TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Update: INMO, CPSU, Unite and IMO leave Croke Park extension talks

The INMO said it will not be bound by the outcome of any agreement should it emerge.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

Updated 10.45pm

THE IRISH NURSES and Midwives Association (INMO) has walked out of the Croke Park extension talks.

A senior member of the organisation confirmed to TheJournal.ie that the INMO has left the talks. A press conference was held this evening.

In a statement, the INMO said:

The decision to withdraw was taken by the Executive Council when it became apparent that there was no possibility of the ongoing process protecting the existing income of its members.
The INMO has advised all relevant parties that it is no longer a party to the process and will not be bound by the outcome of any agreement should it emerge.
The INMO has also reaffirmed its commitment to continue to take every action available to it to protect the existing income and other terms and conditions of its members.

It will issue a further statement following a special meeting of its Executive Council in the coming days.

‘Politically driven’

The UNITE trade union has also withdawn from talks with Government, saying it believes the the discussions on public sector cuts “have been politically driven from the outset”.

“We have never been presented with an economic case for the proposed cuts,” said UNITE Regional Secretary Jimmy Kelly.

Our belief is that the scale of the cuts proposed would be hardest felt by those on low salaries that cannot afford to give more; and that they will add tens of thousands to the number of unemployed and those forced to emigrate.

Kelly continued: “Having failed to get an answer on the economic basis for the proposals, UNITE feels that it owes it to its members in the public service, and to the country to withdraw from what has been nothing more than a political facade.”

We are pleased to stand alongside the other trade unions who are walking away from this political choreography and will from Monday morning, prepare with our members to resist the undemocratic forcing through of legislation to bring about cuts that will damage Ireland in so many ways.

RTÉ reports that the Irish Medical Organisation has also left the talks. The CPSU said on Twitter that it has left the talks.

cpsu

TheJournal.ie understands that SIPTU is still in the talks at present. Impact is also staying on, RTÉ news said. The talks resumed at 10pm.

The IMO said that it left because of a number of issues, including a reduction in pay for a large number of its members.

Earlier today, the general president of SIPTU, Jack O’Connor, hit back at the recent protest by the 24/7 Frontline Service alliance. He said that a solution to government pay problems existed, and it involves a greater contribution from the rich in the form of taxation.

A deadline of the end of February had originally been set for talks over extending the current Croke Park agreement. The talks between the unions and public sector management are focusing on how to slash €1 billion from the State pay roll.

Read next:

Comments (304 Comments)

• 2 working parents in my household we seem to pay more tax than take home pay! We have nothin left 2 give! Why are honest working taxpayers constantly being hit with all cuts etc! I think €100,000 is more than enough for any top gov minister to be earning – With this they should be more than able to afford accommodation and travel etc like the rest of us would have to pay! If they were cut to this (r lower better still) the amount of money that would be saved would easily feed the hungry! They actually choose not to cut their own – any cuts they do take they get back in some way or other with different loop holes in their own system! Its a disgrace! If the household payment i paid or the extortionate car tax I pay was actually used for its purpose and difference was seen it wouldn’t be as frustrating but we keep giving and have nothing to show for it from what I see anyway! Leave us alone and give us a break, this would if nothin else increase morale and get this country moving again! Rant over

• Very well said ‘rant’

• Reg 24/02/13 #

To be paying more in tax (tax, PRSI, USC) than taking home you’d have to be earning about 100k. A single person earning 35k pays about 21% in total taxes, a married couple with a single income of 35k would loose about 15% in taxes. Just some perspective.

• Add pension levy

• I can assure you – we earn nowhere near 100k – I am a primary school teacher and my husband is self employed. He pays crazy amounts of tax, you wouldn’t believe the amount of tax he would have to pay to give himself a good salary, he chooses to take less than he deserves (not a choice really) as he would be taxed too much and that would certainly result in him having to close the business and leave more joining the unemployment line! He on the other hand would get absolutely nothing from the government if he was left unemployed despite all he has paid to them!

• Reg 24/02/13 #

For the self employed/owner directors the only difference is that you are not entitled to the PAYE tax credit of €1650. This one really bugs me as I am not entitled to it either and not earning a great deal at the moment, like many self employed. I even pay my tax through the PAYE system! An additional €1650 would be a great help at the moment. The commission on taxation recommended a change to this a few years ago, but so far no change.

• Fair play to the the unions that have the guts to walk away from a deal that will decimate its members, they’re primary concern.is of their members, who, unlike jack O seems to be concerned only about his own melting pot, that he fears may dissipate if he goes with the sentiment of the majority of the public sector.., or should that be public servant… In the eyes of the government. They seem to believe that we choose to be subservient to the will of the greater powers ie. The government and should abide by the rules. And their rules only…, no matter how harsh they are. I seldom post here. But mr o connor sickens me to my bones, he has been almost mute in the past few weeks of discourse amongst the major unions dialog with the government, and today we finally find out why…. He is now and always has been in the pocket of the labour dictatarite and has now found himself flaying in the seams at the bottom of it and unable to get out because he has previously sewn himself into the tailor made labour/siptu overcoat!! Sorry for the rant. Just overwhelmed with the betrayel of siptu.

• I’m also self employed and aside from the 1650 tax credit we don’t get, as PAYE workers we pay the same tax rate as everyone else. We pay a lot of tax but lets keep the figures factual. Nobody under €100k pays more tax then they take home.

• All the tax you pay and nothing to show for it…
      More medical cards than ever before
      Higher unemployment benefit than ever before
      Higher pensions (state that is)
      freebies for pensioners (travel!!!?)
      Motorways that didn’t exist (mostly) 20 years ago
      Etc.

We have lots to show for it. Unfortunately we also have
      Some PS sector earning too much
      Lots of PS not working long enough (compared to private)
      People in all sectors trying to find loopholes everywhere to look after themselves
      Unions. .
      Europe.
      Ireland so wish to always be the “good guy” internationally. Never rocking boat.
      Etc.

