TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

‘Campaign for Conscience’ lodges Supreme Court challenge to same-sex partnerships

The Mayo-based group believes major parts of the Civil Partnership Act are in conflict with the Constitution and therefore illegal.

Image: firemedic58 via Flickr

A MAYO-BASED campaign which promotes “freedom of conscience” has launched a Supreme Court challenge against Ireland’s law on same-sex partnership, claiming that large sections of the act are unconstitutional.

The Campaign for Conscience (C4C), led by the Burke family from Castlebar, have lodged papers with the Supreme Court claiming that 171 sections of the 208-section Civil Partnership and Certain Rights and Obligations of Cohabitants Act 2010 are in breach of the Constitution.

The group believes that the Act – passed by the Oireachtas and signed into law by President Mary McAleese last summer – violates the Constitution’s declaration that all authority is derived from God, as declared in Article 6.1 of the Constitution.

That Article states that all power of the government, the Oireachtas and the courts “derive, under God, from the people”.

The group also argues that the Act is in breach of “the Christian character of the Constitution”, which they claim is established by the Preamble which sees the Irish people acknowledge “all our obligations to our Divine Lord, Jesus Christ”.

Specifically, the group claims that sections 1 through 170, and section 208 – in effect, the entire Act, except for the provisions relating to cohabitation – are in breach of the Constitution, and wants those section of the Act to be declared invalid.

The group had lodged a similar action at the High Court in February, but the action was struck out in July on appeal by the State who argued that the case disclosed “no reasonable cause of action”.

The matter has been appealed to the Supreme Court on the basis that C4C’s case is “inherently plausible”, urgent and in the public interest. Books of Appeal were lodged last Friday and an application for priority is to be made before the Chief Justice, Susan Denham.

The C4C group had opposed the introduction of what was then the Civil Partnership Bill last year, arguing that the government was “legislating on conscience” by making it a criminal offence for registrars to refuse to perform a civil partnership.

Literature distributed at the time argued that “if a registrar can be criminalised, so also can a photographer who refuses to photograph a civil ceremony, a hotel owner who refuses to rent out a room and so on.”

The group also opposed David Norris’s candidacy for president, setting up a ‘David Norris 4 President‘ website which Burke says raised questions about Norris’s now-infamous 2002 Magill interview six months before it was discussed in mainstream media.

Irish govt criticises Russia’s ‘gay propaganda’ law

Russia faces protests over ‘gay propaganda’ law

Poll: Should Ireland lift the ban on same-sex marriage?

Read next:

Comments (74 Comments)

• I suspect the all power is derived from God was the influence of the Catholic Church – and as we know they have evidenced that age old idiom ‘absolute power corrupts absolutely’. Maybe it’s time to allow the conscience of the people decide …. think we have seen sufficient of the Catholic Church’s “influence” on Irish society

• How will the Burke family cope if one of their kids are gay ? I have taught my kids that you can like girls or boys & that’s fine. I don’t want them growing up with closed minds. I’m no expert but I’d imagine some suicides are caused by people been afraid to be who they are. I pity the Burke children if any of them are gay. However, I believe everyone has the right to express their opinion & as long as they are not promoting hatred towards gay people, well let them off….who is going to pay heed anyway ??

• mart_n 05/12/11 #

Hopefully, if anything; this will lead to a quicker review and modernisation of the constitution.

I bet the craic does be 90 in the Burke household!

• Really? Of all the things going on in Ireland at the moment? Attacking civil partnership?? Really????? Cop on to what’s actually wrong in this country instead of something that actually makes people’s lives that bit easier and is a step in the right direction (would be even better again if it covered non-biological parent’s relationships with children but I digress…)

• God has no place in the constitution – In this day and age it’s absolutely ridiculous that people are basing beliefs and laws on a magical man in the sky.

• That is just your opinion – not a fact.

• @Hanly Is it a fact that God exists? No it’s the delusional beliefs of people.

Wake up and get a grip on reality.

• Well Hanly, can you or anyone else prove to us that god exists.
      We need a Constitution that is based in reality, not on mythical tales that have been passed on for thousands of years.

• Whether God exists or not is totally irrelevant to this story. God has no place in our constitution. I believe in God by the way.

