TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Central Bank Governor backs Fiscal Compact Treaty

Patrick Honohan has argued in favour of ratifying the Fiscal Compact Treaty – saying signing up was the “safer alternative” for Ireland.

Image: PA

THE CENTRAL BANK Governor has this evening argued in favour of ratifying the Fiscal Compact Treaty, saying signing up was the “safer alternative” for Ireland.

While acknowledging that fiscal policy would be tighter under the treaty than in the original Stability and Growth Pact, Patrick Honohan said the treaty’s rules offered “considerable discretion and judgement” which would offer flexibility.

Addressing the Annual Meeting of the Irish Economic Association in Dublin tonight, Honohan stressed that European cooperation “must emphasise a growth and employment focus which, if successful, could have the effect of dissolving debt and deficit problems faster than anything else”.

He said he believed that the Government had done the right thing in its support of the treaty, saying that do otherwise would be ”turn our back on a framework of European cooperation at the heart of  what has been  – despite the recent reversals – Ireland’s very considerable economic progress over the past four decades”.

Read: Honohan’s speech in full>

Read: The Oireachtas’ briefing note on the Fiscal Compact Treaty>

Read next:

Comments (88 Comments)

• The purpose of the “Fixall Tampax” is to save the Eusless zone and its monopoly currency yes? So how does it do that? By basically imposing restrictions on all european economies similar to those in Germany. Now, how many economies in the Eusless zone actually bear a shred of resemblance to the German one? None. And if Italy or Spain go belly up how will the “Fixall Tampax” help them? So WHAT IS THE POINT OF THIS TREATY IN THE FIRST PLACE!

• “” The Central Bank Governor has this evening argued in favour of ratifying the Fiscal Compact Treaty, saying signing up was the “safer alternative” for Ireland.”"

Well, he WOULD say that, wouldn’t he.

“European leaders seem determined to drive their economy – and their society off a cliff. And the whole world will pay the price.” – Paul Krugman, Nobel Prize Economist, Irish Times, April 17, 2012

• I think the Treaty will ensure that future Irish governments will live within their means. This alone is a good reason to vote YES. A YES vote will also bring a little more certainty to a very uncertain situation. We are a small open economy on the edge of Europe, we simply can’t afford to turn our backs on the EU and the Euro – reality check!!!

• Eh, David, its being widely acknowledged that had the treaty been in place ten years ago it would not have prevented our crisis. Our crisis was caused by the banks, not soverign spending.

• We don’t have a history of living outside our means and any confident and reputable government should be ensuring we live within our means while balancing that with infrastructure investment. Do we really need the Germans enforcing this upon us or do we have the cop on ourselves to govern our own country? The rest of your argument is back to default Yes mode – scaremongering and telling us why not to vote No! So I’ll ask again, give me one GOOD SENSIBLE reason why to vote Yes?

• here’s another reality check

“Ireland’s general government debt for last year was €169.2 billion, or 105.1% of
      its GDP (€161bn). The debt is expected to peak at around 125% of GDP in the next
      couple of years before we start chipping away at it again. If GDP was to remain flat –
      although, naturally, we all hope it won’t – Ireland
      would need to knock €8 BILLION off its debt EVERY YEAR for EIGHT YEARS before it got
      debt back to 60% of GDP (€96bn).”
      Gavin Reilly

And David,
      that’s without any argument about the loss in the quality of democracy.

• We obviously don’t have the cop to govern our own economy – shame to say it but true – we have failed. The Troika in charge are evidence of that fact.

• That’s lame david, very limp.

• So because of one bunch of economic illiterate morons and crooks we sign away our sovereignty and the future of our children on the whim of one of the countries who were responsible for the biggest ever genocide visited upon planet earth. They’re the guys we should trust over ourselves is it? They’ll care about our children and sick and poor and old will they?

• Reg 26/04/12 #

Too Trueleft – our crisis was cuased by exessive public spending and the banks. Bertie doubled public spend over ten years with taxation from unsustainable sources ie, taxes from the construction sector borrowed from the banks.

• Our future is in Europe not outside it. We need them more than they will ever need us. Sure we can go it alone but that will mean us returning to the dark ages – I ain’t going there!! One way ticket out of here.

