TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Decentralisation scrapped and over 23,000 public sector jobs to go by 2015

The government has outlined plans which also include the merging of nearly 50 state agencies.

Brendan Howlin and Enda Kenny taking announcements today
Image: via MerrionStreet.ie stream

THE GOVERNMENT HAS scrapped decentralisation and announced that over 23,000 public sector jobs are to go by 2015 in its public sector reform announcement today.

The government unveiled its plans for public service reform over the coming years with Taoiseach Enda Kenny saying he wanted to do far more reform in the public sector over the next five years than had been done in the previous 15.

The reforms include the merging of various government agencies and quangos. Kenny said that the government was laying out proposals for “a new leaner, better and smarter public service”.

The number of public service employees will be reduced by 23,500 by 2015 reducing the overall public pay bill by €2.5 billion.

The Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform Brendan Howlin said he expected to downsize without breaching the terms of Croke Park Agreement meaning there will be no compulsory redundancies and that the numbers will be achieved through “natural wastage”.

In total 48 state bodies will go by the end of next year and the scrapping of decentralisation means that 40 scheduled projects have been cancelled, 22 will be reviewed and the 36 which are complete will be left as they are.

The rationalisation – effectively either scrapping or merging – of 48 state bodies by the end of next year includes:

• The merging of three educational bodies Higher Education Training and Awards Council, Further Education Training and Awards Council and National Qualifications Authority of Ireland into one
  • The merger of 33 Vocational Education Committees from 33 to 16
  • The Competition Authority and National Consumer Agency will be merged
  • The Labour Court, Labour Relations Commission, Employment Appeals Tribunal, National Employment Rights Authority, and Equality Tribunal are to be merged into one single agency
  • The Equality Authority and Human Rights Commission are being merged in the Human Rights & Equality Commission
  • National Roads Authority to merge into Railway Procurement Agency
  • The Irish Sports Council and National Sports Council Development Authority are to merge

Many of today’s announcements have already been previously announced but Howlin denied there was “any temerity” in the proposals.

The Minister also said that the public service reform plans include 70 recommendations and 200 key actions which the government wants taken by the public sector.

These include things like shared services models for areas such as HR, payroll and pensions, better use of technology, reform of procurement processes, reducing costs and duplication and eliminating waste across the public sector.

The government said it will develop the Public Services Card to ensuring that citizens have ease of access to a range of services through multiple channels at the beginning of 2012.

Also in the proposals are a commitment to look at a GovStat initiative which will build on the Healthstat initiative and will be aimed at ensuring that citizens can see how well services are being delivered.

There will also be a new single awarding authority for student grants set up that will include an online application process for more than 72,000 students.

Also in the plan are proposals for online services like first time voter registration and the rollout of fixyourstreet.ie.

Read in full the government’s public service reform plan >

LIVEBLOG: Government announcement on public sector and quangos >

Read next:

Comments (43 Comments)

• Very pleased that decentralisation has finally been scrapped. It had nothing to do with creating jobs or making government more efficient and was FF political cronyism at its worst. Another welcome development will be when that other monument to the previous govt’s failures – the HSE – is scrapped.

• I couldn’t agree more with you about decentralisation Adam.

Regarding the HSE though, while it has a myriad of problems, what should it be replaced with? There’s no point scrapping something because it hasn’t been performing at optimum level if there’s nothing to replace it with. We have already seen these types of problems in the health service – things being scrapped before a replacement is in place – for example, Rosita Boland’s article of a night spent in the Mid Western Regional Hospital in Limerick gives a quite vivid depiction of the consequences of Ennis and Nenagh Hospitals’ nighttime A&E departments closing without a proper replacement service being put in place.

Here’s the article, makes for grim reading, I’m sure the scenes it depicts are replicated all around the country:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/weekend/2011/1112/1224307440996.html

While I agree with you that the HSE has plenty of failures, I think the better solution is to improve it, not scrap it with a similar organisation with a different title.

• Unfortunately I think the HSE is so dysfunctional that getting rid of it entirely is the better option. I see it as part of the govt’s overall health strategy (the other key aspect being universal primary health care) and the changes will be gradual and take at least one term of government to achieve due to the absolute shambles of the system, underlined only too well in that article you linked to.

• Speaking from brief experience they need to axe loads of staff from Council departments. A family member of mine recently got a low paid civil service job in a council department and was shocked at how little work the people around did. They sit around most of the day doing nothing, they don’t opt for cost saving strategies where possible because it’s not their money and they simply don’t care. To top it all off half the office was related. There was mother’s, fathers, sons and uncles all working together.

