TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Fianna Fáil leader apologises for party’s mistakes

Micheál Martin offered an unequivocal apology for the party’s actions while in Government during his Ard Fhéis speech this evening.

MICHEÁL MARTIN USED his televised keynote address at the Fianna Fáil Ard Fhéis tonight to issue an apology for the mistakes his party made while in Government.

Speaking to thousands of party delegates at the RDS, Martin admitted that while in Government, Fianna Fáil “should have acted differently”.

“We made mistakes. We got things wrong. And we are sorry for that.”

His words, mid way through his speech, were met by a round of applause and a standing ovation.

He said that the party’s dismal result in last year’s General Election was the people of Ireland holding it to account.

People were angry and they showed it, delivering a historic defeat for us. We fully acknowledge the scale of the defeat.

Although that will be the most notable aspect of the speech, Martin also spoke about the party’s need for “deep and real” renewal. He told delegates attending the Ard Fhéis that Fianna Fáil will not be a destructive or cynical Opposition party.

However, he still offered numerous criticisms about the current Fine Gael/Labour Government. He launched attacks on the coalition’s decisions on education, budgets and law-making.

This is a government making many unfair and damaging decisions, and we will never shirk from challenging them.

He called for a political system that does not concentrate most of the power in the hands of 15 people “sitting at the cabinet table”. As it stands, Dáil Eireann is becoming “more irrelevant and ineffective”, he said.

During his speech, Martin also praised the “historic presidency” of Mary McAleese and paid tribute to the “courageous work” carried out by the late Brian Lenihan.

IN FULL: Micheál Martin’s speech (and apology) at the Fianna Fáil Ard Fhéis>

AS IT HAPPENED: Micheál Martin’s speech at the Fianna Fáil Ard Fhéis>

Read next:

Comments (88 Comments)

• “We made mistakes. We got things wrong. And we are sorry for that.”
    The only thing you people are sorry about is the fact you got caught and were not re elected.

• The wrong person gave the apology

• This is the same guy who in the run up to the election was refusing to apologise or even acknowledge what his party had done. Anybody who sees this as anything other than a cynical move bourne from o cuivs stance and sinn fein overtaking them in the polls is an idiot.

• Fianna Fail is a cancer in our society
    Bertie Cowan Callely Haughey in attendance
    No change with this so called new beginning??????????

• So he is admitting liability, maybe we should sue them.

• Lets all ring Joe on monday and he will give us solace and comfort,That reminds me I must pay the TV licence I dont want to see Joe Duffy Pat Kenny or my Fav. DJ Ronan Collins who plays 8 songs a day for us to lose their jobs.

• Well said Frankie,RTE should be totally privatized in the budget in December not just semi privatisation like selling RTE2 and 2FM its losing 34million this year its a parasite and the burden on the good people of this country,I won’t be sad to see it go,that’s of course if there is a fool out there that are willing to buy it’salaries of 500,000euro a year get the private sector in they will bring in a salary cap of 100,000euro year which is still three times the average industrial wage and a good salary but I sadly believe that it won’t happen unless the IMF do something about it

• Nah,don’t waste your time Frankie, I’ll be far too busy listening to Pat, Ryan and Joe. Oh,and who’s that gobshite on after Joe? Worth every cent, I tells ya!

• I think having Bertie N Biffo in attendance shows the out right Arrogance of these shower of bastards, if they wer really sorry an wanted to move on y have the old guard there at al ?? Y have M. Martin as leader… He was in the cabinet when al the robbing an backhanders wer going on, I belive a government is only as bad as the opposition allows them 2b n FG wer shit opposition so although I don’t like SF id rather them as the 3rd strongest party before FF because al they are (as proven by Bertie’s presence today) is the same ole same ole

• Bring back the last F.F.Government before a committee and make them account for the actions,while in government.if found guilty of neglect they lose there BIG PENSIONS.

