TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

SIPTU firefighters set to ballot for industrial action

SIPTU said new proposals to cut the numbers responding to incidents will put firefighters in danger and claim lives.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

SIPTU FIREFIGHTERS ARE set to commence a national ballot for industrial action if the Department of Environment, Community and Local Government attempts to implement changes to working practices that would “endanger fire fighters and the communities they serve”.

The department has compiled a document entitled ‘Keeping Communities Safe’ which proposes to cut the numbers of firefighters manning a fire appliance by 20 per cent.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, Fire Fighter National Committee member, Bryan Murray, said the proposals will “be anything but keeping the community safe” and that it will “jeapordise the lives of firefighters and members of the public”. He said:

In the case of an ordinary house fire you would expect around 9 fire firefighter to deal with it safely. The commander is required by law to carry out a risk assessment before telling fire fighters to move to an offensive position and if they have to call for backup because of the cuts you’ll have fire fighters sitting on the garden wall waiting for the backup to arrive before they can attend.

He said the union has sought copies of a risk assessment that guarantees that a safe service can still be provided. “Firefighters are entitled to a safe system of work, not just at the station but as the scene as well and we have been refused this information,” he said.

“We also requested the names of the committee members and the department refused to reveal this information as well.”

Murray said that there is legislation in place that demands the employer to provide a safe system of work and the department is failing to tell the public that “firefighters at the scene may have to stand at the garden gate and it will claim lives”.

“As an employer the department has a responsibility and they’re not willing to guarantee the life of the firefighter,” he said. “In fact they’re being quite cavalier about the matter and I think firefighters are being left with no option but to ballot on this issue which is essentially a health and safety matter.”

Read: Gardaí in Cork City may opt for ‘blue flu’>
Cork City gardai vote in favour of industrial action>

Read next:

Comments (60 Comments)

• Keep the ball rolling vote yes

• Mark 06/02/13 #

The shït is really starting to hit the fan now.

Let’s hope the fire fighters vote yes too.

Are you reading this Mr. Kenny?!

• Come on INMO, join them , let all frontline join against these lowlifes in Leinster house

• Brilliant!! Great to see our frontline workers taking the fight to the Government! Firefighters, Gardai, Nurses & Army…These men & women are Everyday Heroes!! This is not some Soviet Era Eastern Block Nation we live in! We deserve better & OUR Frontline Staff are determined to fight for the cause! Back them 100%!!!

• Caboose 06/02/13 #

All frontline need to stand together now. No more cheap talk

• If the government keeps going like this, they’ll have a full-on mutiny by the civil service by the end of the year. Between industrial action by the Gardaí and the fire service alone you’re talking about a massive drop in support as key services are lost due to government policy.

For all the civil service bashing that’s gone on the last few years, it’s a telling situation where it will likely be the civil service who had the stones to stand up and say no more.

• Neither the Gardaí or the Fire Service are ‘civil servants’ !

• Yep , all the patriots in the Public Service are going to provide disasters. Well done guys. You have really moved into an “offensive position ” now.

• Rory tried to make sense of your post but i can’t,do you support the frontline workers or are you lambasting them which?

• Norman, I am not supporting them. This country has been nailed by CPA1. Now is not the correct time for people
      to do what is proposed. Sure , these are tough times for all of us . The Private sector has taken a hammering but CPA1 favours the Public Sector [do not get me started on Benchmarking]. To simply fold your tent and walk away is not the answer. At the very least, see how the negotiations on CPA2 go and the reconsider your position. By definition , no talks can progress if phat would be the poeople walk away or predetermine the result. What would be the point of any talks , ever ? I just do not get it. They agree to enter talks and then half way through they renege.

• They agreed to enter talks and they did,why should they stay if they disagree with what is being proposed?

• Norman, To answer your question. It is a PROPOSAL. Why not negotiate ? Why not make counter – proposals. That is what negotiations are about. I do not like what you are asking so I am taking my ball back and going home ? It is time to grow up and realise the State of the Nation and , at least , negotiate.

• Not the civil service , the public service, The two groups are very different

• We are cutting 1 billion from your pay thats the starting point on the government side,the unions before the talks said this was unacceptable,so forget the childish analogy of “i’m taking my ball”.
      If the government were as aggressive overseas as they’re with their own people i would be impressed.

