TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Dáil to debate garda station closures as ex-commissioner criticises cuts

Former garda assistant commissioner Martin Donnellan questioned the cuts to garda resources as the issue will be debated in the Dáil this week.

Former garda assistant commissioner Martin Donnellan
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

THE DÁIL WILL debate a Fianna Fáil motion calling on the Minister for Justice to recruit more gardaí and reverse the planned closure of garda stations this week.

The Private Members motion will be debated in the Dáil tomorrow and was scheduled last week prior to the shooting dead of Detective Garda Adrian Donohoe on Friday night.

Fianna Fáil’s Niall Collins said Donohoe’s death would bring an “added poignancy” to the debate.

It comes amid fears raised in the aftermath of Detective Donohoe’s killing that the cuts to garda numbers and garda stations – 95 will close by the end of January – are having an adverse affect on the ability of the force to tackle criminality.

Former garda assistant commissioner Martin Donnellan criticised the government’s plans to close 100 stations in total this year while speaking on RTÉ Radio yesterday.

Donnellan said that the “vast amount of information” that came from local gardaí would be lost in the communities that are being hit by station closures. He said the term ‘smart-policing’ annoyed him, pointing out that Ireland has no national DNA database.

He told the Marian Finucane programme: “The situation we have at the moment now [is that] the commissioner has to work with a thousand less men. We were told there two months ago that now they have only enough money to pay 12,000 men, there’s 13 [thousand] in the job

“I think it’s about time there was some kind of an independent view of the way we are being policed because we are reducing the police force by a thousand people. We’re told about this smarter policing, that really annoys me.”

The Fianna Fáil motion will call on the Justice Minister Alan Shatter to reopen the Templemore training facility to recruit more gardaí and reverse  the “attack on the physical infrastructure of rural Ireland and stop the impending closure of Garda stations across the country”.

Collins, the party’s justice spokesperson, said yesterday: “This week, 100 communities across the country will lose their local garda station.

“This is while we watch a surge in burglaries and thefts, a spike in violent attacks, and a deeply disturbing escalation in gangland crime and dissident activity.

“The Fine Gael Chair of the Oireachtas Justice Committee himself has acknowledged that the closure of community garda stations will not save significant resources, while communities across the country have been clear in their description of the cost of this policy to community safety.”

Read: Here are the 95 Garda stations to close by end of month

Read: Association of Garda Sergeants ‘heard about cuts at same time as media’

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (58 Comments)

• Donellan is right,but this is a situation that occurs much too often! From the rank superintendent upwards,promotion is politics driven. Therefore Gardaí ranked above Supt rank are afraid to come out and say anything against Goverment in case it may affect an impending promotion! Hence the reason when Alan Shatter stated a few months back that morale was good within An Garda Síochána,none of the ranking officers had the balls to tell him otherwise!
    We need someone who is currently employed in high ranking role to come out and speak up about the current state of the Force!

• It’s about bloody time.It took the murder of a Garda and the revulsion of a nation to get this moving.

• I believe we saw a statement yesterday to the effect that the Garda numbers were currently at the highest ever since the peak of the so called Troubles in Northern Ireland. With the closure of approximately one hundred underused Garda stations around the country the consequences in theory would be to see more Garda on the streets rather than keeping derelict buildings open for the occasional visitor.
      A number of commentators are seeking to use the cowardly murder of an Officer in Dundalk as an argument in this debate but it has nothing whatever to do with the numbers currently employed in the Force and is an insult to the tragic Garda’s death that it should be used in such a dishonest way.

• Mark Will you give over . Nobody is ‘using’ the death of the Garda to gain political sway in the debate .THE FACT of the matter is that a garda has been murdered and should be acknowledged in the full rawness of that act. Now go away like a good man and do your trolling elsewhere , because as far as I can see is the likes of you are here detracting and disrespecting the sorrow and grief genuinely felt by people and if someone wants to say it is because of cut backs and station closures they are entitled to say it . Even Martin Donnellan is saying it . I am glad to see that he has come out in support of the Gardai and if anyone can say it as it is he can.

• @ Eileen.
      Pay no attention to rodgers,nobody else does.

• The biggest factor here is that by closing these stations they are more or less telling criminals that there is no longer a Garda presence in that area. Regardless of whether or not the area is being patrolled sufficiently this is what criminals will have in their heads and no matter how the government tries to spin this, that is the message that is being sent out.

• I thought that we voted for a right to live in a democracy, where the public would be given a fair chance to have there say but it appears that we actually live in a dictatorship and we have to fall in line behind what the government says!

• Alan
      It’s called a General Election and if I recall correctly you did I have your say some two years ago and you will get another one sometime around 2016. Where did you get the idea that if nothing is to your liking that it is somehow a dictatorship?

• Alan
      It’s called a General Election and if I recall correctly you did I have your say some two years ago and you will get another one sometime around 2016. Where did you get the idea that if nothing is to your liking that it is somehow a dictatorship?

