TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

PHOTOS: Dublin Pride hits the streets of the capital

Thousands of people attended the parade through the streets of Dublin city centre this afternoon. Here’s the best photos from it.

THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE have taken to the streets of Dublin today to celebrate Dublin Pride, the annual LGBT festival which culminates with a parade through the city centre.

The event, which is in its 29th year, marched from the Garden of Remembrance to Baggot Street in a blaze of colour, before heading to Merrion Square Park for a giant picnic. Here’s all the best photos from the day.

PHOTOS: Dublin Pride hits the streets of the capital
1 / 29
  • Dublin Pride 2012

Gerard McLaughlin (left, from Dublin) and Marcus McCamara at the parade (Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland)
  • Dublin Pride 2012

Margaret McMahon from Clondalkin pictured at the parade (Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland)
  • Dublin Pride 2012

(Photo: Stephen Kilkenny/LightCurvePhoto)
  • Dublin Pride 2012

(Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland)
  • Dublin Pride 2012

Amy O'Reilly (left) and Leah Murray from Ballymun pictured at the LGBT Pride Parade in Dublin city centre. (Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland)
  • Dublin Pride 2012

A member of the Gardai watches as members of the European Gay Police Association march in the parade Gay members of the Gardai were forbidden to march in uniform. (Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland)
  • Dublin Pride 2012

Dutch transgender policewoman Willemijn Ahlers (with flag) leads members of the European Gay Police Association march in the parade (Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland)
  • Dublin Pride 2012

A member of the Gardai directs traffic in front of members of the European Gay Police Association (Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland)
  • Dublin Pride 2012

Dutch transgender policewoman Willemijn Ahlers (with flag) leads members of the European Gay Police Association march (Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland)
  • Dublin Pride 2012

Dutch transgender policewoman Willemijn Ahlers (with flag) leads members of the European Gay Police Association march in the parade (Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland)
  • Dublin Pride 2012

George Coffey from Fairview, Dublin at the parade (Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland)
  • Dublin Pride 2012

Senator David Norris at Pride (Photo: Stephen Kilkenny/LightCurvePhoto)
  • Dublin Pride 2012

Dublin Pride: Massive parade and party to get underway in the city >

Read next:

Comments (170 Comments)

• R.I.P. Declan Flynn and too many others.
    Remember why we march.

• Fair play to Dublin Bus and City Sightseeing for providing two open top buses.

• It’s great that we have a relatively free, tolerant society.

• Anyone who looks at the parade, ignores the thousands of people dressed as people and only notices yer man in the sparkly pants is an idiot.nnShould we look at the crowd leaving Croker after a match and focus on the two howyas punching the head off one another, or should we look at the hundred thousand other folk just having the craic? nnOn another note, as said above, hotpants must have been bloody freezing.

• It was so much fun marching in the parade I had a blast!

• @jeff Kennedy et al… It was NOT a political or any other type of PROTEST. It was a celebratory parade as is thePatrick’s Day Parade. Remove your wavin-pipe goggles…. The kid you’re holding could turn out to be gay I wonder would that change your attitude?

• I’m not gay but I’ve many gay friends. Pride is a brilliant event no matter were it’s held. nnFor those who don’t know Pride started to celebrate the Stonewall protests. In America at the Stonewall Inn police raided the place as it was a well known place for Gay men. The cops went in arresting people and beating them up for fun. Eventually those guys said enough was enough and they fought back. nnPride commemorates this and celebrates that no longer should any minority accept discrimination and brutality. nnGay Pride is at least as important as any civil rights commemoration. They celebrate the same thing. Freedom for everyone to love and live as they please.

• Totally agree.

I think the Gardaí being banned from marching in uniform was a bad move. I’ve been to London Pride where police, fire brigade and armed forces are all officially represented.
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xeMVgMaIWlM.

Others above have said it was OK for them to march not in uniform, but the march is meant to be a symbol of an inclusive, equal society. We’re still a bit behind some (not all) other European countries on this one.

