TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

24/7 Frontline Service Alliance to agree on collective strategy

The alliance is to hold a joint meeting to discuss the strategy and review the Croke Park extension talks on Thursday.

Frontline Alliance members: (LtoR) The GRA General Secretary PJ Stone, PNA Executive Aisling Colhane, President of Irish Nurses and Midwives Clare Mahon, Deputy General Secretary PNA Seamus Murphy, General Secretary INMO Liam Doran, General Secretary POA John Clinton, General Secretary AGSI John Remond and POA Executive Tracy Melia
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

THE 24/7 FRONTLINE Services Alliance, which is made up of unions and organisations representing gardaí, nurses, midwives, prison officers and other frontline staff, is to meet to agree on a collective strategy.

The executive committees/councils of the organisations in the alliance are to meet on Thursday afternoon, 28 February, in Croke Park to review developments arising from the Croke Park extension talks.

Following a 13-hour meeting on Sunday night and Monday morning, the Government and unions agreed on proposals for the Croke Park extension.

Proposals

The 24/7 Frontline Services Alliance said it will be “reaffirming its belief that the proposals that have emerged are grossly unfair, and inequitable, and seek to take money from low and middle income public servants who have no more to give”.

The joint meeting will also discuss and agree a collective strategy to be rolled out in the coming weeks.  This will focus on informing the  Alliance’s collective membership, and other public service workers, of the details of the proposals and the damaging impact they will have on their current income.

The joint meeting will also review how the 24/7 Frontline Services Alliance can liaise with other unions who are opposed to the current proposals.

“This will be for the purpose of securing the strongest campaign possible against these unfair proposals, in the interests of our collective membership,” said their statement.

Read: Update: INMO, CPSU, Unite and IMO leave Croke Park extension talks>

Read: Howlin tells public servants Croke Park II will be ‘the last ask’>

Read next:

Comments (131 Comments)

• B 26/02/13 #

Does croke park I not last until June 2014…. Why is there any negotiating going on now?

• Need to raise more money now because the growth factor predicted at the time of croke park 1 didn’t materialise. So they are looking for an agreement to kick in this year. The croke park 1 date will be torn up if ballot goes their way and the unions vote for it.

• I think the government was looking for an EXTENSION to CP1. Perhaps this was overlooked amid all the rhetoric.

• No. They are not looking for an extension. They are replacing CP1 with this new one to take effect from whenever it’s passed by unions. It is not only taking effect from June 2014.

• And why would think they are looking for an extension?
      Did you see the budget deficit this country is currently facing?
      Did you see the rates we pay our public sector compared to other Eurozone countries?

• Pablo 26/02/13 #

Greece?? Moldova?? Is it Reggie??

• Pablo, it’s not black and white. Some people think that the money they get magically falls from the sky! It is a fact, you cannot argue with ignorance, nor debate with stupidity! I learned that in management school. When your run in to such type of people you have to deal with them differently! Facts, logic, and reason will not work!

Having my income taken from me as taxes, used in order to lobby the government for increases my taxes in order to pay for wages, allowances and retirement plans, is not really fair. The government could be brought back down in line with the private sector. Once we see no disparity in pay and benefits. Presently, you don’t see many quitting government jobs. You see people scrambling to get government jobs (in many cases).

• @ Reggie will you not clear off back to Greece!!

• Pablo 26/02/13 #

How much has the wages of the frontline public service in Uzbekistan been cut Reg?

• Pablo 26/02/13 #

What do you make Reg in your job, what do you produce?

• Have you seen the rates our governments are paid

Kenny is paid more than Obama, and for what?????

Sweet f.a

• Another drama queen story about life on the “frontline”. Is that in Iraq or someplace? It must be, because it’s certainly couldn’t be more amateur dramatics about the trauma of having to deliver services to taxpayers.

• Did you see the rates we pay our public representatives in comparison to other countries?

• @ Catherine

That said, I doubt that there exists a single union public employee that harbors even the slightest notion that they are a public servant hired to tend to the public’s needs (hopefully I’m wrong).

Underfunded overtime plans and over-promised pensions are the problem of the exchequer. Simple mathematics is going to be the final arbiter and they will eventually see their wages and pensions cut. I hope they are smart enough to be planning for that eventuality. So they were lied to. So what? They can take their beef up with the Labor Party that purchased their support with the false promises. Nobody ever said being used as a fool was a comfortable feeling. Reality has a way of biting in the end, and we are approaching the fiscal end.