• Without talking about specific figures – my point is we already pay too much tax and it seems to be the same people that keep getting hit, the most obvious pay cuts 2 me seem 2 be gov ministers but any cuts they do suggest for themselves are so insignificant they are insulting, not 2 mention their added extra’s. They are bleeding the country’s money pot dry and charging the ordinary person more tax 2 cover it! They always have their massive pension to look forward to aswell. If the country could afford it and they were actually doing something to improve matters then they can pay themselves whatever but to me it doesn’t add up at the moment.

• “Higher unemployment benefit than ever before” – please explain

• Declan. I am a frontline worker. This week I have had one day off (Thursday) I have been on duty all weekend. Do you think that I need to work more hours? Our overtime is compulsory. And contrary to what the Government would have you believe we don’t get paid double time for any of it. If I or any of my collegues are compelled to work Nights, Sundays or bank holidays as overtime we don’t get any extra payments above our normal overtime rate.
      So don’t believe the spin that is being pumped out by the Government parties. We in the frontline don’t work in air conditioned Offices 8 to 5. Monday to Friday. We are on the Job 24/7. 365 days a year. We are the easy target because they (the Government) are afraid to go after the waste and fraud in Social Welfare because its to Politically sensitive.

• DesBod 24/02/13 #

The mob don’t like perspective, rationalism or actual statistics

• If we don’t get this €1bn in savings I cannot see us leaving the bailout at the end of the year.

Then it’ll be the IMF implementing across the board cuts in Public Sector salaries. To be fair to the government they’ve set a decent threshold of €60,000 for the proposed cuts.

• You had me before the “Social Welfare” comment.

• David, have you thought about asking your organisation, young fine gael, to lobby your dear leader to stop handing billions out to unsecured bondholders while threatening to cripple a quarter of a million public servants for a fraction of that amount?

Course not. You’re up to your neck in the injustice befalling our nation.

• Excellent putting a ceiling of €60k will the TD’s and ministers be on that also? Attention on PS workers , we are missing the point, allowance for TD’s to attend the Dail, allowance for travelling to the Dail. Who else gets an allowance to travel to work? Leadership by example, then no one can complain but until then!

• Yeah, default on our debts they said.

Be grand they said.

Not once on this site has anyone given an ounce of thought to the immediate negatives of a default by Ireland. It’s all happily ever after.

• I was forced to give up my job to stay at home and mind our daughters my wife has the better job and service i was been taxed to much my wages just about covered the cost of childcare as far as i am concerned i was taxed out of my job and god knows how many more

• Ure not right in the head

• Iceland defaulted and they are flying again. Not in the news though because that would show the world that they did the right thing.

• As a Primary School Teacher what do you earn per WORKED hours.

• Well said….” Animal Farm ” comes to mind yet again!

• @Reg – 21% in TOTAL taxes? when you add up income tax, universal social charge, PRSI, Road tax, VAT, and now the property tax, I think you’ll find that it adds up to a lot more than 21%!!

• Reg 25/02/13 #

Marie – yes we pay a lot more in other taxes but I was specifically referring to income taxes. Income taxes have increased quite substantially over the last few years but are still not high for most workers. Our income tax system is actually pretty progressive, those who earn the most, pay the most.

• i see jack o connor has firmly nailed siptu colours to the mast doing the usual scare mongering…..time their members questioned who o connor really represents government or the members who pay his wages…..too many years breaking bread with bertie time for change at the top of siptu……delighted to see some unions actually representing their members and i am a private sector worker…..

• This will become a people of Ireland not a public versus private sector fight. Do not forget property tax and water taxes are still coming. More budgets. The spin doctors will be working over time in a attempt to divide people.
    Mind each other no matter what you do for a living.

• The truth is the government are not hitting high earners enough which includes government ministers 140k advisors 120k. Well they can pi. Ss off now. Fair and balanced my rear end.

• They have to make a stand, have a feeling we could be seeing what happened in Greece start here, we’re piss poor, and can’t take any more cuts.

• Pablo 24/02/13 #

Dead straight

• I just hope if it comes to that, the stand will be against all austerity unfair property/water taxes and not just PS pay cuts, we all need to stand together!

• No incoming party is going to abolish the property tax, it’s not going to happen.

Public service wages, for a lot of people, are far too high and the fact that increments still exist only highlight the fact that the union leadership are living on another planet.

For the love of god, will people start living in the real world. We are nothing like Greece and the situation there BUT we WILL become like them if reforms (YES THAT MEANS PUBLIC SECTOR CUTS) are not pushed through.

Jesus- job security and a 35 hour week! 35 hours for most people means they’ve had a day off.

• Cliff, I’m a public sector worker.

My last shift was 24hrs long, and I’d worked 60 hours already this week before starting it.

My income is 40% lower than it would have been a few years ago.

Public sector workers have taken cuts and then some.

• There are always outliers. It is the strategy of people resisting change to focus on these. While I have sympathy for the minority who take a disproportionate hit, I have no time for the vast majority in the middle who refuse to acknowledge the situation the country is in. There’s no money left. I don’t particularly like the government and I cannot stand the man in charge, but they are doing what needs to be done:

Reducing public sector spending
      Introducing a property tax
      Introducing a water tax

Let me ask you this- if a Government’s main focus is to keep power, why on earth would the current crop keep implementing taxes and reforms that are so unpopular the odds of getting a second term are basically zero???
      Maybe it’s because they have no other choice, ever think of that? They don’t have a choice, and we don’t have a choice. We can’t default, we can’t devalue our currency, we have to cut spending.

• I’m not an outlier, I’m one of the 5000 NCHDs who keep the country’s hospitals working, all slapped with multiple cuts and restrictions, together with the nurses and paramedics and physiotherapists etc etc who make up our frontline service.