• Rommel, If someone believes in god as a first mover who made the universe and then left it to its own devices, it is not likely to be a problem. Thomas Jefferson and Benjamin Franklin held this view. This Deist view of the world is not likely to cause any problems as whether or not one believes in god they accept that we are bound by evidence to discover how the world works. I am an Atheist as I believe we cannot explain the improbability of the universe by inventing an even bigger improbability that is god as being a first mover. Many of the founding fathers of America were Deists and were extremely rational and forward thinking for their day.

A lot of people believe Atheists prime concern is showing that god doesn’t exist. This is quite academic to me. What is important is that we challenge the belief that god speaks to humans through other humans and that we should enact laws that are based on his perceived utterances to humans. This type of belief is dangerous when it is allowed enter the public sphere. The fighting of this is what most Atheists and secularists invest their energy in and rightly so.

• Lauren, I totally agree that we should have a secular, pluralistic and tolerant society. Unfortunately Dev did not have that in mind when he wrote the constitution. All C4C are going to do is waste tens of thousands of State funds in fighting a Supreme Court case against these zealots. I would love to give the “Burke family of Castlebar” a wake up call to the fact that we are in the 21st century.

• Lauren, i am an Atheist and agree wholeheartedly that religion should not inform law, only insofar as there can be common standards of behaviour promoted by both religious and secular institutions. However, as we live in a republic, people are entitled to base their individual beliefs on anything they wish, including the ridiculous like the ‘Flat Earth Society’ etc. We have no proof that God (or Zeus) doesn’t exist, likewise those that believe have no proof that he does. My logic and knowledge of the world leads me to conclude that god & religion are constructs of man but I am not so arrogant to say that a) I ‘KNOW’ this to be fact or b) everyone with a different view to me is an idiot.

And as we live in a republic I’ll defend every idiot inside to have their beliefs/opinions etc. Otherwise I would not be respecting the very values of freedom of speech and expression that I purport to believe in myself.

In short, you’re entitled to hold your opinion, you’re not entitled not to be offended by another’s conflicting views. This argument also works on the asinine views of C4C too. Oh, not to mention that while everyone is very busy hating the last FF Government, this Civil Partnership Bill/Act was in their last manifesto and we returned them to Government to implement this legislation (amongst other things of course) ergo, the People voted for this legislation.

Why arseholes like C4C get to waste our money with spurious litigation irks me; but then again I suppose I have to accept that its a necessary evil. Stupid democracy…… ;)

• The whole existence of the universe is so implausible in the first place, that adding God in on top is hardly a big deal.

A universe created out of nothing, what was there before the universe, what was there before that.

It is totally mind blowing.

• Tim it would be an exponential increase in improbability on top of the scenario of the universe you described. And that is religion at its best. The idea that god provides a judicial system or rewards faith goes downhill faster that a ball of lead off a cliff.

• Time after time people fail to make the link between religious delusion and the promotion of suffering for the most senseless of reasons. That is why I take with a pinch of salt when people say they are offended with my views. Religion is not the private beliefs of people it never was and never will be. It is the public propagation of delusion in society in a manner that would not be acceptable in any other walk of life. It must be relegated to the private affairs of individuals or private organisations. The fact that these group of misfits are able to make any sort of challenge shows how backward and outdated our constitution is.

• Couldn’t have put it better myself Cyril

• Cyril, just because someone else has a different opinion to you doesn’t make them misfits.

• Sheelagh the Ku Klux Klan have different opinions to me on the issue of blacks. The Neo Nazis have different views to me on the plight of immigrants and Jews. The two examples are both inspired by religious and political delusion as is this. It is right and proper that beliefs that are not based on evidence be challenged. It is cowardice when secularists do not challenge religious delusion when it enters public affairs or causes bigotry. Attacking ideas that are not based in reality is not intolerance but attacking people and depriving them of their equality whether it is because of their race or sexuality most definitely is. As someone who is straight it doesn’t bother me in the slightest what gay people who love each other do in their private or public lives. Tolerance of intolerance is cowardice.

• Well said Cyril.

• In some ways we should be grateful to the C4C group they have reminded us that we need to update our constitution and get rid of the god bits and other mythological garbage that has been written into it.

• I made the mistake of engaging with these people outside the Dáil around the time the CP Act was being passed. I asked them to explain exactly how the Bill was going to undermine my marriage. Suffice it to say they were not very interested in preaching to the unconverted. They then made sure to shout at me every time I passed through the gates from then on.