• Reg. I have asked you several questions on different threads and you have declined to answer any of them so let me try again.
      Do you want a professional well equipped well trained Police Force, Firebrigade,Emergency Room Staff, Prison Service and Courts Service?
      Are you prepared to pay for these same services?
      Or do you want a Third World equilivent of the above Services?
      Would you agree that in the private sector that highly qualified people demand decent wages? That in the Private sector you get the best staff only if you pay the best wages?

• Those are some quality contributions tonight Betty. Keep up the good work of making yourself look like an idiot

• This guy is a serious troll. Ignore.

• Whoa…late nights getting to me! Comment directed to Reginold(!) of course!

• @Gavin there is only so much rubbish one can listen to from the likes of Reggie. He is consistent with his trolling on all threads that relate to this topic! I am far from an idiot my good man!!

• Willie 27/02/13 #

Reg I’ve seen the crap you’ve posted over the last few weeks on this site. It’s plainly obvious you’re trolling as per your constant copying and pasting of your older posts. There is meaningful contribution to an article and then there is being a pr@*k, which is what you are being.
      Your arguments are at best dubious and your figures unsupported and uncorroborated by independent fact of figures. You constantly refer to economies that only a fool would attempt draw comparison with. You have been asked by countless posters what profession you are employed in and you have never given a specific answer. You’re a pathetic example of the keyboard economist,
      a man who knows the cost of everything and the value of nothing.

• Ok so I haven’t reviewed all Reggies past posts but I think it’s just lazy to call someone a troll when you don’t agree with them. I’ve had a look at some of his comments tonight and they seem pretty straight forward. One of the first was that the government would likely have legislated (and still may) if agreement was not found. Does anyone here think thats incorrect or at least not a likely scenario? Yet it gets an avalance of red thumbs. Another comment that the government faces a large deficit gets the same treatement as does a statement that many people support public sector reform. None of this is trolling, they are just statements of facts.

• As I have stated previously in another thread most of the 1billion savings the Government are after can come from other areas but because they for reason are ring fenced by politicians not for any financial reasons but because of political sensitivity the Government will not touch. The Public Sector is a much easier sell to Joe Public especially in these hard times than these Sacred Cows of theirs. Someone has to get thrown to the wolves and they are not going to Sacrifice themselves.

• In fairness come out on an ambulance for a night in Dublin & you would see it ain’t far off being in Iraq!! You’ve no idea!

• Reggie, stop calling civil service “government”. They are not one and the same!

• Reginald, a couple of facts, firstly nobody is disputing that the country has a huge budgetary deficit but the fact remains that if the proposed croke park deal goes through and by the way I include the graduate nurse” deal” in this the country will essentially be paying its frontline staff Gardai, Nurses, Paramedics and Firefighters wages that are going to be paid slightly higher than minimum wage! In fact calculating the wage for a graduate nurse on their proposal and add on extra hours the government wishes to add to there working week it works out nurses will be on €7.86 ph . A student Paramedic will be on less than 12 euros per hour.
      I do know the costs within the public sector do need to be rationalised but your savings will come from reforming the civil service and rarionalising the high earners. In terms of both croke park agreements they first picked the low hanging fruit and are now attempting to strip the bark!
      This frontline alliance is a good thing for both the productive staff it represents and the community at large! It’s morally wrong to attack the most vulnerable in society and attacking people who are committed to humanitarian work is about as low as you can get

• You have 53 ambulances nationally to keep 4 million people safe and 2000 approximately practitioners qualified for same. In Dublin alone 100000 emergency ambulance calls are logged with an average of 15 ambulances to serve that area and now shifts are being dropped. As I said before strip the bark if you wish but you attack the

• Some people think money falls from the sky……people like banks and bank managers who refuse to fully engage with cash strapped mortgage owners with negative equity. The mortgage contracts were approved on “guaranteed” future earnings which hasn’t been the case for years now. Ironically now the only things that turned out to be “guaranteed” were the banks and UNSECURED bondholders which have no concern for the public sector or indeed the other citizens of this state, public, private or otherwise. The public sector workers are now forced to endure a separate budget in this year constructed under the guise of croke park 2 before the inevitable tax rise that will come in the next national budget. A budget that I feel will push more families further over the poverty line.

• What Reg?

Follow me here….

I said they weren’t.

You said they were.

Now you’re asking me why I think they are looking for an extension?

Ill say it again,

THEY ARE NOT LOOKING FOR AN EXTENSION.

And when making comparisons compare like with like please.

• Good to see the 24/7 frontline alliance still standing strong together and not backing down!