• Do you really think that the Irish people should take the full burden of private banking debt? To not at least fight for some responsibility to be taken by the ECB? Greece did not take the shit were currently taking and they were far worse! We proped up zombie banks who were essentially failed businesses to protect more private banking institutions. These were also potentially illegal deals so as a nation we should not be so ready to suck this austerity up. People have nothing left to give, public and private alike. This is not the time for penal taxes collected by revenue sheriffs like back in the dark ages to put the fear of good in people. I agree we need to balance the books and there are very well qualified professionals advocating alternative ways to do this.

• Cliff I don’t know one frontline worker who works a 35hr week as for your argument of job security you must be an employers dream employee “here you go cliff your weeks wages a tin of dented Lima beans but don’t forget you’ve a job for life that’s, called job security” sarcastic pat on the head

• Job security and a 35hr contract.
      Hi. Lar. I. Us.
      That is all.

• Whilst I understand the public sector pay bill is too high and needs to be reduced, the main reason these unions and associations are walking away is not because they don’t understand this but because the manner in which it has been proposed to be done is targeting low to middle incomes and penalising those who work outside of normal hours for doing so whilst protecting the income of higher paid public servants who could afford the cuts. Exact figures were released of how allowances were proposed to be cut but has anyone heard exactly how incomes of 60k plus are to be targeted yet apart from it being suggested they would be there is nothing stating how

• As a public sector worker i want to be treated like a person rather than a subject!
    I have no more to give, I want to live my life and not constantly be just getting by and making do!

• So you want to be superior to the rest of us then

• No not superior at all, just as a public sector worker I feel the government feels it can treat us like pawns…….

I work for the people including you and I am proud to do it.
      I just don’t want to work for peanuts!!

• Well said cliona…..ps workers are just barley existing, we can’t take any more.

• Cliona, I wouldn’t bother explaining myself to her. She is likely an FG loyalist. This country is screwed and all of us, Veronica included, need to stand together. If she and and her equals can’t see that well then nothing we can say will change that. I am a CPSU member and delighted they walked out. IMPACT and SIPTU need to follow suit.

• That’s what the rest of us have to do, Cliona, what’s so special about you?

• Well try doing something about it instead of sniping and fighting your fellow workers for the scraps from politicians tables. The great only look great because we are on our knees….

• Ah sure everyone has an opinion but It’s small minded ignorant people who begrudge public sector workers of standing up for themselves and keep this country on its knees…..

If we all stand together maybe we can get somewhere!

• Meh 24/02/13 #

I’d gladly take your job for the security it offers during times of economic recession. The public sector front-line staff are in the firing line now because the lower paid private sector employees have all but been annihilated. I’d much rather have had a safe public sector job over the last 5 years for the regular income and pensionable job for life than have had to emigrate, or wander the streets looking for work just to eat. Count yourself one of the lucky ones

• KMart 24/02/13 #

Why didnt you apply for one in the good times so??

Made more money in the private sector perhaps???

The same said sector that caused the economic mess we are now in

• Mix of private and public sector caused it! Why is everyone so mercenary?

• Nobody stopped you choosing a public sector job…..

• Meh 24/02/13 #

Indeed nobody did, just saying you are still relatively better off being a public servant than if you had to tough it out in the real world of the private sector. Without real solidarity this country was always going to be f**ked, all these walk outs and negotiations are 5 years too late, you should have pressured your Unions to undermine the bail out theft , a decision made by public servants which has caused this mess. Implying the private sector caused this mess is a useless argument.

• Cliona- I’ve bad news for you. The company you work for is making a massive loss year on year. It’s unsustainable. One of its biggest costs is wages. In any other company there would be massive job losses. You’re lucky you’re not in one of those companies. Very lucky. Instead there’s going to be wage cuts across the board to reduce the wages which were unrealistically increased after industrial action during the Celtic Tiger. Sorry. We know its hard. There is no choice. Your company has no money. So really & truly you’re going to have to suck it up. If you really don’t like it exercise the same right as any other employee in any other “company” and move elsewhere to another company where you can get more money. Best Regards, the Irish Republic.

• Cliona 24/02/13 #

I have never said the private sector made this mess….
      I was made redundant from a private sector job 5 years ago and then again in another position. I have seen both sides of the debate. I know how hard it is in the private sector and public sector.

United we stand divided we fall

• Nobody stopped you choosing a job in the private sector

• Dillon so you speak for the Irish Republic now?delusions of granduer or just plain nuts which?

• Dillon 24/02/13 #

@jenny- no, the Democratically elected Government of the Irish Republic does. Guess what their position is in relation to Public Service Cuts. I’ll give you a clue. See above. Do you understand the term “paraphrase” any better than “metaphor”?

• Did i hit a nerve?so what position do you hold in government that you feel gives you the right to speak for all of us?

• Cliona 24/02/13 #

I think he forgets I am one of the ‘Irish republic’ and so are all of public sector workers!!! Fail

• @ K Mart, the financial disaster was caused in Ireland by the fact of the gross failure of the Central Bank of Ireland, IFSRA, the Department of Finance, ESRI to ensure a sensible economic strategy, the blow the whistle on the property market madness and to ensure adequate prudential supervision of banks, building societies and insurance companies.

The public sector should not seek to scapegoat the private sector.

Please note the Guarantee of the 29th September 2008.

• He’s obviously a Government lackey. Just tap on his name and open his twitter account. Billy no mates

• Front line service workers are legally accountable for everything we do. We don’t have jobs for life, we have jobs for as long as we don’t make a mistake.
      Get a grip man!

• Also, verbally, sexually, physically harassed? It’s a lot of things, “lucky” isn’t one of them, ignorance really must be bliss, eh?

