Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Former Anglo Irish Bank finance director arrested

McAteer pictured afer his first time being questioned by gardaí in March 2010.
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

THE FORMER FINANCE Director of Anglo Irish Bank, Willie McAteer, has been arrested by gardaí.

Gardaí said that he was arrested as part of an ongoing investigation by gardaí from the Garda Bureau of Fraud Investigation and the Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement.

The investigation is into alleged financial irregularities at Anglo Irish Bank.

McAteer is currently being detained under the provisions of Section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act 1984 at Irishtown Garda Station.

This is the second time that McAteer has been arrested.

In August of this year, the Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement submitted a third investigation file into the Anglo case to the DPP.

A statement from the office at the time said:

This investigation file was stated to relate to the suspected failure of Anglo to maintain a register of loan and related transactions which the Bank had with its directors and with persons connected with its directors.  Section 44 of the Companies Act 1990 is the relevant statutory provision.

This file relates to pre-2009 periods.

The ODCE also said that “good progress continues to be made” with its Anglo investigations, and that it will be sending further papers to the DPP in the coming months.

Read: Anglo Irish Bank… in the shredder>

Read: Govt criticised for u-turn on Anglo senior bondholders>

Column: David Drumm and Anglo fiddled while Rome burned>

Read Next:

Comments (32 Comments)

• Keith Colton 01/11/11 #
    Report this comment

So when’s he and the rest of them going to be charged with something? Preferably treason….

• Diarmuid Donoghue 01/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Wait…..arrested???….sssh…..think I can hear some people getting the finger out….

• Keith Colton 01/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Seanie Fitz was arrested, nothing ever came of that

• Tim Henchin 01/11/11 #
      Report this comment

There are too many FF’ers in the courts, the guards, civil service etc, who owe their positions to their parties nefarious influence. Favours will be called in, have no doubt that no one will be appropriately punished. Anywhere else in the world, this would have been resolved years ago.

• Maureen Kelly 01/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Funny how these guys are arrested around the same time as our government is about to make a pay out! Coincidence, distraction, or what??!! :(

• Kerry Blake 01/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Interesting timing seeing as the government is about to hand over €751m to unsecured bond holders in Anglo. Maybe this is an effort to make the Irish tax payer happier about that?

• Michael Hegarty 01/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Indefinite Internment should be imposed on all top brass bank bullies until the whole mess is fully investigated. It would stop.them transferring wealth, hiding documents, moving into exile like Drum…..possibly a tad too late though.

• Story bud 01/11/11 #
    Report this comment

The madoffs attempted suicide, their son hung himself, a long prison sentence for bernie and the family ruined. Here in the banama republic of eire, (no fada anymore as we are now ‘beholden’ and thats the long and short of it) we wait and wait for the state to do something, about the ponzi scheme that we called our economy, it will be another 4 or 5 years before we see anyone in court and no doubt he is lawyered up to the last and will get a slap on the wrists for being such a bold boy. But no doubt if nama hasnt fixed him up with a job somebody else will!

• Réada Quinn 01/11/11 #
    Report this comment

You mean we didn’t need referendum to get the wan…. I mean bankers. Wow!

• Roman RomanOwski 01/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I want to see those responsible bastards behind bars!!!

• Stephen G 01/11/11 #
    Report this comment

These stories have become tiresome. We need to see some action to feel somewhat appeased.

• Report this comment

The only action worth doimg is to acknowledge that all private investment carries risk and the state is not an insurer for the speculations of a delinquent private sector. No payments should be made for unguaranteed bonds, risk is their nature otherwise whats the point?

• James Quirke 01/11/11 #
    Report this comment

About bloody time!

• Aidan Gill 01/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Its only publicity stunt this. Think back to the tribunals etc where we saw this “c*ck showing” exercise going on. Yet did anything every come of it????

Until we see them locked up then we will never applaud FG, even though I voted them in, thinking “this time it will be different”… Ya right.

• CMD 01/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Does this government think we are stupid? Very conveniently on the day we are paying the Anglo bondholders a kings ransom of our money or money we will be told we owe to IMF or someone, this a…hole is whizzed away in a squad car. He is probably sitting at this moment enjoying a lovely lunch at our expense and laughing, safe in the knowledge he will never serve a day in jail. So much for FG/Lab promises about transparency – same shit different party.

• Ryan Murphy 01/11/11 #
      Report this comment

Which I read as:

“Vote FF, sure we’re no worse than the crowd that are there now!”

• SMcB 01/11/11 #
      Report this comment

You’ve an awful short memory CMD…. Anglo was nationalised on the 21/01/2009. Then we were told after that a bailout wasn’t needed. Where was the transparency then?

• Chris lynch 01/11/11 #
    Report this comment

This would be the second time he is arrested http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1101/angloirish.html, and again nothing will come of it. If they haven’t been able to find something illegal that they can charge someone with it and make it stick, it would have happened by now. This will drag on longer then then the so called boom lastest.

• Declan Ryan 01/11/11 #
    Report this comment

This is just a matter of formality,arrest them keep them in for a few hrs then release them,it’s the polices way of portraying that they are doing something about White collar crime,when in reality there doing nothing,I’m still waiting for the likes of fitzpatrick drumm Denis o brien Bertie ahearn Lowry,to be actually charged,Ireland is a police state,you see the so called police clamp down on ,the less fortunate in our society, ie begging homeless people or people who don’t pay fines,ireland is a cowardly nation,if this was France or some other countries the people would revolt,theheroes of 1916 would be ashamed of the so called Irish men of this generation,they gave there lives up for nothing,I always believe in karma,those that have done wrong will get there comeuppence,doesn’t matter how powerful or much money they have,so Bertie Fitzpatrick Lowry and the rest of the hyprocritical low lives,ur day will come.

• Tony Skillington 01/11/11 #
    Report this comment

So Inda..whaddya want? A fucking round of applause??? Now get off your boney arse and go drag Seanie back in along with that knob Drumm in the States and show us your really growing a spine!!!!!

• Terry O'Dowd 01/11/11 #
    Report this comment

If we share a cell when I’m send down for not having a tv licence, I’ll kick him in the nuts.

• Seb Lotus 01/11/11 #
    Report this comment

I’m sure he’ll have your arse as soon as Gráinne Seoige appears on your prison cell TV.
    Justice.

• Joe Sixtwo 02/11/11 #
    Report this comment

Arrested like hell he was, he went to the local Garda station for a cup of tea and a chat. The only thing they discussed there was his golf handicap.

Add New Comment