• Flex yer muscles and play hardball….. you don’t deserve this treatment

• The government would only legislate if no agreement was found…

• Let them legislate then, I want them to legislate! That’s something they don’t want to do and will really test their mettle…

• Troll.

• Union leadership in gov pockets but membership may see thru the conjob and support frontline alliance.
      Howlin “this will be the last time” smells of bull to me.

• No problem. I guess if there’s no work done, there’s no pay, right?

• I think Reg may actually be Inda in disguise!!

• Just say no, organise, refuse any more interest rate hikes, default en masse, anything that will make the government listen ,money talks.

• I am an independent thinker. I work in the productive sector and I don’t think the government is aware of the people’s opposition to the impending house tax and water charges. I favor cutting spending (as would many other Irish people working in the productive sector).

• You are an independent alright. But not a thinker…almost rhymes with it though

• And I’ve noticed Richard rogers, Paddy, mark have disappeared hmmm. I bet one of them shows up soon to try and show Reggie is not the same person!!!

• I think it’s pretty funny to see all the abuse dished out to Reggie by the magic money tree crowd.

Some of you have a real hard time listening to alternative points of view.

• ‘Independent thinker’. Lol. Anyone else notice that Regonald posts the exact same paragraphs in multiple public sector pay related articles? Get a life Reggie baby.

• I favour cutting RIDICOLOUS wages of very underworked politicians.
      I favour abolishing 7.2 Million travel expenses for the government
      I favour abolishing all expenses claimed by government officials

Actually I favour just getting rid of the whole government and bringing in a completely new citizen based system, not a greed and corporate based government!

• Magic money tree my hole.

• smudge 26/02/13 #

I may be wrong but if the government legislate it wud force them to take a larger pay cut than the lower paid, if they legislate and it’s not fair( government knowing the meaning of the work fair, don’t make me laugh) they can be taken to court over it, this agreement isn’t fair, the lower paid and frontline workers taking an 8% pay cut and there crime is working weekends, an 8% cut the same as a high paid public sector worker, the cuts to lower paid workers are not been brought out in the newspaper me thinks the government are putting another spin on this, my heart bleeds for enda kenny losing just €7000 shocking vote no

• public sector will flex muscles as you put it but im honestly worried where it will end. I really dont want to put out the public just want to do my job but i cant take 8% hit. its already down to the wire. Cant take it but will be forced on me like others and cant see any other way out then to fight back

• @Censored, it’s not an alternative point of view, it’s rhetoric that has been dished out at us by everyone and anyone who demonises the “highly paid public service”.
      An alternative POV would be coming from those of us who could offer alternative methods of saving money, instead of axing everyone in the neck (both the providers and the users), how’s about streamlining the services? Too alternative for Reg? Oh no, no, no… We must demonise! For it is only demonising that improves services… Oh wait…

• There was a magic money tree for bankers, politicians, developers and “friends in need”. There is still wealth in this country, only our government is either too corrupt or incompetent to maximise this wealth and generate more wealth as a result.

• Policing by it’s nature is not productive, it is a massively varying thing. It’s separate and independent. It does not have a money making agenda. The same can be said for many other frontline services. You can’t measure the good that these workers do and your shortsighted statement about a “productive” sector shows your lack of understanding on the subject. Apples and oranges…….

• Having seen the full text of the LRC ” Deal” document tonight it confirms that Public Service Management, including the HSE, Garda Management etc. will be allowed to aggregate the new additional extra hours which are specified in the document. This also includes the additional 1 unpaid overtime hour which will be demanded from those who are currently on a 39 hour week. Please correct me if I am wrong, but this situation could result in staff, Garda, Nurses, Firemen, etc being ordered to work several hours overtime for absolutely no pay, including that on rest days.

A firm resolve by the 24/7 alliance will certainly be required in the coming weeks.

• Ashney 27/02/13 #

Enough is enough, time to stand up for ourselves & be heard. When you realise you’re better off on the dole when one does the calculations and takes into account the price paid to a childminder of some one working “twilight hours”. Not feasible, & I’m not accepting it.

• B Lowe 26/02/13 #

This is great news. With such a collective effort the government will be foolish to cut their pay.
    How about they cut ex Taoiseachs pensions of 130,000 a year first.

There can be no more cuts unless there across the board on all members of society, not just the public service again.

• mammy 26/02/13 #

That’s one of the proposals afaik

• They’re not cutting the golden minister’s pensions or Enda’s pay by enough.