• @ Reg. Government spending was not the problem, it only became a problem when the tax take collapsed due to a reliance on transactional taxes. Now, I agree that a Keynesian model was the way to go and I am the first to lambaste FF for its stupdity, but the simple fact was we did not breach the soverign limits that will be contained in this treaty prior to the crash.

• Let’s not forget also that after the destruction and carnage the Germans wreaked upon Europe, they weren’t crying out for prudence when they were going cap in hand to London to re build their economy and country. A mere 50 years on they have forgotten alot and got very self righteous indeed. And here we have Irish mugs falling for it again, same ole washed out lines about jobs and investment that never come to fruition, merely make it handier for the Germans, for us to wire them our taxes to bail out their banking system, while ensuring we are starved of investing back into our own country. Ya, real sensible lads. Anyone who votes YES should be drawn up for treason!

• @David Who is talking about leaving the Euro? Will you stop the presumptions and scaremongering and give me a reason why to vote YES!

• Reg 26/04/12 #

Too Trueleft – it is true that the tax base was/is a huge problem. However the fact that public spending doubled between 1997 and 2007 cannot be ignored. Bertie was a great man for solving problems by throwing money at them. He was a disaster.

• Have a look at this , it is long , but well worth the view. He is a German doctor condemning his countrymen and need for controlling Europe. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6GZlKxrmdyA

• Fagan's 26/04/12 #

David. What this treaty means is that borrowing to invest is no longer an option, that borrowing to offset a decline is no longer an option. Infrastructure projects are going to disappear all over the continent.

This treaty is an attempt to go against all business acumen, all international experience, all logic.

If they implement it, and act on it, then this crisis will reach new depths.

• Fagan's 26/04/12 #

David. The party that is going to be the leading plank of the next Dutch Govt. are utterly opposed to this treaty. So are you saying that the Durch are going to leave the Euro.

If being against this loolah treaty means leaving the Euro, then the currency is going to loose several key members in next year.

• In fairness david Whelan has never heard of the Maastricht treaty and what Ireland signed up for under it. That was twenty odd years ago maybe david should read up about that before talking about nations living beyond their means.

• No ! No! No! We the citizens of the Irish republic are not responsible for the debts of banksters and fraudsters

• Well what else would you expect, on the day the Troika were happy and not a word about the poor idiots that are paying the bill

• If a Yes vote is successful then there is more taxes and austerity being lined up for ever. Enda and his cronies will crucify us. So a big fat NO from me.

• I just watched the prime time debate on it, between FFg and SF … If that is FFgs best effort at trying to convince all those undecideds out there, then they are screwed. There is no way in hell that one of those undecideds tonight would be swayed to vote Yes, given the arguments that SF put across. FFg couldnt respond with one positive aspect to the treaty. And i wasnt aware that if we voted No, then we could force a renegotiation of the treaty… yehawwww, i have a feeling that once we vote No, we will get the debt write down on the banking debt fairly quickly after it.

• Fagan's 26/04/12 #

I’m voting No but even I wanted to call up FG HQ and tell them not to send frigging Pascal out, woeful presentation, delivery and content. It’s like he doesn’t even believe it himself, same with Varad on VB last night, he doesn’t beleive the treaty is good for us either. Half-hearted,limp wristed sale of it.

• Fagen’s he doesn’t believe it but he does parrot pretty good in fairness.

• The only way we will get debt forgiveness is to do what the Greeks did.

Enda picks up phone:
      “eh, hello ECB, we won’t pay and we have no choice but to go back to the punt”

*you have 2,345 missed calls and 2,000 voice mails from the ECB*

• So the central bank guy is voting with the recommendation of the government thats going to keep handing our taxes through zombie bank anglo to the central bank.

Wow, I’m stunned I tells ya….

• Are the government calling in favours here or something. There seems new people coming out in favour of this thing every day. Stay classy ireland. Vote no.

• Diarmaid I am completely convinced by the no Argument. However you do us all no favours with your clearly racist comments.

