TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Bishops: X Case law would lead to ‘direct, intentional killing of unborn children’

The four Catholic Archbishops of Ireland have said that the government’s decision to press ahead with legislation for abortion in line with the X Case “should be of the utmost concern to all”.

Seana Stafford and her 13-week-old son James and Stephanie McNamee during a Pro Life Campaign protest outside Leinster House in Dublin this evening.
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

THE FOUR CATHOLIC Archbishops of Ireland have criticised the government’s announcement today that it intends to legislate for the Supreme Court ruling in the X Case.

A statement issued by Cardinal Seán Brady, Archbishop of Armagh; Archbishop Diarmuid Martin, Archbishop of Dublin; Archbishop Dermot Clifford, Archbishop of Cashel & Emly; and Archbishop Michael Neary, Archbishop of Tuam has strongly criticised the coalition.

The statement, issued through the Catholic Communications Office, has said that today’s decision and announcement by the government to legislate on for abortion in line with the X Case ruling “should be of the utmost concern to all”.

“If what is being proposed were to become law, the careful balance between the equal right to life of a mother and her unborn child in current law and medical practice in Ireland would be fundamentally changed,” the Bishops said.

“It would pave the way for the direct and intentional killing of unborn children. This can never be morally justified in any circumstances.”

The bishops have described the 1992 X Case judgement itself, which gave a constitutional right for a woman to access a termination when their life is in danger including from the risk of suicide, as a “flawed judgement”.

“To legislate on the basis of such a flawed judgement would be both tragic and unnecessary,” the statement said.

“The dignity of the human person and the common good of humanity depend on our respect for the right to life of every person from the moment of conception to natural death.

“The right to life is the most fundamental of all rights. It is the very basis for every other right we enjoy as persons.”

The Bishops went on to say that all involved but “especially public representatives” will now need to consider the “profound moral questions that arise in responding to today’s announcement by the Government”.

“We encourage all to pray that our public representatives will be given the wisdom and courage to do what is right,” the statement added.

The government announced earlier today that it will introduce the first piece of legislation in Irish history which will permit abortions to be carried out in circumstances where the life of the mother is at risk, including from the risk of suicide.

The law will be supplemented by regulations and will be fleshed out over the course of three-days of Oireachtas Health Committee sittings in the new year.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny has said that the government proposals “include the question of suicide arising from the X Case”, an issue likely to be the subject of much debate.

Opponents of abortion legislation fear that the introduction of abortion where the life of a woman is at risk, including from the risk of suicide, will lead to abortion on demand in Ireland.

Read the statement in full from the Catholic Archbishops:

Today’s decision by the Irish Government to legislate for abortion should be of the utmost concern to all.

If what is being proposed were to become law, the careful balance between the equal right to life of a mother and her unborn child in current law and medical practice in Ireland would be fundamentally changed. It would pave the way for the direct and intentional killing of unborn children. This can never be morally justified in any circumstances.

The decision of the Supreme Court in the ‘X’ case unilaterally overturned the clear pro-life intention of the people of Ireland as expressed in Article 40.3.3 of our Constitution. To legislate on the basis of such a flawed judgement would be both tragic and unnecessary.

The dignity of the human person and the common good of humanity depend on our respect for the right to life of every person from the moment of conception to natural death. The right to life is the most fundamental of all rights. It is the very basis for every other right we enjoy as persons.

The lives of untold numbers of unborn children in this State now depend on the choices that will be made by our public representatives. The unavoidable choice that now faces all our public representatives is: will I chose to defend and vindicate the equal right to life of a mother and the child in her womb in all circumstances, or will I chose to licence the direct and intentional killing of the innocent baby in the womb?

Moreover, on a decision of such fundamental moral importance every public representative is entitled to complete respect for the freedom of conscience. No one has the right to force or coerce someone to act against their conscience. Respect for this right is the very foundation of a free, civilised and democratic society.

All involved, especially public representatives, must consider the profound moral questions that arise in responding to today’s announcement by the Government. We encourage all to pray that our public representatives will be given the wisdom and courage to do what is right.

More: Suicide issue will be addressed in X case law as pro-life groups slam FG

Read: Government will legislate to allow abortion in line with X Case ruling

Read next:

Comments (197 Comments)

• This is coming from the same church that recognized the president of an African country today that brought in a new law that stated explicitly they will execute men for being homosexual.

• This coming from a church who’s holy book states their merciful god killed all the first born in Egypt during the time of Moses . There’s irony there somewhere.

• The who said what now?? Oh its the men in funny hats and smocks. Can we move on now please, pretty sure these types had their hands on the reigns for long enough.

• I don’t care if this gets into the weekly readers views. It’s more the truth than anything ever said about the dichotomy of religious belief.

Hats off Mr. Mooney, hats off..

• to Cal 1
      yes and the same church the sexual abuse of children, whom they whole so dear, was hidden, the same church which through fear stopped the children telling of the abuse.
      The same church which ran the Magdilans’s, the same church who took the babies from unmarried mothers by force.
      the same church which covers up and protects the perps of of sexual abuse.
      the same church that would rather see a woman die than abort a fetus.
      the same church run by men who have held the power over the poor and uneducated , the same church which have political power.
      their days have to be numbered.

• Oh go away, bishops!!!! Pregnancy and childbirth does not concern celibate old men!!!

• Why are we not voting on this big change to our country? Is it because the european self apointed Government won’t let us.
      We would be a lot better off out side the EU in the long run.

• Two referenda Eddie, TWO, and both with the same result.

• tom 18/12/12 #

it’s the concern of everyone

• JayK 18/12/12 #

Greater availability of abortion was voted down in that referendum Irish Red. Let’s not alter the facts to better suit our argument, that makes us hypocrites.

• No we wouldn’t Eddie, trust me.

Say what you want about the EU and economics, but they seem to be the only ones capable to giving our politicians a kick up the arse and saying “the 21st century is that way”.

But if you want to ignore what others try to tell us, why not listen to those old men some more. You know those old men who covered up the crimes of rapists, worked their hardest to keep contraception out of Ireland and believe that you and me are inferior to an unseen, genocidal lunatic in the sky who destroys towns and turns people to salt when he’s pissed off.

• In truth, this legislation will be limited. The so called “pro-lifers” will call it “opening the door” when the truth is the horse has bolted already – to the UK.

In Ireland we are to some extent lucky in our geography. If laws like ours (wrt abortion) existed in the US then there would be thousands of deaths of pregnant women who would otherwise get a legal abortion who would end up killing themselves or losing the “facilities” to have children because they would be forced to use one of the termination methods that are neither medically safe nor addressing the issues surrounding the event itself.

When I was a teen our 2ndry school religion teacher showed us videos which were propaganda against abortion. “silent scream” was the name of one of them. None of them showed honesty about abortion. All were designed to demonise women who made that choice regardless of why they made that choice. I hope at the very least that people abandon religion around this debate because it just does not fit. If you believe in God, I don’t want to disrespect you but just take a second and imagine that there is no God – and lets talk about the arguments there are after that because that’s the level playing field.

• Also, however hard this may be to digest, what we really need is another referendum and to insist on legislation that fits with a society that has changed over the last 20 years.

Legislate on X NOW, ask the people NEXT, legislate immediately.

• well said Tatjana. It really is time for the church to keep out from politics.

• bpdeasy 19/12/12 #

Tomy did you have an abortion that makes you say silent scream does not represent an abortion?

• I’ve seen abortions performed – no screaming. Could you point to the academic research to indicate vocal cords develop before 12 weeks?

• bpdeasy – there is more surrounding the truth of abortion than the abortion itself. It was nothing but so called “pro-life” propaganda addressing only the facet that suited the agenda of Sister Susan…..

I don’t mind being challenged on such comments – but you make it far too easy when you show how utterly two-dimensional the “pro-life” argument is.

Something that I found very helpful in informing my own viewpoint on the subject was a film by Tony Kaye called “Lake of Fire”. I would be lying if I were to claim this film is not flawed also but it certainly addresses a lot more areas around the topic than any “pro-life” propaganda.