• Rory there talking about reducing night allowance and weekend Pay, none of which effect politicians or civil servants ,
      Frontline just want fair treatment , this far and no further, why should we take a bigger hit than other people payed by this state,

• @RoryConway

CPA1 protected Public Servants from FURTHER pay cuts. 17% on average had been taken before CPA1. Ordinary Public Servants have taken a hammering too. Your anger and disgruntlement towards public servants is a little misguided. Ask yourself the following, why are the government not making threats to the ECB and the Troika regarding the 3 billion euro they will pay to Anglo bondholders, yet they are making threats to their own employees regarding 1 billion euro they want to save?

• Rory, don’t talk about things you don’t have a clue about. I don’t know how negotiations went with the fire service but the Gardai were shown a document and said this is the offer, sign there or we legislate…

What part of that makes it sound like the government want to do any talking?

• Rory Would you talk to a Dictatorship for that is what this Puppet Government is Trying To Be. Would you like to have your Wages Cut by 130euro a Week over the Next 18 Months. I think Not.

• Yes No One From The Rank Of Superintendent Up Will Be Asked To Endure These Savage Cuts. All Ranks Below Need To Stick Together And Fight This Tooth And Nail In Fact Ye Should Fight To Have All Yer Cuts And Allowances restored To What They Were Before These Paracidic Puppet Lying Shysters Were Wrongly Empowered To Govern and Finish The Destruction Of This Country.

• Michael 06/02/13 #

Its the unions that are causing the problem.

• Think again Public servants

• CPA2 is a direct aggressive attack by government on frontline workers end of we have taken 23% in cuts prior to CPA1, shift work , weekends, Christmas on shift etc and told when to take your holidays which could be in April or September , this agreement will stick it to frontline services as the employer wants to cut allowances for working these hours the whole public service need to stand up now and be counted

• Nurses, Gardai and now the fire fighters all lining up? Gonna be a long hot summer if it keeps going like this.

• Barty 06/02/13 #

Lets just remember the biggest section of the fire service is the Retained ,men & women who don’t have a set 12 hour or 8 hour shift pattern. The calls we answer are the same calls as the full time service we give the same professional care to our citizens the length and breath of this country. We are on call 24/7/365 we only get paid if we are called out ,our retainer is approximately ?1 per hour we pay USC PRSI & the Pension Levy in a non pensionable job and the government want to reduce our wages even more.

Tomorrow the DOELG will announce it new project called Keeping Community’s Safe, and how will they keep you safe by reducing the number of firefighters and closing down stations.

I hope the public can see that we don’t want to cause any inconvenience to you but we are left with no option if this is driven through many communities outside the large city’s wont have firefighters to respond to 999 calls.

• @Barty
      No one is forgetting the retained service at all. In fact the so called “keeping Communities Safe” document is even more dangerous in the retained rural areas
      It should be renamed ” Making Communities Unsafe”

• The people of Ireland have been put down and rolled over for far too long. I dare say hundreds of years. We all thought things were changing with the coming of the tiger. Unfortunately it was a cruel joke that a lot of us are discovering in the last few years. How can a financial system work if those who speculate are rewarded on good bets and their bad bets are socialised. Any person with a brain can see the injustice which lies at the core of these policies. Citizens of Eire it’s time to take a stand and support the catalyst for change in the shape of frontline workers. If we don’t we will be rolled over for many more generations. The scale of debts which we have been forced to shoulder are unsustainable without more and more cuts and taxes. Don’t believe the mainstream media and government propoganda.
    Remember: vote yes for change, growth and jobs. Another sick joke. Wake up people! This is a race to the bottom if YOU allow it.

• We have to vote yes what they want to do to the fire service is dangerous ,we have to many chiefs making cost saving measures to mind there jobs ,they don t care about the public or the firefighters it madness

• It appears at long last the front line workers have taken enough it is long past time for a unified action from this group of essential workers to say no more great stuff

• Gardai cannot strike, Fire Service and HSE Ambulance Personnel must provide emergency cover so in effect cannot strike in the full meaning of the word. The Government live in the false belief that as Emergency Service Personnel there is nothing we can do to fight back no matter how our respective services are stripped to the bone. They believe that the petty differences and arguments between the different sections of the Emergency Services will forever stop us acting as one. It is time to put these differences and arguments behind us and for us to join together to make a stand.

The plan is simple, but it requires a trust between all section of the Emergency Services that has never existed before, a trust that we have each others backs. We need to be one in this. Not Gardai, not Fire Service, not HSE Ambulance Personnel, not Coast Guard not Army or any other single group. We need to be The Emergency Services of Ireland together as one cohesive unit.