• When drastic changes are being made that effect everyone over station closures etc… It would be nice for the government officials to come and speak to communities rather then dictate from a pedestal in Dublin. I know the people voted them into power but to me and its only my opinion they gave promises during the election campaign that they haven’t upheld!

• Well said Alan.
      we are living in a dictatorship.
      And the more people wake up to it the better . Spraed the word and come the next election NONE of them will survive the votes.

• When they do lift the recruitment ban, I for one plan on applying for An Garda Siochana

• Martin Donnellan is right. I was listening to him on Newstalk this morning. This man knows what he is talking about. A policemans policeman not a weak puppet like Callinan. Resource the Gardai to deal with the threats this country faces from criminals and “Republicans” properly. Pay them a proper wage. Do what it takes to rid this country of this scourge. It’s boiling down to a simple choice, Does this country want Law and Order. Yes or No?

• There are many ways that this country can save money other than cutting frontline services . There are not enough Gardai on patrol at the moment , its recruiting them we should be .

• Mary how many Gardai should we have, how should this be calculated?

How many Gardai of those on shift are in stations, how many are on patrol on foot / car / bike etc. And what is the proportion between on patrol and not on patrol, and what are they doing?

Given these facts, you could make a better judgement, the current numbers actually seem to be very strong.

• @googletracking

At any one time in Ireland there are approx 1400 uniformed guards patrolling a population of over 4 million people. Would you consider this sufficient policing?

• 1,400?? Think you mean 14,000 !!

• No John I don’t. I mean 1400. Fourteen hundred at any given time, possibly less but definitely not any more than that. This is a fact.

• Oops !! My bad sorry Miss Read that !!

• @Jim
      A Garda force of over 14000 would be a very strong force compared internationally.

As regards 1400 on at any one time, can you back that figure up first of all, and second of all; can you reference international comparisons to elucidate your point.

If what you say is true that is shocking, but it clearly is not.

Rough calculation: 14000 Gardai, working on average 30hrs a week(low for sake of arguement), 50 weeks a year. Total man hours 21000000. Divid by 365 = 57500, divid by 8hr shift (approx).
      This equates to 7200 Gardai possible 8 hr shifts a day. Divid by 3 = 2400 assuming no overlapping of shifts and an idiot system of not having the force stronger at important times of the day, and weaker at obviously quieter times.

This is the lowest possible figure it could be, not including any overtime, and a tiny 30hr week.

• P.s. weeks figure should be 48, reducing final calculation be only 100, should read 2300

• There you go with your fantasy figures again. I mentioned the fact that there are approx 1400 uniform gardai on duty at any one time. You come up with a set of figures that included every Garda employed by the state. Go back to your calculator and factor in every member above sergeant rank. Take members employed on plain clothes duty, members sick, members on leave, members on the numerous specialised units such as ERU etc etc and then subtract from the figure you have come up with. Also, there are not currently 14000 gardai employed in the country at this time. Also take out all the Garda reserves that get included in this figure. If you had any idea what you were talking about, which you clearly don’t as you have proved again and again, you would see that my figure is the reality.

• GSI are standing up to the Government. About pay and allowances.

• Does the wind and rain and last nights full moon bring out horrible little wart faced trolls like Doreen and Larry Murphy??
    Just a question?

• shut up Doreen. Sick and tired of reading stupid comments like that.

• The Guards death is condemned by sane individuals plus the closure of Garda stations and the walk out by Garda unions on Croke Park deal shows the public and wider society the possible floodgates of civil unrest may not be far from the surface.politicans again show how detached they are from the rest of the populace. Blue flu during this EU presidency may be required to show the present government that all the power does not lie in Berlin or Brussels.

• Doreen.. What the hell are u talking about?

• God Doreen.. U are some thicko! What happens the next time there is a robbery and there is no Garda station in the area… Thugs will have a field day..

• It is sad that it has to take a tragedy of this kind for the Government to move on the Issue of Garda Stations.At this time our Prayers and Thoughts are with The Detectives Family. Questions will be asked could this have been avoided.?

• Niall ‘the press release’ Collins and Fianna Fail have some brass neck complaining about Garda cutbacks.

When in government they suspended Garda recruitment and did away with overtimes.

They are the worst kind of political opportunists.

Clearly they think the public are stupid.

• I think you’ll find that the previous government increased the recruitment to 14000. While it wasn’t sustainable to keep recruitment going at that rate the least this government could have done was maintain The 14000, Also the previous govt were tough on crime and brought in a number of good pieces of legislation to tackle organised crime. Not to mention exposing Gerry Adams and his cronies as members o the IRA army council. Can’t argue about their handling of the economy however credit where it’s due. Fine Gael never done the guards any favours.

• And the very best of luck to you..
    (just for future refrence,the dog ate my tax disc ;-) )

• They are all so brave and outspoken when they leave the force. Pathetic.

• I pity this mans family but if it was an ordinary no soap there would be no debate

• Loving the red thumbs keep them comming

Add New Comment