• @Eddie, love it how you don’t understand the difference between the European Convention of Human Rights, which is interpreted by the European Court of Human Rights, and the European Union, the laws of which are determined by the European Court of Justice. The former was drafted immediately after WW2 and Ireland signed it in 1953; the latter Ireland became a member of in 1973. They are completely separate. Nice to see your ignorance expands on many areas.

• @gary what was signed in the 50s was for trade and peace, not to have more than 75% of Irish laws made in eu. Think about this Gary if that law was in Ireland when your mother was haven you,maybe you would not be here today or me either there are going to wipe out bloodlines

• Those guys have got some nerve to talk about protecting children.

isnt Sean Brady the one who back in the 1970s made two teenage abuse victims take an oath of secrecy on pain of excommunication.

Nice show of compassion there, why would anyone listen to these clowns?

• He should be serving time for not reporting crimes against children
      ….

• Catholic Bill of Human Rights:

1. Right to life
      2. Right to innocence as a child ❌cancelled❌
      3. ….

• Finally, a sermon from the mount. Was wondering what those venerable folk were up to.

I must admit I do have my own ideas …consulting with lawyers, playing golf …with lawyers, having lunch… with lawyers, setting up shelf companies in Liechtenstein for pedophile priests… with lawyers, trading in CFD’s on behalf of the Brendan Smyth Benevolent Fund… with lawyers, re-locating pedophile priests to far flung and exotic 3rd world destinations… with lawyers, paying lawyers with suitcases packed full of church donations and sending encrypted emails to senior partners of prestigious law firms with a view to getting them on the team so as they can all hold hands together and come in for the big win.

No doubt they got a serve from the IONA institute for hanging back in the trenches whist the front line troops took a hammering. But I suppose they were after all busy doing Gods work, that is assuming that God is happy enough to provide a pedophile re-location and financial advisory service. But God forgives apparently, he especially forgives bishops their sins. So on that basis we ought to consider the gravity of that which they now condescend to share with us…..an unconditional concern for the life of the unborn.

It’s just the complete disregard for the life of the unborn after it’s born that has me puzzled.

In any case, it’s nice to hear from them again. Ireland needs to stop what it’s doing and pause to consider the benefits inherent in giving such individuals their undivided attention. After all they have worked so very very hard…with their lawyers, in assisting those that fell victim to the many colorful and charismatic members of their elite little club.

God has clearly absolved them of their sins and we should as a nation now welcome them back into the fold and in doing so give them another run at the management of Ireland INC. Clearly we, “the fallen” as Michelle Mulherin would describe us, are no longer capable of managing it ourselves.

• It shouldn’t be about the church it should be about saving a life and it should be the choice of the mother who life is being put in danger or the choice of the person who speaks for this mother !! We’re not asking for abortion to be a form of contraception we’re asking to be allow to SAVE A LIFE without being dragged through the courts !! My body my choice to live !!!

• Well said @Sinead Cosgrave, totally agree, should I ever be in the position where My life or health is at risk and a termination would be required I want it to be MY decision, not based on the morality of old men who will NEVER be in that position.

• Yes, they condemn the government, pity they did not keep their own closets free of skeletons.

• great mothering there having a 13 week old baby out on a cold winters evening .

• How is that relevant ? The baby is well wrapped up. In many countries where the winter temperatures are well below zero they allow their babies to sleep in their prams outside as long as they’re well wrapped up.

• Using her child as emotional blackmail for her cause and these people seek to give lessons in morality.

• i have a child myself and the child is only 13 weeks old they havent got as much body fat and because they dont move around they need more than just one of those bear suits and a hat in a cold winters evening. if she wanted to take her child then she should have put her child in a pram and put blankets around him . what if it started raining she risks her child getting a cold or sick . personally i dont think children should be out at protests . what does that child know about the issue of abortion nothing .

• It’s funny how a few delusional types on websites such as this believe they speak for the majority. If you come out from behind your computer screens then you will see that the views of the church reflect those of the real world. And thank God we still have people who are willing to stand up for the defenceless innocents who can’t protect themselves.

• She looks a bit unhinged…

• Gamma 18/12/12 #
    • Sandra in 2 referendums the Irish voting public said that they wanted suicide to be a reason for abortion. The people were asked and answered twice. Maybe it’s you who needs to come out from behind your computer screen and meet the real world you know those who voted?

• Apologies I green thumbed you by mistake. I think that you will find if there was a vote on this issue tomorrow that the views of the majority do NOT reflect those of the church.

• Niall 18/12/12 #

Sandra you old fossil. If there was a referendum tomorrow the pro choice side would win at a canter. Thankfully.

• Funny how you are all so worried about the poor child being cold on a winters night yet you have no problem with having them aborted i.e. Killed ……… Just saying.
      #contradiction.

• Funny how bishops want to protect unborn kids but cover up adults raping them once they are born….

• Ty journal for deleting my comment. Was merely making the point that the Catholic church were the biggest kiddy fiddlers ever. What are u afraid of?

• Funny how you criticise and ridicule the Catholic Church about child abuse but support abortion , which is far worse as it involve the killing of the child ! You bloody hypocrite

• I don’t regard it as funny AT ALL. You might and you’re welcome to – who am I to deny you your viewpoint.

However, it seems to me that the pro-life argument is epitomised not by being pro life at all but by being pro-foetus. There are more factors at play and if you want to continue blinkering yourself to facts then that’s up to you. If that is the case then you will always be angry and always upset by the truth.

I hope you can at some point see the truth.

• Mr magoo
      You are indeed lucky to have 4 children what if your wife’s life had been in danger during one of those pregnancies would have liked those children brought up motherless to save an unborn sibling?
      I know who I would want my mother as opposed to someone I didn’t know.

• Anthony; there is nothing worse than sexually, physically, emotionally abusing a child. Nothing. And anyone who carries it out should be hung, drawn and quartered for it.
      Comparing child abuse to termination is silly, immature, nonsensical and shows you haven’t the first clue of what it is you’re talking about on either termination or child abuse.

• Sandra by what right do the Bishops have to dictate to the populace? The Bishops like every other voice in this country has a right to express an opinion but they cannot for one minute think they speak for the majority anymore. We are a free thinking citizenry and we threw off their yoke thank God!

You my dear are often on here spouting dogmatic claptrap that is as far from Christs message as you can get. While it would be easy to brand you a troll I actually think you are just a zealot dogmatic ubber catholic that cannot see anything else in the world apart from your religion and the power of your magisterium. I actually feel sorry for you.

• Really sandra? I could name a referendum that begs to differ. Noone wants to be part of the church, because it ended up being the biggest paedophile machine ever, and the new church mantra appears to be ‘love thy neighbour, except us we will bitch about everything and rape your children’ and have morals like ‘two men together is wrong but is raping children is friendship that wen too far’ please please please continue to be so proud of your morals

• If people are Catholic, and believe that abortion is morally repugnant, then that is their right to hold that view. They can tell it to their friends. They can encourage it through their family. They can even tell complete strangers that it’s morally wrong. However, that does not mean, and cannot mean, that your may us the law, our country’s law which applies to every single person, to enforce your dogmatic beliefs. What right do you have? How could any person say without doubt that human life begins at conception when there is no, and never will be, a consensual moral, ethical, religious, or scientific view as to the question. The only thing one can do is to allow each person to make their own decision. Otherwise, you’re imposing a particular world-view on other people which cannot be objectively determined.

• I’m sure they just have our best interests at heart as always …….F?&k off you don’t run this country anymore.

• Were is the Muslim, Jewish or any other religious organisation that practices in Ireland’s opinion ? That’s right they mind there own business . Church talking about morals after all the harm they have done to people, what planet are living on ?

• Did they not lose all moral authority after the revelations about the way their members treated children and young women in this state?