• Orla, my comments are not racist. They are facts, stop being so PC about one of the biggest events that ever happened. We hold abuse that happened 50 years ago against the church, which I totally agree with by the way, why not a World War when we are being lectured on prudence by a country that not too long ago had a few caps and hands of their own?

• Fagan's 26/04/12 #

Orla. How the hell is that racist??

Germany has had the 2 biggest defaults of the last century. It received the biggest aid package on record.

If America did not bail out, write off German debt after the war, give them a massive aid package, then Germany would have starved. England would have collapsed as well but for write offs and aid.

• Agree with Orla your posting racist stuff otherwise you might know that it was not just Germany who put us were we are.

• If my comments are racist I invite the journal to judge and remove IF they see fit. How it’s racist to highlight the fact that the Germans had to beg, borrow and steal, after a world war they were at the centre of, to re build their own country, is beyond me! Another case of racism card being used a bit heavily. Didn’t realise highlighting facts that show a flaw and a deep hypocrisy in a particular countries argument for the introduction of a backwards law, that they are pushing, that negates any sovereignty we have was racist to be honest?

• How in the name of good God can you invest and grow an economy with no investment or borrowing! I am sick of Tony Foley, The IFA and some unions joining the economic illiterate voices of the government thinking this is the best thing since the sliced pan. While I don’t know Tony Foleys motives, The IFA don’t care if we all starve as long as they can sell their beef burgers to McDonalds in Berlin using the euro and the unions don’t care as long as they can have assurance that the gravy train is not going to shudder to a halt! It sickens me hearing these morons telling us this treaty is in Irelands interest when clearly it’s not!!!

• Kenny and Gilmore will pay with their jobs for this treaty, if it is passed. The additional cuts that it will bring in are going to be mean a very harsh budget in 2013 and on.

• @diarmuid … U didn’t read my answer we will get out current expenditure deficit under control and move to a balanced budget but we still have the 150+ billion deficit to service so that’s why we have to continue going to the bond markets

• @ fagans
      Very true but we will have these traitors in their jobs for a few more years before we get a chance to oust them.

Imagine the damage they will have done before their tenure is up

• Was patrick honohan an advisor to Garret Fitzgerald in the 80 s?

• To Diarmuid you clearly don’t know how the capital markets work, yes we will be able to borrow money on them in the future to pay for infrastructural projects, the problem that is stopping us borrowing on the markets at the moment isn’t that our debt to GDP level is soo high that it is unsustainable (for instance post ww2 US debt to GDP or the current Japanese ratio are much higher and they could both borrow relatively cheaply from the markets). The problem is a lack of faith from the markets that we will continue to try to reduce this deficit over time. Realistically the treaty wont effect us greatly as we had generally met the deficit to GDP target of 3%, as outlined in the Maastricht Treaty, up until the bank guarantee and if we wish to reduce our debt in relation to GDP we need to get back down to this level. Rather the main aim of the treaty is to stop countries such as Greece and Italy from using below valuation cross currency swaps and other financial derivatives to hide their deficits from Eurostat as they did pre2008.

• Kieran, I’ll try to look past the smugness and arrogance of your post and re direct you to the relevance of your post? The treaty has nothing to do with capital markets. It has to do with the legality of our country borrowing beyond certain levels. Spend less time on smugness and more time on addressing the actual treaty please.

• Do not follow machine men with machine hearts!!

• The only way for this country to get to the target GDP% is through growth, we have absolutely no chance of reaching the target, this treaty is a load of nonsense, our current governments plan is failing badly, there is no little to no growth in our economy and going by the guidelines from this treaty the situation will be staying the same for a long long time… I’ll be voting no…

• Barry 27/04/12 #

Outside of your voting position there is austerity either which way neither side can say things will be good just less bad, ideally referendum should be delayed and our government should support a growth protocol to be introduced. Then we should vote there are too mant unknowns at the moment with the whole french elections and other issues.
    Just to point out that some said the parliament was wrong earlier in fact this treaty essentially ignores the parliament it is the European courts have the decision making body. If anything we should be strengthening the European parliament and giving it more power it’s the only direct democratic institution over there

