TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Kenny ‘doesn’t like’ Bank of Ireland rate hike – but can’t stop it

Enda Kenny regrets Bank of Ireland’s decision on credit card rates, but says the issue is one for the Financial Regulator.

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has admitted he ‘doesn’t like’ Bank of Ireland’s decision to raise the interest rates on its credit cards just days before Christmas – but has told the Dáil it is not up to him to control the bank’s decisions.

Kenny told the Dáil this morning that the government was happy to give the Financial Regulator whatever powers he sought to control the interest rates of banks, but that such powers had not been sought.

“This is not a case of where the government can regulate the interest rates that are applicable on credit cards,” Kenny told Sinn Féin’s Gerry Adams.

Adams had raised the issue of Bank of Ireland’s increases – which will see the annual interest rates on some cards increased by up to 4 per cent – during Leaders’ Questions this morning.

The Sinn Féin president had asked whether Kenny or the government had been in contact with the bank about the increases, and questioned the role of the public interest directors in those banks.

“I don’t like this,” Kenny said in response, referring to the increase, adding that the government was in “constant contact with the [Financial] Regulator” to ensure that the regulator was happy with the facilities, authority and power provided to it under law.

“This is very difficult for many people who have run up huge bills on credit cards,” Kenny admitted, though adding that the government did “want it [Bank of Ireland] to be out there in the market.

“We’re prepared to act if the Regulator requires further facilities, or what he might consider as being appropriate powers to himself.”

Read: Bank of Ireland increases credit card interest by up to 4 per cent

Read next:

Comments (70 Comments)

• The taxpayer did not like having to bail out the bank of Ireland, but we did not get a choice, and the interest hike perfectly timed for Christmas, blood sucking parasites.

• why aren’t all the European and US banks banging in the door to set up in Ireland? Have we closed up shop, or are we that much of a basket case that they won’t risk it. Surely they can easily beat these ridiculous rates and still make a decent profit margin?

• enda doesn’t want to do anything sure disn he agree to bail the banks out with tax payers money and now sits by as the banks abuse the people…humbug

• tom 19/12/12 #

it’s a closed shop like insurance
      fewer players makes it easier for a cartels to exploit the market.

• could be because some people with wealth are taking their money overseas to theses banks because Ireland (or the euro) is still seen as a basket case??. They don’t need to set up here if money is being exported to them daily…

• Vinnie
      How could you call this abuse. I’m personally delighted they have put their interest rates on credit cards up because the quicker Bank of Ireland returns to profitability the sooner we all get our money back that the State put into them in the first place. I suppose you didn’t think of that Vinnie.
      Ye see we live in a country where we want everything for nothing and everyone else to pay for it. I call it the Magic Economics theory that inhabits the small brains of so many people in this country.

• Is that the same magic economics that ….shaaazzzaammm …….loaded bank debt to tax payers…. Yeah that kinda of economics is working great.

• If Edna and his bunch of wasters can’t do anything about anything why do we need them in power.
      Apparently we have to do what the troika say.
      Ok then why is this clown and the rest of his circus still in power.
      If its just to says yes to everything the troika say ill gladly do that job.
      Handy job to have. No responsibility.
      All you have to says is “the last government caused this problem”, and ” I’m powerless to do anything about the banks”, and “my hands are tied by Europe”.
      Ahhh enda you really are one big bag of shite.

• @michael we should have followed Iceland and dropped the banks in the deep end,we would be better off now.
      everything for nothing…?never borrowed a penny or risked anyone else’s money but I’m still going to be down around 2000 a year for itand possibly mode next budget because we didn meet Germanys targets
      if I get a loan a can’t pay it are you going to jump in and pay it…?i doubt it so why are you so happy to pay a strangers who is sitting back laughing at you now,there’s your magic economics

• Ciaran
      Just to help you out I will just once and once only remind you that the Taoiseach is in Government because the people elected him. I just wonder where you have been since the last General Election but hopefully that brings you up to date. As for your description of the dear man…..well, the language you use is typical of those who don’t really have the capacity to understand much anyway.
      Try an evening course in Good English for Beginners or alternatively Manners in Publicly Expressing Ourselves! The change in you could be marvellous.