• yer man must be freezing

• What a fantastic splash of gorgeous colour for Dublin on a rainy Saturday…..and what a set of amazin pins in pic no. 4!

• I am a gay man but I have to admit that I find gay pride marches to be cringe fests. The majority of people who attend are regular people but the normality of these people is way overshadowed by the over pronounced characters of the few. I no longer attend them and don’t think I ever will again as there is a sense of extreme bitchiness in the gay community in Dublin especially and I don’t like to be associated with this.

• *cough* because there is nothing bitchy about this post… *cough*

• Not too sure how this is bitchy. I’m just expressing how the parades make me feel and the reason why I don’t frequent the Dublin gay scene. Take it whatever way you want graham.

• That’s kind of a shame, Darren. My family was there yesterday (and also for the last few years) in support of our son. It was a great day. In all my years attending, I don’t think I have witness the bitchiness you mention. Certainly no more so than in the social circles my wife and I are part of in “straighty world.” I hope you’ll give it a whirl sometime. Personally, I found it very uplifting. Steer clear of the known bitches and march with your friends. No one person or shallow, bitchy clique defines an entire community.

• Garda were forbiden from joinin the parade even if they were not in uniform.. stoneage attitude IMHO

• Only half true, they were allowed to attend as long as they were not in uniform! Infact, one of the photos above happens to have a very well known gay member of the police force in it, albeit he’s in civilian clothing!!!!nnStill though it’s a bloody disgrace! The head of the guards should be sacked for this!

• Why? They were not on duty so they have no right to wear their uniforms. I think you should be fired from your job Tony, assuming you have one.

• It’s a political protest and garda are not allowed to wear there uniforms at any event, whether it’s gay pride or a Labour party meeting ,so stop inventing homophobia were there is non.

• Jeff is correct. I wish people would actually research something before venting. There is nothing to be acheived by striking out at perceived discrimination where none exists. In fact you might win over a few of your detractors if you were seen to be fair and reasonable.

• In what sense was it a political parade? There’s no party affiliation, no electioneering. It’s a celebration.

Are uniformed Gardai banned from taking part in Paddy’s day parades? If so, then fair enough. Otherwise it’s blatant prejudice.

• Wasn’t intended as a homophobic insult.. Genuine question .. Sorry for any offence caused!!!

• I’m a pride virgin, so gonna go next year. Looks amazeballs

• I had a great time marching this year with a bunch of people with extra support needs (intellectual disabilities). Everyone was so welcoming and supportive, it was a huge step for some of the people marching with us. A great day out, well done to the Pride Committee, it’s a hell of a lot of work! Bring on 2013!!

• Can I just ask what exactly in my comment are people red thumbing? The gay bit or the disabilities bit? Or the whole thing?

• The red thumb brigade is ever secretive in their ways, Zoe, best to ignore them lest they actually bother to comment a reply to you and risk being replied to themselves ;)

• My guess as to who the red thumbs are, to be honest, probably a combination of right wing conservatives, conservative Fine Gael supporters and hard-line Catholics. There is a special word I reserve for these people which I won’t use for fear of this comment not being publish, but it begins with the letter “C”.

• I think a lot of these comments are coming from people who have never actually SEEN a pride parade. The Pride route is lined with thousands of straight people waving and cheering and being supportive, locals and tourists alike. It’s a party, it’s colourful, what’s not to like??

• i think the parade itself is a good idea for the people of ireland both gay and straight. however i dont believe the sexualisation of the parade is either appropriate or necessary given the time and location. but maybe ill be convinced otherwise by replies to my comment.

• What’s the point of homophobia? Someone please explain.

• One word: fabulous!