They have taken away our right to strike but they cannot take away our right to resign. Twenty thousand plus Emergency Service Personnel all resigning on the same day. They cannot replace us, it would take too long to train new people. Twenty thousand plus Emergency Service Personnel all in one place, at one time, all with one idea, the wellbeing of the Irish people. We spend our lives protecting the people of Ireland from danger, be it arresting the criminals that prey on them, entering burning buildings to save them, saving their lives with medical intervention, plucking them from certain death on the high seas, keeping the criminals behind bars, and every other thing we risk all to do. This is a fight that the people of Ireland cannot take on , it is up to us, the frontline members of the Emergency Services to yet again risk all to protect them. Not by arresting someone, not by fighting the flame, but by simply saying, “no more, that is enough” and showing the Government that their actions do indeed have consequences.

Think of this Mr Kenny. Your and your colleagues are in the Dáil and you get a message that something is happening outside. The doors open and some people begin the enter the chamber. They politely walk up to you, introduce themselves and hand you a letter of resignation, you look behind them and see an orderly queue. There is no shouting, no abuse being hurled at you just a queue of quiet people exercising their right to resign. You may wonder how these people managed to enter the Dáil but what you will eventually realise is that the members of An Garda Siochána who were on duty on the gate are in fact in the queue, and it is a long queue, a very long queue. A queue of twenty thousand plus people who can no longer just stand idly by while you and your colleagues slowly take apart the Emergency Services. The faces of these people will not register with you as, with all the citizens of Ireland all you will see is the uniforms. Uniforms which we used to wear with pride but no longer do.

What you forget is that under those uniforms there are people, people with them same hopes and dreams as everyone else. We may be Gardai, Fire Fighters, Paramedics, EMTs, Coast Guards personnel, Soldiers, Prison Wardens and the countless others who serve on the front line but underneath we are just people, people who worry about the same things everyone else does. Is my family safe, can I pay my mortgage, can I feed my children.

We have been pushed to the brink and the only course of action left to us is resignation, when members of the Emergency Services cannot afford to put enough fuel into their cars to actually get to work, or go to work when our minds are wondering if the letter from the bank foreclosing on their home will be on their mat when we get home then enough is enough. It is a sad sad day when a Government slashes its Emergency services so much that the People of Ireland live in fear because their Gardai are no longer there, are afraid to call the Fire Service because they cannot afford the bill and can fall sick when there is no Ambulance to come to their aid. The only thing that could be worse is if we, the Emergency Services personnel were not there at all, and Mr Kenny that time is very close indeed.

We do not want this Mr Kenny but you are leaving us with little choice. You are taking away our ability to do our jobs and putting the lives of the Irish public at risk with the slash and burn tactics you are using against the Emergency Services as a whole.

http://www.facebook.com/es.zerohour

• Fire fighters can strike. They can serve notice to the employer and its up to them to arrange emergency cover. Not sure about HSE. Gardaí are the only ones who can’t officially strike.

• Thats fulltime firefighters Simon. Retained firefighters, who are the largest group of firefighters are stuck with an emergency cover document that siptu signed up to where the County Council can nominate any staff to provide emergency cover. They nominated the firefighters and it was accepted by siptu.

• Power to the people. Time to bring the fascist dictator EU puppets to their knees. I fully support any action these frontline citizens decide to take. If we continue to tip our cap to the ECB technocrats there will be no recovery for decades.

• It nickname is keeping the chiefs safe

• Fulltime Firefighters can and will strike

Whatever about the “Keeping Chiefs Safe” system that endangers firefighters lives and in turn puts the public in more danger the fact remains that Full time firefighters are ready for strike if our Pay or Allowances are Attacked again .

Do the public know we have over 300 chiefs and assistant chiefs in the republic of Ireland who are engineers and have never been operational firefighters and more importantly have never fought fires in a REAL emergency , Only on training courses where they are minded like kids do they see flames and smoke and these office jockeys are setting policies that effect the safety of Firefighters and the general public.

Some years ago the irish daily mail printed an article highlighting the scandalous ammount of chiefs and assistan chief fire officers that we have per head of population compared to any other country, I would urge people to check it out

• Light a Spark Under Their Arse Make Them Sit Up And Listen .

• Barty 06/02/13 #

John my comments are ment for the general public who don’t know what we do.

Some years ago a ACFO commented that the Retained Fire Service was a necessary evil .

• The biggest threat to this action will be the different unions not standing together, please god they don’t start trying to outdo each other and stand firm together

• Cut 20% of the dead wood out of parliament I say !! They are obviously clueless !!

Add New Comment