TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Gardaí to run operation to get drivers to slow down

There have been four more fatalities on Irish roads than at this time last year, so Gardaí are trying to get drivers to reduce their speed.

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

GARDAÍ ARE TO roll out a major operation this weekend to encourage drivers to reduce their speeds on Irish roads.

Operation Slow Down will run from 7am on Friday morning until 7am on Saturday morning, which has been identified as when the highest proportion of fatal collisions take place.

There has been a year on year decrease in the number of people killed on the roads since 2006, but figures show that there have been four more fatalities on Irish roads than at this time last year.

96 people have died on Irish roads so far this year, with 25 road deaths happening in June alone. 33 of the deaths this year – almost one third of the total number – happened on either a Friday or Saturday.

Gardaí say the operation is to raise awareness of the dangers of excessive speed, reduce the number of speed-related collisions, and save lives and reduce injuries on the roads.

Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan said that a speed limit is “not a target”.

“When you are faced with adverse weather, road or traffic conditions, the most effective way to keep safe is to slow down and give yourself more time to adapt to all that is happening around you,” said Callinan.

The time lost by reducing your speed by 5 or 10 km/h on a long journey is insignificant, but the increase in road safety terms to you and all around you is very significant.

Operation Slow Down will see checkpoints on national primary and secondary roads carried out by local Gardaí and the Garda Traffic Corps.

Each Garda Division will also have an area locally where Gardaí will be available to give road safety advice and distribute leaflets. Garda members who are not responding to emergency calls will be told to reduce their speed, and drive at speeds appropriate to the prevailing conditions.

Government to press ahead with ban on smoking in cars >

Read next:

Comments (85 Comments)

• Also, get the f*ck out of the right hand lane on a motorway

• Educate drivers, is the better plan. Speed is a killer agreed, but slow speed is just as dangerous. I’ve never seen so many old clueless drivers on the road.

• Surely there can’t me too many of those amnesty drivers on the road. What a fantastic move that was back in the day … and I’d bet the oldies we still see on the roads these days without a clue what they’re doing are holders of amnesty licences. My mum is in her 70′s now and holds a licence to drive any type if vehicle. She could legally sit into and drive an articulated truck even though she’s never been in one in her life. Crazy stuff.

• Elrat 03/07/12 #

Agree slow drivers on secondary roads are an absolute nightmare! I’ve been in a line of cars – 22 in front of me & and probably the same behind – due to 2 slow drivers doing 50/60 klm in a 100 zone

• …says God’s gift to the art of driving and planet Earth. I am surprised you could see the other driver’s age over the steering wheel when blasting past at speed. Speed does not kill. It is the suddenness of the stop that kills! Old heads do not come on young shoulders which is why Jonathan Hayes has to pay much more for his motor insurance!

• Spoken like a true boy racer!

• SeanR 03/07/12 #

Agreed with better driver training. Also some of road design is really dangerous in itself. You have to wonder if an engineer ever looked at it.

• @ Miles… my insurance is reasonable and I’m not a boy racer. I’m a responsible driver and am sick of stupid drivers on the road. most of whom are ancient and drive excessively slow and dangerous.

• “A year after the change, the results of this “extreme makeover” were striking: Not only had congestion decreased in the intersection—buses spent less time waiting to get through, for example—but there were half as many accidents, even though total car traffic was up by a third. Students from a local engineering college who studied the intersection reported that both drivers and, unusually, cyclists were using signals—of the electronic or hand variety—more often. They also found, in surveys, that residents, despite the measurable increase in safety, perceived the place to be more dangerous. This was music to Monderman’s ears. If they had not felt less secure, he said, he “would have changed it immediately.”

Not surprisingly, these kinds of counterintuitive findings made news. But often, the reports reduced Monderman’s theories to a simple libertarian dislike for regulation of any kind. Granted, he did occasionally hum this tune. “When government takes over the responsibility from citizens, the citizens can’t develop their own values anymore,” he told me. “So when you want people to develop their own values in how to cope with social interactions between people, you have to give them freedom.” But his philosophy consisted of more than a simple dislike of constraints. He was questioning the entire way we think about traffic and its place in the landscape.”

(Drachten town, Holland, removed traffic signs and controls in 2007)

• What they are doing is educational, plenty of promotion, and getting caught will hopefully be some sort of lesson.

• Slow speed is not as dangerous. It may be inappropriate but it is not as dangerous. Roll on 200 red thumbs but it simple is not true.

