TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Latest: Looting and violence continues in Manchester and Birmingham

There are teams of riot police on the streets in London but the capital is a scene of relative calm. There have been outbreaks of violence in Manchester, Salford, Birmingham, Woverhampton and West Bromwich.

A Miss Selfridge shop on fire in Market Street in Manchester city centre this evening
Image: Dave Thompson/PA Wire

Updated 22.10

LOOTING AND VIOLENCE is continuing in parts of the UK this evening.

BBC reports that a shopping centre in Birmingham has been smashed. Its manager has said that the police are “chasing shadows” because of the speed at which the gangs are moving around the city.

In Manchester a stand-off with police has been continuing in Salford, according to The Guardian.  A Miss Selfridge store in Manchester was set alight earlier.

West Midlands Police has been tweeting updates throughout the evening. The force said that disorder is continuing in Birmingham city centre, in Wolverhampton city centre and in West Bromwich town centre.

Police say the disorder in Birmingham is not as bad as that seen last night. Some cars have been set alight and police say they are tackling two groups tonight in the city.

Earlier it was reported that a gang in Salford had set fire to a Lidl store:

It’s reported that there is relative calm on the streets of London this evening. There are 16,000 police on the beat, and teams of riot police are travelling through the various boroughs.

The clean up which took place in London this morning, organised via Twitter, is already being urged for Birmingham tomorrow:

Earlier this evening:

There are reports of riot police attempting to control unrest in Manchester city centre, while there have also been disturbances in Salford, Wolverhampton, West Bromwich and Birmingham.

A Miss Selfridge store in Manchester has been set alight, while police have pushed gangs of youths back from the centre of the city. Mark Tattersall tweeted this image and message:

BBC has broadcast eye witness reports of a Lidl store in Salford, in the greater Manchester area, being torched. It’s also reported that there is a lot of looting going on in the area while a witness has said that

West Midland’s Police have been tweeting about events in Birmingham, Wolverhampton and West Bromwich. At 7.45 the force confirmed that there was a large group of people attacking shops and setting cars alight in Birmingham City Centre. There have been three arrests there this evening.

In West Bromwich there were reports of large groups in the town centre with some cars set alight. Police say that this group has now dispersed. There have also been reports of attacks on shops in Wolverhampton.

There have also been reports of some smaller incidents in London. The Guardian reports that there have been some flashpoints with a minor skirmish in Enfield and some arrests in the Canning Road area.

Earlier still:

Sky News is reporting that a crowd of youths have attempted to break into shops and buildings in Manchester, and that a fire in a community centre in Salford has been extinguished by emergency services.

BBC reports that there have been skirmishes in Salford, in the greater Manchester area, over the past few hours.

Greater Manchester Police have said that a group of 20 or so youths was dispersed by police, and there was one brick thrown. The GMP has tweeted this latest update:

Manchester Evening News reports that windows have been smashed in the city centre, while several stores closed their doors early.

There have also been reports of disorder in West Bromwich. West Midlands Police have said that a group of people have been dispersed from the High Street but that there have been “no major incidents”.

A few cars have been burnt out in West Bromwich and several shops have been raided. There have also been reports of some disturbances in Wolverhampton.

A BBC reporter in Birmingham city centre has said that looters have smashed in the windows of various shops and that there have been standoffs with police at a shopping centre.

COBRA, the government’s emergency committee will meet again tomorrow morning at 9am. Prime Minister David Cameron met with the committee this morning, and confirmed that there would be 16,000 police on the streets of London tonight.

Earlier the UK watchdog said that that there was no evidence that Mark Duggan shot at police in Tottenham last Thursday. Duggan was shot dead by police. A protest at his killing led to the riots on Saturday night which are now continuing for a fourth day.

There are no reports of any violence or disturbances in London this evening. There are teams of riots police patrolling various areas in the city.

Read: UK watchdog says there’s no evidence that Mark Duggan fired at police>

London mayor Johnson brandishes a broom on the streets of the city>

Read next:

Comments (64 Comments)

• ladbrokes getting looted – what are the odds?

ill get my coat………….