• @Mark Larson, You are an idiot. Every camp unfunny comment you put up is cringe worthy. There are alot of good points being posted on this article only to be dusturbed by your tripe

• I have to say the whole idea of gay (or to use that horrid vindicated-by-victimization acronym LGBT – I believe you have to be a Q at the end of it, now) leaves me completely cold – if this were a march for marriage or for changing the adoption or the blood transfusion laws (and obviously there are contingents who would be marching), then obviously you could see a legitimate reason – to campaign for the great amount of work, yet to be done by the government for full civil equality. But it seems to be that so many of the people marching couldn’t give a fig about gay politics or history and do it for the sake of marching (fishing for reactions, in other words). And what’s worse is that homophobic suspicions about gay people are often confirmed, when people see such events (you know, the fetish elements and that sort of thing). And let’s be honest, being anti-gay-pride doesn’t make you homophobic – just as the carry-on in pubs on St. Paddy’s Day doesn’t make you anti-Irish.

• dissaproving of what goes in the pubs (ie the lewd behaviour on the street) is what I meant to say.

• My own thoughts exactly. It completely destroys the image of the gay community and reduces them to camp stereotypes.

• Its called freedom of expression be grateful you do not live in Saudi Arabia

• fetish elements? Are gay people the only ones into fetishes? Smells like an ill informed rant to me.

• @ Martin – of course gay people are not the only ones into fetishes and I’m not condemning anyone for having sexual preferences or desires – but that sort of thing isn’t widely palatable to everyone (especially, the sort whose homophobic attitudes, as I said, who would be confirmed by the appearance of a man in leather for example at two o’clock on a Saturday afternoon). I brought that up as an ‘ie’ off the top of my head, not as a planned, ill-informed rant. Sorry for offending your multi-sided sense of justice. And I think I would be very interested in a course on gender theory – it’s heartbreaking, for example to think of transgendered people who can’t fulfill the functions they want to, in the bodies their born into – and the legal constrains in this country that affect their lives and which I would be completely in favour of overhaul. I’m not at all homophobic – it’s just I disagree with the idea of a gay pride parade, not injustices that need to be righted.

• Sorry, for adding an extra “who” in there and using “their” instead of “they’re”

• @ old nokia charger, why would i need to do that course?

• That comment was aimed (in jest) at the other Mark.

• Mark, the event isn’t a protest march as such, but more a celebration- just as you can feel proud to be Irish on St Patrick’s Day, you can be proud to be gay today. If you attended the parade today, you’d notice that most marchers/ attendees weren’t scantily clad or wearing sexual costumes- they’re just normal people enjoying the day, but they don’t tend to be photographed for newspapers. As for the point of it all- try to imagine the impact a day like today has on a gay young person- after years of struggling with prejudice and complicated emotional turmoil, it is incredibly liberating and life affirming to see how many others are out there and how reassuring it is to feel that it is not a cause for shame, but for celebration. Hence the Pride; and as long as there’s a shred of intolerance in society, this event will continue to be necessary.

• Yeah, because camp people who sometimes dress outrageously shouldn’t have equal rights. FFS! This tired old issue with clothes and make-up is a pile of tired old shite. The parade was brilliant today – uplifting, empowering and inclusive. My wife and I marched with our son and his husband and my daughter and her husband and their kids. A bit of tom-foolery with costume is no big deal. That these people are in danger the rest of the year for simply walking the streets hand-in-hand is what people really should be getting annoyed about.

• It’s Adam and Steve dude

• Isn’t it funny how if you’re a gay man you’re given a parade to celebrate your love of backdoor action, but slip it into conversation with a girl you’re chatting up…….

• Gerard 30/06/12 #

I watched the parade today and it looked really enjoyable and really well organised but I still believe that it alienates the lgbt community even further from the straight community whether people care to admit to that or not.

• Great photos, the last one is fantastic.

• Why all the scantily-clad men, the whips, the sexually-suggestive posing etc. at these parades? They only serve to perpetuate the usual anti-gay stereotyping. Also, it is ironic that at a time when we are all supposedly concerned about child welfare and the sexualisation of children in our society, our leaders permit and endorse such smutty public displays in our capital city in front of families and children going about their business.

• yes I’m sure the scantily clad men at pride once a year are the root cause of all the scantily clad young ones in sexually suggestive poses in every town in Ireland every Saturday night. we should cancel pride to protect the children. get a grip.