Model Christians.

• This is the same group that had very young children outside the Dail during their protest. The children were carrying pretty vile signs that they clearly could not have understand. This is how bigotry and hatred is perpetrated…..through the indoctrination of youth from a very early age. Here was me thinking the teachings of Christ were about love, tolerance and forgiveness! Mmmmm i suppose i should forgive Enoch for his hatred and bigotry and unchristian perspective.

• The Burke family spend an awful amount of time and energy on this sort of thing. Repressed much?

• Does the constitution pay reference to a particular God such as the Christian God or does it just say God? What if my God is a drag queen that loves gay marriage? Or if my God is Thor and he is pretty indifferent either way…?

• Would this shower of bitter gobshites ever feck off.

• These people should be made to pay for the judges’ time that they waste with their frivolous hatemongering.

• As a Mayo woman I find this challenge an embarrassment in the extreme ! I too have “faith” but to base this action in Christianity is at best ironic.

• Sometimes the most zealous homophobes secretly harbour doubts about their own sexuality….

• oh I love Ireland..good God what differance does civil.partnership make to these people! Bloody homophobia masquerading as concern for the constitution…hope they have to foot the bill for this nonsense..and then crawl back into the shade and STAY there

• I was wondering when this little hate group was going to surface again. Clearly their placards outside Leinster House denouncing sodomy failed to do the trick so now they have resorted to the courts. But I think on this occasion, supporters of gay rights (and basic humanity) can rest easy.

I do find the fact that they choose to exclude the cohabiting provisions from their “challenge” a little odd – Didn’t these fundamentalist types also have a problem with “living in sin”??

• I doubt that they have any hope of winning this, but it does show up once again the need to remove all the religious nonsense from the Constitution.

• Burke family = Phelps family

• Sorry to say, but this makes me glad I left Ireland. I really hope this brings about a new debate on constitutional reform. It’s time Ireland entered the twenty-first century.

• the Beverly hill Burke’s!

• Yea, well done them, especially for bringing to light that what we really need is a change to the constitution deleting references to “God”.

• 05/12/11 #

Thank you everyone for these motivating comments! The church has no place in modern society. I await the end of its futile existence. Imagine how better off societies would be if, instead of investing much of or resources in churches, prayer, priests, imperialism, war- more people have been killed in the name of god than for any other reason.. Instead we invested in the education and sophistication of our children. God is dead. Religion is bull. The pope is not an agent who can speak for god, he is a lying dirty old deluded incompetent man completely out of touch with reality. I argue that Ireland is the most secularising nation in the world today and I congratulate mo chairde for it! Keep up the good work :-D

• I totally agree! :D

• There is no need to be so offensive towards what is important to others . Is this the kind of intolerance we can expect in a humanist ireland?

• we have been putting up with the intoerence and subjugation by religous zealots for centuries so dont be surprised if the dog bites back

• @ Sheelagh, any black pots there?
      How can the Church, allegedly based in the principles of peace, love, compassion and charity – as per the teachings of Christ, be so offensive towards something homosexual people consider so important – ie being treated as equals and not being judged solely on which sex they fall in love with?

• Hi, just for the sake of clarity:

Offense or intolerance directed at religious belief as a whole is anti-theism, as opposed to atheism, or humanism. Anti-theism is the active opposition of religion (similar to the positions put forward by several people on this page), by contrast with atheism, which is just the denial of the existence of God, or Gods, rather than active opposition to that doctrine.

Humanism on the other hand is a philosophy which places man (rather than God, or a holy text) at the centre of its study.

By their very nature then, atheism and humanism do not involve intolerance, as they don’t and can’t justify it (although the term atheist is often, incorrectly used in this way). Anti-theism is a more accurate term for describing intolerance of religious belief.

I know it’s a bit pedantic, but the clearer the terminology being used, the clearer the discussion.

• mighty , lets have a couple of centuries of Anti theism, just for a change

• Sharrow 05/12/11 #

I’d love to see on the back of this action the supreme court forward a recommendation on constitutional reform to remove dominion ism and bigoted passages which refer to a Judaic christian deity.

• mike 06/12/11 #

And i though Ireland had come into the 21st Century. Who are these Cave Dwellers?