• Dillon, I will refer to my earlier comment, these unions and associations did not walk out because they can’t understand the public sector spending bill needs to be reduced, they walked out because of the manner in which it was proposed in order to protect higher paid public servants

• Dillon 25/02/13 #

@jenny- no nerve hit, dear. As for knowing the Governments position….. I can read, Jenny. You should try it.

• Eh, you might want to rethink that one Kmart….who caused this mess ??? Who let the banks do what they did ? Who gave the guarantee ?

• D. Ryan 25/02/13 #

Pay peanuts… Get monkeys… That’s the risk they play, I can be a good monkey ;-)

• Come on SIPTU, Grow a pair!!

• Oh it’s on now, get ready fg/labour you have found the point of no return. if they cross the line and push thousands of frontline workers into poverty the consequences will be unimaginable. Unleash the dogs of war!!

• I will bet money with anyone now this moment that the INTO will be the last ones in the room at the end! Anyone?

• They should not of been in negotiating in the first place . The government made it clear from the start that they only wanted to cut the pay of its public servants especially frontline workers. It’s now time for us to stand together and say enough is enough. No more cuts

• I’m a civil servant 5 years so on the very low end of the pay scale, I took a €10k a year pay cut to join the civil service for job security. I am 31 with no children, I have been renting but now have to move back with my parents to try and save for a house, I am not earning enough for a mortgage from the bank as I keep just missing the threshold for approval because of pay cuts levies etc without my yearly increment I have no hope of ever getting mortgage approval. I have tried to do things right, I see so many people my age who have had children after leaving school and been given council housing and live on benefits. I see them going on holidays twice a year and out every weekend and have a decent car in the drive. My car is 11 years old, i het out maybe once every few months forget a holiday. I’m not crying poor mouth but all I want is to be a contributing member to society and to be able to afford my own home and start a family but how can I even consider that with the wages I’m on? I agree higher paid civil servants should have to make sacrifices but across the board cuts are not fair on the many lower paid people in the sector.

• Mr Gilmore . If u go through with this sell out your party is doomed and your reputation will be in tatters .

• The TUI &ASTI are no better than INTO. they allowed the two tier payment of young teachers to be implemented. Get out and support the four unions who have BALLS

• completely agree Aisling! Dont think Ive ever been so angry at this lot…. meetings usually make me angry as it is, but this is a whole other level now. If Paddy Power were taking odds on who would be left, guaranteed INTO-TUI-ASTI would have been odds on. As someone wrote the other day – its like taking sweets off a child, except the child willingly hands them over, along with a promise on handing over all future sweets it might get….

• Nice one. Strong speculation that at least 2 more unions are on the way out too.

• Am listening to RTE here, please tell me that those inside cannot bind in those unions who left??

I do not want to associate with the INTO if they are responsible for bringing down those who had the balls to leave..

• Let the message go forth to the Government, EU and Troika. We will take no more. Ireland will no longer be the whipping boy. We’ve been given a raw deal. The promissory notes must be revisited and a significant write down of the debt of private investors and gamblers, not just spreading it out to future generations. This is not just about the public sector now, this is for everyone. Let the public sector lead the way for everyone. If the public sector is broken, the private sector will be next, make no mistake about it.

• Exactly John, we have been sucking the proverbial you know what of Europe, forced in to a bail out Guaranteed junior bond holders who held Unsecured debt in order to prop up the euro. Gov has no money to pay public sector wages, yes they do, they choose to pay unsecured debt to bond holders who took a gamble knowing the risk and are now rubbing their hands with glee. Time to put things right, burn the junior bond holders and regain our economic sovereignty.

• Fair play to them. Time for the front line unions to show that they have given all they have and that their goodwill has evaporated.

• As much as I detest hypocrites like Liam Doran, I hope this is the beginning of the end for Endas Gestapo. Of course this could be exactly what the government want. It’s exactly 2 years tomorrow since the election, so the pensions are almost sown up. An excuse to walk away now would suit some of them down to the ground.

• Well done to them ….. Lets see the rest of the country now standing up against government bullies !

• 4 unions walked , all falling to pieces , Kenny & Co must be shitting themselves. First time they have been stood up to, and about time too

• Fair play, great to see 24/7 alliance and the people of Ireland finally standing up to the bullies in government, need to stick together now and no backing down, they can’t take what isn’t there to take

• I’ve been working in the public sector as a clerical officer since 2006. I’m due my next incement in march and that will bring me up to €30,800. My cousin is working in a similar line in the private sector since she moved back to Ireland in 2007 and is earning €40,000 plus!!! I believe the lower paid public sector workers have given enough and the higher paid public sector workers really need to be hit! It’s a sin what’s happening at the higher levels with actings, etc and we have to suffer the consequences!!People need to hear that not everyone in the public sector are living the high life.

• I’d seriously doubt ye were doing the same job. What ever they are doing for 40k in the private you are not doing for 30 and even if you were you fail to mention your job is for life. Your pension. Days off etc.

• Hear hear! I am sick of people bashing the public sector as gravy train parasites – they conveniently forget that benchmarking was introduced to bring public sector pay into line with the private sector and that was a time when people in the private sector mocked the mugs in the public sector for staying in low paid dead-end jobs.
      That turned when the crash came and the private sector were left high and dry and I say thank god for unions to protect workers pay and conditions.
      I’m a frontline services worker although not working 24/7 as I’m a PHN. I went to the Tallaght rally last Monday in solidarity with our hospital and other 24/7 colleagues who are affected by proposed cuts to core pay via premiums and overtime.

• How many hours a week do you get paid for, how many does your cousin get paid for? Your pension is better than theirs. Your job security is better too (not guaranteed, but better).