• That woman in the photograph holding the infant ran across the road on Kildare Street this evening . She was holding the infant in her left arm and her handbag and paper work or posters in her right arm . It was dark and road was wet , she was wearing heels. The pedestrian crossing was a mere were 25 metres from where she crossed, and traffic was turning right , onto Kildare street where she crossed. We could not believe what we saw , the dangerous stupidity and risk not just with her own life but that of her baby was shocking. I hope she gains some cop on quickly , because accidents can so easily happen without taking unnecessary risks like I saw her do .

• So much for being “pro life”……

• My thoughts exactly .

• Yes and she was on her mobile too, shoved between her ear and shoulder! She was also applying lipstick at the same time too using a passing motorists wing mirror as it drove by, shame on her.

• Like your namesake you need stronger glasses if that is what you saw. However I was there , I saw her , and I just think it is double standards on her part . I saw the risk she took , and I was not the only one to comment on it either. Any way , I am pro choice .Abortion is decision between a woman and her spouse/ partner if she wishes to include him in that choice. I would not dream of walking in some one else’s shoes , but I would respect their decision.The bishops really have no business dictating to women , unless the women want to be dictated to by elderly celebate men.

• tom 18/12/12 #

Eileen. it was obvious from your first posting you where pro choice as your assessment of the risk gave it away.

• My assessment of the risk gave me a way as a practical and caring mother who can not stand double standards.

• tom 18/12/12 #

wanting to kill the unborn but concerned about a child that was born under the protection of the state.
      beautiful photo of mother and child

• Whatever about the child being born under the protection of the state , he certainly was not being protected by his mother in her arms while she was taking chances with the traffic this evening. I do agree that it is a lovely photo of mother and baby .
      By the way Tom , I am not pro abortion nor do I want to kill the unborn. I am PRO-CHOICE.

• tom 19/12/12 #

their is no nice words for choosing to kill a unborn child, terminate, abortion, pro choice.
      pro choice sounds more palatable than pro abortion but all are calling for the killing of a unborn child.

• Yes Tom, so is it to call yourself pro-live and then allowing women to die to satisfy your believes.

• I was listening to that senator Mullen on the radio this morning and my goodness his comments were disgraceful , and so disrespectful to women.There are a lot of misogynists about.The claim that women can be duplicitous and will lie and do not know their own minds is quite frankly medieval. You are indeed entitled to your own opinion Tom , but do not accuse those of us, who believe that women may make decisions for themselves ,of being pro – abortion. I know of no one who wants to kill babies…. Certainly as a mother I do not , but I do not judge people either , I leave that to our maker.

• Don’t care what they think. Irrelevant with no moral authority

• What standard do you apply when dealing with moral issues Stephen?

• Not listen to child rapists for a start I should image.

• Well Bob, I don’t listen to people who represent an organisation which abused children and activly worked to cover their steps. I believe a woman and her partner should be able to make a choice, which is a very difficult one either way. My moral compass also tells me its a bad thing to bury our head and pretend this does not happen here while thousands of Irish women go to the UK each year.

• Well said Stephen!

• Bob…. definitely not DOUBLE standards.

• Paul: That’s hardly an ultimate standard. You have views regarding ethics (what’s right and wrong) that you use every day to determine the moral value of certain issues, including abortion. What people, who profess to be Christians do, is irrelevant to the truth of Christianity. It is merely men acting inconsistently to their professed beliefs.

So my question to you is, when you are deciding if something like abortion is morally acceptable or not, what standard are you utilising?

• @ Stephen
      “Well Bob, I don’t listen to people who represent an organisation which abused children and activly worked to cover their steps.”

Neither do I Stephen. What is your ultimate authority?

” I believe a woman and her partner should be able to make a choice, which is a very difficult one either way. ”

Why is it a difficult choice to make?
      If abortion is simply a matter of just getting rid of a foetus, lets just carry out the procedure and move on. You see, you just cant live that way, your conscience will not allow you to, as it bears witness to the fact that abortion is murder.

“My moral compass also tells me its a bad thing”

This statement assumes a standard of right and wrong. Who sets this standard and why should anyone agree to it?

“to bury our head and pretend this does not happen here while thousands of Irish women go to the UK each year.”

I certainly do not advocate this, I’m against killing full stop, be it in Ireland, England, France etc.
      Abortion is murder full stop.

• @Stephen & Paul,
      Bob is well practiced at this, going by his previous comments on this and other stories. The MO is basically to continue down this line of questioning so that he can hopefully get to a point that you can’t explain and then rush in to “save” you by offering God and the Bible as the answer.

• @ Tomy
      Thanks for commenting.

The abortion issue (and many other modern day issues) is an issue of competing worldviews. I don’t just master this line of ‘questioning’ as a stunt to bring in the Biblical worldview. Everyone has certain views about what they believe to be right or wrong when it comes to reality. The reason I take this approach (known as presuppositional reasoning) is because this is a worldview debate. It’s about who’s worldview can account for unseen, unchanging, universal entities such as ethics. I ask the question, “what standard do people use when deciding wether a moral issue is right or wrong?” because I have found that the only position that can account for ethics is the Biblical one and therefore should be the ultimate authority when defining legislation.

It’s interesting that you have pointed out that you have seen me use this approach before. But I’ve yet to hear a logical response from anyone representing the pro-abortion view. I encourage you to provide a basis for ethics without the use of the God of the Bible. I’m not looking for just another ridicule of the Bible, I’m looking for a pro-abortion response to the philosophical inadequacy of your worldview to account for ethics.

I look forward to your response,
      Bob.

• If you think that the bible is a “logical position” then I think you need to ask the question more of yourself.

If you have not been satisfied with the answers you have heard it doesn’t mean you have to fill in what you don’t understand with the bible.

The bible is one seriously f***ed up standard to hold yourself to. The idea that that is where one can turn for moral guidance is not unacceptable to me, though I find it odd that such a contradictory text can do so – however, morality is not dependent on religion.

• @BobBoyle Ethics and what is the right answer to a question, in this case the issue of abortion, is dependent on subjective viewpoints. It would appear that you have your view and others have their view. That is not to say either is wrong as each will have their own justification and basis for having a particular view/opinion on an issue.

Even you saying that you can only imagine the bible as the starting point for ethics is your subjective view.

A lot of the discussion on the abortion issue seems to forget what Art 40.3.3 states and how it has been interpreted. Pro-life should mean pro mother and unborn. As I have said in a post below both abortion on demand or an absolute abortion prohibition would arguably require a referendum given the interpretation of Art 40.3.3.

The interpretation of Art 40.3.3 provides balance. I don’t think anyone can truly say that instances do not exist where a mothers life is at such risk and where the life of the unborn is medically beyond survival and saving. Any legislation that will be proposed will almost certainly be put through constitutional scrutiny by the Supreme Court prior to its enactment (art 26 reference) and the purpose of such legislation will be to provide clarity to the law.

All of us as citizens deserve a level of legal certainty and clarity before the law. The existing legislation which existed before the 1983 referendum and long before the X case in 1992 and the interpretation of Art 40.3.3 can’t conceivably accord with one another.

• @ Eileen
      Thanks for your comment, I appreciate the way in which you have responded.
      I have answered you in separate sections below as its easier to follow.
      Bob

“Ethics and what is the right answer to a question, in this case the issue of abortion, is dependent on subjective viewpoints.”

I agree that a person’s view on ethics depends on their particular worldview; this has been my point all along. But to say that ethics is subjective is simply mistaken. I’m sure you wouldn’t accept if i were to claim that it’s morally acceptable to murder another person? You would expect me to respect your views of morality over mine in this instance. But if you reduce ethics to personal opinion then I could happily assert that it’s fine to commit murder and you’ve got no rational complaint. This is why we must deal with worldviews and investigate which view of the world can account for a standard that’s unchanging and all authoritative.

I’m saying that without first assuming the truth of the all knowing, all powerful and all personal God of the Christian worldview your view of the world in terms of ethics and logic is simply arbitrary.