The amount of overtime they get is a joke. If you tried to call someone out to deal with a problem ect, they wouldn’t call out until 5 mins before end of working day as if they go 5 mins over there assigned working time then they get paid a full hours overtime. I could go on..some of the stuff I’ve heard is simply shocking. I knew the public sector was a joke in this country but people wouldn’t actually believe how much of a joke it is.

They need to get rid of half their workforce, in most cases they’ve 3 people doing the job one person could do. They’re not working to be productive. Cut these pointless workers and use the money saved in much more vital areas like hiring more Nurses, Doctors, firefighters ect.

• Totally agree

• But look at all the red thumbs you got. Clearly all the slackers in the public service with too much time on their hands.

Re the 10Bn deficit. We could close this in a heartbeat. You could let go half the public service and nobody would notice. Half the pensions of the public service retirees. They never earned these.

Stop paying the dole and let people emigrate. We’re so f’ing small minded in this country. If a (tiny) US state the size of Ireland had no work, but several neighboring states were doing well – would you pay people to sit around whining that they had no work.

• Slackers in the public service eh. As someone in the public service I can reply cause I’m off. Not all of us have mon to fri, 9-5 jobs.

Say you cut the PS jobs. How would you decide who to cut. Would you go with age, service, etc.

Half their pensions and stop the dole. God where do I start on that.

• I spent several years in both public sector (P&T) and Civil Service (Social Welfare)

I can say hand on heart both organizations were the most inefficient I have ever worked for. Any mere hint of suggested improvements was knocked back. The union presence in both was toxic.

As for your question – how would you decide on who to cut (a very fair question)

The unproductive ones. The ones who are always taking sick leave for the slightest sniffle, the ones with bad attitude, the whiners, the whingers, etc. Is this subjective or fair – no! – but that’s the real world.

I speak as someone who abused the system totally. I regularly took days off ‘sick’ because I wanted to spend the day with my girlfriend. On one occasion, I took the day off sick and turned up that evening for the office Christmas party. My bosses just laughed. I regularly ‘clocked in’ and then went for breakfast.

In all the years working in the private sector, I’ve never taken a single day off sick (even when I’ve felt shit). I’m not saying that’s healthy either. But it illustrates how far the PS is removed from the productive sector.

Just yesterday, I watched 4 council workers set a ‘do not cross’ guard rail in concrete. For the hour I could see them, only one worked at any time. The restaurant owner where I was having lunch told me that they had been there for 4 days.

I’m deadly serious when I say you could can half the PS and nobody would notice.

And as for the retired and you not knowing where to start – start somewhere, anywhere, I’d love to hear your defense of the fact that Mary Harney’s pension is now more than what she earned as a minister.

I’m all ears or are you just all talk?

• Ok Paul. You said cut the pension in half. Yes that will affect the ex TD’s but will also affect the retired guard, nurse, etc.

Ok so get rid of this with bad sick records and no productivity. I’m a guard. So what level of productivity would you like. Please give an example. Also I know a few guards who received horrific injuries in the course of their duties. Should they be sacked.

I’ll agree that the sick leave should be something looked at in the PS. But how I don’t know.

• @Cormac – It’s rarely the people. It’s almost always the system, For example, you’re a guard – a few months back I has one of your colleagues call at my house to hand deliver a court summons – all because I neglected to pay a minor speeding fine in time (my fault, no argument) – but why the hell does the system tie up guards time being messenger boys and girls for incompetent administrators.

When I attended the court (my first time) I was shocked at the number of guards hanging around to present evidence on stupid minor offenses. There was no need for them to be there. The evidence (in my case) was on camera.

I waited until the very end – there were two of us left. When the judge enquired if anyones case hadn’t been heard I gave him my name and he told me that his name wasn’t listed and I was free to go.

Now, please tell me that this isn’t serial incompetence….I’m sure you are sick of it.

Re the pensions, most of the pensions in the private sector have been wiped out. Not alone do most private sector workers not have the resources to reinvest in our pensions, the bloody pension funds we do have were raided to pay for stupid job initiatives (that don’t work) and our taxes (and that of our children) are being raised to pay for impermeable PS pensions and ‘protected’ jobs

• The reason we have to hand deliver summons is this. They tried posting them to people. People just wouldn pay the oringal fine or appear in court and when they were eventually bought to court they just claimed that they received no notification and since it couldn be proved either way they got off. I hate hanging around in court but if a person plead not guilty to an offence all witnesses (in most cases just guards) have to be there to give evidence and answer any questions. In most of our cases they are dealt with by way of certain court approved forms but on others the guard has to turn up.

