TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
: °C Monday 27 May, 2013

95 Garda stations to close by end of month

Garda authorities have released a full list of the 95 stations which will close within the next 12 days.

Image: infomatique via Flickr

GARDA AUTHORITIES have released a list of 95 stations which will close by the end of the month, as the force adjusts to a cut in its central government funding.

The stations are among 100 which will close over the course of the year, after the overall Garda budget was hit by 3.8 per cent in last month’s Budget.

Confirming the list of stations to shut, Gardaí said the new “District and Station Consolidation programme” would seek to “build on the efficiencies” achieved in the force through various restructuring programmes in recent years.

They insisted, however, that the new policing arrangements would “continue to support our community policing philosophy” – and added that the new arrangements would result in increased hours of Garda patrols and an improved policing service to the public.

Justice minister Alan Shatter has previously explained that many of the stations earmarked for closure are only open on a limited-hours basis and that keeping these stations open means Gardaí are diverted from patrol duties.

98 of the 100 stations earmarked for closure over the course of the year are only open on a part-time basis, with 88 served by only one Garda. 94 of the stations are ordinarily open for three hours a day or less.

Gardaí said the programme of closures would ensure “that a high visibility and community oriented policing service continues to be delivered throughout the country”.

The list published by Gardaí this morning, which can be seen below, also outlines which other stations will be incorporating the duties of those to be closed. Five of the 95 stations will have their duties divided among multiple existing stations.

In full: the 95 Garda stations closing this month

Note: The stations are listed below in alphabetical order. Details of the stations to which their duties are being assigned can be accessed on the Garda website.

1. Abbeydorney (Tralee district, Kerry division)
  2. Aclare (Ballymote district, Sligo/Leitrim division)
  3. Adrigole (Bantry district, Cork West division)
  4. Annagaire (Glenties district, Donegal division)
  5. Ardagh (Granard district, Roscommon/Longford division)
  6. Ballacolla (Portlaoise district, Laois/Offaly division)
  7. Ballinahowan (Athlone district, Westmeath division)
  8. Ballinakill (Portlaoise district, Laois/Offaly division)
  9. Ballinalee (Granard district, Roscommon/Longford division)
  10. Ballinskelligs (Caherciveen district, Kerry division)
  11. Ballinspittle (Bandon district, Cork West division)
  12. Ballintubber (Castlerea district, Roscommon/Longford division)
  13. Ballycastle (Ballina district, Mayo division)
  14. Ballyduff (Dungarvan district, Waterford division)
  15. Ballyfarnon (Ballymote district, Sligo/Leitrim division)
  16. Ballyforan (Roscommon district, Roscommon/Longford division)
  17. Ballyglass (Castlebar district, Mayo division)
  18. Ballymoe (Tuam district, Galway division)
  19. Ballymore Eustace (Naas district, Kildare division)
  20. Ballyragget (Kilkenny district, Kilkenny/Carlow division)
  21. Ballytore (Kildare district, Kildare division)
  22. Ballyvary (Castlebar district, Mayo division)
  23. Bawnboy (Ballyconnell district, Cavan/Monaghan division)
  24. Beaufort (Killarney district, Kerry division)
  25. Blacksod (Belmullet district, Mayo division)
  26. Broadford (Killaloe district, Clare division)
  27. Brosna (Listowel district, Kerry division)
  28. Camp (Tralee district, Kerry division)
  29. Castletown Conyers (Newcastlewest district, Limerick division)
  30. Castletown Geoghegan (Mullingar district, Westmeath division)
  31. Cliffoney (Sligo district, Sligo/Leitrim division)
  32. Cloone (Carrick on Shannon district, Sligo/Leitrim division)
  33. Corrinshigagh (Carrickmacross district, Cavan/Monaghan division)
  34. Crossakiel (Kells district, Meath division)
  35. Donard (Baltinglass district, Wicklow division)
  36. Doonbeg (Kilrush district, Clare division)
  37. Dromahair (Manorhamilton district, Sligo/Leitrim division)
  38. Dromod (Carrick on Shannon district, Sligo/Leitrim division)
  39. Dundrum (Tipperary Town district, Tipperary division)
  40. Easkey (Ballymote district, Sligo/Leitrim division)
  41. Fenit (Tralee district, Kerry division)
  42. Finea (Mullingar district, Westmeath division)
  43. Galbally (Bruff district, Limerick division)
  44. Gleann Cholm Cille (Glencolmcille) (Glenties district, Donegal division)
  45. Glenfarne (Manorhamilton district, Sligo/Leitrim division)
  46. Grangemockler (Clonmel district, Tipperary division)
  47. Hollymount (Claremorris district, Mayo division)
  48. Hollywood (Baltinglass district, Wicklow division)
  49. Inagh (Ennistymon district, Clare division)
  50. Inistioge (Thomastown district, Kilkenny/Carlow division)
  51. Johnstown (Kilkenny district, Kilkenny/Carlow division)
  52. Keshcarrigan (Carrick on Shannon district, Sligo/Leitrim division)
  53. Kilchreest (Gort district, Galway division)
  54. Kilcolgan (Gort district, Galway division)
  55. Kilconly (Tuam district, Galway division)
  56. Kilfinane (Bruff district, Limerick division)
  57. Kilgarvan (Killarney district, Kerry division)
  58. Kill (Naas district, Kildare division)
  59. Kilmeedy (Newcastlewest district, Limerick division)
  60. Kilmessan (Trim district, Meath division)
  61. Kilmihil (Kilrush district, Clare division)
  62. Kiltealy (Enniscorthy district, Wexford division)
  63. Kiltullagh (Galway (Mill St) district, Galway division)
  64. Knockcroghery (Roscommon district, Roscommon/Longford division)
  65. Labasheeda (Kilrush district, Clare division)
  66. Lahardane (Ballina district, Mayo division)
  67. Lahinch (Ennistymon district, Clare division)
  68. Lauragh (Killarney district, Kerry division)
  69. Leenane (Cliften district, Galway division)
  70. Leighlinbridge (Carlow district, Kilkenny/Carlow division)
  71. Malin (Buncrana district, Donegal division)
  72. Mallow Road (Mayfield district, Cork City division)
  73. McCurtain St (Mayfield district, Cork City division)
  74. Meelin (Kanturk district, Cork West division)
  75. Menlough (Ballinasloe district, Galway division)
  76. Mín an Lábáin (Churchill) (Milford district, Donegal division)
  77. Mountshannon (Killaloe district, Clare division)
  78. Na Brocacha (Brockagh) (Letterkenny district, Donegal division)
  79. New Inn (Cahir district, Tipperary division)
  80. New Inn (Loughrea district, Galway division)
  81. Newbliss (Monaghan district, Cavan/Monaghan division)
  82. Newtowncashel (Longford district, Roscommon/Longford division)
  83. Quin (Ennis district, Clare division)
  84. Rathduff (Gurranabraher district, Cork City division)
  85. Rathowen (Mullingar district, Westmeath division)
  86. Rearcross (Nenagh district, Tipperary division)
  87. Shanaglish (Gort district, Galway division)
  88. Shannonbridge (Birr district, Laois/Offaly division)
  89. Shantonagh (Carrickmacross district, Cavan/Monaghan division)
  90. Stradbally (Tramore district, Waterford division)
  91. Stradone (Cavan district, Cavan/Monaghan division)
  92. Terryglass (Nenagh district, Tipperary division)
  93. Tournafolla (Newcastlewest district, Limerick division)
  94. Tynagh (Loughrea district, Galway division)
  95. Valentia Island (Caherciveen district, Kerry division)