“It would appear that you have your view and others have their view. That is not to say either is wrong as each will have their own justification and basis for having a particular view/opinion on an issue.”
      This is exactly what I’m trying to get at. What standard or ‘justification’ do we ultimately apply when deciding right from wrong? Cont…

• I’m saying that the maker of heaven and earth sets and upholds the standards. He has revealed those standards to us through His Word in order that we might know and use them. If I apply the standard that you propose (subjectivism), then there can be no right or wrong and it therefore follows that you could not have ethics.

“Even you saying that you can only imagine the bible as the starting point for ethics is your subjective view.”

No, it’s not that simple. What I’m saying is that without first assuming the law giver as revealed in the Bible, you have no basis for unchanging standards to know the truth value of any claim whatsoever, not to mention ethics alone. You are unable to account for things like ethics, laws of logic or anything immaterial or law like; your worldview is simply reduced to philosophical absurdity.

I agree with many of your points and I strongly support legal clarity regarding these issues. Its how we resolve these conflicts that I’m concerned about. We must ensure that our views on ethics actually make logical sense before we start amending laws, otherwise there will be more confusion and less advancement. I trust this makes sense.

• Ethics is the philosophy of morality. Morality most certainly is subjective with different facets for situations given weight by different people based on their assessment of what the morality of the situation is.

For you Bob, that morality appears to be linked with a God that you believe in as ultimate authority. For billions of others it lies either with a different god or with no god at all.

Trying to get to the “ultimate authority” on such a situation is absolutely pointless in my opinion. It allows those who seek it out to distance themselves from questioning, applying and taking ownership for their morality based actions.

I prefer to think and challenge things and try to allow myself to be challenged (though this is of course extremely uncomfortable) and have found myself challenged on what I have discovered around this particular issue. My opinion has been formed around hearing claims and trying to find (reliable) research that confirms or rubbishes such claims.

I won’t find that in the bible and I don’t believe in god so we go back to the start…. My world view doesn’t include these things and given that my opinion differs from yours on the subject of abortion it’s pretty obvious that my morality differs from yours. Morality is subjective, just because people would generally agree that causing harm to another is immoral in no way means that such situations stand alone and does not mean that an individual’s subset of morality crosses over with everyone else’s.

• Sorry Bob – I’m really finding it hard to take you seriously now…..

So basically all ethics/morality comes from God? That appears to be your starting point.

Your basing everything on God’s existence? I in no way mean to insult you but if that’s the foundation of your point then your point fails.

• @Tomy
      How do you explain the existence of immaterial entities (like laws & ethics) if all we are is matter in motion?

• Bob – you’re using the Argument from morality. Morality is as much Darwinian as we are. It has developed and adapted over time to where we are now; thus my point about subjectivity and my lack of credence in your absolute morality.

And again, the idea that you can see no other source for morality does not mean that you need to fill the gap with god. It doesn’t naturally follow.

• @Tomy
      If this true, well then the opposite is also true. That’s the problem with subjective morals; they’re not absolute and are therefore arbitrary and reversible. Unless you have someone upholding those standards, someone who is all powerful, who knows everything and who never lies, you just simply can’t have morals.

If I take the Darwinian approach to ethics, I have no complaint to make about the morality of others. Its just one chemical reacting with another. I have no right to impose my views upon anyone else-ever. I know you don’t live your live that way. You profess one thing with your mouth but in your heart you believe another. Morals are not subjective.

I don’t fill the ‘gap’ with God. Morals, and laws for that matter, demand a law giver. Their very presence presupposes God. Your view of the world can’t account for them, because all you have is matter.

I’ll ask the question again, please think about your response before answering.
      How is it possible for the materialist to have immaterial entities such as laws and ethics?

• @Bob & Tomy The debate appears to be quite circular (ie potentially never ending) and it does appear that ethics is extremely subjective. I would agree with Tomy with respect to the idea and weight of circumstance playing a factor. Things are for the most part not black & white.

If debates like this continued, as there is so many conflicting views as to what a justificatory starting point ethics should derive from, we will get nowhere.

@Bob you may find the following case quite interesting, you may of course already know about it and have read it (Re Article 26 and the regulation of information on the termination of pregnancies bill, I think 1995, Supreme Court) Essentially the court stated that Natural law is not anterior or superior to positive law.

The X Case really is quite narrow, in my opinion, with respect to its scope. The government cannot prohibit all abortion neither can they allow abortion at will. The suicide issue seems, at least to me, to be the most contentious aspect. I am sure that a measured response will ensue, it has to due to the equal right under the Article (here again as Tomy alluded to, circumstance may play a role, things are usually not black and white). I doubt very much it is an easy road to take for a woman or to even consider. I certainly would not wish it upon anyone.

Do these women and their families who may potentially find themselves in such a situation including where there is an immediate risk of suicide, not deserve clarity? The current laws do not vindicate and respect any such rights. Remember Art 40.3.3 says the rights are equal not competing and that the state will vindicate and respect these rights. The current laws which existed before the referendum took place in 1983 cant even be worthy of consistency, moreover when the X case and the interpretation of Art 40.3.3 was even later again, in 1992.

The article has been interpreted as being where there is a real and substantial risk to the life of the mother including risk of suicide that an abortion is lawful in this jurisdiction. This is what the legislation needs to achieve and there is your real source. (Ethics may inform your opinion but the law is the law. It is how the constitution, in particular Art 40.3.3, has been interpreted.

It is arguable you require a referendum.

• @Eileen – Personally, I think we do need another referendum. That may sound unpalatable to most but the X case was very limited and we’ve moved on 20 years. I reckon we need legislation now, then a referendum, then legislation to follow shortly after.

@Bob – the biology of morals may be “one chemical reacting with another” but that does not take away from the fact that people are just amazingly beautiful in their own right without determining that such stunning beauty is due to a creator. I will not attribute anything I have achieved to a god. I did it all myself – I owe much more to my parents, brothers and peers than I do to a god.
      You again insist on building your argument on very weak foundations. I don’t want to hammer your beliefs but when you place your point on such assumptions then it’s very hard to take anything in after such assertions.

• @Eileen
      “Tomy The debate appears to be quite circular (ie potentially never ending)”

I think you’re spot on Eileen. When it comes to argumentation, there are certain rules each side of the argument assume in order to make their argument. You could call them the rules of engagement (laws of logic). The reason this moral debate keeps going around in circles (and will continue to do so) is because my rules of engagement differ from yours (our views on ethics are incompatible).

I’m saying that ethics are absolute, they remain consistent throughout time, and they apply everywhere and are therefore useful when determining the truth value of any moral discussion. If they are subjective they loose their necessity and become somewhat useless to us in our efforts to determine right from wrong.
      We need to decide who’s view of the world can have an unchanging view of morals; I’m saying that the Christian view can, and that your view can not. Yes you do use morals but in doing so you are borrowing from my worldview, you are assuming the truths of Christianity and then denying the very foundation of it.
      I have made this point a number of times so perhaps my explanations have been unclear; so let me illustrate why morals can not be subjective. Here’s a simple example:
      Continued below…

• Assume ethics are subjective:
      Mr A: I’m going to kill Mr Z.
      Mr B: You can’t do that!
      Mr A: Why not?
      Mr B: Because it’s not right, it’s morally unacceptable.
      Mr A: Em, it might be in your view, but not in mine. In my view, I can do what I want as long as I can get away with it.
      Mr B: Yeah but it’s illegal to kill someone!
      Mr A: The law doesn’t concern me as long as I can avoid it.
      Mr B: But it’s wrong to kill someone.
      Mr A: Well thankfully morals are subjective, and are therefore open to individual bias; my view on morals tell me that it’s ok to murder Mr Z….

“and it does appear that ethics is extremely subjective.”

Apologies Eileen, but you’re going to have to provide a logical reason as to how anything certain, like ethics, can be subjective. I think I’ve demonstrated, without rebuttal, that ethics can not be subjective. You keep making the assertion that they are, but I don’t find this statement by itself at all convincing.

