Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Budget Day (pt 2) – the main points from Michael Noonan’s announcement

Minister for Finance Michael Noonan
Image: Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland

TODAY MARKED THE second day of Budget 2012, as finance minister Michael Noonan announced measures to raise €1.6 billion in new tax and revenue incomes.

Yesterday, Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform, Brendan Howlin, announced the government’s plans to public spending by €2.2 billion, with a €1.4 billion cut in day-to-day State spending.

While Noonan had to raise €1.6 billion, his task was softened by a ‘carry-over’ of around €600m from existing measures – meaning his tasks were only to raise €1 billion, with some €670m coming from the long-expected VAT hike.

See events as they happened on our liveblog here >

In full: Michael Noonan’s Budget speech to the Dáil >

Here are the main details from Michael Noonan’s Budget 2012 speech:

• 50 per cent employer PRSI pension relief abolished
  • Legislate tax betting and betting exchanges. Betting duty will apply to remote betting
  • Tax exemption for first 36 days of illness is ended
  • No excise increase on alcohol – will be subject to VAT increase
  • Cigarettes up 25 cent
  • Increase in Motor Tax from 1 January
  • Household charge of €100 – waiver for those on mortgage interest supplement, certain housing estates, and social housing.
  • Carbon Tax up from €15 per tonne to €20 per tonne. Increase of €0.01 on petrol from midnight, increase on other fuels (non-solid such as peat) from May next year.
  • Rental, investment and other income now liable for PRSI from 2013
  • DIRT is up 27 per cent to 30 per cent
  • VAT rates of 9 per cent for tourism and 13.5 per cent for home heating and other such amenities will remain in place
  • VAT increased from 21 per cent to 23 per cent with a promise of no additional VAT rises in lifetime of this government
  • €1 billion to be raised in indirect tax measures announced today. €600 million will be raised from existing measures
  • No increase in income tax, no increases in rates, no narrowing of bands.
  • Noonan to establish advisory group to advise on NAMA strategy for property disposals
  • Capital Gains Tax and Capital Acquisitions Tax will rise from 25 per cent to 30 per cent at midnight
  • Capital Acquisition Tax threshold falls from €332k to €250k
  • A property relief surcharge of 5 per cent will be imposed on investors with an annual gross income over €100,000
  • From January 1, exemption level on Universal Social Charge will rise from €4,004 to €10,036
  • First time buyers will get mortgage interest relief at 25 per cent in 2012
  • Increase mortgage interest relief to 30 per cent for first time buyers between 2004-08
  • Non-first time buyers will benefit from mortgage interest relief at 15 per cent
  • Capital Gains Tax incentive, property purchased between midnight tonight and 2013, gain will be relieved in full from CGT if kept for seven years.
  • Stamp Duty on commercial property to be cut from 6 per cent to 2 per cent, and will also apply to farmland from midnight tonight
  • Corporate tax exemption for start-up companies being extended by three years to 2014
  • There will be tax breaks for companies who invest in the s0-called BRIC (Brazil, Russia, India and China) countries.
  • Noonan announces foreign earnings deduction to assist exports, and assignee relief programme
  • Corporation tax will remain at 12.5 per cent and the government is committed to maintaining this. “There will be no change in Ireland’s 12.5 per cent in Ireland’s corporate tax rate,” Noonan told the Dáil.
  • Government predicts a 1.3 per cent growth in GDP next year and 2.5 per cent in GNP. Stronger growth expected in 2013.

The pre-budget leaks:

• There will not be any change in income tax rates
  • The bands of the Universal Social Charge may be raised, in order to alleviate some of the charges on the worst-off
  • PRSI will be widened, meaning people will be liable for PRSI from rental income and other investments
  • There will be a 2 per cent rise in the top rate of VAT – bringing it from 21 per cent to 23 per cent, which is intended to raise €670 million
  • The seven bands of ‘traditional’ motor tax will be increased – RTÉ says the lower band, at €104, will go up to €160; the second band will rise from €156 to €225
  • DIRT will be increased from 27 per cent to 30 per cent (both sources) – the Herald describes this as a ‘tax on savings’
  • Carbon tax will be increased by €5 per tonne, putting around 2.5 cent on a litre of petrol and €15 on a tank of home heating oil
  • Capital gains tax will be increased from 25 per cent to 30 per cent
  • Capital acquisitions tax (the ‘inheritance tax’), currently levied at 25 per cent on all assets over €332,000, will have both its band lowered and its tax rate raised
  • There will be a new €100 household charge, to be paid by the owner (as opposed to the tenant or occupier) of a property; this is an interim charge in advance of a valuation-based property tax, or water charges, and will raise €160 million