• @Jonathan Hayes. Young men are apt to think themselves wise enough, as drunken men are apt to think themselves sober enough. Calling others ‘stupid’ is so typical or adolescent recalcitrance but it is not typical of reasoned argument.

• Someone needs to seriously review the speed limits in this country. The nass road to newlands cross is 50-60kph. Thats a 3 lane dual carriageway with industrial units on each side and no residential access. And its a common place for spotting coppers behing the bus stop at the coca cola factory!

Tiny bohreens with a grass track down the middle, residential access on both sides and barely enough room for 2 cars are 80kph near blessington. I wouldn’t do 80 on these roads if you paid me!!

• Garda members who are not responding to emergency calls will be told to reduce their speed, and drive at speeds appropriate to the prevailing conditions.

Surely that should be standard practice and not just a special order for the duration of the operation.

• Excellent point.. Its amazing that the Gardai are the only people in the country that can be trusted to use mobile phones while driving.

Is there any record of a garda getting points for speeding , driving recklessly or on a mobile phone?

• Look at the majority of crashes. 3am, 21 year old with the bird, single car collision on an unlit road in midlands or west of Ireland.

30kph limits on the dublin quays or other stupid initiatives will not solve the problems.

Look at the source, then prepare a solution to the actual problem.

• The 30kph on the quays, as ridiculous as it is, is to safe pedestrians from themselves. Before we start to teach people to drive carefully and responsibly. Let’s teach them to look both ways when crossing the road. Most 5 year olds have more sense around the roads unlike adults why text and walk straight out in front of cars.

• This 30kmh along the Quays is at certain times needed when you have large groups of pedestrians waiting to cross especially at bridges. Many times I have had to jam on breaks at Ha’penny bridge where pedestrians hadn’t got patience to wait for green light.

• How is it when we see these type of articles there is never any mention of the state of the country’s roads?

• That was exactly my thoughts, more deaths on the roads but you look outside Dublin and the roads are so bad that some you cant even drive on them. that leads to deaths also and that is down to the councils….in particular Meath County Council….they should be ashamed of themselves with the state of the roads!!

• And why can’t people drive to the prevailing road conditions, even if they are less then ideal. The conditions of the road does not make a road dangerous, excessive speed makes it dangerous.

• Spud Monkey, I agree with your point re speed and I have seen it and am shocked and it is not good enough, I am not debating this. However, the conditions of some of the roads are unreal and some are not in a condition where you can drive. For example, my local town, the main street the roads are sinking in along with potholes, at max the speed you can do in our town is 10-15km anymore then that and you have damaged your car, local taxi men who use this road have had more problems with their cars. On another national road (again outside Dublin) the road not only has potholes but the road is sinking, its an 80km zone (was 100km but Meath County Councils answers to not fixing the roads after the Kentstown crash that killed 5 school girls was to bring down the speed limits) but on some occasions you need to break to about 35km because of the damage that can be done otherwise. Another example is a road that was being resurfaced 20 months ago has a temporary surface and with these weather conditions it is hazardous, thats without speed. Im not sure where you live but reality is anywhere outside Dublin roads it a danger onto themselves and its something that also needs to be looked at with regards to fatalities on our roads.

• Hit the nail on the head Rachelle, Athboy roads are worse than the road to Monrovia , Meath county council are atrocious.

• Ooops, Richelle

• In ’05 a report by UK Dept of Transport showed that only 5% of all road crashes were caused by those speeding. Driving too fast for road conditions were cause of 7% while exceeding speed limit were cause of only 3%. Tailgating causes more than speeding but do you know of any motorist who ever received penalty points and fine for this.

• Well set up your speed traps and checkpoints in areas and roads known for accidents and not on main streets of towns and villages. And what about the last few weeks where you have 16 year olds in tractors thinking they own the road (constantly on their phones) blowing ESB and telephone poles all over the place.

• Double penalties for all residents of County Donegal caught speeding or any other road traffic offence would be a good start.

It might improve their awful, aggressive driving and, of course, would give them something else to whinge about.

• The common post here is one of ‘I’m a great driver and everybody else on the road needs to come up to my standard.’ Part of being a good driver is to be tolerant of other drivers. Stop being competitive on the road.
    Stop believing you are so good.
    If you did a poll of drivers and asked the question ‘Are you a better than average driver’, you would probably have 70% say yes which clearly can’t be right.
    Take a leaf out of the sailing or flying world where people learn the rules and obey them.
    The trouble with car driving is there is too much ego when people get behind the wheel. It’s just a bloody car to get from A to B. Drive within the rules, respect other road users and leave the ego at home.