• I have to agree. I’ve nothing whatsoever against the parade, or the lgbt community in general but I was in the city this morning with my kids and I had to (try) explain why some men were dressed as women, and why others were barely dressed at all. If it has to be so sexually explicit then the parade should probably take place later in the day.

• Stick to Kildare town so.

• I suppose you find it easier to explain why men and women dressed as leprecauns are falling around the streets drunk at 1 in the afternoon on paddys day.

• In my day we used to have priests and bishops parading down the streets dressed in women’s clothes and wearing party hats.

• @sean Hamill nI’m going down to Rio for the carnival with my kids. How’ll I explain the scantily clad women to them. Lie actually. I’m going to Courtown beach… Etc., etc.,

• @ Sean, it;s called parenting. You know, where you explain to your children that not all people are the same and that they should respect other people’s way of life. If you want to live in a place where these parades are not allowed due to concerns that it will corrupt children, may I suggest a short flight to Uganda. I think there’s even a political party that you could join. And while we’re on the subject, how dare these bastards take the rainbow colours as theirs ay? How on earth will you explain to your children that when they see a rainbow that it’s all ok! No gay people will jump out of the sky and force skimpy clothing on to them.

• @ Orla

Hear hear.

• From a male to female trannny: *kisses*

• You’ve really got to tread carefully posting on this one..

• @kilkenny kat. Heterosexual parade? How’d you think the gay part of this got started???

• Great day! What I can remember of it!!!

• I’m not a fan of these parades, they turn everything into a massive stereotype of the LGBT community, so much for individuality and people being their own person regardless of sexuality.

• When’s the heterosexual pride parade? Or would that be homophobic?

• Years ago people were afraid to admit that they were homosexuals. Those that did were branded outcasts. However nowadays it’s the complete opposite – people who express their opinion opposing homosexual behaviour are outcasts and homosexuality is largely accepted. My question is, what standard is society using to approve or disapprove homosexuality?

• The standard of treating human beings decently, I hope.

• People who express their opinion opposing black people are outcasts and black people are largely accepted.

• And what are those standards Chris and who sets them?

• Bob, one of the ‘standards’ at play is common sense. Basically society has realised that there is nothing wrong with homosexuality, that being gay doesn’t have moral implications, neither have homosexual acts, and a lot of good can be achieved for gay people if society accepts and supports their relationships. Those who disagree with this consensus fail to offer any tangible evidence, and so a new status quo is reached.

• You set those standards Bob..

• Society at large sets those standards, Bob. I hope I’m misreading your question because, on the surface (and I accept I could be 100% wrong), it kinda sorts *seems* like you want to lodge a complaint with those standards-makers because they have made your “disapproval” of gay people seem anachronistic. Like I say, I could be wrong: you could be 100% behind respect and equality for LGBT people (in which case I applaud you) and merely asking an philosophical question. Care to sate my curiosity and clarify?

• @Stephen: And what tangible evidence do you propose to support your claim that common sense supports that homosexuality isn’t “wrong” (as you put it) – again, what is the standard that you have applied?

• Bob the standard I apply is the principle that if an act/ behaviour/ sexual preference etc doesn’t harm anybody, then there are no grounds to oppose it. Since there is a complete absence of negative consequences of homosexuality, I see no reason why society or individuals should oppose it. Opponents of it have failed to convince me, as they have no argument- at best arbitrary tenets of various religions. Common sense allows everybody to see gay people lead happy, fulfilling lives with the support of their friends and families (for the first time in modern history), and allows us to see this as a positive thing.