Yesterday, Minister Howlin announced a number of cost-saving measures, including a standardising of child benefit payments; an increase in the student registration fee; a cut in the back to school allowance for the parents of children aged between 4 and 11; the closure of 31 garda stations; and jobseekers’ benefit being paid out for a five rather than six day working week.

Additional reporting by Hugh O’Connell and Aoife Barry

Read: In full: Brendan Howlin’s Budget 2012 announcement>

Read: Budget 2012 (pt 1): The main points of Brendan Howlin’s announcement>

Read: Liveblog: Government Ministers explain the cuts in more detail>

In full: TheJournal.ie‘s full coverage of Budget 2012

Read Next:

Comments (90 Comments)

• Frank Buffets 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

2% rise in vat plus high cost of electricity plus rent. Any business selling luxury products will find it hard to survive, the new Newry will be Internet shopping from anyone outside Ireland.

• dzbtrout 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

I know what you mean but perhaps should be rephrased. Luxury market is growing! People who can afford luxury brands (say Luis Vutton, Gucci,…) will not be bothered in the slightest by 2% vat increase. Not a notch in their fat wallets and bank accounts. But for the rest of us many things will become a luxury….

• Magic Kelly 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Michael Noonan looks like a man that has always been bald, since being a little baby, but never quite accepted it.

• Shanti Om 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Dzbtrout

FYI, “luxury” tax isn’t about what you or I would consider luxuries.
      It applies to personal hygiene products, eg: soap, toilet paper, etc
      It applies to all appliances – kettle, toaster, fridge etc
      Pretty much all services – phone bill, and ESB if I’m not mistaken..

It’s not a luxury tax, it’s a tax on everything bar food and kids clothes. If you think it’s only on Louis Vuitton crap then you’re in for a shock..

• Cormac Ginty 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I think they should have for all the 3.8bln from cuts and efficiencies. Taxation is less certain in a declining economy. VAT will slow spending and cause job losses yet they believe they’ll net an extra 600m via the hike. In will mean they’ll either have to borrow more or cut more in the last quarter 2012 to make up the shortfall. There are lots of visible areas where efficiencies could be made. Why do garda

• seagizmo 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Tax man 4 – 0 public HT

• John Murray 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Let’s all call round to Noonans house on Christmas morning.

• Lou Brennan 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

The VAT rise just shows what a bunch of clueless imbeciles we are dealing with.

• Mark Sheridan 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

This is why myself, my wife and two young kids are emigrating to Oz. the working class are yet again forced to pay for the elite/political parties greed. I still do not see any reason any politician should be allowed to earn anything over €80k ( and that’s being VERY generous!!)

• Report this comment

Seemly motor tax has already been increased this morning according to someone on Ireland AM ??

• Kerry Blake 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

What’s in store today? Some clueless minister or td on the government benches is bound to say ‘we are ensuring the burden of recovery is shared fairly and that the most vulnerable in our society are protected as far as possible’.

• Neil Kettles 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Motor tax restructuring!! It’s only 4 years since the last restructuring! I personally think road tax should be abolished. A much fairer way would be to increase the cost of fuel. This would mean that you pay tax in accordance with how much you actually use the roads. This would also ensure that everyone actually paid too. How much revenue the country loses every year through motor tax avoidance is anyone’s guess. Then theirs the savings to be made in admin costs too.

• Kieran Gallagher 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

yes this would make a lot of sense but in two or three years they would just bring back the tax without reducing any of the increase

• Ian Noctor 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

The problem with abolishing road tax in favour of an increase on the price of a litre of fuel is that it penalises people who use their car to get to work or who use their vehicle for work. If you are a tradesman doing 30k miles a year and paying €288 road tax on your van. Abolishing the tax and putting a surcharge on a litre of fuel will not make his life easier. It could be the extra cost that would send him off to Oz.

• Paul Ryan 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

The problem with that is commercial transport costs, ie getting goods from A to B. Therefore this would raise the cost of goods for consumer and make exports more expensive if road tax was abolished and added to fuel costs.

