TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

DDDA fiasco shows ‘murky relationship between FF, developers and Anglo’ – TD

Mary Lou McDonald has said that the Irish taxpayer is again being made to foot the bill for the debacle at the Dublin Docklands Development Authority.

Mary Lou McDonald
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

THE SINN FÉIN TD Mary Lou McDonald has said that for many people the debacle at the Dublin Docklands Development Authority (DDDA) “epitomises the worst excesses of the murky relationship between Fianna Fáil, property developers and Anglo Irish Bank”.

She was speaking in the aftermath of the Comptroller and Auditor General’s damning report into the affairs of the DDDA, its purchase of the Irish Glass Bottle Factory site for a total of €431 million and the decision to wind it down, made by the Environment Minister Phil Hogan last week.

“The winding down of the Dublin Docklands Development Authority (DDDA) over the next eighteen months is good news,” McDonald said in a statement today as she urged Hogan to work closely with Dublin City Council to ensure its operations are transferred smoothly.

As a member of the Dáil’s Public Accounts Committee, she said that those involved with the authority, including senior figures from Anglo Irish Bank such as former chief executive Seán FitzPatrick and director Lar Bradshaw, should be compelled to come before the committee.

She said: “Hearings must take place and witnesses must be compelled to attend. Former board members, the Minister who appointed them and senior civil servants who sat on the DDDA board must be brought before the Committee to explain their actions.

The chairman of the committee Fianna Fáil’s John McGuinness has already indicated that this may happen with former cabinet ministers including Dick Roche also likely to be requested to appear before the committee.

The C&AG’s report detailed how ministerial approval had only been granted for the authority to participate in a bid of around €220 million for the Glass Bottle site with no evidence that the eventual amount paid was cleared with any of the appropriate government departments.

The site in Ringsend is now part of the National Asset Management Agency’s (NAMA) portfolio and was valued at just €45 million in January of last year.

McDonald added that the debacle at the DDDA was another instance of the taxpayer being made to foot the bill with the bank that provided it loans, Anglo Irish Bank, having since been taken into state-ownership and gradually wound up.

She added: “For many the DDDA epitomises the worst excesses of the murky relationship between Fianna Fáil, property developers and Anglo Irish Bank. Yet again the public purse will be left to pick up the tab.”

Read: FitzPatrick, Bradshaw and ministers could be forced to address TDs on Docklands debacle

Read: Dublin Docklands Development Authority to be wound up, says Hogan

Read: C&AG report questions decisions made by DDDA in bid for Glass Bottle site

Read next:

Comments (38 Comments)

• Accountability is key, those who have corrupted the system , should be doing time for their crimes, for example, Sean Fitzpatrick & Brian Cowan were in cahoots, colluding, a togetherness which should never have happened, hence the anglo collapse which is now costing the Irish taxpayer billions . Accountability should be thrust into the faces of these two men, the Public should be on their feet demanding justice !

• of course poor old Mary-Lou forgot about SF’s very own dodgy developer Thomas McFeely, whose fine work on such projects such as Priory Hall the tax payer has also been left picking up the tab for……

• @ DisgruntledCitizen & SlapstickIreland

Accountability is not a word that is in their dictionaries! Not only those two should be held accountable, there are many in there, Lowry, Cowan, Fitzpatrick, Harney, Aherne, many many more, yes, also McFeely. Drag him back from the UK, freeze his accounts. Architects, council managers around the country that were short of honesty and accountability.

• Until people realise that every party is as corrupt as each other nothing will change, we need to rewrite our whole political system so that it works to serve the people, the way it’s supposed to be. There is no honesty in politicians anymore.

@Sheila
      It would take a huge chunk out of our debt if everyone was held accountable and paid for all their crimes over the last decade or so.

• we need to rewrite our whole political system so that it works to serve the people, the way it’s supposed to be.

How would you propose to do that? Look what happened to George Lee – pulverised by Enda and Noonan.

• Sheila you are only reaching the tip of the corruption in this country ,all that you have mentioned have an army of people to protect them such as the judiciary the media senior civil servants accountants political parties auctioneers foot soldiers on the ground ,people of ireland we have a mafia at work in this country and anybody trying to defend this is part of the mob.

• Look at the relationship between the guy who built Priory Hall & Sinn Féin… People with glass house there Mary Lou…

• Will Mary Lou apply the same standards to her own party plenty of Murky relationships there ..

