TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

EBS staff begin strike action over ’13th month’ payment

Staff at the State-owned building society say their ‘Scrooge-like’ employer is withholding an annual payment of four weeks’ pay.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

AROUND 300 STAFF at the State-owned building society EBS are beginning strike action today over the institution’s withholding of a ’13th month’ Christmas payment.

The payment – the equivalent to four weeks’ wages – is worth between €1,000 and €2,500 per employee, and was usually given to employees alongside their December pay, but was this year withheld without notice.

UNITE, who has organised the strikes in Dublin and Limerick, says the payment has been made every year for the last 45 years – and that some senior management, who had been given an opportunity to restructure their pay, are still in receipt of the payment.

EBS disputes this, however, saying management at the building society have not received any bonuses since the introduction of the State banking guarantee in 2008.

It also says that the 13th month payment is effectively a bonus, despite it not being performance-related.

EBS says it cannot pay to any employee since it was subsumed into AIB earlier this year. AIB is almost fully State-owned, with a ban on bonuses forming part of the State’s investment deal.

Staff have been offered interest-free loans, to the value of the Christmas payment, in lieu of the bonus. 370 staff are affected by the withholding of the payment.

Workers are picketing at the EBS headquarters in Dublin, as well as at branches in Tallaght in Limerick.

Read next:

Comments (49 Comments)

• Thanks Gav! If any of you have a few minutes, have a read of comments from Anita White & Yvonne Harvey. They make sense of it, well they did to me and thats why I’m all in favour of them getting their money.

• This is not a bonus, salaries in EBS were split into 13 payments over the year rather than the conventional 12, so they would effectively have some extra cash for xmas. To take this away at a days notice like they did is extremely unfair. Best of luck to them!

• “senior management still in receipt of the payment” … One rule for management and another for frontline staff! Double standards! Disgrace!

• I understand the confusion but if the kind people of the journal could post the link to the initial story… Its clearer there through the comments. I thought it was silly when I first read it but thats how it (seems) to be. And the only link I have to any bank is my overdraft & credit card bill!

• The issue here is that AIB’s wording and jargon seems to only apply to front end employees, when it should apply to ALL employees of EBS yet there’s so much spite and lack of empathy for those not receiving their wage when of course management get their fat pay check and no one bats an eyelid

• I wholehearted agree with the EBS workers striking. If that is the way that there annual wages are calculated then they should be getting their due. And let us remember that the staff that have been conned out of this payment are the front line non management staff that are not on the best of wages to begin with. The payment was already made to management. Already it is an employers market place and if it is seen that an employer can get away with something like this comin up to christmas then more will try elsewhere. People should attempt to put their feelings against the banks separate and realise that wot the EBS are tryin to do is just plain wrong.

• If the union thought that legally the bank had a case to answer, they would be in the courts, not on strike.

• Have you any idea of the time involved in going through the procedures and the labour court? I would imagine that the legal process has been kicked off and industrial action is being used as an immediate spanner in the works…

• You would imagine that if legal proceedings had been undertaken, it would be reported in the media.

Also why has nobody come forward with their contract to show that it is a “savings scheme” and not a bonus?

It all just doesn’t add up.

• Its truly maddening what EBS managerial staff are getting away with. I don’t live in Ireland but if was was back there I would be beside myself with frustration. This is about principle and I despise the attitude of some such as from Karen O’ Mahony above that people should be lucky they have work. I don’t know one single person in nor have I ever had business dealings with EBS but It’s day light robbery to snatch their 13 payment of the year (not a bonus)… and the pure brazen balls of upper management to exclude themselves from this ruling. Someone has to take a stand for this and all the other injustices taken place in Ireland almost daily ripping the very spirit and hope out of our people. Irish people unite, wake up, and stand up against these people in power.

• Oh not a hope – as a nation of co-dependants and alcoholics – as long as we tip the cap, sure it will be grand!

• I am talking about EBS workers not the general work force of Ireland or those who have been ripped off ect. These people who are going on strike over extra Christmas payment work for a bank which was bailed out, these people if they had been working in one of the many businesses that has been forced to close down in Ireland but were not helped out by the government like EBS, would have no jobs now!

• briewee 20/12/11 #

I support the staff they have worked 5 weeks for free if they don’t get this payment. how many people would be happy to work for free. this was their way of saving for xmas and with a few days notice it is gone this is front line staff not management, they are not on the big wages, yes they have a job but no one should work for free and if this is how they have done it for 45yrs why wait till the last min to let staff know of the changes. if they can stop their “bonus” why haven’t they done it to the bigwigs that have conned the irish out their money and have put us up sh*t creek.

• Good luck 2day !

• Absolutely!! Don’t let the thieves get away with taking your wages!

But here’s the thing: a one-day strike won’t impress AIB. What legal advice have the union obtained? Is there a court challenge in the pipe? (I ask without much faith in the courts system…)

Otherwise, if they’re serious it should be an all-out strike, not one day, and they should call out the AIB workers too…

• Well since EBS is now part of AIB it doesn’t really matter if the staff get their 13th month. Should not the money be saved to make certain the CEO gets a sufficient incentive to take up his post? I mean, the CEO is such a vital post, especially when compared to the ordinary members of staff, that his remuneration, whether by bonus or shares or even simple cash, must be a priority – along, of course, with the remuneration of the honourable directors …

• Im sorry but times have changed, aren’t they lucky to have a job?!

• No karen, arent we lucky people are willing to stand up for their rights????? Otherwise we would all be filled with the “aren’t they lucky” CRAP!! If there were no jobs, there would be nowhere to buy your computer or smartphone, no internet to post comments, no electricity to charge your phone or computer…. And the list goes on!!! Sooo good luck with that one….