• The Duggan protest didn’t lead to these riots it triggered them. What led to them is much more complex but I’m sure that a feeling of no one cares about me so why should I give a toss is high on the list. Those who comitted criminal acts should be held responsible but the underlying problems in British society need to be addressed as well.

• If it was West Belfast instead of West Bromwich. the rubber bullets would have been flying 4 minutes into it – wonder why?

• There will always be wasters who like have nothing better to do than go out and cause trouble ,but it’s the salt of england that will be the ones to pick up the pieces

• What a dysfunctional country. Thatcher turned England in to an economic shell by turning the financial services in London to Ireland’s version of building and then New Labour broke the country in to a balkanized mess where people have no sense of community, ties, responsibility,shared identity,social cohesion etc etc. No doubt that these people are marginalized but this is not political this is about plasma TV’s, living a rapper gangsta life.

• WOW ! Have a green thumb.

• Eh no. Thatcher created the disparity between wealthy and poor. The poor got poorer. This is the outcome of her economic model. Can be seen all over the world.

• @Frank

That’s bollocks, the poor became better off over her eleven years as PM. The gap between the rich and the poor became wider yes, but the poor were not poorer.

Depends what you want really, a small gap between the wealthy and the poor with everyone collectively worse off, or a greater gap with everyone collectively better off.

• Si Mon 10/08/11 #

Brian,

The poor got poorer and continue to do so. Only a few years ago 1 in every 3 children living in London were below the poverty line – and what economic model were they following??

Look at where “a greater gap with everyone collectively better off” has gotten us…..

While I don’t condone actions in the UK by rioters etc it is no surprise, it’s been brewing for years

• You know the riots have gone to far when Joey Barton calls you a hooligan

• Guys, this is what recession causes! People can only take so much..and I think riots like this are just as likely to start here!
    Property taxes, water taxes, criminal churches, poor political understanding, crap tv, more tolled roads, petrol prices…and the rest!
    It takes very little in a long standing downward decline for riots like this to begin! I am not condoning them..but the fever at which these riots took off probably represents a majorities frustrations!
    I believe the rioters should be jailed, but government should know that suppression and oppression have very devastating reactions down the line…this violence represent that!
    Leaders don’t listen any more..they are too busy reaching quotas and robbing Peter to pay Paul! I think we would be very silly to assume this would not happen here because general emotions are very low..and something has to give when the banks won’t

• Some of the comments suggest that this wouldn’t happen "over here" …… Remember the love ulster parade where it was widely reported that those scumbags had NOTHING to do with a political agenda ….. As for the looting, most of the larger city retailers will tell you that the same happens in Ireland on a daily basis…… But at least they wait until the shop opens up !!!

• For once, not Jackass Ireland! Jackass UK. But, ireland has the great potential to follow being a bandwagon country and not having the ability to respond to similar riots. I hope it doesn’t happen. All I can advise is a bit of math: yob head/baton=nice city.

• Fire cannons. Zero tolerance. Melt there scumbag bodies.

• We need to send in chuck norris hel sort this problem out!

• Firstly, there is no deterrent or fear of anything from such youths today. Nothing to lose. Probably a £30 fine they will never pay and a community order they will never attend.
    The gap between the haves and the have-nots is getting bigger everywhere in life and the resentment will out even in Ireland eventually. Are our governments any better at being law abiding role models? In both UK and Ireland we read everyday about our so called moral leaders demonstrating greed and criminality in other ways from expense scandals to back handers and corruption. These youths watch the bankers of the world legally loot their 500K bonuses while their own youth club gets closed down to pay for it. These youths are not stupid. They will hide their newly acquired plasma off-shore. They are laughing at Camerons big society. There’s only one culture these guys know and that’s the gang culture prevalent in every town and city in the UK. Its safe and lucrative. Sweep it under the carpet at your peril.They are laughing at the benign useless authorities employed to stop them where the police cannot even use their batons against knives or guns in the fear that a sky news camera should be filming and they themselves would get prosecuted. They have no values to uphold or respect to give. Give rioters and looters 5 years straight and give their lying greedy corrupt leaders,bankers and politicians exactly the same.