• they made mistakes alright. Go up to any hospital and take a look at their mistakes

• Aydo 03/03/12 #

I’ve got somewhere you can stick your apology …

• Martin called for “a political system that does not concentrate most of the power in the hands of 15 people “sitting at the cabinet table”. As it stands, Dáil Eireann is becoming “more irrelevant and ineffective” ….. Are you for real you hypocritcal liar. How many years did you sit at the same cabinet table… How many times did you suggest devolving power to the Dail??? Did you offer at this ard fheis to remove the party whip system??? You are a patronising liar…. You personally will never be at a cabinet meeting EVER again. Traitor!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Ciaro 03/03/12 #

Apology for mistakes but praise for lenihan and biffo?
    Gobshite!

• Let’s be completely honest with ourselves. Fine Gael, fianna fail and labour are the same parties. There is no difference. And anyone who can argue this point with me, I’m listening. I get this niggling feeling that we’re constantly passing the bucket in Irish politics. Fine Gael and labour probaly would have made the same mistakes through the boom. Thats not from a fianna fail perspective because what they done was an injustice to leave us in this state. But as an impartial voter, I cannot see the difference between these parties. What do fine Gael stand for? What do labour stand for? In the last election we were promised there is going to be major changes. From what I see the it’s the same now as when fianna fail were in power. Continuation of this bailout, more taxes and more money for advisors and banks. Is it any wonder sinn fein are growing at a rate of knots, people are forlorn with these so called republican parties. But on the flip side how could ya vote for sinn fein?its a catch 22 and as I said, no difference between any of them. Time for someone to stand up to the plate and develop a new party thats prides itself on honestly and putting the people first!

• Face facts people. All that matters is the Party!
    The Party serves the members and the members serve the Party.
    So it was and always will be forever and ever Amen.
    The false apologies are ended and you may now leave the RDS.

• Ah Jeasus Rommel now yer at it again. A great rousing occasion has to be dampened by yer pathetic bleeting. The Soldiers of Destiny have spoken the beast has been appeased and all you can do is pour scorn. Mordor is alive and yer likes will be vanquished. Onward….

• Mistake?. You mean, your party accidentally lied to the Irish people. You put your party before the people and it was all just a misunderstanding?. Oh, I see now. How stupid of me. There I was, thinking that you were only looking after your cronies and corrupt friends. So, the brown envelopes just happened (by mistake ), to land in the pockets of Fianna Fail supporters. Yes, I can see how that can happen by mistake. I’m confused. So, if devious lying strategies get you elected when people are distracted by unsustainable wealth, then you think that they will be just as easily duped, when that wealth has all but evaporated. Then, you think that the Irish people will just buy the dead mantra of a mistake, yet again?. No, we may be naive, kind and forgiving, but we are not stupid. Your claim of mistaken choices, is as believable, as the Catholic churches claim of mistakes, regarding their handling of abuse within the church.

• jimbo 03/03/12 #

Too late for that apology not accepted

• they are a wretched lot alright, im afraid Mr. Martin is a dead man walking. I see a lot of red thumbs on some disparaging comments aimed at the vermin who betrayed the republic and sold all our asses..for debt and misery. they still out there folks, just waiting to reinvent themselves with a new leader and a strong showing in the locals. lets leave the virtual world on those days when it counts. as for praise of Brian lenihan, the poor man had a dreadful demise, and while he wasn’t intrinsically evil, he was a wholly incompetent political dinosaur from an entitled political dynasty and was not the martyr and hero that some would have you believe. perhaps I could consider ff for a vote in 20 years, but for true reform to take place they need to b kept away from power for at least that long. the rest of us still wont b out of the crapper by then anyways. what a bloody mess they have led us into.

• What a wonderful job it must have been in the FF government! Imagine! Getting such inflated salaries for making ‘mistakes’! Where can I get one of those jobs? Guess I’ve missed the bus … sniff, sniff :-(

• What is wrong with Irish people? How is anyone stupid enough to even listen to this shower of thieves? 2 years later and everyone forgives and forgets… People should stop blaming the government and blame themselves for allowing people like this to run the country.