• Country roads are lethal, speed signs @80KPH where 60 is too fast, no guards patrolling because of cutbacks, L drivers in souped up civics on phone wit fag in gob trying to impress bimbo in front seats with feet up on dashboard.. Every other lorry driver and tractor driver on mobiles ( more drivers on phones than not) and absolute shite roads, add this to our ignorance and it’s a lethal cocktail, I am surprised road deaths are so low to be honest.

• The key to the news sound bite was that speed was the cause is many incidents – How many is always unsure and often unavailable. Mostly it’s driver error, not related to speed – ill judgement and lack of control. I know so many cases a ‘solo’ car hitting a wall on a country road at speed has a lot to do with our tragic suicide rates. And as some one who lost a father in road accident, and counseled many depressed individuals (at that level) This particular type of incident is never recorded as such, but remains to ‘colour’ the overall statistics. The difficulty is the proportion of ‘monatory’ Garda response the actual mathematics of risk assessment, it is totally out of proportion. And as such keeps prompting the moral question of motive and agenda from the average road user, who finds it increasingly difficult to drive because of the defensive tactics required to avoid entrapment – for that’s what it is. The original laws for speeding was recording speed over a measured tenth of a mile – thereby taking in the variables. But now it’s done on an instant click. Would be interested to see how the legislation is really structured and whether discrimination is at play in view of earlier precidents?

• “Operation Slow Down will see checkpoints on national primary and secondary roads carried out by local Gardaí and the Garda Traffic Corps” I’m sorry but that doesn’t cover the roads that allot of accidents happen on, the local roads. And I’ll put my last punt on a bet that they’ll be on the motorways (statistically the safest type of road) to make a few quid on people doing 10k over the speed limit. I’m not condoning speeding in anyway just that this Operation has a major flaw in my mind.

• Secondary Roads are the little local roads and back lanes. The problem is Gardai find it easier to set up checkpoints on the larger roads (checkpoints on motorways only happen once or twice a year in Dublin by the way) because it is simply unsafe to set up a checkpoint on a little back road because it is poorly lit, there is nowhere safe to pull a driver in to have a chat with them out of the way of other traffic etc. Can you imagine a guard setting up on a windy, narrow, poorly lit back road at 2am? He would last about a minute before he got killed.

• Gardai need to lead by example. The other day for example I was faced by an impatient garda overtaking a line of traffic at a high rate of knots. No headlights or blue lights even.

• They should start teaching road safety in secondary schools.. And that way when they go on to get their licence it will be bet into all their heads.. If people cant be bothered to learn it themselves then they should be forced to learn it in school.. Theres a good chance they’ll enjoy that class because it wont be boring and 90 percent of the class will wanba learn to drive one day..Its somethin they should look into

• Travelled up the M8 today to Dublin superfast Garda car lit up like a Christmas tree passed me on Portlaoise bypass (me doing 120km) he travelling as though I was going backwards. Passed him parked up in the Garda speed trap at Kildare Chilling ( me still doing 120km) on way back out of city motorbike Garda on side of Road outside Köping garage with speed gun (me crawling in heavy traffic) was passed again by traffic corps after Poitin Still, GATSO van on the way into Johnstown Co Kilkenny. Hopefully I didn’t miss any of today’s traps or I might be getting an unwelcome letter from the Gardai.

• Operation slow down nation

• SMcB 03/07/12 #

Only in Ireland would you conduct such an operation and actually tell people about it…. FFS

• Speed kills, Excessive speeds kill, not 5-10km over the speed limit in area’s where silly speed limits apply. Take the stilorgan rd for example, it’s like shooting fish in a barrel, complete nonsense and does nothing for road safety but eliminate respect for the Garda. The Red cow is another one, The N11 near kilmacanogue the speed drops from 80 to 60 then back to 80 again within a 2km stretch no prises for guessing where the Garda sit with their ray guns, madness. It’s just to generate revenue. Another thing if you are caught just over the speed limit a fine of aprox €90 (this figure is just a guess) is more than enough punishment, having to pay for it through penalty points for a further 3 years is ridicules as you insurance increases. The Garda need to do some smart thinking and leave the normal passive citisians alone. Keeping with a natural flow of traffic without speeding is not a crime. ( end rant)

• Very observant, N11 southbound is 100km dropping to 60km through Kilmacanogue. Other than myself I have never witnessed anyone obeying the 60km limit. N11 northbound is 100km dropping to 80km through Kilmacanogue. In both cases rising to 100km after. Specsavers!!