With higher income comes more discretionary spending. Enda’s pay should be adjusted to a reasonable figure, in line with other European leaders. His attitude stinks: look at me, I’m taking a pay cut. He does not set a good example. The cuts on the lower paid have a much bigger impact since you’re cutting into food/housing/survival money there.

• Can see full txt on Indo website

• Ah here…………..leave it out!

• Poor reg back again…….,.unfortunately reg’s true heart lies with his brothers in the love ulster sections of society who promote destruction and riots – destruction to private buildings/workplaces and injury to public sector workers
    So reg is a fan of neither section therefore as these are his true beliefs this has been posted a few times by versions people and reg won’t deny it or refute it cause he can’t refute the truth so he will troll out old rhetoric comments to try and rile a few people
    U will find his fact based comments are wholly untrue or inaccurate ie salary rates above from years ago which look good now to quote in currant circumstances but are wrong- and throw away quotes like the country is broke- yes it has been since 2008 and both private and public are paying for that but it’s easy to attack public cause there wages come from one place- impossible to tackle private for obvious reasons-it’s not to say the private sector are not suffering by god they are – put did the public sec cause it no- we all know who did but the pub sec are asked to pay more for it cause its easier to get the money
    I’m not public sec- if I was I would vote no- what will happen- i don’t know but I hope not strikes but we are going down that road I fear- in my opinion CP2 is very unfair to shift workers looking at it from the outside- which I think is probably the. Hardest sec of the public sec I wouldn’t do a nurses job I’ve see a&e at 3am on a Sat and I’m sure Reg wouldn’t either

• Reject, Resist. Do not allow this neo liberal fascist dictatorship to break the unions. (A union is its members and not its spokespeople or leaders) If they do it once they will be back for more. There are plenty of other areas that money can be generated through taxation. The government purse may be broke, but there are massive amounts of wealth in this country. Start with abolishing the tax breaks and loop holes for the wealthy. (The rich mans welfare). I fully support any resistance to the ongoing transfer of wealth which continues to dismantle Irish society.
    Power To The People!!!

• What part of not having any more to give does the government not understand. Until they slash public servants huge mileage which by and large is enjoyed by middle and higher management and by the very people who are slashing front line pay and hence is not even mentioned of course. Teleconferencing is what should be the norm . what about cutting right through the middle managementin the public sector in certain areas and positions which the private sector would do on first viewing of the pay bill there. Why is any one sector allowed retire at fifty on full pension which the rest of us in the public sector as well as the private sector have to finance.

• Is the full agreement online, and if so where can you access it

• So far in 2 days I’ve worked 22 hours of my 35 hr wk. 35 my arse – a general wk is about 55-60 hours. I’m salaried no overtime or premiums. I’m honestly at breaking point. Yes the system is a disaster, yes some people need to be given a kick up the arse to actually do their job or be fired and if the system can be improved – this is what needs to happen. Give me 40 hours like most people, a decent safe place to work with the resources I need and ill be happy to engage with talks.

• Reg you gone to bed hope you have a nice dream about public sector workers

• Shay Cody is on 160,000+ p/a. Man is a con artist…

• 24/7 Frontline Alliance! They look like a photoshoot from Stalinist Russia. Stick together comrades and steamroll everyone outside the party!

• If I were a nurse and that guy with the Gary hair represented me I would be very worried. He hasn’t managed to get anything worthwhile for nurses in years. They seem to be targets for cuts for years.

• But he still goes around in the best of suits. As I said, he’s a windbag and a well paid one.

• The nurse’s unions do a terrible job representing them, just like all the other PS unions. It really defies logic to understand why there are so many PS unions anyway. These guys are the biggest obstacle to reform, and they just want to feather their own nests at the expense of the ordinary members.

• I presume all those who oppose any cuts in public service pay are prepared to pay more tax and/or have services cut to fund those salaries … or are they against cuts, for more services and against tax rises too?

• The trouble with unions these days is that the negotiators are earning the same salaries as their opponents and have lost touch with the people there supposed to represent. The folly in years gone by lies with not fighting for better rates and selling complicated dodgy allowances to members and the taking glory for job well done! Are their wages made up of allowances? I don’t think so.
    The elephant in the room remains the fact that all this is to pay for illegal bank bail outs. Property tax and water taxes are coming down the tracks and its time to unite public and private alike and stand up to this fiscal rape of people and country.