• Do we need more than 5 local authorities?

One each for Connacht, Ulster, Lenister, Munter and Dublin.

I’d vote for that.

• what are people trying to say we should just dump 23000 people out of the public service now? what good is that sure its a reaction but wher will they end up ? on the dole thats where and who will foot that bill makes more sense to allow them go normally and not replace them. By the way if you end up in hospital tomorrow gyes who you’ll expect to fix you up or if your burgled or attacked who is coming out to help they are all public servants. we need them folks wether you like them or not. you want teachers for your kids nurses and doctors for hospitals and guards for the streets that who public servants are

• Neil 17/11/11 #

Eh? Think you’ve missed something there. That 23000 is not being fired. They’re retiring on pensions and not being replaced. Croke Park Agreement = No involuntary redundancies.

• Scrap the Croke Park agreement. Natural Wastage my arse, get rid of the Natural Wasters!. Like any company you get rid of your weakest staff. Might shape up the remaining average employees. That would make it leaner and meaner alright!.

• Natural wastage – sounds like excrement which fits perfectly.
      Lets talk about “natural wastage” in the health service, my girlfriend is a nurse who has to rely on agency work, the “natural wastage” there sees “retired” nurses quitting one day, joining an agency the next and are back doing full shifts at the expense of newly qualified nurses the next, this is down to management and the cronysim which exists as nurse managers constantly give their old buddies the bulk of the hours.
      These soundbites are nothing more than a drip feed of empty promises so we get the impression that they are doing something.

• @Dermot: I attend hospitals a lot, and I’m amazed at how often the nurse is away “on break”. Not sure if it’s a widespread problem but from my experience, with one or two notable exceptions, they don’t exactly tire themselves in work.

• my girlfriend says the same, there is a distinct problem when these retirees get brought back in, they are just there to add to their pensions, they don’t care…. they are are getting the hours and that’s all that matters to them whereas a new qualified nurse will put in the work in the hope of getting recognized and maybe a chance at proper employment. (not much chance of that really)

They’re in comfort zone, the nurse manager or whoever sets the roster knows them for years and of course they will look after their buddies first.

• I look forward to details and numbers on these hard-working “notable exceptions”, and the exact stats service-wide on “breaks”. No? Didn’t think so.

As for agency staff, I think everone agrees that it’s wasteful, so why not apply the moratorium only where it’s cost effective, instead of bypassing it with more expensive staffing solutions, or maybe scrap the dumb moratorium altogether – let’s face it, staff (in any area) are either needed or they aren’t.

In response to the original post, I do agree that proper performance evaluations are important to ensure efficiency (or to find the “wasters”, as you say), but with everyone complaining about the amount of managers in the health service, I don’t see that being a priority any time soon. Damned if you manage, damned if you don’t.

• I read that all PS workers will have 30 days annual leave per year & capped at that level.
    Will this apply to teachers too?
    Cannot see that happening but way to go if it does!

• I’m not a teacher, but just don’t understand complete begrudgers! The kids are on summer holidays, what do you expect them to do! Some people just won’t be happy until everyone is miserable! & the more morale is squashed the less productive productive parts of the public service will become. I’m all for the standardisation announced today some of the leave entitlement were crazy!

• Marguerite, I have to correct you there…that level of holidays is only applicable to executive grades and managers, the basic operatives only receive around 20/21 days. I’m a firefighter and our leave is 20/21 days. The lowest in the PS.

• Hear you Garth, but teachers do not get 20/21 days of annual leave/year do they?
      And Deirdre, I am not a begrudger, as most parents now work part &/full time (if they are lucky enough to have jobs) schools need to extend the hours they operate and adapt to the times that we are living in.
      We are no longer in the 1950s with a Mum at home during school holidays, schools should be offering a community service such as school camps and the like during the holidays supervised by teachers.
      When everyone is working harder and longer for less, why should teachers remain a protected species?

• Enda must have been very busy on the phone from Berlin!

• Dario Fo 18/11/11 #

A lot of these agencies should be disbanded and not amalgamated. More jobs for political lackeys..

• MJ 17/11/11 #

So…a lot of hot air and fluff and suggestions that were made over the last 3 years, getting rebranded and fluffed up and presented as a new policy…there is very little new here that wasn’t in McCarthy and endless other papers and positions over the last few years. Sir Humphrey is alive and well, informing the ministers how to run the country.

Apologies for the Bah Humbug nature of this post.

