TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Carey approves Corrib Gas pipeline before leaving office

In one of his last acts as Minister for Energy, Pat Carey has given the controversial Corrib pipeline the go-ahead.

A pipe-laying vessel off the Irish coast in Broadhaven Bay to work on the Corrib pipeline in June 2009.
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNICATIONS, Energy and Natural Resources has announced that, in one of his final acts as acting minister, Pat Carey has approved the construction of the Corrib Gas pipeline.

An Bord Pleanála approved the final section of the controversial pipeline last month, which runs from the sea to the Corrib gas processing station at Bellanaboy, Co Mayo.

That decision required ministerial approval before it could be followed.

In letters dated the 25 February but announced in a statement today, the department said Carey had granted approval, subject to conditions, to Shell E&P Ireland ”to construct a gas pipeline from the Corrib gas field subsea facilities to the Corrib gas terminal at Bellanaboy, Co. Mayo.

It also said approval had been granted for “an addendum to the Plan of Development for the Corrib gas field development”.

Local residents have been actively campaigning against the pipeline for several years, citing safety concerns about the proposed pipeline’s proximity to residences.

The plan approved by An Bord Pleanála included changes made following concerns raised by residents. Shell E&P Ireland had welcomed An Bord Pleanála’s approval, saying it believed the “decision is good for Mayo and Ireland”.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (39 Comments)

• Why keep it secret until today? Can’t he take pride in his decision to sell the local people of Mayo down the river together with the rest of the Irish people! How can he put the interests of Shell above those of his own people? What gain is there for Ireland in this deal? Access to funds from these resources could have made a big difference to our country. I am delighted to see the power of the people worked to rid us of FF from government.
    O’Cuiv was equally sneaky in putting thru ID Cards in the last throes of the last government.
    Why are they allowed to put thru legislation like this after the Dail is suspended? It’s beyond their remit as a cabinet, surely!

• Enda sort it out, Paddy wants to know where his gas is gone! This is Irelands resource not Shells.

• Bastards. Utter vandals. We’ll be years expunging the poison of Fianna Fail.

• Will the Mayo Taoiseach’s first act be to reverse this injustice?

I ducking foubt it. Sigh.

• bribes in other words sean

• Unfortunately, our new ‘Leader’ in waiting will of course, like others before him, maintain a silence of solidarity with his other colleagues concerning the Corrib Pipeline. It would not just be politically crazy but financially disastrous for a future Prime Minister to take a stance against a large lobbying group like Shell now wouldn’t it? The government I’m sure are more likely looking at what other natural resources we have that they can sell to the lowest unique bidder! Well so far we have given away our sovereign economic policy and fishery rights control to the EU, oil/gas fields, completely depleted our peat bogs and are looking to sell the logging rights to our forests………… So there isn’t much to choose from?

• You know, Unsalted, how right you are. I have never voted pro-European in my life. I love Europe but it can stay where it is. I am so disappointed that people accepted the hood-winking they got from FF particularly about all these ‘projects’ in these Treaties. They can have the rest of their lives to understand what they signed up for. :-(.

• What about the health service, education what benefit has shell given to the people of Ireland, maybe Belmullet and Erris has gained but people in Ireland are suffering and all could be resolved if the government didn’t sell our natural resources….. time will tell…. and it will be too late…..

• Absolute disgrace, not only today, the whole project. Another Bertie Ahern / Ray Burke raping of the Irish people.

The only way any Irish person will benefit from this, would be by emigrating to Norway.

• If he did this after the polls opened then it’s open to constitutional challenge. With cowen not running the cabinet is below the legal minimum. It could be argued that no minister has any authority to do anything right now.

• Absolute disgrace, the whole project, not just today.

The only way I, you, or any other Irish person will benefit by this decision would be to emigrate to Norway.

• This isn’t even funny anymore. Thanks Journal for bringing this to out attention. No mention in RTE. Quel surprise

This should be seen as a National issue of as big importance as bailouts and Nama. It’s our bloody resources given away for a song.

• Well said @ Unusualtrend…:)))))

@ Daragh you obviously have not got all the correct information, don’t know how you can say E540 Billion is nonsense…….did you not see The Pipe the Film….. also look up Shell to sea and also You Tube how Shell treated the people of Nigeria when they protested to a pipe being laid on their land, they killed them, in Ireland if they could they would instead they had them Jailed……….I think it is you that needs to cop on…….