• Thanks Chris, I certainly don’t oppose gays or lesbians, I love and tremendously respect both. I acknowledge everyone’s positive input to society.  I’m talking about standards for right and wrong here :-)

• @Stephen – this is by no means a consistent standard by which we could measure right from wrong.  It also begs the question being asked, that is to say, by what standard do you measure harm? You have no idea if homosexuality or any other position for that matter harms absolutely no one.  In fact all relationships can be harmful to others at different times.  There certainly are grounds to oppose your position or standards, you’ve simply ignored them. I certainly don’t wish unhappiness upon homosexuals or upon any one else for that matter; but the reason for this is because I have an absolute standard which encourages me to do so. Which brings me back to the point; I apply God’s standards of love, truth and mercy, which are absolute and unchanging. Your position is inconsistent and therefore not able to uphold truth or logic.

• Bob you invoke truth and logic, while pinning your objections on “God’s standards of love, truth and mercy”. Where to start? Firstly, this is a secular democratic republic, and its laws are based on reason, not on religious dogma (at least this is how it works in theory, and increasingly in practice). I was making the point that arbitrary religious rules are the only reason people have for opposing homosexuality. The religious rule for one person is completely irrelevant to someone who doesn’t adhere to that religion- do you expect us to live in a theocracy? Objectively, homosexual relationships cause no more or less harm than heterosexual ones. In answer to your original post, society has replaced selectively quoted ‘religious’ standards with objective, rational assessment, and found homosexuality to be completely acceptable. You’ll find a rejection of medieval religious dogma actually opens the door to truth and logic.

• Stephen if you want to invoke logic you’re going to have to have an appropriate worldview to support such a position. You sound like your an atheist, if so, can I ask, how is it that you propose to agree with or support unseen, unchanging, immaterial entities such as the laws of logic if materialistic atheism is true?

• Apologies Chris – I’m only seeing your post now. This isn’t a matter of respecting others’ point of view – as a Christian that should go without saying. What I’m talking about here is morals, the standards which one applies when “deciding” whether a matter is right or wrong. I apply the Biblical standard when deciding right from wrong because it is equal, consistent, rational, and comes directly from the Creator of the world. What is your standard and why should I accept it?

• Bob since we discussed this I’ve been thinking about your points and mine, and would perhaps summarise my common sense argument as this: ask yourself what happens when homosexuality is condemned and marginalised? People commit suicide in despair- as is happening even today. What happens when homosexuality is embraced and supported? People lead happy, fulfilling lives. This is why I suggest society has changed its view- the evidence for the positive effects of treating gays equally is all around us. nIn terms of your stance: if biblical standards are so reliable, why is it we don’t put people to death who work on the sabbath, as clearly called for by the old testament? Can you explain why biblical standards are so arbitrarily adhered to?

• Thanks for the comment Stephen, I’m glad to see that you’ve been giving our discussion some thought, so too have I, that’s one of the main purpose for debate.

I think I touched on this a little before, but just to mention it again – a Bible believing Christian loves and offers their support to homosexual people. Jesus taught that the 2nd greatest command is to love others (regardless of their beliefs). This “condemnation and marginalization” is not a position that we take.

“People lead happy, fulfilling lives. This is why I suggest society has changed its view”
      Are you saying that truth is decided by what makes people happy? This of course does not make sense in the real world. It made Hitler happy to murder 12 million people (mostly Jews). Mao Zedong was happy to murder 40-70 million Chinese people (the list could go on and on). Should we accept what they did as right because it made them happy?

Standards, just like the laws of logic, are invariant; that is they don’t change, they are universal; that is they apply everywhere, they are abstract; that is they are immaterial or non-physical in nature. This is why in my original comment I posed the question – what standard is society using to approve or disapprove homosexuality?

“if biblical standards are so reliable, why is it we don’t put people to death who work on the Sabbath, as clearly called for by the old testament?”
      You’ve raised a very worthy topic with regards the “death” penalty in Biblical times. Obviously I can’t cover every law in this discussion, but let me explain being as brief as I can the apparent difference between Old Testament law and New Testament grace.