• Meh 24/02/13 #

@Catherine Rotte-Murray. Benchmarking is like the upward only rent reviews, a fake manipulation of the economy. The money to pay your salary comes from the tax created by the productivity in the private sector. If you are going to claim benchmarking as a balancing tool, you would have to concede that it goes up when the economy is good and goes downward when its failing.
      The Public Sector Unions should have walked out of any deals with the government the day they began bailing out the banks with public money, instead of seeing who is going to fall under the wheel of the austerity train before they decide to act.
      Shame on the Unions for being complicit in this scam

• Pension is a red herring used by IBEC and the like. When I retire the pension I get is a top up to half of my retiring salary. My low retiring salary I might add. At this moment in time it would be a top up of €45 a week. That is after 20 years of pension deductions and a further cut called pension levy. Not the gilt edged pension by any means. If you are going to throw opinion around get your facts right.

• Veronica, if the public sector is such a great place to be working, why aren’t you there? I’m private sector and I’m not sneering and insulting people who deserve their pay! Gardai, nurses, firefighters, paramedics etc deserve every penny they get and if they get a decent pension (which they are paying dearly for) at the end of it good for them.

• **top up to the state pension which.

• I would like to add that the public sector pay taxes too which contribute to the economy and go to pay pensions – and the public sector workers have pension contributions deducted at source and we have no opt out from pension contributions. Plus we were hit with the pension levy some years ago.
      To clarify to those who think public sector workers get gilt-edged pensions without putting a red cent towards them – a popular fallacy – we would get half our salary and a lump sum after 40 years service – most of us don’t have that; I certainly won’t and if I retire with 18 yrs I’ll be lucky, as i spent years outside the state working in development aid, so I’ll have max 18/40 years service which is equal to 9/40 of a full salary – I’ll get less than half the full pension or less than 1/4 of my salary.
      As a frontline PHN my scales are on public record on INMO website – here’s the link:
      http://www.inmo.ie/7554
      And as I’m at top of my scale I’d get a wonderful €12,245.85 pension p.a. Inclusive of the state pension as I am paying PRSI at the higher class. As the state contributory pension is €230 p.w. this would equal €235.50 p.w. so that’s my gold plated pension for the begrudgers out there.

• Job security and a better pension won’t pay the mortgage this month or next or the one after, it may have well got the mortgage to begin with but it has no purpose in paying it back on a monthly basis

• Fair feckin play to them

• Pablo 24/02/13 #

Haha, there will be a general election by xmas and the government will be gone. Didn’t last long did they?? Its a shame because if they stood by their promises and did not constantly attack working people, they could have been in power for 15 years. Too much too soon. Bye bye Labour.

• Good bye and good riddance. Now which party will abolish the property tax?? That will be the key to power.

• No party will abolish property tax. Many might complain in opposition, but if they get into government they will realise that the money stream needs go be there. This walk out from talks is a shame. They will all be back in sooner or later, they will pull an all nighter, there Will be an agreement that every side will spin their own way. The final agreement will be like all of these….. A bit of give and take, enough for everyone to claim victory, and realistically not enough give or take to do a proper fix.

• Get ready for the Spin and threats from the official side.

• Hopefully they will be gone, statements like “not another red cent, its labours way not frankfurts way, no property tax, no water charges, no child benefits cut,” All told to us, and like fools we believed them, liars nothing but bare faced liars

• Not a surprise.

• It is important to remember that where Public Sector wages are cut there will be less money to spend in retail, construction, tourism and other private sector industries. Lower paid public sector workers like me live in fear of mortgage interest hikes, property tax, water charges, motor tax hikes,childrens allowances cuts like so many of you in the private sector we have said enough.We are ALL in this together we must take a UNITED stand. There are other ways to fix our economy. Corporation Tax could be looked at but the spin doctors at IBEC would have us believe different to suit their agenda. Fellow Citizens now is the time to decide how the future of this country is shaped do you want Ireland Inc or a society that looks after it’s citizens health, education and puts people first.

• Jack O’Connor your a disgrace to the trade union movement.

• Only really the old boys left SIPTU with their labour buddies and IMPACT looking after the government’s interest

• Public private who gives a shit. At the end of the dayt people should be causing havoc with there union and not making digs at each other. It is shameful to think that we are living in a so iety that can mske this happen. Most people on a low wage are in receipt of FIS – family income supplement, medical card. Does it not make better sense for those in government to leave the lower paid and make alternative savings somewere else. . THERE WAGES! CARS! EXPENSESS! TDs start lokking at yourselves also to much for to little in my community. People unite and fight theses battles together.

• Step 1: Unions call a national strike
    Step 2: Blue flu the same day
    Step 3: Green revolution to remove the treanous ba$tards from power. No blood spilled, just like the recent uprisings in eastern europe to sack the government.

Celebrate the centenary of the 1913 lockout in style.

• OMG Jack is still selling his members down the river, SIPTU r up the Governments backside. How much r u getting as a backhander Jack?

• Good stuff more pressure now on the big three SIPTU IMPACT and UNITE to support croake park 1 still has a year to run all union’s should now begin consulting their members clear message going to back to government the workers have taken enough

• ITS TIME let the war begin..this government needs a massive dose of reality and its about to be delivered. No pay cuts ,means no pays any which way you package it up. Now lets get together and sort a plan and hit them during the EU summit and if they want a gathering , it will involve plack cards and pickets.We will not be found wanting.
    #frontlinealliance

• Cut the bureaucracy and bureaucrats in the health service and there’d be enough money to pay the important people on the frontline what they deserve.

• lets hope siptu follow suit

• Does it not say something to Enda K and his gang that this article has managed to show that so many people – beyond public sector even – are ashamed that this is happening?

PEOPLE NEED TO STAND UP AND SAY NO

This attitude of – “I have a job, so I should be cut income” is rubbish. WAKE UP PEOPLE and FIGHT WILL YOU!