• Excellent point. The only part I would disagree with is the jailling of all rioters, prison wont help these youths it will just further trap them in the cycle. Personally I think they should be given very long and mandatory community service and civic education classes. That way it might foster a sense of community in these youths that seems to be lacking

• vanessa 10/08/11 #

My friend lives in Manchester and her seven year old son was terrified last night. She had to let him sleep in her bed he was so scared. She said all of the damage that was caused in her area was carried out by local lads and some as young as 9 and 10. Where in Gods name where there parents??
    This has got nothing to do with "immigrants" as that guy from Oz seems to think. It’s more to do with a section of society that has no moral fibre. The gangs going around doing this have been a melting pot of every colour, creed and race so to blame it on "immigrants" as he put it is just plain stupid and inciteful. Sometimes it’s easier to blame others when society breaks down because examining your own community and seeing the flaws within is too difficult.

• Riots against the police is one thing but looting and burning down shops is just pure stupidity. If there was a community spirit there would be a youth club or some sort outlet for the disaffected youth that are perpetrating this violence against there locality. With cuts from this new conservative government the services are running out of money and summer holiday rioting is all the kids can do. It’s started with a shooting it will end in multiple deaths if it can’t be stopped.

• I always wonder about talk of youth clubs and facilities for young people etc. In my opinion, that’s a poor excuse. I didn’t attend a youth club or enjoy wonderful youth facilities – didn’t cause me to wreck the place though!

• Well said Torr.
      Youth club my eye, kids consider themselves too cool for them and only "losers" would attend them.
      No these looters and troublemakers are just pure scumbags. They don’t need a youth club, they need a bloody jail!

• Riots against the Police is not acceptable, where on earth would we be without them?
      The problem is that these hooligans have no morals or discipline; I would like to know where the parents are when kids so young are out causing so much havoc?
      To say it’s because there are no youth clubs etc is garbage and just gives them a get out clause to do whatever they want, I am sick to death of people making excuses for them. Maybe if they new that there is a consequence.

• it could well happen here so get your celtic jerseys ready! hopefully we’d deal with it quicker though.

i think people are foolish to think that all the rioters and looters are poor and disadvantaged. many of those interviewed on radio etc were well spoken intelligent sounding young people. well, obviously not that intelligent if they loot

• We have the same underlying issues in OZ…. Piss weak government run by an Athiest in partnership with a Gay (leader of the Greens party).’take the rights away from the parents to discipline their kids’, keep bringing over migrants from war-torn countries that are raised to ‘hate the West and our ideals’ ( while 100,000 sleep on the street on any given night), illegal immigrants get better treated here than our elderly and poor – FREE phone, housing, welfare,meals, driving lessons,board,clothing,health cover,job placement,education and training. Take MORE from the worker and those with a mortgage to keep the feeding the slob who wont get a job, NO punishment for assaults, break and enters, stealing, car theft – in other words no DETERRENT. Maybe this cycle has to play out in the West to see some commons sense in leadership play out… First step would be to pull out of the U.N. and their outdated policies… Why should a WORLD body dictate the policies of your people and your country ?

• The fact that your government is run by an atheist and a gay shouldn’t come into it. I think YOU have some underlying issues MATE!!

• Im stating that it says a lot about their ideals and mind state Brian. They are a united front which represent very few people in this country. Once in power, they have shown their true colors with the Prime Minister putting a TAX on top of other taxes and everything else from fuel/motor vehicle/water/ electricity/food/manufacturing/clothing and even the air we breath !!!! They call it a ‘Carbon Tax’ quoted b4 she was elected – “there will be no Carbon Tax under a government I lead” – how the HELL does that make sense ? Voted in for one thing then do the complete opposite once in power ?
      The Greens want a ban on ‘All commercial fishing’, to “stop the culling of Feral Animals’ (that ravage farming land), to lock up all the land as a ‘national Park’, to ‘TAX 50cents of the dollar’ of anyone earning over 100,000 (except themselves i.e. fellow politicians) and most rediculous of all – to “put a blockade on Isreal’ over Palestine … what the hell has that got to do with the running of the country????
      Their self – interests come to the forefront, once they have gotten a taste for power – they are dispised by the people with the lowest support since polls have been conducted -(something like 175 years).
      THEY ARE OUT OF TOUCH LIKE YOU BRIAN, WITH REALITY …….lol