• @diarmuid I think you will find the treaty has everything to do with the capital markets, what the treaty is is an attempt to make the deficit to GDP target of 3% and the debt to GDP target of 60% (that we already agreed to in the Maastricht treaty) legally binding so that regardless of what government is elected they cant bring down the whole monetary union. Perhaps you should actually read what is in the treaty before calling me arrogant…

• @ Kieran, would you lend money to a country that pours it into zombie banks with no chance of a return? No? Neither will the markets, that’s why we are dealing with the troika
      The monetary union is on the brink even after Maastricht. Austerity is not working, our growth figures are being cut again, The fiscal compact will not solve any of our problems. Once growth is achieved and stability returns to all of Europe’s markets, then it’s time to bring in budget controls. To do so now is like wearing a straight jacket while drowning

• Point me to the line that speaks about the capital markets so Kieran. The treaty indirectly may have to do with the capital markets but certainly not directly. It’s disingenuous to suggest otherwise. Your point still is wrong. There is no direct reference to the markets in the treaty. Indirectly there is a correlation but thats about the size of it?

• Patrick Honohan
    You disappoint me . What has happened that you are changing your tune ?

• Ah to vote yes or no that is the question.

We all need to be very careful about this referendum. Put aside your affiliation to any party or country for that matter. Look at what is being proposed objectively and how it is being proposed.

The Fiscal Compact is a treaty outside of the EU for a very good reason, it would never be ratified if it was put to every nation in the EU. This treaty is a botched attempt to plug a hole in a dam that is already nothing but rubble. Not only is it not sustainable the targets there in are impossible to meet never mind maintain. Even if it is implemented countries cannot and will not be able to adhere to it. Power house economies like England and the Netherlands have turned their back to it. Other nations will follow, given the chance those countries who are supporting it would find their people also voting no.

It is il conceived and poorly promoted. Instead our government is relying on our electorate to split down the middle as usual. Not because of their educated decision but because of the social divide we inherently have based on popular party politics. Already a No vote is seen as support for SF that’s all they need to do to sway the undecided.

Use your heads Ireland not your hearts. Vote whatever way you want based on facts not on what your biased and corrupt government are insisting you do.

• Another self-righteous brother proclaiming the true path! Lol……….. but then they’ve no other way to go! Look into my eyes, look into my eyes……… oh dear. In my despair all I’ve left is the hope this shambles continues accelerating to the awaiting fan.

• It’s inevitable we’ll have to leave the Euro. Drop out, devalue, and drag ourselves up. Get those irish money deposits back from German banks and get it moving around the Irish economy.

• Anyone who votes yes hasn’t a clue and is truelly feickless,

I don’t want European parliament running our financial life anymore, do you? Pulling our politicians like puppets and bullying our nation,
    taxing the hole out of us

We look like a disgrace to other nations, well the weakest, most feeble country in Europe.
    we are great citizens at paying back money that individually, we don’t have any ties too,
    Lastly to finish my rant.

Dear Michael Flynn

Will you please pay back the three billion euro that you borrowed and stop entering horses you can’t afford in punches town, with top jockeys, e.g ruby walsh so I can help my family pay for the household/water/septic charge

Thanks
    Tom

• the governor would say that wouldn’t he !!!!! grossly overpaid bean counter ,. as an aside just watching Vincent browne the labour party man on the programme was a disgrace, he wouldn’t or couldn’t answer a question he just was sitting smirking all the time, bring on the election soon as possible

• I like Honohan – remember he was the guy who told us the truth about the IMF coming here, respect. Glad he has come out to support the YES vote. The big guns are lining up in favour – on balance.

• Give me one argument in favour of the treaty without scaremongering please David or without referring to a 2nd bailout? The yes side can give plenty reasons why not to vote NO but haven’t got one reason to Vote YES!

• Don’t forget David like you, he only has one vote.

• A reason why I think voting yes is good is that in the future when we try return to the bond markets the ESM gives potential investors security knowing that their sovereign debt investment is 100% safe

As well if other peripheral states are members of the agreement they would be more attractive from a debt auction point of view ( because of the access to the ESM as security)

• You do realise that we won’t be going to the bond markets because we won’t be borrowing for infrastructure investment cause of the straight jacket this treaty will have us in yes? So your argument is deeply flawed! We won’t be borrowing anymore cause we will be living within our means but we also won’t be borrowing to invest because of this treaty. So why then will we be going to the bond markets tell me?