Five further stations will close later in 2013:

1. Barrack St, Cork
  2. Kill O’ The Grange, Dublin
  3. Mary St, Limerick
  4. Redhills, Co Cavan
  5. Stepaside, Dublin

Budget 2013:  100 garda stations to close and 28 districts to amalgamate

Read next:

Comments (62 Comments)

• Great news… for the thugs robbing pensioners. Disgrace

• A lot of these Garda stations would have been unmanned most of the time, or staffed by one guard anyway, so they were practically useless unless you wanted a form filled in.

How can you think that a Garda station acts as a crime deterrent unless the pensioner actually lives next to it? They don’t act as crime deterrents in towns and cities, so they’re not going to do so in the middle of nowhere either. Even being half a kilometre away from one (which in rural areas is almost nothing), you can still get broken into and robbed in the length of time it would take to call the guards and have them arrive at your house.

Old people need to feel safe and secure at home, yes. I don’t for one minute believe that **anyone**, regardless of age, should feel unsafe at home. But useless Garda stations is not the way to do that because for 90% of the week, the Garda station is just a house with a blue sign outside of it.

• The fact that they are understaffed is not a reason to close them. The fact that they are understaffed in the first place is wrong. More Gardai are needed. Glad you mentioned filling in forms
      as well. They provide a service to rural communities already deprived of public transport, how do you propose this service will be replaced?

• Yes, rural areas are severely deprived of public transport. But the people in these areas have adapted to getting a lift/driving to the supermarket, the doctor, the pharmacy, the Post Office etc., so I’m sure they’ll just as easily adapt to getting a lift/driving to a Garda station to have a form filled in once every two/five/ten years.

• Ah it’s fine then. Continue to strip every last resource from rural communities and isolate those who live there

• I am originally from a rural area, and not even in the middle of nowhere, it’s a small town of 2,000 people with an almost-never-open Garda station.