• Si Mon 10/08/11 #

There are so many inaccuracies within this comment I don’t even know where to start….Or maybe you should start with educating yourself!

• Waffler 10/08/11 #

i know a black girl who went to oz for the summer and came back early because there were so many racist assholes like justin calling her "abo". why is it always the countries that were founded by immigrants are the ones who want to kick them out?

• I’m not from UK. But keep a look at the situation for sure. Without this little Islands standing against fascism evryone on earth probably speaking Deutsch right now. But now is a bigger problem. This problem is not from outside but within this whole country. I wonder why something like this could happen in a country fighting for freedom and democracy. It’s beyond the question of race or money. All the population is involve into a conflict where personal preoccupation take control over social responsabilities. What happenning at this moment could happen in any democratic society it’s just a question of time. D’nt be fatalist just be realist!

• Si Mon 10/08/11 #

@ Alexandre

Where is the democracy at mate? “Fighting for freedom and democracy…” HA!

We dont need government to go to war for freedom and democracy – there is no such thing as a pure democracy and everyday we are all losing our freedoms….

We go to war because we are greedy!

• The reality is that it is about immigrants , theres a class divide in Blighty that has been simmering for years , comes as no surprise , these young people have grown up in a segment of society and under conditions that would make most people scream justice if it was shown on a stupid mind-numbing soap opera , but when it comes to real life the majority dont want to face the reality that they have a lot more than others., dont assume for a minute that a lot of those young people dont want to get out of the cycle that most in their communities live day to day , the Irish have emigrated to England for so long and continue to do so , its only reasonable to think that among these shit upon minorities like the blacks , arabs & muslims theres not a scattering of our own….

the false sense of wealth & the roller coaster ride back to reality may have woken a lot of irish up , but theres a hell of a lot of smugness retained in the character , give it a little more time…., it’ll be starved out of ye too

• I’m not from UK. But keep a look at the situation for sure. Without this little Islands standing against fascism evryone on earth probably speaking Deutsch right now. But now is a bigger problem. This problem is not from outside but within this whole country. I wonder why something like this could happen in a country fighting for freedom and democracy. It’s beyond the question of race or money. All the population is involve into a conflict where personal preoccupation take control over social responsabilities. What happenning at this moment could happen in any democratic society it’s just a question of time. D’nt be fatalist just be realist!

• If the British were’nt so busy looting the resources of the Libyan people they may have a case for complaint , get the hell out of Libya ye warmongering butchers , go home and take care of your own country.
    Apparently Gaddaffi has issued a statement recognising the rebels as the legitimate government of England and says that when Camerron steps down he may remain in the country……..

Whats good for the Goose and all that

• Paul 10/08/11 #

This is for SURE2BSURE I have a very good job. And pay my tax. and pay tax for my staff . The comment is not about Me having a job moppet ????

• keyese 11/08/11 #

go out and water canon them and help your precious london from burning down , if u feel so strong about it , talking shite about immigrants and Aboriginies. its kids from 10 years old upwards causing the damage. muppet

• i dont care about who is robbing what , stuff gets robbed everyday, looting happens every day , all im concerned about will this stop the soccer this saturday !!

