TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Up to 1,200 Gardaí now eligible to retire – Garda Commissioner

The Garda Commissioner was answering questions before the Committee on Justice, Defence and Equality earlier today.

Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan (file photo)
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

GARDA COMMISSIONER MARTIN Callinan today said that up to 1,200 Gardaí were now in the “category that could go” as he went before the Committee on Justice, Defence and Equality.

The disclosure came in response to questions from Fianna Fail TD Niall Collins, who said that he had faced anger from constituents in relation to the fact that The Defence Forces had been allowed to recruit while An Garda Síochána had not.

Callinan said that he “would love to see that changing, given the lead-in time of two years before people are effective in the street”.

Despite this, he said that the force had so far “been managing to provide the service that we have always been providing.”

That said, I wouldn’t like to see the numbers drop very much beyond the 13,000 mark which is what the government have asked us to achieve.

On the topic of minimum effective numbers for the force, Callinan said that there was “no scientific model” to determine this. He believed, however, that a number needed to be maintained that would allow for the “facility to move your resources to deal with whatever issues face you at a particular time.”

With a current strength of 13,472 as of last week, Callinan said that it was clear that the maximum strength of 13,000 was not going to be achieved by year end.

When asked whether, given the two year lead time for training, this number was likely to fall below the required number, Callinan said it was difficult to determine.

Taking into account the fact that optional retirement is available to Gardaí over 50 who have 30 years service, along with compulsory retirement at 60, he said that there were now roughly 1,200 Gardaí who fell into that category “that could go, but it’s unlikely that they will”.

Read: Garda Commissioner asked about Fr Molloy murder, Love/Hate drama >

Read next:

Comments (37 Comments)

• The population and serious crime going up, the number of Gardai dropping significantly. Don’t need to be a rocket scientist to see that crime is going to soar. Start recruiting immediately. Gardai are coping….PR rubbish. Once the bond holders get paid who cares about the health system or people’s security. Living in a bubble

• As a former Garda I believe that Senior Management will never tell the absolute truth because it is inconvenient and they are afraid at how it will impact on the public. The truth be told Senior Managers are under the kosh to get rid of 1200 members, no matter what type of officers they are. They are thinking of reducing the time needed to retire to 28 years service. The interference from IMF/Troika and the knee bending by politicians is appalling. Moral has never been so much at its lowest as it is right now. We need leaders not not yes men/ladies.

• Lift the recruitment embargo, Shatter. Some of us have been waiting years to apply!

• Seems like an endless wait!!

• Red Ed 22/11/12 #

They are training more and more reserve gardai everyday, working for free while they hold on hope that it will help them get recruited when the time comes but Shatter knows if they recruit more gardai that he will only be employing the reserves. Which actually means no improvement in the numbers of uniforms on the street. He is using the hopes of young people to his advantage, to hide the fact that there are not enough gardai and they can’t afford to recruit more because they spent all the money on the fawking Anglo Xmas party!

• Callinan is the biggest government yes man commissioner the Gardai have had in a long time. All those answers would have been approved and advocated straight from. Shatter himself.

Same service as always. Convince the people whose homes have been burgled and are now half a county away from their nearest Garda station.

• How about training new Gardai?

• Their resources are stretched beyond belief. Only a matter of time before this really bites the government in the arse.

• Unreal. They need a recruitment drive soon, as they say it takes 2 years to become a qualified Garda with full powers, so even if they took on a class or two next year, it would be 2015 by the time of graduation. The 13,000 number also takes into account Garda Reserves, non operational Gardai (training college etc) and civilian staff, so it’s all a very unclear image of what AGS is really like. They are struggling! Bring on recruitment!

• Reg 21/11/12 #

How about more civilians working for the police. Why are Gardai manning the front desk of police stations? Why are trained Gardai working in procurement and IT. I’m sure there are many more examples.

• Reg 21/11/12 #

Found the following in a Garda Inspectorate report from 2007:

“The underdevelopment of civilianisation in the Garda Síochána means that, relative to other police services, the Garda Síochána cannot deploy close to the same proportion of its fully-trained, sworn police officers to operational duties.”

I bet feck all has happened about this since 2007.

• @Reg actually quite a bit gas happened on this front however we are still below the % compared to other forces. Things are moving forward however.

• Couldn’t agree more. All those forms that could be filled in at post offices, tax offices etc rather than the garda station.

• Gerard 21/11/12 #

Does this number of 13472 guards include reserve gardai?

• The Garda retirement crisis is a constant and pretty meaningless claim from the commissioner (and indeed, commissioners before him), A Garda can retire on full pension after 30 years services, compared to 40 years for the rest of the public service. The reasoning behind this was because of the extraordinary stress of the job – in short, part of the job is to get shot at. This means that at any given time, a significant proportion of the force could retire on full pension. Unless the commissioner can state that 1200 (approx 10%) is a higher than normal level for the force, then its a meaningless number, thrown around for effect.

• What absolute nonsense. It is most certainly not a meaningless figure. Unfortunately for the public of this country and the Gardai it is far from it. This figure is all the more stark when there is no recruitment at present. 1200 Garda members of all ranks could retire at the drop of a Garda hat if they so wished. How do you imagine that would affect things in the absence of recruitment? Sure, the bullshit puppets who are paid to say so will probably say that the level of service will remain the same. Given the threat of further wage/pension cuts and the nature of the job itself it baffles me as to why anyone would stay in this job after 30 years service. The Garda force is ageing and new blood is vital.

• Less guards means more overtime?

• The culture of new recruits should be changed to realise that the small stuff matters both to the ordinary people and to the criminals. If they think they can get away with anything then they will just continue to break the law. We should have a root and branch clean out and have guards that help the ordinary people and not dodge the small stuff which is my experience.

• They have get recruits that show willingness to help their community. This will show they care for ordinary people and their issues and look after the small stuff burglary muggings antisocial behavior and not always look at the issue as a problem for me and the paperwork involved.most guardi know not all , are always looking for the handy number. Then the guys that are good get promoted, away from the community and we are left with …….

• you know when they are driving around three in a car they might just stop get out and let the people see them even if it is a small community event. we want this .

• Do you mean officially or ‘on the job’.

• You must be getting off duty at six so wouldn’t want squad car outside my house for that long

• You must be going off duty at six wouldn’t want a squad car outside my house for that long

Add New Comment