Firstly just to mention, society today is not consistent with the Biblical standards – this has nothing to do with the reliability of these standards, people today just choose not to follow them.
      I’m hopeful that you’ve read the Bible for the most part and that I can assume that you understand that it contains 2 testaments or covenants. These covenants are completely consistent when viewed together as part of the Biblical worldview. Of course one could pick at the Bible when they apply their own perspective/worldview (like you have done perhaps without even realizing it). In order for you to critique the Bible, you must take into account the whole picture from Genesis to Revelation. The Old Testament tells us that God created 2 people, first Adam, then Eve, and He did so to enjoy their fellowship(I understand your view of the beginning possibly differs from the Bible’s, however this is what I mean when I say you must take the Biblical view on its own, for arguments sake, and see if it is internally consistent). When man sinned this brought a curse upon the world (as God warned it would if they disobeyed) this of course had many implications one of which was a separation from God. God promised a savior in Genesis to redeem man from his sinful state and bring him back into a relationship with Himself. However, things were getting worse by the minute and people were doing whatever pleased them; there was no standard for right and wrong (just like today). God laid down the law (mainly the 10 commandments in the book of Exodus) to show people their sinful state and their need for His mercy. When God gave the commandments the first man to break it did so in direct defiance against the creator of the universe; God made an example of him (one that we remember to this day) to show us His hatred for sin and not for man. Cutting this short for time, Jesus came and lived a perfect life as a man (as recorded in the Bible and verified by many external sources). He offered his life for us as payment for our sins. He literally satisfied the righteous requirements of God’s law by not breaking it, and then died in our place. In modern terms, He paid our ransom and set us free from having to keep a set of rules to be right with God.

There is no change in standards at all, in fact God’s law still exists today and it remains the standard for right and wrong. However God has imposed all penalties for breaking that law (including the death penalty) upon His son and offers this gift of salvation free of charge to anyone who will believe in His Son.

Hope this makes sense.
      Bob

• Hi Bob, thanks for taking the time to explain that, although I think we’re reaching the point where we’ll have to agree to disagree! Basically, you see homosexual acts as sins, and that his why you very tastelessly compare them to the sociopathic actions of Hitler and Stalin when considering if making someone happy is reason enough to accept a type of behaviour. However as a non religious, non-Christian person, I think a perfectly acceptable way of deciding right and wrong is to judge how much harm an action inflicts. My personal experience and I believe the experience of society at large is that allowing homosexual people full equality brings about a large amount of joy where previously there would have been pain. I repeat my assertion that apart from religious objections there are no reasons not to pursue the path socirty is pursuing, full equality for gays so that young people no longer need to feel ashamed and terrified of their sexuality, and can look forward to a joyful life like everyone else.

• Test post

• Sorry Stephen there was a problem with posting on this site until now.

“Hi Bob, thanks for taking the time to explain that, although I think we’re reaching the point where we’ll have to agree to disagree!”

My pleasure, it’s a worthy subject :-)
      Thanks for your comments!

“Basically, you see homosexual acts as sins, and that his why you very tastelessly compare them to the sociopathic actions of Hitler and Stalin 

Sin only makes sense when there is an absolute standard for right and wrong.  Without the Bible, there is no standard which we can rely upon when making moral judgements.  I never mentioned anything about Stalin, however you might be interested to note that I did have a paragraph in my original reply dealing with the fact that I wasn’t comparing homosexuals with mass murderers, like Hitler. I deleted it as it seemed to be out of place and I trusted that you would clearly see, by the context of my sentence, that I was dealing with the grounds upon which we determine whether something is right or wrong; happiness is not a solid ground for making this decision. 

“when considering if making someone happy is reason enough to accept a type of behaviour.”

If you can provide a logical reason as to how happiness provides a standard for right and wrong id really love to hear it!

“However as a non religious, non-Christian person, I think a perfectly acceptable way of deciding right and wrong is to judge how much harm an action inflicts.” 

This is circular reasoning.  You’re being asked to provide a solid ground by which we can determine right from wrong. By what standard do you judge whether or not someone is “harming” another?

“My personal experience and I believe the experience of society at large is that allowing homosexual people full equality brings about a large amount of joy where previously there would have been pain.”