• Vanessa, when the authorities from a parent to a teacher to law enforcement have their hands tied behind their backs because some ‘civil libiterian’ says you cant smack an unruly child or threaten them in any manner verbally, then RESPECT and DISCIPLINE fly out the window. They (the kids) are even handed booklets in primary schools telling them of their rights with numbers of the Govt. bodies to ring when things ‘get a bit tough’, maybe such as ‘abiding by the rules mummy and daddy put in place… What would you know about the illegal immigrants here,they have burnt down 3 multi-million dollar facilities lately -who pays for that????
    Not them – the people of the land,the tax payer ! Maybe could of had 20 more doctors and nurses BUT those pepretrators will still get a right to stay in the country-even after ‘criminal acts’ like that ! That’s your short sightedness showing through, im not racist-just a realist. I pity the fool…..

• vanessa 10/08/11 #

So when you say "the people of the land" I presume you mean the indigenous aboriginals? They are after all the true people of Australia. And I know plenty about what goes on in other countries because I try my best to educate myself about what goes on globally. It seems to me that you live in one of the most racist countries in this world where prejudices like yours are ten a penny. You should look past that white nose of yours and educate yourself a little more.

• Waffler 10/08/11 #

well said vanessa

• Paul 09/08/11 #

Garda is all over the comments.sitting in there Garda cars with the lights out down a side road. Playing with there phones text in there mates saying gave them comments fingers down.

• Waffler? More like full time wanker. Ive a lot of Aboriginal friends and the Govt. has a lot to answer for – for the plight of these people. throwing vast amounts of welfare money at them and returning land (they rightfully own over a third of OZ) and cheap housing with no programes in place for training or community based projects to help them help themselves / poor health care and not getting the ‘grog’ out of communities sooner has ruined these lovely people.
    When the Japanese bombed Darwin in WW2, I dont think the Aboriginies would of gotten very far throwing spears at the planes -I think the Japs would of killed them all and not thought twice about it. Its easy to be White and have a guilty conscious about everything, as this is the bullshit were fed by Govt. on a daily basis.
    If your white, male and over 18, YOU HAVE NO RIGHTS ! Remember -were to ‘blame’ for everything…. for offering a better life to the worlds poor and mistreated, for being the first nations to always raise our hands to help when there is natural disasters overseas / famine / oppresion of ethnic minorities / genicide tec.
    YOU can live in your comfortable home and be all knowing and mighty and blame America / the West for all the evils in the world, but I guess thats cause your easily led and manipulated by the bullshit you were fed at University or through the media. lol

• Paul 09/08/11 #

Ireland watch out. this mite happen here if the gardai don’t stop assaulting people and getting off in the courts with G.B.H……

• You reap what you sow (as the saying goes). Blame the govt. WHO ELSE IS THERE TO BLAME ? THEY put the policies in place, THEY dont live in the poorer communities (but represent those communities.
    The far reaching hand of the ‘toothless tiger’ world body the U.N. has put in place its dumbing down of the education system of the west, where the kids are taught to ‘think green’, that kids are ‘guilt tripped’ to thinking we somehow ‘owe’ the thirld world and developing nations for all their problems, that were not the ‘settlers of the land’ but we ‘stole’ the land from its original inhabitants, history books are re-written . Pretty strong words for kids dont you think ???
    Try reading up on ‘Agenda 21′ -its a scary looking future…..

• @ Damien
    That is very apparent to me now, man. Voicing urself about the law as long as it’s not abusive shudnt warrant so many thumbs down. I shudnt have to keep shtumb on this subject n it rlly bugs me its a taboo subject. Another 20 î

• Si Mon 10/08/11 #

fgjmncghjfgyj

• I’m from Québec province. You kno(w)k this place far away from the old civilised land. Well, maybe we still tracking beaver while you st(r)iking anarchy. But our beaver is on the nickel while the anarchy made by UK is quite hard to turn-off. UK problem is more than economical or social. It’s simply a sudden flocks of problems suddently woken up by the confrontation of Individual and Collective rights. Thanks God we still have our Queen. Over sir should get back striking log with my ax.

GOD SAVE THE QUEEN!
    P.S who’S gonnA SAVE THE COMMONWEALTH!??

• Try living in a society where you pulled over because of the colour of your skin or arrested because of your postal address , apt name Waffler

Add New Comment