“I would agree with Tomy with respect to the idea and weight of circumstance playing a factor. Things are for the most part not black & white.”
      Of course circumstances play a role in deciding right from wrong, but ultimately ones view of morals will be the deciding factor.

“If debates like this continued, as there is so many conflicting views as to what a justificatory starting point ethics should derive from, we will get nowhere.”

So you are expecting everyone to accept your view and just get on with it. Continued below

• That’s certainly not how things are decided in reality. This is a worldview debate and until you can provide a solid foundation for unseen, unchanging law-like entities (ethics, laws of logic), there’s no need to take your views seriously.

“Do these women and their families who may potentially find themselves in such a situation including where there is an immediate risk of suicide, not deserve clarity?”

They certainly do, but not without the use of sound ethics. To say that the murder of an innocent baby is a plausible solution in most cases is absolutely absurd and completely immoral. There are many ways to deal with things like suicide and depression without reverting to murder.

‘The article has been interpreted as being where there is a real and substantial risk to the life of the mother including risk of suicide that an abortion is lawful in this jurisdiction.”

I find this a little odd that you have such a big problem with a mother taking her own life (which is horrific) but you don’t seem too concerned with the killing of innocent children at the hands of a medical practitioner.

“(Ethics may inform your opinion but the law is the law.” It is how the constitution, in particular Art 40.3.3, has been interpreted.
      The law is supposed to be founded upon sound ethics. I’m not so sure what you are trying to say here, are you saying that the law decides ethics?

• @Tomy

“the biology of morals may be “one chemical reacting with another” but that does not take away from the fact that people are just amazingly beautiful in their own right without determining that such stunning beauty is due to a creator”

I never said that people were not amazingly beautiful.
      What I do want to know is; how can a chemical be moral or immoral? What can you do to stop the laws of physics from taking over and causing you to shoot another person? Would you get angry for baking soda for reacting with vinegar or jail the loin for eating the antelope? Why do you treat humans different as if we we’re nothing more than a bunch of chemicals?

• @Tomy I like your straight to the point-ness

@Bob here we go again ‘circular’ and your subjective opinion.

If it were not for the ECHR the death penalty may still be in Europe or likewise if not for our Constitution. It would therefore seem morally conflicting for you if you lived in Texas for example as an intentional death is permissible if you are on death row. Or for instance in other jurisdictions women can be stoned or you may lose a limb, not so long ago it was ok to behead people in a not so distant land. If ethics is a constant as you seem to suggest explain these occurrences and overriding in its eminence explain that one. It is likely had you existed in the 1600’s your view of ethics may be different.

We really are going to have to agree to disagree. Your source for authority is YOUR opinion. No offence but us mere mortals cannot decide the ultimate source of rights and wrong, we can just have an opinion and decide for ourselves what our values are and those we think are right given the circumstance. Also who is to say there is a right or a wrong in a black and white sense? Things are for the most part not so simple, in my opinion. Maybe they are for you, that’s your choice.

By all means keep making your points but you are not going to convince me, I equally don’t expect to convince you. Embrace diversity Bob and accept its existence.

• @Bob – the following quote may be of interest to you and it is one I ascribe to.

“Certainty is unattainable. The best one can do is aim to diminish uncertainty to an acceptable degree” – Dr. Neil MacCormick

Times change and evolve, the death penalty (an intentional killing) was previously accepted, it still is in many jurisdictions. As are other, what I feel you would find morally and ethically wrong, acts against people.

You say the Christian standpoint is the number one constant, yet in many Christian countries over the centuries the way in which attitudes existed have certainly changed. This flies in the face of ethics as being a constant and as a primary basis for law(s). Again, all in my opinion. Like I said previously maybe for you things are black and white.

And I again repeat MacCormick as above.

• And no I am not saying that it is ok to decide because ethics tells me something different at a different time that it is ok or not ok to kill someone. The law guides me on that one. was/is the law influenced by ethics, most definitely.

But look how laws have changed, with the assistance of the ethics (if you wish to call them that or principles or majority opinion, it is not my intention to get into a semantic type discussion) of the day, through the centuries. This prohibits ethics as a constant, in my opinion. Again maybe not for you. If not for you, you may want to set up your own State as this one allows and provides a Constitution that is a ‘living document’ and one whose interpretation is not to be accepted as final for all of time. (As far as I recall that’s the dictum of Walsh J in McGee v Attorney General, Supreme Court, 1974)

• And I have never suggested that my opinion is the correct assertion of anything. Likewise to use your point against you, you surely cannot believe that your assertion is correct.

Again see MacCormick.

It’s about balance Bob. Otherwise things are and will forever be circular, in my opinion.

• Eileen, you appear to be mistaking the laws of the land for the laws of ethics. Ethical laws must remain constant otherwise they are no longer meaningful. Of course the laws of the land vary from place to place and the standards of man, including Christians; differ. But I’m not talking about the consistency of man. I’m talking about the unchanging standard of God, our maker. If we were to remain consistent with His views, we wouldn’t be facing the troubles that we face today. Which is why I’m saying that when we’re making decisions with regards these issues, we need to consult someone who’s mind never changes….but we don’t.

“Your source for authority is YOUR opinion. No offence but us mere mortals cannot decide the ultimate source of rights and wrong”

Finally we’re getting somewhere. Firstly God is my source, not my own opinion… But you’re completely correct in saying that mortals can not decide right from wrong, that’s why to have ethics you must believe that there’s a God.

“Certainty is unattainable. The best one can do is aim to diminish uncertainty to an acceptable degree” -Dr. Neil MacCormick

I must admit that Im a little concerned about your understanding of philosophy. The use of this quotation tells me that you really haven’t given much consideration into the nature of worldviews at all.

If certainty is unattainable, then this statement itself can not be true as it claims with certainty that certainty doesn’t not exist; this is a self refuting philosophy.

• You need to address the question of ethics and stop skirting the issue. How is it possible to have an authoritative stance on ethics without a law giver?

• Firstly that philosophy is self-refuting in your opinion.

Secondly, may I return you to a previous comment I made with respect to our Supreme Court stating that Natural law is not anterior or superior to positive (man-made) law. I would believe a corollary of this would include ethics and, in your view, natural (god defined and granted) ethics.

Law is reactionary, ethics appears to be a constant. They can not however be void of circumstance. Law most definitely is influenced by ethics, whatever their source. Perhaps law is to us mortals as ethics is to divine power. If one believes in a divine power. I believe balance has to be obtained to reduce uncertainty and that at present with respect to women and their families that we are not presently diminishing uncertainty to an acceptable degree.

The X case provides that where there is a real and substantial risk to the life of the mother including suicide that a termination is lawful in this jurisdiction. However there is no certainty on the statute book with respect to this interpretation of Art 40.3.3. When I stated this earlier you said the following “I find this a little odd that you have such a big problem with a mother taking her own life (which is horrific) but you don’t seem too concerned with the killing of innocent children at the hands of a medical practitioner.” The right to life between mother and child as per its interpretation is EQUAL.

My concern for the life of the mother stems from where there is a real and substantial risk to her health this may not have to be suicide. In such an instance the mother’s right to life may not be upheld, where there is a real and substantial risk stemming from the unborn.

We await to see the report on Savita. I believed legislation was required long before that case which may have nothing to do with abortion. However in medical law it often deals in what are foreseeable risks. So a question which may arise “at what point was it foreseeable that a real and substantial risk threatening the life of Savita or any woman arose, and is her life in the circumstances being threatened by the unborn. So firstly can we save both? Secondly, is either or both lives sadly beyond saving? Can a life be saved?

This is what the legislation needs to achieve respect for both lives.

I understand Tomy in is wish for a referendum as while I feel the X case is a balance between views (pro-life/pro-choice) the X case is arguably an Irish solution to an Irish problem. As thousands of Irish women every year travel for terminations.

• @Bob – so what you’re basically saying then is that only believers in God can act ethically/morality?

Once again, shaky foundations.

• @Bob and while you say that God is the source and not your opinion. He is in YOUR opinion the source. And I do not accept for one moment that in order to have ethics a person must believe in God. Again that’s your opinion.