• @Michael J Collins
      it sounds like paddy rodgers has reinvented himself, preferred the other name meself
      when your short of good arguement resorting to snide comments doesnt make up for it
      it only shows your lack of intelligence and self obsession

• @ Michael
      Well one really does have a high opinion of ones self.
      Is the view good from up there.

• @Michael.. If you can find me an evening course in Manners in Publicly Expressing Ourselves, I’ll give you my house..
      Perhaps you took an evening course in Condescending, Smug Pedantry in Publicly Expressing Ourselves?

• @ Frank, I’ve been thinking that myself.. The style is quite similar.. Methinks Paddy Mark Rodgers may be getting themselves banned for their frequent ad hominem attacks..
      For someone who constantly harps on about respect for the law etc, they have zero respect for the comments policy on journal.ie!!

• jrbmc 19/12/12 #

You don’t give a shite Enda !!!!! If you did you would sort it !!

• hahaha Shanti, the irony of the name he picks aswell, collins would have had him executed

• Confirmation again that the ‘public interest directors’ on the boards of the banks are just pr stunts who just happen to also be on a big fat salary at our expense..like I keep saying..NO Change

• I see where your going with this M J Collins. Ahem!! So we the people have been landed with a erroneous bill for BOI debt. Therefore our money went into propping up this crooked institution, and in an attempt to clear BOI debt it’s going to effectively screw the same people by taking money off them. I get the logic, BOI needs to return to profitability, my only question is once they archive this( if ever), will they have any customers left living to share the party with.
      Off course people could close their accounts, withdraw any funds they have and effectively shut the bank anyway, but if that happens we will need to bail them out………….yawn.

• David 19/12/12 #

What do this Government do? (Sorry Miss Whelan*). All I hear is what they can’t do. They can’t tackle the banks, can’t not pay bond holders (they haven’t gone away you know), can’t protect children, carers and the disabled, can’t stick to their pay scales, can’t manage departmental budgets, can’t understand the impact of their decisions on ordinary people. What can they do?

*my English teacher!

• You’re supposed to be leading this country, what do you mean you can’t do anything. You can enforce the cuts to the elderly, carers and your poxy household tax. Grow a pair.

• Everyone should go onto BOI’s Facebook page and publicly voice their dissatisfaction with this decision at such a delicate time of year. I already have!

• Cant stop rip off rate increases, cant stop bankers getting big salaries and pensions, cant find out who was responsible for the banking callapse,
    amazing the things they cant do when it comes to big business

• tom 19/12/12 #

Edna just seems incapable of understanding what a leader should be.

• Enda doesn’t like the interest rate hike at the bank of Ireland…………

I don’t like the property tax, septic tank charge , household charge, water rates,
    Cuts to Children’s allowance, cuts to carers, and also the disgusting high wage that our TD’s and Senators get paid but sure I’m probably on my own……. Lead….. Please LEAD….

• Did Kenny answer the part of the question on the role of the public interest directors or did he ignore it?

• Kenny doen’t answer questions. He just waffles for 10 minutes about something completely different whenever he is asked even a simple question. Either he can’t answer or he is just being devious. Probably the worst Taoiseach ever.

• And if he gets hot under the collar, he normally comes out with some Northern Bank quip back to Adams.

• Is there anyone anywhere that can run this country? I suppose it has to be Merkel then.

• Merkel will just treat us the same. When it comes to the welfare of Germany or that of Ireland, she will choose Germany. The German people will not accept shoddy treatment or abuse where as the Irish will accept anything that is thrown down on them. So screw Ireland and that will always be the case. The squeaky wheel gets the oil, the quivering coward gets a kick.

The problem is not the leaders, the problem is the people and their lack of self respect and back bone. Who ever is in charge will walk all over this country.

• impotent fool. useless .. he has a perverse sense of who he represents .

• Does he. The vast majority of people in Ireland have consistently voted for FF corruption and theft and FG defend the status quo at all cost. Their reward, emigration and poverty and dying of MRSA hospitals and they love them for that.

Sadly Kenny and FG and FF are doing what they always do and people still expect them to do otherwise. It makes no sense.