• and just point out…I’m not a garda, but take a moment to think of the Gardai and paramedics who attend these horrendous car crashes, witnessing lives that our lost or severly critically injured, it’s not easy, mostly these are ordinary men and women working day in and out like the rest of us all, their only trying to promote safe driving…thats all….next time you think of pulling stunts on the road…think of the Garda who will be makin the house visit with bad news to your relatives, their all human at the end of the day!!

• Everyone should repeat their driving and theory test every 5 years to keep them up to date to all new rules and stop from developing bad habits behind the wheel. Depending on their results of the test their individual premiums would rise or fall.(what you’d spend on the test you’d save on the insurance)
    Anyone taken off the road for dangerous driving/causing death should go back to provisional licence from the beginning if they are allowed back.

• @ Miles…regarding comment ‘speed does not kill, the suddenness of the stop is what kills’ are you stupid!! in my thoughts if you weren’t speeding to begin with and driving within the accepted speed limits (now I’m not talking driving like a snail either) but you would then have the awareness to stop in an emergency or where needed in a safer and timely manner, as opposed to speeding…which as a result may cause you to come to an abrupt stop causing injury or death due to a reduced lack of awareness of certain situations on the road such as having to stop in an emergency… primary cause of death would be as a result of speeding with secondary cause being the damage occured as a result of the force in which one stopped. if you were driving within the speeding limits chances are you would stop more in advance, also someone who is knocked over at 30k has more of a chance of surviving than when hit at 40k and higher, so speed does kill!!

• Susan Kearns “Speed does not kill” and that is scientifically provable!. To suggest otherwise requires fallacious argument and assumptions. If speed killed most of us would not survive travelling at over 600kph on a holiday jet. Concorde passengers used to travel at 2180kph and not one died from speed. In fact the when the aircraft could not maintain a high speed it fell out of the sky and it was the impact with the ground that killed everyone. The fact that this has to be explained to someone speaks volumes about the standard of education that pervades today!

• The government spends so much on road safety campaigns yet it is higher than last year. Maybe it would be better to spend this money on suicide prevention campaigns which statistically involve a far greater number of deaths every year.

• Had anyone considered road stats went down not because of campaigns but because the economy is flat lining and there’s probably something in the region of 400,000 less journeys a day are being made? Now think of the risk stats and the money now being spent. As I said earlier I lost my father to the roads, yet it doesn’t mean I cannot see a lost cause trying to fight a ‘minute’ statistic that in all probability will never go away.

• Driving too fast and driving too slow are as dangerous as each other. As a foreign national I took my test in another country and have my qualifications for driving everything apart from a motorbike . What I have noticed since I have been living here is the appalling standard of driving which is way more dangerous than speeding ever will be. Most drivers seem to think that indicators are an optional extra which they didn’t get with their car. Anticipation is another skill that seems to be lacking here or maybe it’s because I drive large vehicles that I am more used to anticipating what’s happening up ahead. Also lane selection especially on motorways is atrocious. The middle and outside lanes are for overtaking not for toddling along in! Maybe the new licence criteria might solve some of this. I hope so

• I live in a built up area with children out playing as is the norm on the bright evenings. Only this evening a Garda car sped through the estate flying over speed ramps. They want to practice what they preach.

• colmal 03/07/12 #

Operation make more Money,less hiding behind bus shelters,in a 50 zone,catching the proverbial fish in a barrel,bumping up the catch,and not being proactive.

• All I see is the guards getting a bundle of overtime for the summer holidays and paying for it by trapping the average motorist. They justify this by claiming it’s a safety thing, want to stop road deaths sit down the road from the local night club and nab the boy racers coming out showing off.

• The piggy bank must be empty

• The guards have seen their wages (when you take into account all the fine print) cut by about 40%. Their fleet of vehicles is a shambles, there is no overtime for traffic enforcement, community policing etc (the important things), management have sided with Alan Shatter, there are far more cuts to the force to come, there is a recruitment ban until at least 2014 and morale is at an all time low. What makes you think the average guard suffering all of this will go out of their way to make the exchequer a few extra quid?

• Try catching house thieves- useless, we are better off having our own protection squads

• @ miles, I did not say others were stupid I said ARE You Stupid, any way I take it you dont drive, you obviously transport yourself around on your high horse!! you obviously cant take a joke either, my whole point was just to say slow down on the roads and take care, I think we can all agree that it is a shame when lives are lost on the road regardless of how it happened, I am aware of the crappy roads and poor situations out there etc, it’s a plain simple message of be safe on the roads I was trying to point out, good day to you. (and just to mention your comment had come thru to my private email, and I could not find it on the thread first, but found it later, apologies for that)

• cop on miles and get over it!