I believe in equality for all people. This in fact is at that centre of one of the great commandments – love your neighbour as yourself :-)  God has created man & woman in his image and likeness and expects us to fully respect the rights that he has laid down for each.  Caring for others in a world without God certainly doesn’t fit with the notion of “the survival of the fittest”.

“repeat my assertion that apart from religious objections there are no reasons not to pursue the path socirty is pursuing, full equality for gays so that young people no longer need to feel ashamed and terrified of their sexuality, and can look forward to a joyful life like everyone else.”

Perhaps in your estimation so-called ‘religious objections’ are futile, but I am making the point that without a Biblical foundation you can’t account for standards and therefore reason itself is not possible. That’s a very strong argument to accept or at least give serious thought to.

Really nice talking to you.
      Bob :-)

• no Greece flags???? I thought they invented gayness???

• They weren’t shoving their anything in my face. Can we conclude that you were in there watching them?

• Side note: loving the irony of the name “peepingass” – there were one or two asses peeping out of leather chaps yesterday. I think you doth protest too much!

• @ Peepingass, your post is hilarious. Unintentionally so, I’m guessing, but hilarious nonetheless. Damn those uppity, scantily-clad gays and their ability to have great craic and not give a crap about the luddite curmudgeons. Damn them to a fabulously sequinned hell. From the stereotypes in the parade to the stereotypes on the why-oh-why online comments boards!! LMAO

• I really do have a problem with this parade: I really would like to bring my kids in to watch, but the outfits are often just plain disgusting, and the overt display of sexuality really does not do anything to encourage acceptance of gays in mainstream society.

• What’s the point of this parade. Someone please explain

• Yawn!!!!

• Exactly. They should get over their enormous chip on their shoulders.

• The chip on their shoulders? What a ridiculous comment. Members of the LGBT community had centuries of abuse, degradation, and marginalization due to their sexuality. It’s disingenuous to trivialise this with a phrase such as a ‘chip on their shoulders’. It’s taken an awfully long time for this country to get to the stage where a march like this can happen openly. For far too long, and still in some cases, Irish gay people have had to hide their sexuality for fear of society’s response and even losing their jobs. Pride is a symbol of progress.

• Is was a joke! Some people!

• Oh dear. Where to start….

• Does the European Gay Police Association only deal with gay criminals??

• I find this parade more than a little obnoxious. Congratulations on being gay and all that, but isn’t this parade doing more harm than good?nI just feel that events such as this which are aiming to stop discrimination are having the opposite effect, by implying that you are something special; instead of just another member of society.

• thank god its only once a year! serious sore head on me and many others today!

• Graham you know what I meant and there is know need for the fecking language you banana brain!

• I categorically disapprove of this parade.

• mel 01/07/12 #

Looks like good crack, pity we don’t have more gays in government might living up the place
    Imagine noire looking at Noonans sorry puss

• It’s a long time since any other story got 29 photos on the journal.ie

• Bryan 30/06/12 #

It lacked impact this year, the route change was wrong IMO.nn

• The creation started as Adam and Eve and the end is Adam and Evan..!

• Actually it’s Adam and Zebedee – learn your f*@king alphabet.

• That’s completely arbitrary…what do we do with opposing views then? how do we tell who’s right and who’s wrong? (what logic or standard do we apply?)

• Good question, Bob. What do we do with the views of those who, for instance, oppose interracial marriage or premarital sex or divorce or equal pay for women or those who have no truck with the notion of Creationism? That kind of list would be endless. Personally, I like these kinds of questions: why not treat these people as your equals; why not show full respect; why not appreciate their valuable contributions to life, society, industry, the arts, education, sports, healthcare and law-making?

• Dammit. I wasn’t very articulate there: it looks as though I’m siding with people who oppose equal rights. DEFINITELY not so. Damn this lack of an ‘edit your post’ button on thejournal.ie

• Certainly the bible Bob. And while you’re here, I’ll have a P please Bob

• What if there is a gay God? What then? Will the homophobics become holyphobics?

• It is such a gay day, Whiskeyste

Add New Comment