How is certainty completely attainable? Laws and opinions change, granted maybe ethics informing an issue might not. But if the ethics are constant how come the laws are always changing on mostly a reactionary basis and it was morally acceptable to behead or say someone was a heretic back in the day? This may highlight that historically and presently that a balance between what you perceive as God sourced ethics and man made circumstance needs to be achieved. It’s not as simple as Yes or No.

I appear to be addressing the laws with ethical input, you appear to be stuck to your version and your source of ethics and not cognisant of the law(s) or of man made circumstance and its role. Yes it’s role exists. To some it may be the only role if they do not believe in a divine creator. You even said yourself circumstance has a factor. You also said the Christian view/source provides an unchanging view of morals/ethics. You then go on about God as the source. Yet your points intersperse God and Man. If god is your ethics and you are a man maybe your own argumentation is reflective of what appears to be the historical and present development of laws ie a mix between ethics (whatever the source is in the opinion of the law maker) and man and circumstance.

Is it ethically correct to prohibit a woman from her right to life in what could be potentially a life saving procedure, where the unborn is unable to survive, where the risk to her life may arise by virtue of the unborn, and that a termination in the circumstance could vindicate her right to life?

Again it’s about balance, in my opinion.

Natural law (natural type ethics as you believe them to be the true source arguably as a corollary) is not anterior or superior to man made law in this jurisdiction. 1995 Supreme Court. You said in an earlier post in your narrative between Mr A and B that it is immoral to not follow the law. You better start heeding the Supreme Court otherwise you are going against the innate morality of heeding to the law. But I’m guessing that particular dictum is repugnant to your philosophy but you know what? that is fair enough as this man made, living document, reactionary Constitution we have, also allows you a freedom of expression.

Embrace difference, accept that your own opinions are your own opinions and that while ethics may inform the law appears to have to react to circumstance and has always done so.

If you strive for ethics and ethics alone as your barometer you are arguably in the wrong country. Furthermore, if god is the source of ethics and I am assuming they are sourced from the bible if he is the source. I presume man wrote the bible it didnt just appear. Man also wrote laws. Are both fallible and likely to change as was/is their writers? probably as much as the wind does! Does the wind change depend on circumstance most likely.

Should we therefore delimit uncertainty to as best a degree as we possibly can as mortals as both ethics and laws influence us. Yes is the answer, in my opinion.

And just to reiterate I am talking about law and the interaction with ethics. You seem to simply be addressing ethics as a over-ruling barometer unopened to change. Circumstances always change so interactions need to adapt.

Read some constitutional case law see how laws work and interact, if you have not already done so.

And please just take all of that as my opinion as otherwise its all just circular. A lot of your points have conflicted. I have tried to address this in the point I raise with respect to your points interspersing god and man and your justification as ethics as absolute.

Perhaps some of my points conflict but guess what I am human just like you.

If you are going to maintain a circular debate, while fair enough and I respect that, there is really no point in replying as we will simply have to agree to disagree.

Again I reiterate MacCormick and his concept of attaining certainty in a legal sense. We are currently not delimiting anything.

• @ Tomy:
      “@Bob – so what you’re basically saying then is that only believers in God can act ethically/morality?
      Once again, shaky foundations.”

I never said that Tomy. If you read my posts again, what I said was that everyone assumes ethics, but in doing so they are assuming the truths of Christianity and are therefore being inconsistent with their own professed beliefs. I understand that you don’t accept this. But you’re going to have to explain the use of laws without a personal, all knowing God then, or else continue to claim that ethics are subjective, which renders them useless and so why bother talk about them.

Up until now you’ve demonstrated that you don’t like my worldview and that you don’t agree with it. But what philosophical relevance does your autobiography have to do with the existence of God?

• @ Tomy & Eileen

You both seem like intelligent people, who in my view are well able to defend your position up to a certain point. So I’m not being smart when I say this; but I think you need to read up on the nature of worldviews. The philosophical problems that I’ve been raising are not just something that I made up yesterday. Philosophers throughout the centuries have had to face these issues including Plato, Hume etc. The need to account for things like ethics, the laws of logic, the uniformity of nature, the ability of the mind to understanding the world, the relationships between different people and different events and so on, are issues that every worldview has had to face, including Christianity.

I didn’t just wake up one day and say “hey I want to be a Christian!” I found that Christianity must be true in order for anything to makes sense. My studies of the various worldviews led me to conclude that only Christianity is capable of accounting for logic and is therefore the only rational worldview. I know neither of you will agree with this, and that’s ok. I don’t expect anyone to lay all their beliefs down because they are unable to immediately answer my questions and account for logic or ethics. But what this conversation should achieve in all our minds is a desire to search for truth. It should cause us to internally critique our own views. This is difficult but absolutely necessary if we want to be rational.

I must admit, I enjoyed your comments and our conversation.
      Thanks and talk again soon
      Bob

• @Bob lmao

“You both seem like intelligent people, who in my view are well able to defend your position up to a certain point. So I’m not being smart when I say this; but I think you need to read up on the nature of worldviews.” I suppose you too seem like an intelligent person. But perhaps you need to read up on the law.

“The philosophical problems that I’ve been raising are not just something that I made up yesterday”
      Likewise are the legal issues I raise were not imagined yesterday

“I didn’t just wake up one day and say “hey I want to be a Christian!” I found that Christianity must be true in order for anything to makes sense. My studies of the various worldviews led me to conclude that only Christianity is capable of accounting for logic and is therefore the only rational worldview. ”
      This is all just your opinion it is not a fact, it may be fact to you but only in your opinion.

“I know neither of you will agree with this, and that’s ok. I don’t expect anyone to lay all their beliefs down because they are unable to immediately answer my questions and account for logic or ethics.”
      While ethics are great and all, they do not of themselves provide a solution. there are great philosophical minds who flourished but still did not reach ultimate conclusions or fully answer questions.

In a legal sense we need to delimit ambiguity but circumstance must play a role, you even said this yourself. A lot more exists than just ethics.

Nice speaking witty you.

• OK, now I see the difference. All ethics exist only because god exists and if you don’t believe in god, it doesn’t matter because you can’t change the fact that it all comes from god…. That seems to be it….

IF that’s the strength of your argument you took a lot of words to debate it. And it makes me even happier to be an atheist….

• Thanks Eileen, all of your points have been covered off already.

Regards Bob

• If that’s your understanding of what I’ve been saying, perhaps I gave you more credit for your intelligence than I should have.

It is nice to know though that I was I involved in the happiness of another bunch of chemicals.
      Merry Christmas :-)

• Take it easy Bob
      Merry Christmas

• You too Eileen, Merry Christmas!

• And try not to be so patronising as you do come across, in my opinion.

“Thanks Eileen, all of your points have been covered off already.”

You have answered nothing

• I certainly wasn’t being patronising Eileen. You must have misunderstood me. Just like I seem to have misunderstood your ‘take it easy’ comment to mean have a nice break.

I was actually going to say nothing to your earlier comment but I thought that was a little rude or perhaps even patronising, which is why I responded by saying something like you had been saying all along (circular arguments) that all had been covered. I did answer things by the way if you read over our comments, you just didn’t like my answers.

It is interesting though, how you want to take the ‘each to their own’ or all is subjective approach and then tell me not to be patronising!

Take care, and I am sincere when I say; have a happy Christmas.

• And the circle starts again. I did mean take it easy in the sense you initially interpreted it. I just had not seen your comment about things being covered, which I interpreted as being dismissive.

Take it easy Bob

• “The dignity of the human person and the common good of humanity depend on our respect for the right to life of every person from the moment of conception to natural death”

They’ve a pretty narrow grasp n what life is. For people so concerned about the right of life; they sure seem to have a problem with letting other people live theirs.