• @ Jay. The potential investors money is only as safe as the Euro itself, which will remain on life support until the debt problem is taken care of. This treaty does nothing to allieviate the main cause of instability.

The ESM will solve nothing. Eurobonds might, but it would take the spirit of solidarity the EU was founded on to make it happen. Merkosy and the ECB could solve this tomorrow. Instead there putting 10 million europeans through the grinder.

This vote will give them even more powers to punish us, the people who saved their banks.

• And safer for whom ??
      and as for the caption on enda with the posters
      Now that I have all the granny’s , jobseekers and higher paid civil servants frightened half to death , this should really get what I want !

• @Diarmid,
      there we have it Diarmid..plain old racism

• @ David Whelan
      The Maastricht treaty (1992) required nations to keep to a 3% deficit,
      It also required a debt to GDP ratio of no more than 60%…treaties might sound good to right wing law & order merchants but in reality there are too many different economies for the Euro to work. What’s good for Germany might not be so for the PIIGS

• Hahaha, good laugh that david,
      you call them “The big guns”!!
      I call dem same shower of gits “Big Snouts”
      who have a personal investment in the outcome of this.
      You really thing they will get hurt financially by a yes vote??
      Not on your nellie.
      It’ll be us, the scum, who they will be tightenin the screws on,
      certainly not them.
      Hope ya like havin ur financial nuts in a vice,
      for years, relentless, grinding,
      and if a yes vote, it’ll be by consent.
      F*cking unbelievable!!!!!!!!!!!!

• @Madeline Don’t dare accuse me of racism when I am merely highlighting a FACT that 50 years ago when Germany was in the toilet it wasn’t crying out for laws on prudence! That’s a FACT, if you have a problem with that, I suggest growing a thicker skin and not using inflammatory language to discredit someone!

• random 26/04/12 #

No investment will ever be 100% safe, it doesn’t matter how many treaties we sign or what they say.

• Fagan's 26/04/12 #

Pity that the tide of leadership in several European countries to date is moving away from the treaty. Holland, France and Spain, with Italy giving some grumblings.

The treaty was dead before it left the negotiating room. Pure stage politics for Sarkozy and Merkel’s election bids.

• @diarmuid we don’t just go to bond markets for money for infrastructure over the next few years well still have a budgetary deficit which we will have to borrow for and when we finally reach the .5% target we still have our current debts to service… So paying off maturing 10/9/3 year bonds etc

• @jay But by the time we have availed of and exited the 2nd bailout, the bailout we need so much according to the yes side, the same side who said we weren’t going to need it until it suited them to say we did need it, we will have no deficit according to the treaty so why then will we need the bond markets again tell me?

• Dave 26/04/12 #

The “Big guns” caused the mess in the first place.

• Shut up

• Because he has to.

• Dave 27/04/12 #

It may be a case that the govt want us to vote No. They may have to be seen to push for a Yes to keep Merkel happy. Nothing would surprise me.

• Where’s Jimbo? He’s usually here about this time to remind us that no matter what the experts say he’s still voting No :)

• Keep your hair on diarmaid, your worse than the shinners at this stage, and im not being smug.

• How has this clown managed to keep his job?

• For over 4k a week I might be tempted to do what Mr Central Bankster did LIE!! Voting NO!!

• @diarmuid and caroline, as i have discussed above the entire treaty relates to sovereign debt financing, other than the capital markets the only other means for a country to fund itself is through the IMF which succeeds economic sovereignty. Therefore it is in our interest to get back to the markets as soon as possible so as to regain our independence. The aim of the fiscal treaty is to give investors confidence in our ability to pay back this debt. And with regards to Caroline’s question no I wouldn’t lend to a country that guaranteed Anglo, we lost all of our international credibility in doing so, thus we must do everything in our power to reassure investors we will pay our debts and the treaty is the only method available to do that.

• MVM 26/04/12 #

its going to be a no vote all round myself included and its just out of spite for fine traitor Gael..we should be voting yes tho

• Vote Yes

Add New Comment