• STOP USING THE WORDS PUBLIC SERVANTS – we do a job, we are not servants to a bunch of morons in a big overpaid house in Dublin city – we are workers, the same as anyone who does an honest days work

• Great news! Full support to the trade unions who pulled out of toxic social partnership tonight and I hope the rest follow. It’s thanks to the pressure of members from below – keep it up or they’ll go back into talks when your back is turned!

What better way to commemorate the unfinished business of 1913, than a renaissance of the trade union movement and a successful battle for a better life for workers as Larkin and Connolly would have done. There’s more glimmers of hope these days than in recent years, let’s build on it.

• Veronica I am in constant contact with her and our jobs are very similar! It may be hard for people outside the public sector to believe but it’s true! Fair enough I’ve got a ‘job for life’ but at the rate they are changing our contracts it might not be that way! Our rate of pay has changed, our annual leave, our pension scheme, (seriously needs to be checked out because it’s compulsary and if i’d a choice i would opt out of). Some people went into the public sector because of the ‘perk’ of a ‘job for life’! Some people went into the private sector for the higher pay, bonuses, etc.

• delighted that it seems people have now realised that the people working in public sector have not been talking rubbish for the last few years! Also delighted to hear from so many private sector and unemployed people delighted the fight continues.

• This is more about posturing for the sake of the protection of the interests of the senior Union representatives than about a sensible negotiating approach.

The important thing is to preserve and to protect the higher income earners and large potential pension beneficiaries.

Walking out makes a great point! That will cause the Government to cave in.

• We voted them into “office” not “power” . Looks like the shit is about to hit the fan

• What unions /rep associations where in talks tonight or are left anybody know.
    Curious to see how my faithful association holds out,no feedback from them lately since before 9 feb.

• About time Liam Doran did something, now lets stay out until we get a fair result

• said it before, Michael Taaft is the only politician/economist who makes sense…..now UNITE , his group, are out! does that not say anything?? Get Out!!

• Completely agree with SEAS! Brilliant they are back up and running and now for all teachers! Everyone get with them, great for updates and info! Cannot believe into still in there, fair play unions who are out

• Of course they’re still in there. They threw the NQTs under the train and most of us can’t afford union membership. The no sub rule is easy for them to agree to. Emigration is now the only option. At least the drive to get five hours here and there is over.

• Its time to stand up to this so caled .Government
    They have sold us out to banks’
    Come on people enough is enough

• Good to see UNITE walk Mick O Reilly would be proud of ye

• About time. I hope this sends clear message to enda.

We complained for years that we were not a country that know how to protest. Well now they have poked a hornets nest. This is not about guards or teachers wanting a big house or fancy car. This is about ordinary people not wanting to be pushed into devastating poverty. Private and public unite let’s send a message beyond this shores to europe that the irish people will not carry the can for failed banks. We will not accept poverty so thay germany does not face what we have.

As a great irishman said. The great appear great because we are on our knees, let us rise.

• For all teachers – a group that was formed a few years back called SEAS (Save Education And Skills) has become active again. Originally the group was set up of St Pats, Coláiste Mhuire Marino, Mary I, Froebel, Hibernia and some employed teachers to deal with NQT’s and how they were being treated so badly

However, due to demand from teachers of all ages, we have re-organised the FB and Twitter pages so find SEAS on FB and @2013SEAS on twitter, spread to all teachers and tell them to get behind this – currently at 2100+ people. This is to discuss how our union are not doing anything for us and how we can try and deal with this.

I think it is sad it has come to this but there are so so many teachers angry at our “union” that it is time they woke up and were told how we feel. And will someone tell teachers to stop saying things like “shur we expected to get that cut” – WE DIDNT DO THIS, WE HAVE TAKEN CUT AFTER CUT, THE TIME TO STOP IS NOW!!!

GET OUT OF THE TALKS AND DO SOMETHING CONSTRUCTIVE TO HELP PEOPLE

https://www.facebook.com/SEAS2011?ref=hl

• Get over this we did not do this rubbish.
      YES YOU DID
      You and your unions were bought by Bertie and co with benchmarking and union slush funds.
      Now ye have broke country time to give back

• Either you are a troll or a complete muppet. Most public servants earn under 40k.

• Billy, you got benchmarking during the boom cause your unions whinged the gap was too wide to private sector. You got your increases and we paid for it. Now its gone the other way, the private sector is earning less than the PS but you expect us to go on paying…

• Benchmarking was a % increase which suited the high paid in PS not the low to middle ranks of which I belong to. Any gains achieved during benchmarking have been well reversed. As a clerical officer in 2008 I took home €40 per week more than I do now as a staff officer. That is after 4 minimal increments and a promotion. Now they want further cuts, longer hours and unpaid overtime. Get a grip. Fair enough if the cuts were to those at the upper end but as per usual it will be to those scraping by.

I will never understand how so many Buy into the Government and their lapdog of a media service called RTE. it should not be decide and conquer but alas it appears that people like you swallow the spin.

• Pablo 24/02/13 #

Not true. All my mates that work in the private sector still earn far and away more than me. All of the private sector mates I had that were in construction earned astronomically more than me during the boom. Some are now on the dole and still working

• And you think it’s ok for them to claim dole and work?

• Dillon 24/02/13 #

How is it the job security that comes with being a public servant is never factored into their wages? Ask anyone in the private sector how much of a wage cut they’d take to have a job for life.

• R u on drugs or what?

• Dillon, as someone who is legally accountable for every prescription I put my signature to, for every note I say “patient does not need intervention”, I can tell you that it takes one single, solitary mistake to blow your “job for life” myth out of the water.

• Actually it is factored in.

• I notice Billy Maher told is what salary was in 2008 when crash hit and all he has lost is 40 PW.
      Why not say what pay was pre benchmarking. About 2002
      And an annual pay rise is a pay rise. What bull should be 36k. Mine should be 100k just have to wait till I am 150 years old to get it. Lol.