• Neil 17/11/11 #

There’s not much they really do without scrapping the Croke Park agreement. So it’s always going to be a lot of fluff and re-arranging of deckchairs. Politically I can understand why they can’t go there. The mantra at the moment is ‘We’re not Greece’. And we’d have strikes and riots just like in Greece if there were public sector pay cuts, and the chances of every getting into the bond markets and getting rid of the IMF would recede. So their hands are tied. It’ll be those on social welfare who will take all the hits.

• “we’d have strikes and riots just like in Greece if there were public sector pay cuts”

Eh, there *were* and we *didn’t have*. Pity.

• Neil 17/11/11 #

@Tim
      So there’d be no strikes if the government announced they were scrapping the CPA and they were going to benchmark PS pay against EU averages? The creation of the CPA itself was the only thing that stopped industrial action getting beyond the point of just shutting down the passport office last time.

• Well said Tim. Hits the nail on the head. I’d have simply hit the “like” button if it worked for me btw.

• So many places around the country built houses on the back of the decentralisation issue – my question is simple. Who is now going to need / want these houses? Have the government got a plan to make it attractive for urban people to come live in rural Ireland so as to fill these houses in the long term.

• We didn’t vote them in to implement ff policies. They were supposed to stand up for us against the euro bullies but we got wimps. Grow a set or get out and give someone who has balls a go. All we got is ff2. At least sf could’ve said “we know where you live”. I don’t support them either but somebody has to stand up to the eurocrats and it won’t be Inda or Eamon. What horse shit. People will die, children will be left behind and crime will soar because of these policies.

• Neil 17/11/11 #

Don’t know why I’m bothering, but I might as well ask: If we tell the IMF to get lost tomorrow, then where will the money come from to pay for the PS?

You do realise there is a 10bn gap between what the government spends and what it gets in taxes even when you leave out all our debt payments?

It’s the IMF etc that are partially funding our PS and Social Welfare expenditure.

• We haven’t even tried. Do you believe they will let it happen? I don’t because it will hurt them a lot more than it is at the moment. A mexican stand off at least instead of docile compliance. Grow a set too.

• Neil 17/11/11 #

What’s our threat? Tell the IMF that we’ll refuse to take their money that is paying for the 10bn non-debt related deficit? Are those on the dole and those in the PS right behind you in threatening to take a 30% reduction in the money they get overnight?

Even without all that bank debt the government is spending 10bn more than it takes in. That’s the situation. We’d have to have tax increases and spending cuts even without the IMF etc. You can argue about how much you raise taxes versus how much you could spending, but you cannot argue that both can be avoided altogether. We can never go back to 2007 levels of spending.

• 10 billion debt is manageable. We wouldn’t have had the need of a bail out if that had been our problem. We would be still in the market and well on our way to reducing that debt. Have you forgotten “by the people, of the people, FOR the people? Or do you subscribe to the policy for the private investors? Or for german and french banks? Time to re privatize the banks and put them into natural receivership. BOI and AIB would survive but anglo would go. Otherwise we are doomed to high unemployment, no growth and massive emigration of our youth for possibly decades. Is that what you want? Seems like it. We are to worried about what others would think of us, instead of worrying what having a “Good reputation” in europe will actually do to us. Wake up and smell the coffee, they are laughing at us because we are fools and they are the “foolers”.

• Neil 17/11/11 #

And how much of our debts are bank debts that we can now just wish away? And how much are sovereign debts? We’re building up more sovereign debt with every month that passes. What do you mean we are reducing our debts?

If you think defaulting on all our debts tomorrow means that we will still have exactly the same public sector expenditure and social welfare expenditure then you better explain where that 10bn will come from.

• No point in debating with people who don’t read what people say to them. Get back to me when you read what I wrote properly. No bank debt no bailout needed. We would be still in the markets and borrowing. We have a bank debt by terrible government decisions which the current government is still implementing. Change me arse.

• Anyway I enjoyed the vent. We must vent again sometime. I have to get back to the important things like looking after my children and doing the washing, though there’s no drying today.

• Neil 17/11/11 #

Paul. 10bn deficit even without all the bank stuff. We’d be borrowing to fund that. We pay about 1% with the troika. We’d be paying a much higher interest on the open bond market. We would not be paying off our debt. We cannot possibly do that without running a surplus. Wishing the bank stuff away would still mean a mounting debt and cutbacks being needed. And we can’t wish away all the bank debt that was turned into sovereign debt anyway.

• Another nice mess FF left for the next govt to clean up – should have been done on their watch.

• It would be interesting to see if we will notice them gone?

• So nothing is happening really. They’re just waiting 3 years for people to retire or expire. Well done public sector, jobs are safe for another few years.

Add New Comment