. We all hope but the vast majority don’t expect that they will be brought to justice.
    However there can be NO EXCUSE for the ridiculous, exorbitant fees paid to the lawyers and barristers – NO EXCUSE and bye the way, we cant afford to pay them.

• For every rat snagged you can almost be certain that a few more rats just about got away!

• It’s all a money making machine for the lawyers

• The Mahon tribunal has guesstimated costs of maybe a third of a billion, nearly four hundred times the total amount of cash ‘donations’ it uncovered. By all means debate the value of a Commission but please cost it in advance and then decide. Major changes in legislation are required to bring legal costs down to earth.

• A brilliant idea. The Hong Kong and New South Wales Independent Commissions Against Corruption have made vast changes for the better in both locations.

The Hong Kong one, which works on the premise that anyone in receipt of government payments who has significant funds he/she cannot account for is guilty of corruption, has been particularly successful in making Hong Kong the cleanest of Asian states.

The problem in Ireland would be to find genuinely independent commissioners.

• The Legal Aid Board is run by Judges, Barristers and Solicitors.

It would be cost effective to stop those who run the system from getting rich by abusing the system.

Statutory instruments 272 / 273 introduced by Mervyn Taylor (Solicitor) as so called Minister of Justice in 1996 spells out how they could obtain so much in these tribunals where those in tribunals in D’Olier Street get nothing.

My interpretation is that the legal fees obtained in these tribunals is blatant theft and if we get a police force that works it can be exposed.

• I don’t think the information was priceless, I think it cost €250 million of our money…..

• Greed ” thieves in balaclavas atleast ya knew you were robbed .when caught they go to prison not a job as a TD with full pension ” bring back spike island and use it for an upper class prison for the laugh

• Someone looking to make another few millions.

Add New Comment