TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Gerry Adams: ‘I’ll certainly lead Sinn Féin into the next election’

The Sinn Féin president told TheJournal.ie this week that he did not believe questions about IRA membership – and his repeated denials – were damaging his party’s electoral prospects.

Gerry Adams speaking to TheJournal.ie this week
Image: Screengrab

GERRY ADAMS HAS said he will definitely lead Sinn Féin into the next general election as he insisted his repeated denials that he was ever in the IRA are not an impediment to growing the party’s parliamentary numbers.

In a wide-ranging interview with TheJournal.ie this week, Adams said that he did not foresee his denials about IRA membership impeding the party’s progress at this stage or ever.

“I’ll certainly lead the party into the next election,” he said while pointing out that ultimately it was the decision of the party’s Ard Fheis as to whether or not to re-elect him as leader.

He pointed out that his success in the Louth constituency at the 2011 general election had tested the public’s perception of him and his alleged links to the IRA.

Adams has repeatedly denied he was ever in the IRA and involved in its violent campaign during the Troubles despite many claims to the contrary.

He said: “If you ask me if I’m a member of the IRA? No I’m not. Was I member of the IRA? No I wasn’t. Now people will then make up their minds on the validity and the truthfulness and the accuracy of that assertion.”

Gerry Adams on the IRA:

Adams said he would never dissociate himself from the IRA but said that he will only know if he has to apologise for incidents during the Troubles if the process of reconciliation continues.

He said: “I’m talking about the necessary job of moving into another phase of the peace process which has healing at its essence.

“[It's] an attempt to bring about reconciliation and [the only way] I will only know and others will only know what we have to do to meet those challenges [is] if that engagement continues.”

Adams said that for the likes of himself and Northern Ireland deputy first minister Martin McGuinness – the “two best known” faces in Sinn Féin – they wanted to lead the party through the next few years.

“I think we want to see the party through this transition period,” he said.

“What we’re doing is unprecedented. We have built the party in the North into the senior – by a million miles – party from the nationalist side in the six counties.

“It didn’t exist as a political formation maybe 20 years ago. We have made Sinn Féin a realistic, relevant party of opposition here [in the south of Ireland] and we are in government in the North.”

More: There were TDs intoxicated on night of promissory note debate – Gerry Adams

On Twitter: Gerry Adams: I don’t mind if people think my tweeting is weird

Leader Interviews: Fianna Fáil’s Micheál Martin

Read next:

Comments (108 Comments)

• Love him or hate him …..Adams has done a great job of giving people a different choice than the failed FF/FG/LAB politicians who care only for their bank accounts.

• There is no going back for Adams to ever say he was in the I.R.A. then he”ll have to answer questions like why did you lie about it for so long and many other hard questions.

• Joma Kenyata was leader of Mau Mau in Kenya. Rid Kenya of british diktatership. Nelson Mandella in SA..And many more examples. Sometimes it takes brave leadership to free people.

• My father pulled me out of bed one morning, I asked why ?
      He said we must go to a demonstration in Sligo town
      supporting Boby Sands, I asked him why ? He said in revenge for what the black and tans done to his family in Kilkenny. Its very easy for some people to forget, I forgot.

• Tom Keating, I find your comment offensive. The nationalist people in the North of Ireland had absolutely no say whatsover in being part of the UK or Irish Free State at the time. They were and still are, every bit as Irish as you or I and were completely abandoned and ignored by most politicians and people in the south since partition. Everyone is entitled to have an opinion on Gerry Adams and the Provisional IRA but at least let it be an informed one and educate yourself as to what brought about their (ira) formation in the north, what sustained it and why Sinn Fein became the most popular political party for IRISH people in that part of this island.

• If my comments offended you then I apologise, it was not my intent. I’m merely expressing my opinion. I’m not trying to gloss over the problems in the north but stating fact that the North is part of the UK and not part of the Rep Of Ireland. The nationalists do have a say/Voice now but I agree it has been a long road to get to where they are now. The majority of people in the North, for now, want to stay part of the UK, if that changes them it we’ll have a United Ireland on this island but only if the majority freely choose this way. (Hope this comment doesn’t offend!)

• I don’t know why people give out about SF. Let them in and if they make mistakes then judge them. Not before. Remember it was SF and FF with the help from the the British government and the people of Ireland who brought and still are bringing peace in Northern Ireland.

• Even if Adams was not leading the shinners the electorate will still manage to vote either fianna fail or fine gael back into power. Both parties will promise the sun, the moon and the stars and we’ll fall for it, hook, line and sinker!

• You mean pie in the sky promises like: we’ll burn the bond holders, throw two fingers to Europe, default on our debts, repeal the household charge, put more Gardai on the streets, pay public servants more, build more hospitals- oh,, and have an extra bank holiday to honour Republicans. And we’ll do all of that without any negative repercussions for the country at all. That type of sun, moon and stars?

• No promises like labours way or frankfurts way.we were shafted by fg lab lies they r the guiltiest of all.