• I’m not really understanding your point there Andy! I’m all for people standing up for their rights ect but dont see how the EBS going on strike over a Christmas bonus effects my electricity or where to buy a phone.

• Apologies, i took your comment as a more general “arent they lucky” referring to general workers, not just EBS staff. Im just a little sick of people telling me im lucky to have a job! I worked hard to get where i am, and work mad hours and have had to take cuts & cuts and had the “well aren’t you lucky to have a job” spiel! But i still do my job because i love it and Im trying to make a difference!

• I disagree Karen. It’s a wage cut disguised as a cut in Xmas bonus. Bank management attacking ordinary workers again. People must support each other against this exploitation.

• Again to reiterate, it’s NOT a BONUS, its part of their wage system, to receive less each month through out the year to get it back for Christmas, a 13 month wage plan, 52 weeks a year, they receive 4week x 11 then 8 x 1week= 44 + 8 weeks. That’s not a bonus, they took home less all year as a form of saving to receive the remainder at Christmas,now the banks refuse to pay it while the managers and higher ups all received theirs.
      Only management and the media are calling this a bonus as a means to discredit their claim.

Still sound lucky to you?
      This is theft by EBS officials withholding owed wages to their front end staff. Some who are on 25k a yr. We should support their cause, or it could be you or me next that our employer decides to withhold payment and garnish themselves with it instead.
      I wish them all luck.

• Ah the Irish. A great bunch of begrudgers. No wonder it took us 800 to rid the English from part of the Island. No sense of together at all. I’m ok Jack so feck the rest of em.

• These banks never should have been bailed out. Should have gone bankrupt, if no international bank rescued the firm it would close its doors for good, staff made redundant.

Instead we have a handful of state banks losing money and the tax payer bailing them out.

• piohmy 20/12/11 #

Sorry andy but how can it be wages when most of use get paid for 12 mths work in a year & not 13.. It is a bonus…

• I think I will pay myself a 13th and 14th months wages this year because I’m worth it…. Oh just remembered the banks won’t give me credit

• Fair play!! Its not like staff are looking for something extra… Its their WAGES, not a bonus!!!!

• Go back to f#cking work!!!!

• piohmy 20/12/11 #

Surely it can’t be wages andy when most of the working public get paid for 12 mths work in a year & not 13.. It is a bonus…

• piohmy 20/12/11 #

How can it be wages andy, when most of us get paid for 12 months work in a year & not 13…. It is a bonus …

• It saddens me to say it but… tough luck. Its despicable the manner in which this has been handled but EBS got €2,400,000,000 that schools, hospital, disabled, elderly, charities etc now don’t have. Can you really say it’s fair if people still get bonuses for no reason – and it seems to be the case that they ARE bonuses, not salary. The timing and the way staff have been informed is quite disgusting and I feel sorry for their trouble but it is one of those consequences of the bailout and the collapse of the Irish banking system.

• It seems to me you dont’ understand simple maths and a wages system. For 45 years those working in the front end and management at EBS understand that their 25k per annum say wage will be spread over 13 payments not 12. But this year due to the AIB’s wording and jargon, these workers aren’t receiving their 13th instalment, Just because its larger than their previous months wage check doesn’t make it a bonus when for the previous 11 months you took home less expecting on the 12th month you would receive the balance.
      I’m as disgusted to the fact so many people don’t care that those on the low end scale are being shafted and those in management are getting their full years pay and yet no one is directing any anger there way.

Why does the article not read ” EBS officials take home end year *BONUS* while front-staff get wages withheld to pay for it”
      Happy Christmas

• I clearly do care about individuals who are going to suffer. The majority of them are the tax payers or unemployed suffering because of reckless banks. I also feel for the people who thought they were getting this money and then didn’t.

MY PROBLEM is that this is CLEARLY not their salary. If it was salary they would get it like salary… and don’t roll out the “poor worker who earns €5 quid a month” argument, it’s just not sound. Deal with the real facts here. A little perspective on what it means to be bailed out wouldn’t go astray.

• Where do you get the idea that it’s not their salary from? They have a set yearly wage like anyone else defined in their contract, so it is part of their yearly salary, they will pay tax on this like anyone else. it’s not an extra bonus or any form of special treatment for the special bankers.
      This has nothing to do with the bank bail out, when the bank is using the wording of their take over agreement to waggle out of paying 370 front end staff 5 weeks pay, while management still get paid their handsome wages as normal. This is injustice, and should not be allowed. There’s perspective and then there there is the top brass still getting paid! Maybe you should remind them about being bailed out.

But if this is how you see it, if your employed perhaps let your employer know how you feel, I bet they will be thrilled with you!
      “Don’t bother paying me for a month there, I love working here getting blamed for the entire countries problems, my kids expected a Christmas this year but sure that’s ok, as long as the Brass up stairs get their fair share I’m happy out” and in the case of the these 370, they have been offered a very Merry Christmas interest free loan to the value of their wages they did not recieve, the lucky devils!

• I apoligise for that oversight but its off my chest now & i feel great.

• Get back to work!! Ye should be all sacked for going on strike.

• If they find their pay and lack of a Christmas/year end bonus in a year which their employer wrote down record losses and shed assets to stay a float, to be uncompetitive with what they might receive elsewhere in the banking industry they are free to quit and find other jobs…

• If it is their salary how come there are no pension contributions made from it as there is from the other twelve month s??? I had sympathy for them until I heard this.

• I think fix this problem privatise the ESB then it wont be our problem. If the ordinary man/woman in the street had any idea of the waste in the ESB we would all be out on the street. The only reason these companies exist is because the government make a lot out of them. You think thats good for us all but all this is more tax collecting they dont pass on the profits to us by cheaper electricity. Get rid of this company & let private sector deal with problems which they are better equiped to do.

Add New Comment