Whenever I needed a form filled in while I lived there, it was quicker to go to a bigger town to have it done than to wait and see if the Garda station would open when the notice on the door said it would open, which was almost never. Whenever you would ring the station, your call would (95% of the time) be transferred to one 25km away. And that same Garda station isn’t even on that list, so I can only imagine how underutilised the ones listed above are.

• Donncha, I’d say you live in an urban area , now as for getting a form signed, that may have no relevance to you, until you want a form signed, then a trip of maybe 20 miles to a Garda station, and twenty more home might just seem excessive, even to you . Now many of theese forms can’t be signed unless the Garda knows you personally, do you see where I’m going with this. We then move on to your personal safety, when you hear the glass break on your back door in the middle of the night, you then hit the problem of ringing that same station twenty miles away and trying to give directions to a Garda again who dose not know you or never heard of the townsland you live in, giving directions to a stranger who’s lost is awkward enough, now imagine trying to do it at 5am and a car full of masked thugs coming up your stairs, this is a reality an all too frequent occurrence , now your directions have to be relayed to a car, again miles from you, with directions given under unimaginable pressure, my friend it’s then you will realise the value of having your local ‘ form signing,” Garda at the end of the phone, who knows where you live, what car you drive and how to get to you in the fastest time possible..think of the above scenario and replace yourself with an elderly person living alone, any society worth it’s salt since time began cherished it elders for their experience and wisdom of years,we are now making them dread the once welcome sound of a car in the yard or a visitors step .

• As I have said, I am from a rural town so I know all about travelling to get forms filled. My parents live nine doors up from the Garda station and the guards there wouldn’t know any of my family from Adam, let alone what cars they drive. I have never understood this need to get a form signed at your local station because the guards will supposedly know you. They won’t because there is no habit of getting to know a local community when a guard is given a new post. This is a change that needs to come from the top.

As well as that, even if the guards did know my family, and my parents’ house were being broken into at 5am, as it stands at the moment, there wouldn’t be anyone in that Garda station nine doors away. They’d be giving directions to someone in the station 25km away and the house would be completely ransacked by the time someone would get there. And this is with a Garda station in the town. People are kidding themselves if they think that the above stations are useful in crime prevention with the numbers of guards that we have in the country. I would stake money on saying that none of the stations above are ever staffed at night.

I firmly believe that Alan Shatter should be recruiting more Gardaí to staff underutilised Garda stations. Templemore should never have been closed. But when there aren’t enough Gardaí to go around, keeping these stations open is absolutely pointless.

• Reg 19/01/13 #

Gerry, that is absolute rubbish about a garda needing to know you personally. I don’t know any of the gardai in the garda station where I get forms signed.

• Before u dismiss something as absolute rubbish make sure it is. Forms for pensioners who yearly have to appear and have a form signed basically saying that they are still breathing, must be signed by someone who knows them passports equally, that’s two, just to get rid of the ” absolute” bit anyway,

• What form to prove you’re still alive?? I lived with my grandmother until she died and she never had to get such a form signed to say she was alive, and she was well beyond pension age.

And anyway, getting a passport form signed once every ten years in another town is hardly a burden now, is it? And if you can afford to go away, you can afford to travel a few miles to get the form signed.

• Reg 19/01/13 #

Ah Gerry, will you stop making stuff up. A persons GP can normally sign certain forms for people. No person in this state needs to personally know a garda to get things done. Enough with the BS.

• Good luck getting your passport from your G.P, or maybe that’s coming next..

• Reg 19/01/13 #

Never had a problem getting a passport thanks. Never needed to know the garda who signed the forms either.

• You idiot. You obviously have no clue how things work. A Garda in these stations are always on duty and claim no extra pay or overtime. The deterrent is always there. It’s people like you who think they know everything but really have no idea how things work. You are not in touch with reality like the rest of your political elite.

• This is not about getting forms filled. This is about losing the local face of the gardai. People in communities like these were able to approach the gard after mass in the local shop and chat to him about any problem. It’s amazing how many incidents were solved just by having that person in the community

• Now that’s BS, must b catching..

• Errr McCurtain Street and Mallow Roadin Cork ?? they are closed years.Well Done Shatter you clown

• It’s one thing to decide to close these stations as part of cost cutting, but what strikes me is that they seem to have absolutely no clue or plan to do anything with the Garda buildings themselves. Are they to rot and become liabilities? If you’re going to close them then sell them. Some of the buildings quite substantial properties.

• Garda station in Castletown Limerick (newcastle west district) is listed for formal closure only to suit the dept of justice numbers etc… It has not been used for yrs for anything !! The local guards have said the wouldn’t use it for anything… It is in such a run down state.