• Watching the ard fheis for 10 seconds almost made me vomit.

• Micheal Martin, ‘the alterboy’ talk about pathetic.stae of him and his so called party.

• Mr Lee 03/03/12 #

It won’t be a “shithole”

• Apologies but no accountability Bertie and all the other old rats sailed off with their fat pensions when they knew the game was up they abused this country left right and centre to feather their own nests remember the Galway tent and haugheys golden circle Ould Dev making deals with the church and controlling the Press the apple never falls far from the tree this crew are rotten to the core but the do wear the best suits

• Same old faces the people that destroyed our country are still welcome by finna fail as we were obliged to watch them on the telly still laughing at the people of Ireland suppose to be gone from the limelight . what a joke the party is still the same . The corrupt parasites are still within lets not try to con the public by saying sorry when we can see you do not mean it as you still cherish the old guard of crims you will never learn the public gave you your answer last year and ye still do not believe, shame on you.

• No protesters outside the FF love-in. Aot of cheering and clapping – God help is they still haven’t got the message. Mind you they will be back in coolition soon as FG and Labour are their main promotors with their appalling behaviour. They are even promoting the Bertie Hospital in Drumcondra. This proves that they are all corrupt and tarred with the same brush.

• Cuba has a better health care system. The NHS is better….. I cannot accept excuses or recriminations cloaked in the language of Mistake for Irish people lying on hosp trollies.

• Thank you FF for reminding Irish people of your Mistakes. Sick people lying on trollies. Trollies in corridors….. thats some mistake red thumb

• Bunch of 24 carat dipsticks

• “We made mistakes…. we’re sorry”.
    Somehow being at the helm of a country’s government while the country was driven to ruinous bankruptcy for the next two generations seems a little bit more than a few mere mistakes.

• Oh right FF made mistakes! Mistakes? Is that what they are calling it now? Some amount of mistakes……

• We’ll be paying for the last government for the next 20 years at least. FF off and die, FF!!

• I will eat my hat if FF are not in the next government. Because we the people cannot bear to stick to a plan and only want a short term fix every couple of years and ‘to hell with the future generations, that’s their problem’ attitude. FF will offer to abolish,say, property tax, and presto, they’ll be in again. Guaranteed. Just watch all the gawpy FF**krs at the Ard Fheis, cheering and backslappin’ and winking at each other…’be jaysus, we’re back lads, get Festy to get out the poles for the tent again Jacky, good man yerself’. Galling. Just galling.

• That’s actually the saddest and unfortunately an all too likely outcome. We live in a country where we say we want European levels of public service but won’t pay European levels of tax. We say we don’t want to see kids taught in prefabs or people lying for hires on trolleys in hospitals, but ask us to pay a level of tax that will resolve those issues and we come over all “no f*cking way”. FF offer tax cuts in 4 years or 8 years and it’ll be bygones are bygones, welcome back in, lads!

• Agreed, RP and Desmond. That is the most depressing fact of all about living in Ireland. They say people get the politicians they deserve. So what does that say about a nation that elected their most incompetent, gombeen party into power for 61 of the last 79 years? That’s what we – and the next generation – are being made to pay for.

• I somehow feel that he doesn’t truly mean it

• Just words from Martin. Meaningless words.

• As for the 100 Million Mahon Tribunal.Nobody will be brought to book.We had a chance with Lawlor,he was going to bring a few down with him,but he had a convenient demise.All Berties skullduggeries will be covered up.The put their own cronies on the tribunal commitee,so the results stand to reason.Another complete waste of money.

• SMcB 03/03/12 #

“Unfair and damaging decisions…” Yes Mehole … Unfair and damaging decisions that FG are making because of YOUR party’s mistakes. FFS.

• If sorry lets see party big wigs work for minimum wage on behalf of the state to rectify their accepted wrong doings, what are the chances? 0

• Bit late….