• Just shows why religion has no place in any constitution, the sooner the Irish constitution is overhauled and all references to religion are taken out then the sooner religious zealots like the Burke family are prevented from using it as way to hide their anti gay sentiments. As for “Constitution’s declaration that all authority is derived from God, as declared in Article 6.1 of the Constitution” Under God? What God, who’s God, it does not specify what or what sexuality this God entity is, before these loons invoke any God they should first have to prove that one exists. Just remember, god didn’t make man, man made god! These religious freaks should be laughed out of court and all costs should be borne by them for wasting the courts time.

• i am really so pleased to see so much outrage from the irish people at this action. i was appalled by the amount of support the lady from the “My Tram Experience” received on-line so it’s pleasing to see that the internet is not entirely dominated by right wing neo-con trolls and that sometimes common sense and decency breaks through/

• Shouldn’t this be heard in the High Court first?

• Having read some more about these zealots from Mayo I think the best thing that could happen is for them to actually win and therefore force the cowardly Irish politicians who are shit scared of religious groups and mass goers to actually stand up and change the outdated Irish constitution so it ends this medieval nonsense of putting some mythical creature at the heart of a modern day country’s constitution, I mean it might as well make reference to the abominable snowman or loch ness monster for all the reality it contains. The country needs to rid itself of this religious mumbo jumbo and end this ridiculous charade where priests, rabbis, imams and bishops and all the other peddler’s of the various fairytales and hocus pocus are given respect and privilege and allowed to influence govt. policy and are somehow elevated to a position of importance way beyond their status, they should be seen for the cranks and weirdos that they are, you don’t see people who claim to commune with aliens given prominence at state events or allowed to lecture the populace so why give loony tunes who claim to commune with a cloud dwelling reincarnated supernatural shapeshifter any more creedence?

• repressed

• Speaking as a member of the LGBT community ( and a mild believer at that), I am watching with horror as this turns into “hate religion” or “hate gays” campaigns. The facts of the matter are that everyone believes in something, whether you are an atheist, Buddhist, Muslim, Christian, Protestant. The facts of the matter should probably dictate that religion should occupy one line in the constitution – “everyone is free to choose their own religion”, and that choice is your own business, and nobody else’s.

To eradicate religion would (I believe) eradicate hope, something that the human race is in need of, in good times or bad. Believe it or not, the LGBT community, the Constitution and religion can all exist side by side and not kill each other off!

• Michael, only if you ignore the Bible where it says that homosexuals should be put to death. Thankfully must Christians today ignore these views and think the only thing that Jesus said was love your neighbour. Unfortunately religious fundamentalists read the Bible and once one breaks the glass of sanity and let the genie out of the bottle and give wider support to the insane notion that the creator of the universe authors literature for homo sapiens, you will find that most of that literature will not look favourably on your sexuality. One can say Jesus was a moral reformer which he probably was but this was in Iron age middle east. It is only the secular humanism of the 21st century that we can evaluate that some of the things he said were good while others were not so good. The idea that the only way to the father is through him lead to the wars of the dark and middle ages. The fact he said that he did not come to change the laws of the prophets justifies the execution of homosexuals. It also justifies the killing of girls who are not virgins on their wedding night. It states that women should not speak in church. Who do liberal Christians think are the best authority on scripture those who lived at the time of the founding of Christianity and for the 1900 years of barbarity and intolerance that followed it or the liberal Christians of today? Once one crosses the threshold into religious delusion the zealots generally win. Only when we realise that if god were to exist which I don’t for one second believe in, he certainly is not a nice guy if he instilled religiosity in his supposed favoured species.

• This is the big problem..
      Belief in a god is faith. Beliefs about god are religion.

If you wish to believe in a god, fine, it’s natural to feel that there is something more or to search for meaning in the universe – it can bring hope and is not necessarily a bad thing, but religion was made by man, and as such contains all of mans imperfections, paradoxes, and craziness.

When people start reading things like scripture literally, that’s when it gets scary.. Take the overriding messages of love, peace and compassion and don’t get bogged down in the details of a society we have evolved on from. If we are to oppose homosexuality then surely we should not be able to purchase meat on a Friday, the country should grind to a halt on a Sunday and people should be crucified as punishment.. The world has moved on, it’s time these literal fanatics did too.