• Lisa Curran 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I’m sick at the thought of what the budget will do to me n my 14 month old after today :( sick

• Billy Kelly 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

When you have nothing left but the shackles on your back, that’s when you are most dangerous, it won’t be long now.

• Sold_off 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

A well known song by the Kaiser Chiefs could be the theme of this Country in the months to come…… I predict a ??????

• Iain Murray 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

HEY NOONAN, LEAVE OUR FAGS ALONE!

• Adam Magari 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

The Irish government is taking out 3.8 billion in a year. The Italian budget will take out may be 30 billion but has definitely pencilled in 20 billion. Italy has a population around 14 times the size of Ireland. There is something really peculiar about the Irish government’s insistence on destroying the economy.

• Iain Murray 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

All the last one to leave , please turn out the lights.

• Alan McBride 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Hi Iain, I think it was yesterday you said you couldn’t afford sky, how can you afford an ipad, just curious. Seems odd.

• Iain Murray 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Bought before I lost my job. Just cos I can’t afford one now, doesn’t mean I have to give this one back. Also, ebooks for college have saved me a fortune. Thanks for your interest though.

• olive tierney 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Alan,well said with that comment!!!! Ps Alan does Ballysax ring a bell with you???

• Diego Attley 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

@Iain; I definitely agree with you about having an ipad for college, I think it’s a must. I have the thing filled with books and it all fits nicely in my bag. Anyone that’s ever carried around a couple of books the size of the Stroud engineering maths book knows exactly what I mean.

• Damo 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

@alan;A Detective wouldnt ask that!
      I have an iphone i got before i lost my job which ill probably have to sell now to buy cigarettes!

• Michael Cuthbert 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Well spotted Damo. Poor Iain…

• Iain Murray 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Thanks Michael! Anyways, I’ll just go cry in my soup :(

Report this comment

No worries, Iain. I have a good recipe for cheap soup if you need spare cash for the fags. Potato, cabbage, lots of water…

• David Higgins 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Increasing the HIGHER rate of VAT
    Increasing DIRT
    Increasing Capital Gains
    Increasing Capital Acquisitions
    Increasing PRSI on rents and other investment income
    Reducing the USC for the lowest paid.

Like it or not, but these are all progressive measures and they take from those who can most afford to give. Some regressive measures in there but on the whole these are fair tax measures.

• Magic Kelly 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Awwww look, its a mini Enda, so cute

• Michael Milner 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

That’s a fair point David – I for one was surprised to see that the inheritance tax is only 25%

Ramp that up and people would be forced to spend/ invest their money instead of handing it over to someone who did nothing to earn it….

• Kerry Blake 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

@Michael. History shows us in the shape of increased tax returns that the rate actually increased when the ‘inheritance tax’ was dropped from the previous 40% I think by a past government. If a will doesn’t go to probate then there is no tax to be paid as far as I know.

• Tommy Coleman 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

wrong im afraid David… increase in vat will most affect lowest 10% in society … from ersi ….. regressive was the word you were looking for.

• Iain Murray 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Inheritance tax is stupid offensive double tax. It is tax on an income that has already been taxed when the person who died earned it. It will also be taxed when the person who inherits it spends it? (unless they spend the whole lot on kids shoes).

• Niall Mulligan 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

I’m after reading on politics.ie that:

“A family with three children on €150,000 p/a down about €1,020 p/a, family of 3 on Social Welfare down about €1,070 p/a”

Any comment, David?

• Ciarán Ferrie 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

So the property tax is to be paid by the owner not the occupier? – I’ll be forwarding my bill to the bank so.

• Pauric Mc Caughey 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Why dont they just pay anyones flight & expenses that want to leave the country… No work here for 440,000 people, i’m sure some would take up the offer and emigrate to canada, australia nz etc ???… Because in the short/medium term things aren’t going to change !

• Felicity Scott 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Pauric, I have lived in NZ. I came home and at the time I said that I’d rather starve on the streets on Dublin than bring up my child in that place, and my opinion hasn’t changed. Why do you think that Ireland and Israel are the only two countries in the world where the diaspora always wants to come back? The last one to leave the country is welcome to turn out the lights, I’ll just sit here in the dark and suffer!!