• Kenny ‘doesn’t like’ Bank of Ireland rate hike – but can’t stop it

I don’t like Enda Kenny and there’s nothing I can do to stop him from ruining the country

• What he means is that he doesn’t have the political will to do anything about it, not that he can’t do anything about it because he can.

• Jesus, is this man capable of doing anything???

• Welcome to the bank controlled state that pretends to have state controlled pillar banks.(and pays a heavy price for them).
    Suck it up pixieheads.

• Michael Noonan said he’s powerless & now Enda Kenny copied from him. How coward….

• He has the balls of a Eunuch.I dont hold the man personally responsible for the mess but jesus christ he’s doing didlysquat to help his people and imagine the negotiations going on in Europe.How long can we hang on where clinging by the fingertips as it is even the strongest people i know are fading out becoming shells of themselves robotic they havent flashed a smile in a long while but Enda is oblivious ..disconnected 30yrs in the Dail will do that they call it Insitutionalised .

• The problem here is that FG and FF see the banks and the very richest as what society and the economy are focused around. While successful economies seem them as important but only a part of society and the economy, not focused on it.

I wonder has our history bred it so deep in to our consciousness. Hundreds of years of the will and welfare of a nation being subservient to 6000 landlords, then when the south broke free, unused to self leadership, like a battered woman it turned towards the freakish control of the Church. Many clergy here are all deferential to power and wealth. The good poor Christian can have his reward in heaven as far as the church believe, they can go fup themselves here.

• If the banks won’t co-operate stop the bailout, their wasn’t even a referendum on the bank bail out, which seems unconstitutional. The country seems to be run by a dictatorship rather than a government that is supposed to work for and listen to the people of Ireland.

• Nothing surprises me anymore. Banks come first for this govt. So folks might use their credit card over Xmas so BoI steps in to shaft us even more. I hate having a credit card or even using it but they are necessary evil sometimes.

• Oh yes, despite owing a chunk of the bank – despite bailing it out with our money – we don’t have a say. Right you are m’lord. Right you are..

• What a useless shower of incompetent bastards this government is. The Banks once again telling Kenny and co who is in the driving seat.

• Guess who’s running and ruining the Country ?

• The Troika told him ……….

• Good man Enda,you keep on truckin’,thanks for getting our back,sound

• every day its some thing new wit this plank . . i bet he was bullied in school by the 4 year olds he was teaching

• This man is nothing but a thief and crook!! He should be dragged out of government kicking and screaming, of course Gilmore will be stuck to his ass as usual!!! Get out Enda you liar we don’t want or need ya!!

• Kenny to stop something that’s wrong, don’t make me laugh.just roll over Kenny and lick your b—s o I forgot you have none.

• Shirley some day soon, an article will be published where we can all say “Well done enda” *sigh*

• Wonder why ? Because up to now he’s been doing as he pleases ?

• Another admission that the government muppets are powerless, toothless, gutless muppets. We are probably better off with the other gangsters running the country.

• Eamon will help with this because he hates to see the working masses being hit like this!

• John 20/12/12 #

Why not us all go to Leinster House on Monday morning 9am with a massive gang of people and turf out these scoundrels.

• Friends who work in finance and a colleague from one if holland’s leading financial institution said getting on a plain out of Dublin he hoped he never set Foot in Ireland again as the regulations and regulators were a joke in trying to do business in Ireland and will tell other foreign companies to avoid Ireland like the plague.maybe that’s the reason why Kenny either can’t or doesn’t want to upset the major contributors to FG’s coffers are mainly bank and financial institutions.

• Well why can’t we vote for someone,that can?

• I though he is the law… I though he actually can… Sorry he can but he won’t !!

• People are still banking with BOI and AIB. Why ?? They can move and still pay their bills by transfers etc if they really want to hit the banks.

• They can interfere when pumping our hard earned salaries into those same banks.

• Dgar 19/12/12 #

Am not so adverse to credit card interest rates going up (within reason) as this affects those spending outside their budget now. However, it was disgraceful when AIB mortgage rates went up during year despite no ECB rates increase !

• He’s right &thank God he can’t dictate to the banks how to set their interest rates. The last thing we need is any political influence whatsoever in banking, regardless of what political party is in government. It didn’t exactly work out well for the USSR did it!. The sooner BOI and AIB can return to fully private control the better.

Add New Comment