• Eamonn 03/03/13 #

Say it ain’t so Kevin, say it ain’t so,
      Gerry wouldn’t lie t’us

• Excellent Kevin. Excellent.

• I don’t see what’s wrong with having an Independence Day rather than some poxy holy day for a welsh guy, pretending he’s Irish, and have everyone the world over celebrate him for “driving snakes from Ireland” by getting pissed out their heads. I wonder where the stereotype comes from eh?
      How about restoring some pride in our nation by celebrating a true day in Irish history, not some religious shite that has no place in modern Ireland. Hell, we almost had a day off for 9/11 ffs,

• Oooh, green white & orange balaclava’s for all. Kids with faces painted IRA. And don’t forget the “IRA Undefeated army” T shirts on sale from the Sin Fein shop. Nah, i’ll stick with the Welsh saint thanks…

• You are one ignorant prik. Who said any thing about balaclavas or undefeated army shite only you. Im talking about a day remembering those who got us our freedom on that faithful day. The people who died in that war. Yet you talk about t-shirts, fook off. Have some pride in your identity – your nationality, not the stereotype

• I think that the political elites are starting to realise that SF are changing the face of politics in Ireland. SF are really the only left leaning party on offer. FF/FG are right wing. We need alternatives to the usual parish pump politics of old.

• John- where exactly is this “changing of the face of Irish politics?” I ask because with Fianna Fáil critically wounded and a less-than-loved Fine Gael/ Labour Government bringing in really unpopular austerity measures, SF have failed to make an electoral breakthrough with people turning to Independents rather than SF. This should be SF’s finest hour and yet they were at 16% in the last Red C poll. That has to be seem as a rejection by the people.

• How are they changing the face of Irish politics? They are making classic populous statements but have done nothing of substance. Their popularity is down to the current economic and high unemployment, not unusual for socialist parties.

• Well Tom give them a chance in power. We FG and Labour a chance they lied amd betrayed the people. Sinn Feinn only party that hasn’t done that. Will they do that probably but it maybe worth a punt.

• Kevin I suggest you open a copy of the Indo today ….new poll has them on 21% ….3% behind FG 2% FF

• Cillian- and 28% undecided. SF are the obvious protest vote, yet people haven’t moved to them. That 21% is soft in the context of the Red C poll and their performance at the last election. Huge swathes of the country just won’t consider them it would seem.

• Itswhatitis- SF haven’t lied? Really? You’re really going to say that with a straight face?

• Itis, maybe you are right but I would like to see some real ideas from them not just populous socialist ones that really wouldn’t stand on their own two feet.

• Performance in the last election!! Same could be said for FG & Labour

• Blah blah blah Sinn Féin are murderers, terrorists, not fit for government blah blah!! Methinks the lady doth protest too much. FF and FG have proved over the past 90 years that they don’t know what they’re doing. What a joke they are. Time for something different.

• pauric 03/03/13 #

Yes i vote gerry all day long he could b no worse than enda won’t take pay cut. gerry take a pay cut no bother

• Too much baggage for the type of voter SF needs to attract, becoming a liability.

• I would gladly stroke his beard, he seems to be ok lately.

• @ Kieran. So you support people committing suicide? That’s exactly what your saying. Not exactly a great turn of phrase. Kieran you are a disgusting excuse for a human being making comments like that.

• Good one Kieran! Did u think of that all by yourself?! Muppet….

• And hopefully the next Tioaseach

• Poor Ireland. This is the kind of person that “leads”.

He will “never dissociate himself from the IRA”. Says enough for me. I can never dissociate myself from respect for human rights, which is pretty much the opposite of what the IRA believe in.

• Does that go for all conflicts?

• Why should he disassociate himself ?? Where were all the other party leaders when nationalist people of the north where being tortured they stayed silent whilst Gerry Adams and the Sinn Fein leadership stood shoulder to shoulder with its people

• Tomas, the North of Ireland is part of the UK and none of the Rep of Ireland’s business hence no leaders down south getting involved.

• You mean it’s the part of ireland the uk robbed don’t you.

• I thought Northern Ireland was on the island of Ireland, so therefore is Ireland’s business! The second part if the title “northern Ireland” says it all really – Ireland

• Actually, they took up torturing.

• Johnny, you are correct, the North of Ireland is part of the Island of Ireland but it is still none of our business as it is part of the UK and not the Rep of Ireland. I would like to see a united island of Ireland in my lifetime but that won’t happen unless the majority in the North vote to make it so.

• @ Tom the North of Ireland is part of Ireland always has been always will be if as u say its part of the uk then why do I and many other people of the North of Ireland hold an Irish Passport ??

• @tom. Make it happen by supporting endeavours to make it a reality. Peaceful reunification through self determination. It is a democratic process: North and south. Please support it.

• I agree Ollie, only way forward.