• Why has this now turned into a ‘they’ll legislate so you can’t keep your child, they’ll murder your baby rather than try to save it’ argument from the anti-choice side? If you want to keep your child you can CHOOSE to keep your child, nobody’s trying to stop anyone doing that. This country is an absolute disgrace, hasn’t moved on at all. Still the land of a hundred thousand shame on yous. Up until 1992 we were throwing our girls into laundries for getting pregnant and heaven knows we still ridecule those with mental health issues. Would people ever get over what the neighbours think or what the Priest might say and realise that everyone deserves the right to choose what to do for themselves? I’m just so bored of this bloody back and forth, it’s actually infuriating to live here in the midst of this argument, I feel as though I’m a walking womb and that if I ever ended up pregnant my life would become irrelevant; great feeling to have about your country eh? It’s all very dulce et decorum est… better we ship everyone off on the boat so our health rankings stay nice and high.

• pardon me but what do archbishops know about the mind of a pregnant woman? what do they know about childbirth and pregnancy in general. oh that’s right, NOTHING! so who are they to dictate the rights and wellbeing needs of a woman in a situation they only claim to understand? while I respect people’s decision and right to choose to be involved with or believe in the Christian faith, quite frankly it angers me That a body which I literally have no care for feels it can dictate what I do with my body.

• I didn’t even read what these ‘celibate’ old men have to say on an issue that has nothing to do with them. Where were they when children were suffering abuse at the hands of the so called ‘Religious’? Where are they now when lone parents and other families are being attacked by these savage austerity measures? Hypocrites! They make me sick.

• Funny that these comments come from a religious organisation that more or less inflicted a reign of terror on children around the world for years. Yeah, their priority is really the wellbeing of children.

It makes my blood boil when I hear people say that there are no circumstances under which a woman should be able to seek an abortion. These people have obviously never been faced with a decision of that magnitude.

• Last time I checked the X Case and a Supreme Court judgment was quite clear. It states that abortions are legal in this jurisdiction where there is a real and substantial risk to the life of the mother including suicide.

The existing legislation (1861 & 1979) existed prior to Art 40.3.3′s interpretation so how can these laws be truly consistent with the interpretation of Art 40.3.3?

Any legislation would have to be designed to follow the interpretation from the X Case which is how the law has been interpreted!

Furthermore this idea of abortion on demand is an utter abuse of misinformation in my opinion. Article 40.3.3 and how it is interpreted (as stated above) cannot be forgotten. Also any attempt at abortion on demand or an absolute ban would require a referendum. Particularly given what Art 40.3.3 states. I would advise everyone to go read it and the X case, if you haven’t already done so.

Finally any legislation would almost definitely be subject to an Article 26 reference procedure ensuring the constitutionality of the legislation prior to its enactment.

• Alternative headline: ‘Canon Law on confessional seal facilitated direct, intentional sexual abuse of born children in Ireland’.

• I have to say I think the “pro-life” should do what the Bishops suggest to fix this and have an oul pray, that’s quite literally as good as it’s going to get for them. Face it Catholics, this is not your country anymore. We tried it your way, we were the poorest country in Europe, women had absolutely no rights other than to transfer from the parental home to the marital home, you raped our kids, you lied and emotionally blackmailed us into submission to impose outdated, racist, sexist, homophobic “morality” onto us. The Irish have evolved as a people and you can’t stop that from continuing, enjoy living in your perpetual state of submission and fear, and sure give us an oul prayer or two for the craic too.

• Colm 18/12/12 #

They’re hardly the pillars of moral virtue, are they! Their statement describes the right to life as the most fundamental, and they’re right in a sense, but the right to life is only applicable to ‘all human beings born free and equal in dignity and rights’ and throughout the declaration, ‘the individual’.

I don’t think the Catholic Church should attempt to sway the government with any statements of prayer. Matthew 6.5 – ‘And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by others’.

• Thanks for the advice Bishops. I enjoy talking advice on how society should function from a quartet of elderly men who possess no moral authority. Who are you to say how any of us should live our lives? We, who do not suscribe to your faith, cannot be compelled to live by your religious beliefs.

• Sure yous scrapped limbo a while ago there so theyll just go straight to heaven, right??

• Oh yes, and forcing a woman to have a child she doesn’t want is SUCH a great solution, isn’t it? If a woman doesn’t want the baby before it’s born, what makes you think she’ll want it once it’s here?

And will the priests and bishops who protest against abortion offer the woman any help once the baby is born? (Apart from maybe bringing back Magdalene laundries, that is!)

Funny how so many priests and bishops, and anti-abortion groups nationwide, are so hellbent on trying to make sure every last baby is born, and yet once it’s here they don’t give a damn what happens to it!

They should mind their own business and let each woman get on with living her life as she sees fit, and letting each person make their own decisions, instead of trying to take over everyone’s lives and forcing their own (very questionable) morals on the rest of us!

• Well if the bishops don’t like the coming legislation, what do they propose instead? The same legal grey area we’ve had for 20 years? Women being forced to travel to England?
    Did they ever consider that if a woman could receive treatment and councilling here with the final option of abortion, she maybe would not feel complealed to go though with an abortion because people were able to help her though the difficult time while still having the option of having the abortion if after all that care, she feels that is the best option for her, but that’s the Roman Church for you, they make decrees rather then then try to manage problems.
    Moral cowardice and a general lack of compassion from the Roman Church, again.

• bpdeasy 19/12/12 #

No. They propose regulation to deal with the issue within the current laws as the expert group put forward as a viable option too. This is without doubt opening the door to abortion on demand.

• bpdeasy 19/12/12 #

Listen Conor the church knows only too well the devastation abortion brings on a woman. The church acts out of love for the life of the mother and the baby. Those who say abortion has no effect on women are the ones who really attack women.

• bpdeasy 19/12/12 #

Sorry David got your name wrong.

• Is this the same church that systematically, covered up for and facilitated paedophiles? Strange way to show love for children!

Please explain how you think savita being denied an abortion which would have saved her life, isn’t responsible for her death?

• So the wizards in charge of a morally bankrupt organisation, are once again trying to lecture us on morals.

• Flawed Judgment is a core part of the church so this is just the continuation of their increasingly isolated attempt to communicate a moral premiss to maintain their power to make Public Policy that maintains their interests of control, manipulation and disempowerment of the good people in Ireland.

• Dear Catholic church.
    fcuk off back to the 18th century and take your ideologis with you. The majority of this country spoke and finally we’ve got what we asked for. You make me ashamed to be catholic.

• Thats the door over there lads. Don’t get your dress caught in it on the way out.

• Jaysus! The bishops are opposed to abortion! How ever will we go on?!………………. Oh wait it doesn’t seem to have changed anything.

• why should anyone care what a bishop says? If you believe that crap that’s fine but your religion has no place or say in the running of this country

• It’s funny how a few delusional types from the church believe they speak for the majority. If you come out from behind your altar then you will see that the views expressed on the internet reflect views in the real world. And thankfully we still have people who are willing to stand up for the rights of women.

• How any woman steps foot into a church I will never understand. What a bunch of interfering fossils.

• It’s the choice of the pregnant women, not the church or the government or anyone else,

• go away church.. you’re not wanted..

• I doubt if many people listen to what these guys have to say on moral issues any longer, given their recent history.

• Oi!!! Woman in the pic- get your child indoors before he freezes to death, you lunatic!

• Less abortions more alter boys is the churches stance.

Fossils, so glad these people are becoming a minority.

• In fairness, the catholic church cannot give opinions on any matters until they officially punish their own for molesting children

• Need to give ‘priest chat’ a call and hear what the lads are saying about all this

• In fairness to the bishops you wouldn’t expect them to say anything else now would you .I’m not a catholic but I understand that they have to give guidance to the majority of people in Ireland who still claim to be catholic .shower of lying bastards all the same as they have the moral authority of a snake but we know that don’t we

• tom 18/12/12 #

he without sin cast the first stone so guess your religion is squeaky clean that you feel you can throw stones

• Your a real apologist for child and woman abusers Arn’t you Tom. Strange.

• Niall 19/12/12 #

Tom is an out if date joke.