• @ Angela. I am now certain you are a muppet. You pick what you want from comments. I was lucky enough to have been promoted which saw an increase in my wage. Clerical staff are taking home less now than they did in 2005/2006. Many of my colleagues are in receipt of Family Income Supplement. But i suppose that is ok to you. If further cuts are imposed then that will drive wages down to 2003 levels. But I am sure this will both excite and delight you. The ‘rather them than us’ attitude. Why don’t you just accept that PS bashing, while popular, is wrong. The cause of all this is our inept Government and the banking sector. Pity your energy isn’t put into attacking them.

• D. Ryan 25/02/13 #

O’Rielly, give it a rest will ya!!! Your forgetting that a huge amount of us in the public sector would have worked worked in the private sector before joining. Unlike the vast majority of those in private sector who obviously have no experience in the public sector. Except the huge generalisations they’re happy to go along with

I remember way before I joined the job I worked in a call centre doing a handy nine to five, five day week!! Handiest job ever!!!y take home was €1600. That was in 2002.

I now do a six day week ten hours a day work till seven in the morning and do weekends with three weekends out of ever ten off…

My take home is now 2400 a month!!! Give this rubbish a miss will ya. The job I did then had no dangers. I didn’t have to wear a stab vest to go into work, I sat on my arse all day with a computer dialling numbers for me and spouting off a load of rubbish… I got €1600 a month plus bonuses for that compared to what I do now….

In anyone’s language that’s bloody wrong!!!!!

• The race to the bottom! IBEC and ISME will rue the day they decided to dismantle the public services our society depends upon. Lets face it, the private sector did a great job with the economy – Anglo Irish, Irish Nationwide, AIB, BOI etc.

• How many people who are commenting against the austerity measures, especially on public service pay, voted for one of the four conservative parties?

The people voted overwhelmingly for these conservative economic policies.

I think that conservative right wing economics will make a bad situation much, much worse but that is what the voters voted for.

• Government is setting itself on an agenda of legislation and bugger the citizen! Fine Gael sees the state as the primary basis for good governance except their view of a social contract; economic or social based; is to be sacrificed for a Northern European EU Austere budgets. But here lies the question; who do we owe the banking debt too?

• The heat is on then, sharpen the axes and roll out the guillotines!

• Come on people, will ye play ball and just work the longer hours for less pay, so we can pay of the gamblers,

• Hey, what’s with all this melodramatic thru’ the night talks? Have we not learned anything about hasty late night decision making by now? I mean c’mon this crisis hasn’t just crept up on us… Lol. As for the Unions, unfortunately, the cosy partnership with their employers (in this case successive right wing governments) seems to have enticed them away from their Trade Union origins. This pretense of “emergency” is a cover up for having collaborated with the forces ranged against the Irish citizen today. This is what happens when the can is constantly kicked down the road…… the oul road is running out lads…….

• What happened to the one out all out in the brotherhood ? What’s the point of a few leaving the talks .

• I went to college during a time when there were many jobs available. The previous years before me all got jobs, those who did not made the decision to go abroad to work or to pick a different path in life, of which there were very few. It is hard to tell someone 2-3 months before they qualify that it looks like there is no work for 80% of them, and a battle for the other 20%. Completely understand your logic Professor, in fact, we originally – a couple of years ago – made the suggestion to lower college numbers for our profession, to which we got very little response from our representatives. Our focus 2 years ago was on helping the NQT’s who were being sold by our union without a whisper, now we are here for all ages and scenarios. So we cannot blame the college sizes of the past as this happened mid-late study time.

• Mortgage debt attenuation for those who deserve it would help address the personal financial crisis that besets many in the public and private sector who bought there homes since 2001.

Mortgage debt attenuation is the first priority.

• Ria 25/02/13 #

About time!! We should have left the same time as the gardai!!

• Folks the irish tax payer , public service lower paid among them , has paid over 42% of the burden of the european banking crisis Ireland represents 9%( it could be less please correct) of the european economy. According to Noonan on the IBRC/Anglo deal we’ll be grand taking 30yrs to pay back €1billion as inflation will take care of it. Well that same inflation makes increments nessecary to those lower/entry level civil servants who take home between €20 & 30k a year. We work but many of us would have the same earnings ( if benefits such as medical,free travel,back to school allowance etc are taken into account) as those on the dole. You have to spend money to make money where is the investment in jobs ? We have the oppirtunity to develop an Industry of Renewable Energy in this country and become energy sufficient like Scotland while creating jobs why isnt the Government taking this opportunity? They appear to be blinkered and focussed solely on repaying Europe. I do agree Public Sector wage bill needs to be reduced but a lot of savings could be got if Dail Eireann were first to empty its pockets and review policies such as unvouched expenses and jobs for the the boys.

• FROM ASTI

The ASTI is attending talks this evening at the Labour Relations Commission. The four teacher unions will continue to work together to protect teachers’ terms and conditions throughout the night. The ASTI will update its members as soon as possible.

• To all 24/7 Alliance memebers!

“In a gentle way, you can shake the world.”
    Mohandas Gandhi

• Just saw the INMO statement on leaving the talks there….

https://www.facebook.com/SEAS2011

• Hopefully the rest of the unions will leave and the Government will stop pandering to a pampered minority and sort our €13 billion deficit.

• More from the “rich”? I think jack o Connor wud like all money in the country put in one big bucket and have it divvied up equally among all the people. Of course as head comrade organizer he wud get 4 slices to each of the proletariat’s 1

But that’s how communism works

• JUST RELEASED BY INTO

Four unions, the INMO, IMO, CPSU and Unite, left the talks this evening and held a press conference just before the evening news. The teacher union negotiators met, following a meeting of the Public Services Committee of ICTU, and were clear that there are significant issues in play which have the potential to deliver gains to some members. In addition, with reiteration from government that cuts to salary will be imposed in the event of failure to agree proposals for an agreement, the INTO and other teacher unions remain in talks with a view to protecting members to the greatest extent possible. This is the position of the great majority of public service unions. LRC personnel also remain at these talks and continue to draft proposals on the key issues in light of the positions as set out by government and unions. As of now it appears these talks may go on through the night.