• Yes Shanti as I said above believing in god need not necessarily be a bad thing so long as it is the idea that god created the world and left it to its own devices. I still dont think it serves as a proper explaination though. As AC Greyling once said if we call god Fred and say Fred created the universe it raises the obvious question where the hell did Fred come from and in doing so create an even bigger improbability. But believing in a god that speaks to humans and answers prayers and writes literature is incredibly dangerous. This world view is never a private affair and always leads to delusional power structures. Is believing god wrote the Bible in riddles and metaphor any less crazy than literalism? I agree people get consolation from these tales but society must work to make govt and human rights evidence based.

• @Cyril – it is Micheal, not Michael! (Petty – sorry!).

As I said, I am a mild believer. I believe Jesus was genuinely a good guy. Yes, he has his issues, but find one on this Earth who does not. I think most (not all, as you rightly point out), people take murder thy homosexuals with a pinch of salt, and do possess the general common sense that this is wrong. We live in the 21st century – a multi-cultural society, where there is a black American president, and where the Arab Spring tide is in full swing. The fact that most contributors here have forgotten that it’s not just actually “gay” rights, it’s actually LGBT rights, shows that people need to become all-inclusive in mind and spirit.

Most of the comments here are not tolerant, whether of the LGBT community, the Religious groups, or the Constitution. It is important that while we do look for equal rights in the constitution that we do not over-ride the rights of others.

• Micheal, sorry about the misspell of your name. I think we have a different view on the word tolerance. Im sure if the same demands of the religious were asked by other varieties of woo artists. I would be branded a bigot by psychics, homeopathy practicioners, cryptozoolologists etc. saying you admire Jesus is fine with me so long as one doesnt attribute magical stuff resurrections etc. That view of religion will always fall short of my intellectual respect. Tolerance of the right to preach etc is a different issue entirely. I dont wish to persecute homeopathy woo merchants either but both fall short of my intellectual respect also. People have the right to judge me as they see fit on this view. Sorry about using the wrong terminology but people are born lesbian or gay and that is different to religion which should be judged on its lack of intellectual merit. You are right I disrespect our constitution, I would burn it and start again. It falls short on the aspirations of being a republic in so many respects. But everyone is entitled to express an opinion.

• Brilliant. I hope these loopers win so that the Government is forced to offer us referendums on amending the constitution. First one should be to take mythical creatures out of the Constitution and the second one should be for full marriage equality.

Fingers crossed the Supreme Court will recognise that this challenge, though silly, is valid, because the Constitution itself has too much silliness in it.

• Oh Lord, I see the Castlebar Phelps’ are back.

My God is Trent Reznor, why isn’t he in the constitution? At least he exists.

• Interesting debate, definitely; why is there though always a tendency for a very, very strong reaction, which, dare I say, is sometimes abusive, from the supporters of gay rights??

Do we not profess to live in a tolerant democracy? These people after all, are not looking to assign police to look in the windows of homosexuals’ homes…they are calling for freedom of conscience for a sector of Irish population who would feel such behavior goes against their beliefs and they are exercising their rights of expression, of legal access, of participation in the legislative process etc. They are also taking seriously their duty, as citizens, to uphold the tenets of the Constitution – as they perceive them to be. Let’s not degenerate to the level of uneducated morons, who spew out senseless hate when we are faced with something we disagree with. If we have something constructive to say…then say it. Otherwise be quiet.

• it’s gay bashing no more no less. and they want to hate gays fine, that’s their rights and their beliefs but they had better live by everything in Leviticus then. and it’s freedom of conscience for a sector, not a majority and in this country I’m pretty sure a majority has no opposition to rights for gays, to deny gays the right to marriage would be to favour a minority and that is not democracy, a minority should not have their opinions forced upon a majority on the grounds of proof-less near sighted dogmatism.

• “Senseless hate” – I suggest you look at what this family stands for in greater detail before you start lecturing others on this topic. You will find that their strange obsession with gay people is not simply confined to the Civil Partnership Bill. And they are not challenging this legislation on the basis that is does not allow for “conscientious” objections from homophobic service providers. Apparently the very idea of such legislation is in violation of God’s will and should be struck down on that basis. Maybe if Ireland was a Christian version of Iran, their argument might carry so weight.

And funny how people get so worked about human rights issues, especially when others seek to deny them to classes of people based on such irrational hatreds as racism, anti-semitism, homophobia etc.

Add New Comment