• It’s not too late to turn it around but that spineless coward Enda Kenny won’t do anything about it.

• stunts like this…

Dick Roche… Tara / M3 : 2007
    Mary Hannifin… Copyright Bill : 2011 (apparently but she of course denied it)
    Pat Carey… Corrib : 2011

btw : the Corrib story goes way back to 1959… Lemass and sale of natural resources exploration lease for £500
    http://dublinopinion.com/2010/09/10/irish-times-1974-saga-of-gas-oil-lease-sold-by-state-in-1959-for-500

The Elephant in the room?
    Arthur Cox? (as was involved in this and now NAMA)

• Kav Kay 01/03/11 #

http://www.youtube.com/user/madamk#p/a/u/2/71-tI2iv7ZQ
    “Irelands 42 billionn+ euro givaway-A Day resisting Solitaire”.
    300 Irish Garda, 3 Irish Navy , one Irish airforce helicopter, hunderds of IRMS security guards, a couple of English undercover Cop`s!
    All used to facilitate Shell`s piplaying ship the Solitaire.to gain access to mulitbillions of Irish resourses .Three small fishing boats stood their way, 3rd generation fishermen with licence to fish.
    Shell will recieve 100 per cent of the resourses in a deal struck behind closed doors by corupt politician Ray Burke.An act of ecconomic Treason.

• btw: please check out http://www.tarasaga.com … it’s a doc i have been making since 2007… it has crippled me somewhat because it close many doors on me.. was advised to “drop it” by the establishment.. the project has a lot to say about protest in ireland.. and apathy.
    will be crowdfunding it soon… i need help with it.. it will pull no punches..

• c

• http://www.minterellison.com/public/connect/Internet/Home/Legal%2BInsights/Newsletters/Previous%2BNewsletters/A-ERU3%2Bmining%2Broyalties%2Boverview/

Stop giving away all of our matural minerals and wealth – this is a crime against the Irish People – and a disgrace
    and the people responsible ought to be in jail – this is getting your pants oulled down without a pleasurable outcome

• Have ye thought about all the local jobs that it’s brought to the area? And what it has done for Belmullet with things like a new football pitch, improvements to the town etc.

• You’re so right, we should climb out of this depression using our skills in servitude and just be grateful for whatever we’re given.

• Sean as I see you are the type of citizen that has passively contributed to the issues in our political system. Your outlook, unfortunately is indicative of a national outlook on politics. As you have shown, your view is very narrow concerning matters of national importance because if you were to take things into consideration, if the Oil fields of Corrib were in Irish control the local employment in Belmullet would still exist and you would still have your football pitch! But along with these trinkets ‘we’ would be capable of ceasing our dependance on over priced Arabian Oil to fuel our manufacturing industry, thus boosting our exports and in turn improving our competitiveness, reducing our overall manufacturing costs resulting in an influx of international investment. Also if ‘we’ had the asset of the oil fields ‘we’ would have been able to offset our losses from over dependence on the housing Market and have prevented the loss of our sovereign control to the EU/IMF. So if I had to decide between the shareholders of a giant faceless oil corporation or the citizens of this country receiving the hundreds of millions of euros of profits, I think I would like to see it with the people. Also when you are paying your ESB and Gas bill Sean, just remember, if ‘we’ had corrib you would be paying approx a third of what you currently are, instead of paying a small fortune every 2 months for energy produced from the likes of the burning of coal shipped half way across the world from Jamaica. I hope you enjoy the pitch!

• I’d take 600 billion over a football pitch.

• oh dear oh dear..

• Yes Sean.

But that is only a bit of Chicken feed compared to what Shell are taking out of our country and Economy.

They did not have to have local decent Men and Women and their families beaten like animals.

We have are own expertise and exploration companies these days.

We have the ability to tap these resources for ourselves in a decent humane way.

The Shells and Statoils of the world are staffed by Irish people and will be increasing their Irish staff with more Irish immigrants thanks to soft people like Pat Carey.