• Lovely! The government have provided criminals with a helpful list of places where they can terrorise and steal with abandon. Our justice minister must be totally shattered from the demolition job he’s doing on the Gardai and on the security and peace of mind of Irish citizens. He’s like king Midas in reverse – everything he touches turns to shite!

• The travelling burglars will have a field day

• ptriley 19/01/13 #

This is just the start of all this craziness and it’s only January!

• F#ck me thats a lot

• Just because the station is open to the public for 3 hours a day does not mean there is no garda presence in the village for the other 21.

All this means is when that garda is actually called for anything he will have a greater distance to travel to be of any use.

Its exposing rural communities even more to already disproportionate levels of burglaries

• And the household charge/household tax pays for what services??????

• I hope the stations closing list doesn’t turn into areas to rob list…

• I wonder will it eventually come to communities establishing vigilantes and community watch groups. I would hope that as a nation and historically a close knit community we could do the latter. Communities up and down the country have demonstrated that they can organize for the better. Instead of organizing to beg to the government, we can organize to galvanize our communities and set up a system of security that is progressive. You know the saying , if ya want something done….

• No doubt this will turn out to be a nice little earner for security companies.

• Ahh,you gotta love how quick the spinners and the supporters of “inspector clueless” are off the mark.
    Any time this pathetic government announce another f/up the spin brigade are out to defend them.
    Just as a matter of interest I wonder just how many old people will have to be beaten up/burgled/ threatened and how far will shatter get before he cops on.

• zodiac 19/01/13 #

Just wondering … Was Terenure not initially selected to close …. Hmm one wonders …..

• So what other cut backs is the Dail is going make?? Definitely not to themselves.

• I can’t wait for the official Sinn Fein statement denouncing the closures. Such a friend to the Gardai, they are…

• A station open for three hours with one garda would clearly be a huge disincentive to thugs robbing pensioners.

• Excellent work shatter . I’m sure the criminals will be fretting at all these extra patrols and ‘smart policing’ u seem to go on about a lot lately . was shatter not the one on 2010 proclaiming that he wanted more Gardai and that the garda force should not go under 14000 personnel????? FG – the party who don’t give a toss about crime .

• Well said Neill and for those of you small minded enough it’s not all about signing forms.

• Forget about the closing of Garda Stations. It’s the use of Gardaí that should be looked at. They are not nearly as efficient as they should be. 700 Garda stations in Ireland to police 4.5 million citizens. 1300 in England in wales to police 55 million. Surely they can ask a few questions and start making use of the force we have.

• You might find if you did some research that the numbers working in those 1300 stations in Britain is incomparably higher than the numbers here and you might also find that crime rates in some parts of Britain are through the roof so perhaps we shouldn’t be looking at their model as one to look up to

• Here is your answer, 13,000 guards compared to 137,000 police in the UK(excluding transport police) that’s 1:346 in Ireland and 1:400 in the UK so its not a huge difference.

• theres not a huge difference in the distance they cover ciaran.
      90 percent of policing is the ability to show a presence and be a deterrent.
      Much easier to do that with 137,000 than with 13,000 and dropping!

• But do you actually think the Gardaí are effective? I can’t remember the last time I saw a patrol either on foot or in a car. They are not utilized correctly and it’s not mainly due to manpower. They are unorganized and seem to accept that they are. How many Gardaí have gone out and tried to make proposals for changes in preventing crime?

• Spend a bit of time in dunsink, Summerhill, sheriff street, cabra, the south inner city or sheepmoor to name but a few and you should see a few patrols. You would be surprised how few guards are working on a unit that are free to go on the beat on a daily basis. It’s hard to get a grasp on when looking from the outside.

• If the gardai from larger stations patrol as much as they should it will be fine….big if though.

• Larger stations but less gardai due to lack of recruitment and retirements. Take into fact that resources are now divided by five and not four. Now take into account that the number of patrol cars to patrol the larger areas are diminishing by the day. Yeah so even if they’re out patrolling the thin spread becomes even thinner you’re simple solution is well thought out……

• Sell the properties to Dunkin Doughnuts.

• Some years back, we had an attempted break in. I scared the thief off. We rang the Gardia, who took about an hour to drive 400m. They said to us, “Don’t worry! Go to sleep! It was more than likely a fella off he’s head on drugs!” 2 days later we contacted the Gardia again. They came back to our house and made every excuse why they couldn’t process the evidence! They just don’t want to do any paperwork. Are they surprised that the stations are being closed

• liam 19/01/13 #

Good Idea might get them out of the
    station and onto the streets .

• You omitted Passage West in Cork.
    Btw, I’d suggest Abberdorney hasn’t seen much action since the Kerry Babies case back in the Eighty’s.

Add New Comment