TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Cannabis worth €2.6million seized in Dublin

The authorities raided an industrial premises in Ballymount and seized herbal cannabis and resin worth an estimated €2.6 million.

Image: Gareth Fuller/PA Wire/Press Association Images

THE AUTHORITIES HAVE seized cannabis worth an estimated €2.6 million following a raid on an industrial premises in Ballymount, Dublin 12, earlier today.

Gardaí have said that the raid was part of an intelligence-led investigation into a Dublin based Organised Crime Group, and that the seizure was a joint operation led by the Garda National Drugs Unit and Revenue’s Customs Service assisted by the Organised Crime Unit.

Some 106kgs of herbal cannabis and and 112kgs of cannabis resin (pending analysis) were seized at the premises.

No arrests were made.

Investigations are continuing into the origin and destination of the drugs.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (26 Comments)

• Trevor 21/07/12 #

Leave the weed alone… Go after heroin & coke. FFS

• Oh the weather outside is frightful
    But a smoke is so delightful
    Since there’s no jobs anymore

Let it grow let grow let it grow.
    ;-) legalise it.

• Perhaps it’s time to take it away from the dealers and barons and legalise it. Personally, I don’t indulge but it’s pretty obvious that prohibition isn’t working. How much revenue would it bring in in taxes? My only concern if it was legalised is that the dealers would sell it cheaper. The traditional way of dealing with it is clearly not working however. There appears to be more drugs available now then ever before. With three boys to rear I do worry about the availability of all types of drugs. Seemingly its easier for kids to get cannabis than to get the tobacco to mix it with.

• Can’t comment, have bad dose of the munchies

• If the authorities were to resell this instead of destroying it or what ever they do, it would help the economy a bit.

• Holy c***p….now thats some catch..

• OU812 21/07/12 #

Nooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!

• Gerard 21/07/12 #

It’s like deja vu.

• Alvaro 21/07/12 #

let me see that bonnnnggg…
    bongg.. bo.. bo.. bo.. bong!!

• Just a question. What’s with the block capitalisation’s of ” THE AUTHORITIES “, raiding premises?. Isn’t that the job of the guards?. Why the dramatic euphemism?. Just wondering.

• THE AUTHORITIES HAVE, is a header , its the same on all these pages , and the revenue was also involved , i think the Gardai were the second responder’s in this case anyway , or so it seems . hence the authorities ??

• You 2 keep cool good luck

• Well done authorities cannabis is a gateway drug leads people into even more dangerous drugs and lets not forget is dangerous itself. Consider the following people when u take your heads out from the sand,…cannabis is carcinogenic one cigarette or refer as its called contains 6 times time as much cacenogens (cancer causing substances) as an ordinary cigarette. FACT. Also cannabis can trigger phsycosis and panoria so please think again before you glamorise or call for legislation. Certified medical use for blindness (glaucoma) or multiple sclerosis fine but general free for all legalisation no no no its a dangerous drug cop on people please.

• There’s nothing in cannabis that makes the user want to try other drugs, so calling it a gateway drug is simply wrong. If there’s any gatewaty effect, it’s because the supplier (drug dealer) has other drugs to offer, if cannabis was legalised this wouldn’t be an issue. And nobody is saying that it’s “harmless”, but leaving it in the hands of criminals won’t make it any safer, again if it was legalised & regulated it would be a lot safer to use.

Tobacco and cannabis smoke actually have similar properties chemically, but their pharmacological activities differ greatly. Components of cannabis smoke minimize some carcinogenic pathways whereas tobacco smoke enhances some – http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1277837/

Cannabis can also be vaporized, making it much safer to use, as there’s no combustion and therefore no carcinogens, if it was legalised we could educate users in the safer methods of consumption.

• Zoltar 22/07/12 #

Anyone with a bit of sense or experience will know that cannabis is not a “gateway drug”, the effects of cannabis is of many things but mainly physical relaxation and introspective thinking, I use cannabis to work, it helps me to organise my creativity and tap into something I can’t when sober. It works differently for everyone but you sure as hell don’t feel like taking coke or heroin when you’re stoned! The only time I feel like taking harder drugs is after a few drinks.

http://www.rawstory.com/rs/2012/07/05/study-the-gateway-drug-is-alcohol-not-marijuana/
      http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/2012/jun/19/david-nutt-alcohol-cannabis-cafes

• Trevor 22/07/12 #

Now benny, give your thoughts on alcohol..
      You seem to be a clever chap.

• Look at the who ( world health organisation ) or hse and the facts they have on cannabis and inform yourself have a look around holland where drug abuse is tolerated and see the state of the users there not just from hash . It stays in your system for 21 days so your not allowed drive under the influence of drugs the same as alcohol .We are not going to agree Trevor but please be aware of the facts what u do is your business but you are lining the pockets of drug dealers intentionally or not. Your hunky dory comment is cancer is a terrible disease and please don’t be flippant in your comments about it. Good luck man and please take time to reflect and yes plenty of people are arrested 4 been stoned the same as been drunk

• Cannabis is illegal for a reason do your research people with genuine sources the evidence is irrefutable. If the legal system gave out proper jail sentences to the drug dealers it would help. Alcohol to excess yes can be dangerous of course but what’s the problem with it in moderation. Wake up cannabis causes cancer and paranoia and less of the softly softly approach it’s zero tolerance all the way on drugs

• Trevor 23/07/12 #

Wow. I really can’t make my mind up whether your a troll or not but it sounds like you really believe what your saying… And your entitled to your opinion.
      But!!!
      I am a grown adult, I should be allowed to put into my body what I like without you or anybody else telling me otherwise,as long as i don’t harm anybody…. Who cares… I can walk into a off licence and buy 3 bottles of vodka, if I drank those bottles straight down, there is a good chance I won’t wake up. There has never ever been a case where someone has overdosed and died from cannabis….. So the facts are there, you just seem to getting them all from the same website.. What harm do I do to you by sitting at home smoking a joint? I don’t drink much but I do like to have a smoke from time to time, worst case scenario is 1 eat a whole bag of hunky dorys. Whoa scary stuff. Apparently eating too many crisps will give you cancer too so should we ban them aswell??
      Surely Garda resources could be used in a much more effective way.
      How’s about a bit of progressive thinking from our government, this is a cash cow that they don’t want to milk.
      It would also curb this insane drinking culture that we have. It’s very rare that you will hear of somebody being arrested for being stoned & disorderly…

Add New Comment