• Tom at least I had the moral courage to do what was right.I managed to escape from the catholic church and have my baptism revoked over the Murphy report.You know the one Tom where grown men put their dicks into young children’s mouth’s and backsides and didn’t know that it was wrong.I never said that I am without sin as you put it (by the way try to read a more up to date book every now and then instead of the bible Tom)but I can hold my head up high and say to the Bishops ” not in my name you bunch of hypocrites”

• The church’s should stay away from children. What they did in the past. I have to say I mix feelings about abortion. I feel like a women should have a right to have abortion, but they would have to have a good reason. What if a girl got rape and can’t go on with the pregnancy does she not have right to have an abortion, if you say no they usual suicide and that’s not fair.

• And who is anyone to decide whether that reason is viable? Lets say a woman in poverty with an abusive husband who cant afford a child and will be locked into the relationship, do you agree she should have an abortion? If not is your way the right way? If you do agree is your way the right way to moral judgement? Pro choice!

• journal.ie, and other media outlets should not be giving these hypocrites the time of day by writing articles about what the bishops think! Just shows that whatever about our “progressive” society, the Catholic church still has a disproportionate effect on mainstream media. I personally would rather hear mickey mouse’s view on abortion than that shower!!

• I’m pro abortion on demand, and I disagree with your comment.

Like em or loath em, the bishops represent a significant amount of people in this country. Whether or not it’s appropriate to have guardians of morality, for those that accept indoctrination and don’t make up their minds, is neither here nor there. Plenty of people in this country still look to the church to provide their moral compass, and will feel better this morning knowing that their religious leaders are standing up for them.

Me? I want the legislation. But not as much as I want free speech and balanced media coverage.

Regardless of the relevance of the church in your eyes, they are still relevant to many people in this country.

• So a few people on here claim that the Catholic Church represents the ‘real world’! Would that be the real flat world, that the sun goes around & is at the centre of the universe? A world that’s no more than 6000 years old and was created in 6 days, Home to 2 naked hippies & a talking snake???? Just getting my facts right!!

• Damian 19/12/12 #

Love all the comments, please separate religion from fundamental human rights. What is the definition of a human according to modern science, not your own internet assembled bull…., facts, figures and reality please. All parties on this page are just fuelled by emotion and bigotry. Nazi germany was defeated a long time ago, so i believe that balanced arguments from both sides is required, not the sad tried and tested bashing of ‘old celibate men’. brains, brains, brains. Deo gratia

• bpdeasy 19/12/12 #

The right to murder your own child as a human right. It just shows how off track the whole human rights thing has gone!

• @david halliwell So Vulnerable children should be brought in to the world and be subjected to emotional, psychological, physical and sexual abuse by sadistic paedophiles which is then covered up by their fellow paedophiles and the state??

There were children found in the Magdalene laundries in Drumcondra that had not gone full term and had no birth or death certs(illegal) can you positively state the nuns there did not perform abortions through the abuse of the children’s mothers?? Again covered up by Bertie Ahern on behalf of the paedophiles in the catholic church

• So basically the stance of the catholic church is: abortion ‘of great concern’, abusing and raping children not so much.

• Catholic Church’s indifference to child abuse lead to direct, intentional rape of Irish children for decades. These tired bigoted old men have no moral authority to lecture our democratically elected politicians on matters if state.

• sandra the troll is back you must have a addiction to red arrows

• Kellyanne I actually feel sorry for her now. You and I both have seen the stuff she comes out with. As much as I’d like to brand her a troll, shockingly I think she might actually be for real!

• So the church of abuse to all individuals, that caused harm and abuse within families are still speaking??? Why??…

• Why are these people being called ‘pro-life’ they are simply ANTI CHOICE. As for the bishops, especially the pedo protector Brady wading in.. you couldn’t make it up! Since when have these lousy old catholic bishops got a shred of credibility when it comes to protecting children, born or unborn. They should be ignored by all right minded people this is nothing to do with their vile sect and given their appalling record they should stay to hell out of it. Anyway what would these supposedly celibate old gits know about childbirth or bringing up kids.

• Nice Sandra, and what of defenceless innocents who get raped and are left pregnant as a result? Let them have some dignity

• “We encourage all to pray……….”

Prayer:

Parapsychological
    Rubbish
    Aiding
    Your
    Evading
    Reality

• It’s Keith Richard’s 69th birthday today…as the great man would say, ‘petty morals.’

• Well holy God. This is such an issue an there are so many comments. Will anyone ever get to mine?

• Bob, U don’t need god to have a moral compass. However you want to define right and wrong is up to you. Not in mood for deep theological debate. I dislike abortion but I don’t believe I have the right to tell others what they should do and I seriously doubt anyone makes that decision lightly.

• the church should stay away from peoples personal lives. The choice should be always and only be the choice of the mother and or father, if there is a disagreement , then soley on mother as its her body. while I dont completely aggree with abortion, I definately dont think that it is my right to interfere with the mothers choice

• note to government – do NOT be murderin’ bastards

• I would.

• Don’t encourage them for Christs sake…

• Why do we still listen to these f**Kwits

• Let the Archbishops speak on and of religion and focus their efforts on preventing the continuance of child abuse. Leave the law to people and to the legislators.

One thing is sure. The period of “atonement” of the RC Church is truly over.

• What arrogance these bishops have! They are living in cloud-cuckoo-land, if they believe that enlightened, intelligent people will take them seriously. Since the 4th century, they have treated women atrociously, in the first few centuries (500 years or so) the Roman Catholic Church clergy believed that women did not possess souls – then they held a “referendum” (ha ha, a vote) and decided women did have souls after all … by three (3) votes! In medieval times, they murdered several million men women and children during the “Holy Inquisition” – then confiscated their property, with the excuse that their victims were “heretics”. They duped millions of people over the centuries by selling fake “Indulgences”. They imprisoned women in Magdalen Laundries – really concentration camps, where the women were forced into unpaid work, washing laundry by hand, including the priests dirty underwear, no doubt, and treated brutally. Then, need one mention the horrific abuse of innocent children in industrial schools, and elsewhere. Are these misogynistic, celibate, unmarried men, trying to tell women how to take care of their bodies … their own wombs and ovaries? These misogynists have no experience of marriage, sex (supposedly!), pregnancy, miscarriage, rape, etc. and are still loudly shouting that they should have a say in women’s affairs? After all the barbaric assaults on women and children during centuries… these deluded morons believe that they have a legitimate say in the choices women are faced with with a crisis pregnancy. The Roman Catholic Church is a dying dinosaur, with no more legitimacy, other than their own deluded, arrogant self-importance. It is time to shut their doors, and tell them to get lost, we want no more of their hypocritical preaching on matters they know nothing about. Their day is done, they have no more power. Good riddance to them, and one day their popes, cardinals, bishops and priests will have to answer to a higher Power for all the abuses their organisation perpetrated on innocent men, women, and children since they started to brainwash the minds, and tried to take over the souls, of a gullible humanity. “We do not struggle with flesh and blood, but with principalities, with powers, with the rulers of the darkness of this world … with spiritual wickedness in high places”. (Ephesans 6:12). Please take a note of that quotation, clergy of the Roman Catholic fascist church … it applies to your organisation, among others!

• Well done to them for standing up for unborn children,

“I notice that all of the people who support abortion are already born.”
    ― Ronald Reagan

• Won’t be long now before we’re a fully heathenistic baby killing secular republic. Thats when the bishops will gather to hover above us and release the awesome destructive force that lies hidden beneath their massive hats

• This murder of future inconvenient people should be seen as a common sense issue Mixing in religion is allowing the Pope kickers muddy the issue.

• Jaysus lads better stop having an auld tug every now and again. Half a billion future people just destroyed. And what about women? They have to stop having periods. Think of the unborn children! What would the Pope and the bearded sky fairy think?!?

• Sarah-
    If u did become pregnant by having consensual sex with a bloke, u just have the baby, simple :)

• Ter 18/12/12 #

Irish Government = Murder

Add New Comment