• “People wrap themselves in their beliefs. And they do it in such a way that you can’t set them free. Not even the truth will set them free.” - Michael Specter

Susan Kearns we live in eternal hope that you will be less silly from now on and try to prove Mr. Specter wrong..

• miles I shall leave this conversation as it is clear you don’t have a clue, hopefully common sense will catch up with you one day, and maybe one day you will open your eyes to the real world, sadly it appears that you will not and you shall forever continue with your own shallow beliefs, goodbye!

• Ah now Susan Kearns don’t be sore. The great paradox of human kind is that those with the least skill mistakenly rate their abilities much higher than the average. While competent individuals may falsely assume that others have an equivalent understanding as they. Hence attempts at reaching quality understandings are continually undermined. Consequently it is the voice of the least skilled that mostly triumphs over the competent and the struggle for competency. A wisdom encapsulated in the idiom “empty vessels make the most noise”.

• Miles I do not know what you work as, but I work in frontline services and have resusitated more children than I would care to imagine, and those children do not need their lives lost as a result of people speeding on our roads, and if you or others like to think that I am silly well then so be it, I personally don’t care, as you do not know me, their may come a day when you or your family rely on the emergency and intensive care services in which I work in and am damn good at that job, you would be lucky to have me saving your life, so unless you have been on the frontline of death secondary to speeding on the roads I think you can zip it with regards to your boring scientific facts and revelations that you found off google, the message is slow down on the road and be safe.

• Regarding my proposition that “speed does not kill” you replied “are you stupid!!”. You cannot disprove scientific fact by calling people stupid.

In fact you demonstrate (unwittingly) how fallible human interpretations of the world around us are. Upon these faulty interpretations, faulty opinions lie. Hence, strategies designed to protect and combat the ills that befall humanity based on faulty interpretations are not only deficient but will not solve the problem as we intend them to do.

It was the medical profession and its tendency to reject new information out of hand without examination that gave us the term “Semmelweis Reflex”. You again unwittingly prove that nothing much has improved intellectually in the last 150 years in the medical professions. Google that if you will.

Your notions of superiority are thus proven illusory.

• yes thank you for the private mail @ myles….regards to your comment on the speed of aircraft and space crafts….if you read the heading right the headline is trying to slow down DRIVERS who SPEED, the high volume of traffic on our roads mixed together with high speed will result In more tragic adverse events in the event of an accident, and you can take that from a very highly educated person, who deals with road traffic accidents more to frequently than I would like too…..a lot of them would have done less damage if the driver had slowed down!! again…DRIVER, not pilot or astronaut. your just trying to be smart with your comments….it won’t work on me!

• Susan Kearns, calling others ‘stupid’ renders your claim to be highly educated bogus and is thus reinforced by a lack of scientific knowledge. I made no private reply to you, it is public for all to see. Thus readers will find it obvious that “smart” (in the intellectual sense) would not be found in connection with your posts. And it seems you agree with that.

• In a word that was what I was including in the stats issue. The money spent on road safety, is vastly disproportionate – it can become a sacred cow for those “in the safety business” whose horizons are somewhat narrow – and I know it’s highly emotive but I have been their myself and have felt the fall out. . . but equally there are far bigger issues requiring our attention. Especially as COD for some is actually using a vehicle as a means.

• Better education is needed. Speed, Correct lane for roundabouts, weather conditions, loss of control, lane changes. As a L driver you don’t get a chance on the motorways and then it’s open season once you’ve passed. Crazy. nWho can tell me what the rule is on the likes of the M50 when the car in lane 1 wants to come in to lane 2 at the same time the car in lane 3 wants to come in to lane 2?n

• Think it will I notice this to,o having driven all over europe for decades – the indicator is an optional extra it appears . . .

• Speeding is one issue, bad driving is a bigger issue. Number of drivers driving in wrong lanes for their speed in Motorways and dual carriage ways is incredible. This causes other drivers to have to change lanes constantly to avoid them,increasing risks of accidents. Better education is what is needed, all second level students should get a driving/rules of the road course including driving test, transition year an ideal starting point.

• Sinead 03/07/12 #

People are complaining about speed limits on roads. It’s a limit not a target to reach. You drive at the speed you are comfortable to drive at and be able to bring the vehicle to a complete stop safely.

Add New Comment