• Lot of posters here referring to the film the pipe as if it’s gospel, nice film but it’s about as far from neutral as ff are from government

• @Simon
      neutral? i don’t think the film claims to be… besides… politicians would be unwilling to take part in a film project such as this, if that is what you mean by ‘gospel’ (which i assume you is your view of “balance”) … and nor would people who supported the Corrib Gas Project…
      do you think the media coverage of this (and other campaigns over the past several years) has been neutral?

——————-

i just spotted this on indymedia via facebook…. enter a competition from Statoil & New Scientist Magazine
      All you have to do to enter, is to tell Statoil ‘which engineering project you think will have the greatest impact on human life in the next 30 years, and why,’ in no more than 100 words.
      win a trip to the Artic where you could be “taking a trip in a helicopter to the 472-metre-high Troll gas platform. Troll is the tallest structure ever to be built and moved, and one of the largest, most complex engineering projects in history.”

so the idea being… be a troll of sort with entries stating that Corrib will have the “greatest impact on human life in the next 30 years” !!!

of course your entries probably won’t last too long on the site.. but hey.. it’s a protest… and you can do it from your keyboard without ever having to visit north east Mayo!

see here..
      http://www.indymedia.ie/article/99121

and here
      http://www.newscientist.com/engineeringgreats/

:)

go on go on go on!!

• Simon… Shell refused to take part in the film…. because they were not allowed to edit it….!!!!!! They were asked to take part…..

• I’m certainly not going to defend how this decision was taken but FFS, there’s about 2,000 jobs in this, Shell have gone through all the proper legal procedures for permission, the figures tossed around by the opposition (like E540 Bil in Corrib) are absolute nonsense, and seem to be based on a lack of knowledge about how natural gas markets actually work. This is all in addition to the fact that anyone who has worked on, or stood up for the pipe has been subjected to character assassination and in some places actual threats. Cop on folks.

• Cop on Daragh, people are well aware of how the markets work, and do you really think shell would take over the corrib fields if they did not believe the venture would be profitable? And you talk about the 2,000 jobs, believe me now that once shell have sucked Corrib dry, every one of those people will be back on the dole queue with everyone else. If ‘we’ were to sustainably use corrib for national consumption ‘we’ would benefit considerably with a cheap relatively clean resource that could sustain those 2,000 jobs for much longer than shell intend. You are easily swayed by media reports that discredit alternative, well founded study.

• And to add when you talk about people standing up for the pipeline suffering attack, I think you will see that this occurred on both sides. As you would expect when people on the Pro side having an invested interest and alternatively on the Anti side.

• @ Daragh you obviously have not got all the correct information, don’t know how you can say E540 Billion is nonsense…….did you not see The Pipe the Film….. also look up Shell to sea and also You Tube how Shell treated the people of Nigeria when they protested to a pipe being laid on their land, they killed them, in Ireland if they could they would instead they had them Jailed……….I think it is you that needs to cop on…….

• No I didn’t see the film. I saw reports saying that a) at the very upper most estimate there may be 1TCM of Natural Gas in TOTAL in Irish territorial waters and b) that the actual CORRIB field that Shell has the rights to accounts for a small fraction of this c) none of this is actually proven – there is a major financial risk in exploring a field that, whatever else you might say Shell has taken on. 90% of the ‘facts’ used by the anti-side are simply wrong.

Finally, people DON’T seem to know how markets work or they’d all realise that E540 Billion is a nonsense figure. The gas is worth precisely how much the person at the other end of the pipe will pay for it. It can’t be stored, it can’t be shipped further afield. Since Ireland is the only realistic customer (unless you can build a pipeline to the continent) its not worth anywhere NEAR that amount.

And the media have jumped up and down against the whole project, especially Fintan O’Toole (who I otherwise admire.)

• Daragh
      You say the people who ”stood up for the pipe has been subjected to character assassination and in some places actual threats”

Daragh what about the threats to the decent local men and womens safety when they were dragged around the road,beaten with sticks,thrown into drains,attacked with excavators,wrongly thrown in jail, their land trespassed upon,etc etc

Where was Pat Carey then? Having his make up done with Bertie for €454 a throw?

And where was our state funded national broadcaster? Reporting on a corruption story at the other end of the World somewhere?
      They could have saved us their travelling expenses by sending a couple of reporters and cameramen down here to cover this Grab?

Add New Comment