• Noel Hearle 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

If we all want to help people get back to work STOP using automated checkouts, it’s an easy thing to do – I was in Tesco and saw people queuing to use them and an checkout person sitting there twiddling their thumbs! Be different and make a difference!

• Saffron Willetts 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Does anyone know if you get your jobseekers allowance while aborad – e.g. your stamps

• Jim Mackessy 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Just something I figured out after I was reading the ‘expense budget’.

Ireland is spending €55.7B per anum and has a population of ~ 4.6m
    Germany is spending €303.1B per anum and has a population of ~ 81.7m

So the average national expenditure per head of capa per anum for
    Ireland is ~ €12.5 while germany is ~€3.7. … … billion that is
    ….. yes with a b……so in the interest of fairness we need to
    contribute (directly and indirectly) that much EACH per year for the
    countries to break even………..gulp!…………So, capitalism eh?

Also take into consideration that 40% of the irish expenditure is
    social protection that means €5B a year per head of capa is payed out
    on welfare which is still ~1.5 times greater than the entire per capa
    expenditure of germany………… So are we a welfare state??

• Cal Mooney 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

But we have to pay our Taoiseach more than the German Chancellor, because lets face it, the current and prior Taoisigh have to pay for their own tea and biscuits …

Report this comment

And Germany has a proper army, a functioning health service, excellent education system, efficient public transport. They even have a manufacturing sector. Yep, they still make things…

• Saffron Willetts 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Thanks tom – I don’t see anything wrong with a person who is emigrating claiming their stamps which were paid for during their period of employment – so that they can have help to get set up. I have 10 years of prsi contributions – its nothing to do with your taxes Mr Reilley.

• Lou Brennan 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Jesus this guy looks like a right old paddy whack. He can hardly read his own statement. Stuttering and coughing . A real farmer lover with his ol blocks of turf. The rest of the world would look at this and just laugh.

• damien chaney 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Another special advisory board to be formed, we’re do I apply?

• Nigel Kenny 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

“There will be tax breaks for companies who invest in the s0-called BRIC (Brazil, Russia, India and China) countries.”

Should it not be tax breaks for people investing in Irish startups? I don’t understand this…

• Paul Judge 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

They are all emerging markets with large potential for growth. Irish based companies which set up their operations there would lead to a new source of money flowing into the country.

• Oskar Fritsche 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Listen to SF complain as their doing the same thing in office up in the north bit of a schizophrenia party there.

• Paddy O'Reilly 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

“VAT increased from 21 per cent to 23 per cent with a promise of no additional VAT rises in lifetime of this government”
    So like all the other promises this government have made, we can expect a VAT increase next year.

• Karen dunne 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Just heart on rte new labour td Patrick nullty is voting against the bill. Hopefully one of many

• Iain Murray 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Sounds like a recruitment drive for Asda and Morrisons in newly!

• Sue Anthony 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

mortgage interest supplement recipients wont pay the €100 ? have I misunderstood this, becuase I think that he said that Mortgage interest supplement is scrapped ?

clarification anyone ?

thanks

• Declan Glynn 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Why is everybody criticizing this government and budget? The previous government did this to our country and these are the measures to work our way back.

Report this comment

Right Declan. No alternatives?

• Declan Glynn 06/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Whatever the alternatives may be they won’t be any better. There is no magical solution to the situation. If there was do you really think the government wants to screw things even more??

Report this comment

Screw up, or screw out of? Don’t think any government would wish to screw things up. But all political parties do things to please their supporters, even if the consequences (intended or otherwise) are damaging. This budget rewards FG and the middle class, middle to upper income former FF supporters who put them in government…

• Ronan Lawlor 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Im a 1st time buyer closing on friday. Will i be entitled to mortgage relief at 25% in 2012? A little confused

Report this comment

On the politics of the thing. Good budget for FG voters and middle class, middle to high income former FF voters…

• Vinny Doherty 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Potential first time buyer here!That mortgage interest relief is excellent for!Now where to get a handy 100 grand or two out of!is there such a thing as first time buyers these days??

• William O'Shea 06/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Hah, isn’t it great……….. idiocracy gene finally discovered……. in Ireland of all places! This must be what makes “paddy” so unique. Are we there yet? Are we there yet? Are we there yet?

• Report this comment

When will the VAT rise? What date?

Add New Comment