• So how sorry are you and all your ex Ministers, Tanaistes and Taoiseachs? Are you going to repay the debt we are now struggling with out of your fat cat pensions and salaries? Are you going to give all the public sector workers back a percentage of their cutbacks by you taking a cut in your payoffs, tax breaks etc?????? NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO I didnt think so so F*&C OFF

• xyz 04/03/12 #

wow! after that post ill vote for FF ! hehehehe LOL!! :)) wake up Martin! no more FF in Ireland! they took enough. have your cheese and get lost …

• Don’t apologise. Do the decent thing: shut down the Fianna Failures party and disappear into oblivion, never to be heard from again.

• In all the pubs around the Ard Fheis The brethren are saying Cometh the hour Cometh the man I wish I was there for a good laugh, On a serious note Well done to Sinead O Carroll on a well written article.

• so the scriptwriters said get out say sorry. say we made mistakes. the Irish electorate will buy that.MISTAKES

• Too late too weak and too typical!

• So…we should vote FF back in, with Martin at the helm?

• lol!

• For all FF’s failings in regulating the banks & the property market I think we’re too narrow minded at laying the blame at their door. While we are moaning about their shortcomings we are borrowing our children’s futures to pay back foreign banks that flooded Ireland with cheap money in the first place. The Germans go on about our deficit, but we were running a budget surplus prior to the collapse, perhaps they and we ourselves should look at why German banks behaved the way they did, I dont hear anyone talking about that, I dont hear Germans questioning themselves, just bullying us so we pay them back and their own banks dont need bailing out. Thats right, German banks are in the same position as Irish banks the difference is we’re at the end of the line, we cant bully developers into paying back what they owe when they dont have it. Infact it goes further, the reason German ( & other banks) we able to lend so much cheap cash to us is that they themselves were being flooded with money from China who have massive surplus’. What is my point? This is much bigger than a political party. They couldnt of actually done much, except regulate developers and the lending of cash from banks more. But then they would have been accused of being mad from Fine Gael for not capitalising on revenue streams. Its all smoke screens, while we blame FF the real bad guys who f’ed up 100x worse are getting away with their cash that they pretty much forced upon us, no sign of them taking cuts or paying for the mess? Nope its you and me.

• while you have a very valid point FF are just as culpable for being part of the whole systen as you described it. they were at the heart of the banking wa*kers in this country and did their level best to make sure their mates were on the gravy train with them! while the foreign powers at play are to blame you cant possibly just say “ah poor ff, sure they only got caught up in things and got carried away bless!” they shud be hauled before an oireachtas committee and then referred to the dpp for prosecution! if thats leads back to these ppl then good! i seriously think the government needs to publish the names of ALL the bond holders every time they make a payment then we’ll see if they all have GMBH after their names or what! we’ll know all the superwealthy and massive corporations at play taking our money illegitimately!

• Well, it sure is looking like Ireland will be quite bleak when I am older…

• While i no ff may not be the answer i still think were in need of a strong center right opposition party.

• Poor FF and PD’s why did all the other parties gang up on them and make them rob and destroy the country.

• Apology lacked credibility.

• And while you the people are swallowing the bull from the present government here is my load of bull that ye can have also

• It was a really good one too. Any ideas on how to find it ? ?

• Please don’t tell me that my first and only rant has been lost in the ether

• How the hell have 2 people thumbed down my comment on total privatisation of RTE either your trollers or you work for RTE I don’t know which

• No fada on Ard-fheis. :)

• The apology is a start. All government needs good opposition to drive debate. The current government was asleep during the 14 years until woken by the crash, they need to apologise too. Was our crash all f.f. Failures, no way. Many people and businesses made very poor personal and business choices while their neighbours did not. It has never been the role of government to tell people how to behave. We have all learned a lesson, but the galling thing is those under 40 carry most of the burden of debt and lack of opportunity while seeing lavish pensions awarded at boom time rates to all state elders. This now immoral activity needs to be exposed is one of many issued that need resolving. Has any political led by example to accept a smaller pension?

• The apology is a start. Will the current government apologise for being asleep at the wheel and not opposing until woken by the crash?

Add New Comment