• And why wouldn’t they. The NQTs have taken the hit for them. They’ll be getting a nice pat on the head for this. What I don’t understand is where do they think their new members will come from? They just don’t care. It defies logic what the teachers unions are doing to the newly qualified. Save their drinking buddies. And don’t get me started on the government and their bullshite employment policies.

• I am puzzled. Austerity is a conventional right wing conservative response to a recession and a public exchequer deficit. We voted overwhelmingly for conservative right wing parties and we must expect that our Government under pressure from the Troika will implement stringent austerity measures. I include the Labour Party as a Conservative party. That being the case, the Government has full democratic support for its harsh and deflationary, pro unemployment measures.

I happen to think that Paul Krugman, Stieglitz and others are right in their views that a Neo-Keynesian approach, a la Roosevelt New Deal, will be the only way to move out of the recession. But the point is that voting for Fine Gael, Labour, Fianna Fail and Sinn Fein is a vote for popular mainstream conservatism.

I suppose that we all resent when we are the target of cuts and income reduction. But the inescapable fact is that the austerity measures are the consequence of democratic support.

The Unions and others who oppose the austerity measures are seeking to prevent the application of austerity measures to their members but who defends the unemployed and the many sectors in society who are suffering vastly greater than the public service at the medium and senior levels?

It seems that we support austerity but only for others.

• Peter I am experiencing austerity measures since CP1 as are many many other ppl in whatever job they have whether it be public or private sector. All I am saying is I cannot afford to give anymore.

If I’m made to give more then there goes my house cos I won’t be able to pay the mortgage.

• Don’t be so silly unions are opposed to austerity. Who signed croke park. Who got government to introduce pension levy so they could claim pay cut while retired people’s ( pensions tied to current salary) pensions where untouched.
      If you want to see right wing conservatism check out Jack o Connor and David Beggs work around the social partnership table with Bertie when things were good. Not much left wing then.

• The Bertie Ahern days are over, the company is bankrupt, the receivers(troika) call the shots. The public want Bertie and pals back in gov – they were nicer, told us it would all be okay

• The country is bust. We have no money. Salaries and social welfare must be cut. There is no alternative. A professor earns up to €145k in this country, as compared with about €80k in the UK. Add on a bit for cost of living etc, and it does not exceed €100k. We are therefore paying about 45% more than we should for our public servants. That is the reality unfortunately. We cannot simply insist that salaries must be kept high because people can’t afford otherwise. That may be the case for many, but we need to accept the new reality or make alternative arrangements. And I include myself in that equation. So called higher paid public servants have the exact same problem as the lower ones; the only difference is that their mortgages might be a bit higher, but they still cannot make ends meet in many cases, and deserve to be cut no less than others. And when was €60k a high salary, for the love of God?!

• Colum 24/02/13 #

they will be back around the table in time for tea. A load of bluff

• Legislation it is then…

• lol is like to see them try, do you think that will work?

• …..followed by strikes.

• It will have too. Talking hasn’t.

• Pablo 24/02/13 #

Legislation won’t, fair legislation could have happened 3 years ago. Gone too far, people are seriously annoyed. Strikes like have never been seen before in this country are on the cards. Government will fall. Europe will have to take notice, or as someone said in an earlier post we will have a Greek summer, could bring down Europe. They DO not want that

• Won’t be long before the public get seriously annoyed too. PS are taking support for granted. They want private sector to continue paying through borrowing for a bloatedPS?

• Pablo 24/02/13 #

Crap

• I’m private sector more than willing to support my fellow citizen in the public sector.

• “It will have too. Talking hasn’t.”

Why should it? Telling unions they have to cripple people to save a billion over 3 years and then the next day the government pays 1.8 billion to unsecured bondholders?

I’m amazed its taken them this long to walk from this farce.

• One way it another cuts have to happen. If the gov fell tomorrow and FF, SF, anyone got in, their first call would be to troika asking what they should do. We can’t afford our PS. We don’t need it this big. And Europe will not lend to prop this up. Then we’re all up shit creek. Private sector have taken enough already…

• Ryan'O 24/02/13 #

‘It won’t be long before the public get annoyed”

We are the public, ps workers are sticking together. Who cares what you smarmy private sector think. We’ve had enough cuts and can’t take any more. It’s simple really, strike!

• True colours there Ryan. F*#k the 460,000 unemployed and the many more with the axe waiting to fall. That smarmy private sector pay your bloated wages. Your a disgrace.

• Actually, they don’t!! I’m sick of this myth that if you in the private sector you pay up wages bull!!

It’s only true if your in the private sector of exports or tourism. They are the only industry’s that actually generate revenue into the country.

In other words, if your an accountant, engineer, work in Supervalue or Supermacs and I pay you for your services and then in turn you pay tax which inevitably finds its way back in my pocket to go back out again and on and on it goes. You and I are part of a financial circuit that has an income and an expenditure… Unless your in exports or tourism then you DO NOT generate my wages… You simply help me spend it.

The only exception to this rule is EU Funding IMF etc.

• What happens if I work for companies who export??

• Dillon 24/02/13 #

D.Ryan- cant help but remember all those public servants clogging up the roads across the border on the days they were allegedly on strike. Remember that? Whose wages were they paying with all the taxes they were happy to send to the British Exchequer?

• Ryan, no need for that, I’m private sector and I’m supporting you guys! Please don’t insult those who ARE supporting you!