• The people in the frontline alliance are only looking out for themselves. As far as they are concerned they are the ‘public service’ and the other support staff can be dispensed with. That’s one of the reasons this alliance was formed, they felt dirty participating in a union with the lower grades. If support staff called a strike the nurses, paramedics, etc. would have no hesitation in crossing a picket because it wouldn’t benefit them to do otherwise. They need to wise up, they are not a union so they can’t call any official protests. This is just a chance for windbag Doran to say this deal wasn’t down to him but he knows the deal will be accepted. He has always been full of it and he always will.

• How can you ‘feel dirty participating in a union’ when you aren’t even allowed be a member of one?

• John there is some logic in you argument , but we don’t look down our noises at other public servants , but see that they are better looked after than we are
      Before agreement
      They do 35 hours we do 37.5-39
      They have flexi time we don’t
      They get the same sick leave working in less dangerous / environment
      They have less difficulty getting Career breaks
      Civil servants can take up to five years leave and still have a job to return too
      This agreement
      Cut our pay and not theirs
      The unions are their unions, not ours

• Thank you Shea, you have just proven my point.

• John glad to be of help, anything else just ask

• For John ,
      Frontline, basic pay plus premium, less than 65.000, taken home pay Reduced

9-5 staff less than 65-000, No cut to take home pay

I repeat these unions represent you well, but don’t represent us

For info only , at present I’m a member of Siptu, something I will be looking at in lite of this agreement

Sadly I would defend this agreement if I were you, and probable engage in the sad attacks on union leaders opposed to it ( Liam doran) as you have done on this site

• “Frontline” = jobs for life with a nice pension! Happy Days! “Private sector ” = minimum rate, short term contracts & no pension! No clear future!

• Frontline = Job for life
      *note your life might be ended early by man with gun/knife etc

• Gerry everyone gets the old age pension, so you will too,

• Gerry frontline jobs are permanent because their needed, nurses / guards/ fire service / prison officers etc,
      These are real jobs and needed,

• Some private sector jobs are by their nature temporary, factors produce goods no longer required, financial structures change and some don’t train up,

• Lu 26/02/13 #

@gerry Murphy, the job applications for public sector employment were in the very same paper that you read. You chose the private sector, good pay, bonus payments. I too joined the private sector. But when the opportunity came to join a career I always wanted to do, I applied and got my public sector, basic pay, no bonus job! While I’m still happy with my decision I’m sick of the “you’re lucky to have a job at all” opinions! Times are tough with everyone both private and public sectors! I am on the edge on losing my house due to pay cuts already taken. It’s not a matter of “won’t take another cut” but a matter of “cannot physically take another cut!” It’s about time those useless shower have a long hard luck t the 300 odd million that they’ve sent abroad so that some Ugandan assh*le can get his pool fixed, get rid of play stations in prisons and have a good look at repeat offender legal aid merchants!! There are massive savings to be made and I’m afraid they are looking in the wrong place!!

• Not so. Public servants are not entitled to the SW Old Aged Pensions. They only get the occupational pension.

• You’re missing the point. Don’t want to work in the PS, and don’t want to pay through the nose for crappy services either.

• I earned more when i worked in the private sector bell end.

• Did ye complain when yis were earning a bloody mint laughing at the lads on 30k working in the local dole office. No you didn’t. You made your choice so did the public servant.

• Yep, when you rob Peter to pay Paul you can always count on Paul’s support. You’re still missing the point: we are not all clamoring for jobs in the PS. Just saying the gravy train has come to an end, it’s time to cut your coat according to your cloth.

• Yes but not as good as yours!

• keith 26/02/13 #

Information Circular No 7/2013: Extension to Croke Park Agreement – Final Proposals
    By Industrial Relations Officer
    Negotiations on the Extension to the Croke Park Agreement have concluded and final proposals have been agreed. The main elements of the Defence Sector proposals are as follows:

A 10% reduction in the case of most allowances e.g. SDA, Border Allowance, Overseas Allowances, Patrol Duty Allowance, Prison Duty Allowance, EOD Allowance, ARW Allowance, Instructors Allowance etc.
    The “Flat Rating” of Saturday and Sunday rates of SDA to the same rate as the Monday – Friday rates.
    New entrant pay scales which have a longer progression period to the maximum of the scale and adjusted MSA progression points are being introduced. The new scale will have the same minimum and maximum pay levels as is currently provided.

• b …. you can bark but can you howl, cute little mutt but

• It’s not 24 7 I see d garda asleep in Der car around d corner behind d topaz

• reg…… and they were so smart those of them with a finance part in the gang let the country go broke and now look for special treatment, what a greedy lot , want butter on both sides

• 92 Red thumbs for saying thank you

Bloody hell, some people…….

Add New Comment