Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 20 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Irish govt criticises Russia’s ‘gay propaganda’ law

Police interrupt a gay rights protest in St Petersburg in June 2011.
Image: AP Photo/Dmitry Lovetsky/PA Image

THE GOVERNMENT has voiced its concerns over new legislation proposed in Russia, saying it could lead to further stigmatisation of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender young people.

The legislation, which has passed the first stage of St Petersburg’s assembly, includes the imposition of fines of over €1,000 on “public activities promoting sodomy, lesbianism, bisexuality and transgender identity”.

Russian media has reported that the legislation could be introduced across the country following its adoption in St Petersburg.

Over 240,000 people have signed an online petition against the legislation.

Speaking in the Dáil on Tuesday, Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore said that legislation which discriminates against or curtails the rights of “lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people are not acceptable”.

“Ireland believes that consensual, same-sex relationships should not be criminalised,” he said. “We support measures to ensure that the right to freedom of expression and association can be enjoyed effectively by all people.”

Gilmore added that an official from the Department of Foreign Affairs has been in touch with the Russia Embassy to convey the government’s concerns over the proposed law.

He also said that the EU plans to raise the issue with Russia at an EU-Russia human rights meeting this week.

The proposed law was recently criticised by the US which said it was “deeply concerned” about the move, saying that “gay rights are human rights and human rights are gay rights”.

Read: Vladimir Putin tells West not to interfere in Russian politics >

Read Next:

Comments (31 Comments)

• Ed Moran 01/12/11 #
    Report this comment

From Russia with love (as long as its straight)!!!!

• angryzes 01/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Some of you missing the point: they prohibit propaganda and not the gay
      people. It is all about politics – this is a new Gulag to criticise. Nobody cares if you gay or not but all these activists after study abroad try to make scandal and appear on western media( all the same people always ). St. Petersburg is more western city than you think and there a lot of western subcultures in operation as well. Skinheads, gots, emo, punks, you name it. I am sure that there are 100 times more gay night clubs than in Ireland.

• Barry Williams 02/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Yes many Sub cultures in Russia.Including Neo Nazi’s

• angryzes 02/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Tell me that there are no neo nazis in Ireland! At least my grandfathers fought fascism, while Ireland stayed neutral. Probably waiting for a day when real nazis will kill us all.

• Jeff 02/12/11 #
      Report this comment

angryzes ? Stalin wasn’t a facist then ? he kill more Russians than Hitler

• G Charles Osborne 01/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I wonder what the Russians think of the fact we send our women on a traumatic journey to the UK for abortions or of our institutionised paedophilia problem. Whilst their homophobia is repugnant, maybe our government should first look towards home for rectifying human rights abuses. People in glasshouses….

• Joe Sixtwo 01/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Excellent point we have a lot of issues to sort out in this country, we can’t occupy the moral high ground just yet. I was a bit shocked to see that Russia was so primitive and backward with regards to gay rights.

• Jamie Murphy 01/12/11 #
      Report this comment

It’s easier to adopt as a gay individual in Russia than it is here

• swimtwobirds 01/12/11 #
      Report this comment

I wonder what russians think about their journalists being killed with abandon, their officials being uniformly corrupt, living in a semi-dictatorship, with a massive brain drain, and a birth rate tending towards zero.

Ireland is Camelot compared to russia. Russia is a bit of a weird scummy country at this stage. It’s run by corrupt violent thugs, and it’s citizens don’t care.

• angryzes 02/12/11 #
      Report this comment

That’s what I call quality propaganda. Scummy country! A big stretch I would say. Good news for Russia that it has nuclear weapons, so war will stay cold. It shows us how stupid we were when abandoned USSR and Communism – you hate use even more. And communist China is second largest economy now.

• John Murphy 01/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Oh! How wonderful our country is!

Isn’t it great! Now that we have took the dog out of the shed in the Vatican we can do a bit of self righteous finger pointing at other country’s civil rights shortcomings.
    Sure we don’t mind if a few bob of the public’s money goes to help out the child rapists, and why would those gays and lesbians want to get married for anyway? Our old people in nursing homes can go to hell and the champion of the rights of the likes Kevin Cardiff to get an oul job in Brussels can shoot his mouth off.

A sure we’re grand!

• Waffler 01/12/11 #
    Report this comment

half the nations of the world have homophobic laws so why single out Russia. political correctness gone mad, non-western governments are allowed to commit atrocities because “its their culture”! should gay people only have rights if they happen to be white and european?

• DashRiprock 01/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Homophobia is in fact a part of a lot of “non Western” countries cultures but at least some areas are starting to take steps in the right direction. I think the issue people have with Russia doing this is that it comes across as a step backwards

• bpdeasy 01/12/11 #
    Report this comment

How is being unable to murder your own child a human rights abuse? The abuse is against the child.

• Dirty Protest 01/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Ah get over it, can’t they just do what they want behind closed doors and there’s no issue

• Réada Quinn 01/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I think ye’re wrong lads. We in Ireland have moved on leaps and bounds in quite a short period and we are now, at least, willing to face up to what’s gone grievously wrong in our past.

I think our government has every right, on our behalf, to call on Russia to respect a persons right to love whomever they wish.

• swimtwobirds 01/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Russia is turning into a weird scummy country.

• Colm Mooney 01/12/11 #
    Report this comment

well..this issue has only been in news for last fortnight..glad mr gilmore has at last noticed it and found his voice..too busy cosying up to the muppets from gaza flotilla

• Damien Kelly 01/12/11 #
    Report this comment

So because we have issues at home we should just forget about what happens in the rest of the world!? Get a but of cop-on ppl. As a nation we have every right to voice our opinion to countries we have close dealings with. Hence why we have an embassy there.

• Damien Kelly 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Yes we can as they were involved in the cover-up of the rape and physical and mental abuse of thousands of our young Children. But that’s slightly off the topic Reada.

• Martin Matthews 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Race, religion, abortion, social welfare, brings out all the opinions eh. What a country,

Add New Comment