• We would not have needed this Fiscal Treaty if we put the people who overseen the robbery of our nation into prison plain and simple…..jail the lot of them and you won’t have this happening again…instead we have corrupt officials walking free our nation has been sold out to the lowest bidder , we have lost control of our country with this Fiscal Fantasy , next our water will be sold to a private company , forests….etc……if people really knew what happened to this country during the boom then prison for these people would be the safest place…..just waiting for foreign troops in our great country and believe me it is going to happen whether Ireland likes it or not…..really sad time is this country’s history and it will not be forgotten.

• think mary lou brings alot of things that are being swept under the carpet to the front, still dont matter, how many years and not one banker in prison, i am glad someone has the guts to get up and talk, as ff, fg and labour are now one, anyone of them is as good as the other, just lining their own pockets, they are stealing every day with over payments, over exagerating their expenses, phones, travel, dry cleaning and i can say one thing sf are only taking a wage, that is amazing for politicians, never met an honest one, as its a hereditory crime to be a politician, they only know their daddys stole so ,, its a generation thing, mary lou and doherty are the only ones talking sense for the last few years, and dont put me down but i did vote fg,,, sorry,,, never realised enda and noonan, with their sidekick gilmore could try communism,,, well we sold our soverignity , and have no chance of ever getting that back, but guess we never had it that long so its something not worth worrying over,, shame my grand dads name on monument for nothing, fight for what to give it away,, and they still wont do anything, we dont really have a government, just a bunch of fools talking the talk, but doing nothing for the criminals that put us here

• ah Janice Battersby, er I mean Mary Lou is trying to pretend she doesn’t know Thomas McFeely like his other SF/ IRA associates

• Is she ever away from the microphones? She was on RTÉ all day Friday, then The Week in Politics last night. Anyone would think she’s building up her profile so she can launch a heave against Gerry Adams…

• I don’t think Gerry wants to leave, it could split the party up?

• It’s funny how you ignore the content of what she said. Attacking her just because she’s SF?

• @ Holemaster: No I actually agree with much of what she says in this case. I’m just wondering at her high level of media exposure.

• Why Ryan ?
      She is a public representative .

• She is in a political party and a growing one at that…..what is wrong with that ? I mean the other parties are hardly angels that can do no wrong….also Sinn Fein are the only opposition party because FF and FG are just one cabal nowadays…..you have just described with your comments this new mentality that seems to go after Sinn Fein for being a political party…..pretty sad really because we are supposed to live in a democracy , well that is what they say anyway.

• Maybe they can’t find anyone else to make these obvious comments? Did you ever think of that Ryan?

Next question would be: so why can’t they find anyone from FG/Labor etc to make these comments?

Then you’d be getting close.

• I think what Ryan is trying to do is sow a seed in people’s minds that there is discontent within the ranks of SF. I think the average reader on this site would be intelligent enough to see FF trickery when it appears.
      I have no allegiance to any party, but I as can others really see the fear among FF and Labour supporters about the growing rise of SF. Instead of talking about there own policies and acknowledging their own failures, they spend their time obsessing about SF while SF get on with building themselves and their base up.To be fair to SF, people believe they know clearly what they stand for and in turn they appear credible to more and more people. I’m not sure that it’s easy for the public to see what the other parties stand for other than saving themselves. I’m excluding FG from the above, as it is quite obvious that FG have mostly only the very wealthiest of our society in mind when deciding policy and they have always had an air of West Britishness/anti irishness about them that easily defines them.

• …..Maybe too close ! Shame on them. It is like when we were all sitting watching Pee Flynn on the Late Late Show THAT night and we ”knew” that he was crooked , but did we dare say anything ? Like heck we did , we knew we had no proof , but now we aqre proven right. Here we are with DDDA , busted / broken, millions in debt but who is responsible ? Some one some where knows something …

• I’ve news for ye lads. Ryan is Fine Gael. But it’s good to see that even Fine Gael feel threatened.

• And it’s great to see Mary Lou out in front of a mike and on our TV screens. Not for her a special Speech to the Nation address with a teleprompter. Ye save that for Enda doncha Ryan.

• Too bad more people are not speaking out about the DDDA debacle. We are all paying dearly because of the reckless decisions made by a few individuals. Looking forward to hearing a lot more from Mary Lou – and John McGuinness!!

• Grow up Ryan.. Nothing substantial out of that silly comment!

