TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Cost of government borrowing reaches lowest level since bailout

Interest on a 9-year Irish bond – the benchmark bond currently in circulation – has fallen below 5 per cent.

Image: Remy de la Mauviniere/AP

THE INTEREST RATE that the Irish government would be asked to pay for long-term loans has fallen to its lowest level since Ireland entered its EU-IMF bailout.

The ‘yield’ (or interest rate) on Irish nine-year bonds being traded on the second-hand markets has this morning fallen to below 5 per cent – its lowest since September 2010.

That month was the last time before the bailout that Ireland issued a new batch of long-term loans – when it paid investors an average interest rate of 4.7 per cent in exchange for €1.5 billion in ten-year loans.

The cost of shorter-term loans has also fallen: a two-year loan to Ireland has fallen below 2 per cent, having stood at over 10 per cent last November.

Ireland hopes to be able to re-enter the bond markets on a full-time basis early next year, before the last of the €67.5 billion loan fund from the EU and IMF is exhausted.

Read: Everything you wanted to know about the bond markets but were too afraid to ask

Read next:

Comments (25 Comments)

• The key issue is now a European wide, effective stimulus package to perpetuate domestic growth and maintain the downward trend in bond yield prices.

• Ideally it would be an infrastructure stimulus. Roads, rail, schools and hospitals are priority here. More people back to work in (sustainable) construction and related fields = more disposable income = more tax take = more jobs, etc. plus something useful to show for it.

Unfortunately we can’t stop bickering for long enough to decide what to build and where!

• So still printing new money back by neither Gold or Silver and charged with interest that doesnt exist.
      I get it now.

• Are these lenders mad*? Ireland has gone from 26% debt/GDP to 160%, the politicians won’t touch pay and pensions under CPA, we already have €1.5bn deficit in the state pension fund (which capitalises at a figure over €300bn by 2050), domestic growth has tanked and even after four years of “austerity” the McCarthy report gathers dust, there has been no social welfare reform and we continue to nationalise private banking debt (*perhaps they have been convinced the Irish people will take all cuts to ensure we never default).

• Get rid of the banking debt. Nothing will work unless some sort a deal is done on this. This is unbearable on our nation.

• After listening to Stephen Donnelly yesterday on Newstalk, I am no longer getting happy about this kind of news. It’s all nonsense. Fact is someone ain’t getting their money back and if our debt keeps going the way it is we will be paying €10 billion per annum just to service our debt! A monkey in Dublin Zoo would know that is not going to be achievable!

• The other major issue is that none of this seems to be having any impact on the banks doing normal, non-risky lending. I’m not talking about a return to the days of free and easy credit and lashing money into property loans that never made any sense. Rather, just normal, healthy, risk-managed, properly assessed lending that goes on in any functioning free-market economy.

Various surveys, including the World Economic Forum’s Global Competitiveness Index all point at a serious problem with perfectly viable businesses being unable to access normal credit lines.

Until that situation is resolved, unemployment rates will remain sky-high as healthy, non-bubble industry firms are afraid to hire as they cannot commit to anything and small businesses cannot grow or invest in new products/services.

A lack of normal consumer credit will also keep the economy in a depressed state.

It’s a ‘Catch 22′ situation. If the banks retreat into some kind of ultra-conservative lending model they will stifle the economy and result in yet more loan defaults, resulting in the banks being in a worse position and being even more unable to lend and dependent on state/EU help.

Something has to change.

The next step I would like to see is the Eurozone market being opened to allow successfully run banks, that were not impacted upon by reckless lending, gain more market share right across the entire bloc. It makes no sense to starve healthy business and normal consumers of normal lines of credit because a group of banks in their particular state behaved idiotically in the past. It also makes no sense to prevent healthy institutions in other Eurozone countries from going in and taking taking profitable business.

Either we’re a single market, or we’re not!

• Still a huge amount of interest to repay……..

• Well done to the Government on restoring Ireland’s credibility as a responsible borrower.

• How can anyone say that reducing our borrowing costs is not great news. Is it that the ranters will have nothing left to rant about? Let the Government continue to try to deal with that separate issue and see what they come up with. Mind you , if they get a solution then the only rant left will be how badly they did, failed to negotiate better, caved in etc. Give over.

• Typical response. Just listen to Stephen Donnelly and the facts of the situation as he expressed on Newstalk yesterday on the start of moncrieff. Listen to what his friend in the IMF said perhaps, then come back to me ok?

• This is Journal.ie
      The normal rules do not apply here. This is a world where black is white, the sun rises in the west and most important of all, no cloud has a silver lining

• Fair enough lads, ye know best, debt 160% to GDP will be fantastic and paying €10billion a year in debt will be a drop in the ocean. Don’t ever let facts get in the way of a good ole positive pr BS spin session!

• Diarmuid
      That is not what the article was about.
      The article spoke about how the interest rate being charged on Irish bonds had come down again. Good news.
      We all know that there are still huge challenges ahead but this a small step in the right direction & I for one will celebrate tonight with a bottle of red from Lidl tonight.
      If you choose to weep into your beer that is your affair.

• Really, you’ll have wine for this? God you must have some craic on your birthday! It’s all interlinked, suggesting otherwise is beyond daft! No weeping, just reality!

• Any excuse for a bottle in chez Gillespie!!
      We might even have another on the strength of all those job announcements
      As for reality, way overrated, especially your version of it
      “Jimmy’s winning matches”

Add New Comment