• Lots of responses…

@ Susie: Last night on the Week in Politics, Mary Lou was talking about the talent in SF, yet as I’ve pointed out above she seems to be dominating SF’s appearances in the media. Why not let some of her colleagues get some exposure and build their profiles? And I note you still haven’t backed up the assertions you made on a separate thread earlier re your account being hacked. More trolling it seems as you seem unable to back up your hysterical claims.

@ Johnnathan: I never said anything about it being bad that she is in a political party. I respect people who get involved in politics, particularly given the amount of abuse they get – in public and on internet sites like these where anonymous people can make up all sorts of lies purely out of spite without being called out on these lies. If these lies were said on television, in a newspaper or on the radio then a lawsuit would likely follow.

@ censored: Maybe nobody else could get to a microphone as Mary Lou was in the way? ;-)

@ limofax: Darn, you’ve seen through my cunning plan to cause a schism in SF. Although I suppose the heaves in FG and Labour that I’ve read about elsewhere on this site are both likely to go ahead? Oh and yourself and Réada may wish to make up your minds. You say I’m FF and she says FG.

@ Réada: Clearly you seem to struggle with the fact that I’m not a member of FG. I’ve told you this on many occasions yet you seem to enjoy trolling my comments with your inaccurate claims. As I’ve said before I voted Green in 2007 and Independent in 2011. Further down there were preferences for both FG and Labour, however neither received a first (or even second) preference. And before you ask, no I don’t take photos of my ballot paper unlike some! ;)

@ Maureen: I agree, I look forward to hearing ALL parties comment on and then investigate the shambles in the DDDA. There are definite conflicts on interests in the deal. Unfortunately being bad at your job is not a crime.

@ Joan: I would think it’s substantial that one member of SF is dominating their media appearances so much. Pearse Doherty and Péader Tobin have had reason to be quiet recently, but what about other TDs? They’ve 14 after all and three Senators. On the couple of occasions I’ve seen them, the likes of Kathryn Reilly and Padraig McLochlainn have made some good (and bad) points but they are rarely seen for major appearances.

Anyway, I’m not going elsewhere for a while. I’ll still read and support the Journal, but in terms of *debate* this site is very poor. Politics.ie and boards.ie are better alternatives I think. Personal attacks, misinformation, trolling and casual xenophobia (see any thread which mentions Germany or foreigners in general) seem to be more common than any kind of debate – with the exception of a few of course (Mike Hall and Sean O’Keefe spring to mind although I don’t always agree with either!).

Don’t forget to search on Twitter for #positiveireland by the way. As I’ve said before, reading that feed might cheer a few of you up rather than reading the comments here.

Take care!

• Ryan. I’m going to miss you. You were always my fav right winger. You never resorted to personal attacks or name calling.

I’m bitterly disappointed however you didn’t include me in your non-xenophobic list. I haven’t used any anti-German language and have kept my eye on the ball. The enemy here is big business and big money doesn’t care about flag colours or national allegiances. I do however recognise that Germany is taking a lead in EU and their economy seems to be faring well through this crises. But good luck Ryan. You were always reasonable. :-)

• limofax 04/06/12 #

Sorry Ryan! Judging from the tone/content/misinformation of your posts I thought that you were a FF or FG member. My mistake, I must have been thinking of your other twitter account!!!
      As for your “cunning” plan, don’t get carried away the use of the word “cunning”, you over estimate yourself. But it’d be nice if you stuck to debating facts as opposed to sowing seeds. Most of all, take care of “yourself”.

• @ Ryan Allen
      I am far from being hysterical , but you know what I don’t have to prove anything to you, but it was,and the journal know this too, so there. Maybe you should take a break , because you are the one who seems hysterical . Don’t let the door hit you on the arse as you leave, in fact don’t go , you’re great fun.

• mcbab 04/06/12 #

She just loves the sound of her own voice does Mary loo. Back in your box now!

• This is like te Fiscal treaty all over!!! … The debate topic is put out but then the angle is changed and sidetracked by one or more of the apologisers for the cronyism and corruption that is rife still in our country!
    To get back on point ( and I’m not a sf apologist ) the main issue, from the info we know so far, was that there was department of environment official on the board of DDDA! Seemingly the minister of Fin or of Env only knew of a bid for the site of circa 200m but the board knew it would be over 400m all along. There are some major rats being smelt here and first person in should be that senior Dept official who was on the board! Whatever his position is now, he should be sacked, all pensions taken away and possibly more.. And he is only for starters..

Add New Comment