• Tomas, fair point but not really a good example as there are many people from other countries that hold Irish passports but does not mean their country is part of Ireland! That said, I know the point your making but you have to agree the North is part of the UK ( for now anyway! :-) )

• cormac 03/03/13 #

I take it your a unionist tom. That’s grand and it is your democratic right. But please make that apparent before you slate your sworn enemy so everybody is clear on your agenda.

I have to admire Adams for one thing, he has dedicated his entire life to the cause of Irish republicanism.

He is now trying to create a true republic in the south not this farce of a puppet state that we have sine 1922.

• Cormac, I’m not a Unionist but I respect the majority of people in the North are and want to stay in the UK. I, like every Irish person wish for a United Ireland but we’re along way off that. As for Adam’s trying to make our country a true republic, it already it and it is a free state. SF are socialists and as history will teach us, socialists are very bad news plus against freedom. All that said both FF and FG haven’t done much good, so I guess we’re kinda stuck! i do believe there are better people out there who could get elected and would put the interests of the state/people first before themselves, I don’t see that in FF, FG, SF or Lab.

I’m not against SF getting into power but they’ll never get in on socialist Rhetoric, “a nation once again politics” and policies that just wont work. If that changes then maybe more people will vote for them.

• ][v][ 03/03/13 #

@Tomas – obviously we’re handing out passports too easily.

The majority in the north have no desire to join the republic. Majority rules, unfortunately for nationalists.

• Makes the skin crawl.

• Jimmy 03/03/13 #

Indeed Chris….a truly nasty individual.

• STD
      Chris?

• Very true big Jim. Unemployment and low morale has played a huge part of shinner revival. They are thriving on the countries misery and it’s unfortunate that people are falling for their bullsh*t.

• No thanks Cillian I’m grand, thanks for the offer pet. :)

• Sad to think that you have such a low opinion of Sinn Fein voters.
      Are they all really that stupid to “fall” for their policies.
      Or is it just that every other party is a waste of time and have screwed the people left,right and centre, and now people are just swinging that way because there no point in voting in the other crooks.

• Jimmy 03/03/13 #

Ciaran, SF are devious and cunning to the extreme. They have more baggage than all 5 Terminals at Heathrow combined! Granted the choice of politicians we have at present isn’t great, ranging from our current incumbents to the opposition made up of the ULA (United Lunatic Alliance) to Fianna FAIL. Stephen Donnelly and Shane Ross excluded, I have a lot of time for these men as they have shown they are both capable and intelligent. But SF are a different league altogether, I am pretty sure, I stand corrected obviously that no other party or grouping in the Dail apart from SF have been involved in murder, shootings, robbery, extortion, bombing, kidnapping, punishment beatings, vigilantism, criminality etc etc. These are the type of individuals you would Luke to see running the country….as Miley Byrne RIP would say…”Well holy God”…..

• Well jimmy, you would be wrong on that. Check out how each party were formed & who formed them. No party in Ireland is innocent of what you wrote

• @chris your could surmise FF as being the same.

• @Jimmy, you left out Fuel Laundering, Drug Dealing and are well represented in crimes against Children.

• Jimmy you clearly misread my comment.
      I was stating the reason why I think people are swinging toward SF is because the current bunch and the previous bunch are completely incompetent.

• Jimmy 03/03/13 #

Johnny, I know exactly how each party was formed and from where they rose…and also which party refused to recognise our fledgling State and continued to be hostile to this country, refusing to recognise it and its institutions…shall I tell you who…Sinn Fein, that’s who. Everything I mentioned above are what SF are involved in and more, not any other party as far as I’m aware….

• If you believe that jimmay, you’re seriously deluded

• Jimmy 03/03/13 #

Not really Johnny, read your history books, the Folans ones not the ones for sale in SF offices…

• He’ll need the leaders allowance to pay all his property tax.

• Eamonn 03/03/13 #

So we turn to the Oompa Loompa, cartridge robbing, I ‘m a pretend engineer crowd instead,genius!

• Adams became party leader in 1984, pushing out the purist militant O bradaigh.Adams immediately set about developing a peace strategy. He developed a policy document titled TUAS (Totally Unarmed Strategy). He talked with John Hume to explore the possibility of ending violence. Ultimately Adams delivered.He has built a political party that was pretty much non existent when he became leader to one that is among the largest on the island.Consider that if Sinn Fein translate their current poll indications into votes, they will represent more Irish citizens than Fianna Fáil or Fine Gael due to their sizeable support north of the border. That could be a powerful statement.
    Sinn Fein are striking a chord with me on their criticism of the governments continuance to justify high pay among senior civil servants and advisers.(These people would not get this renumeration anywhere else).They have also been arguing for a third rate of tax for high earners which I think is reasonable especially when you look at the failure to tackle these outrageous salaries.

• In 30 years Adams has never been challenged. Even now, when his departure might actually help the parties fortunes there’s no challenge. Why is that? Democracy goes out the window. Cue the Shinnerbots saying what a great leader he is…

• What about the BlueBots, loyal too an idiot of a schoolteacher and got a 100k payoff from a job he never really held! Noodles Noonan, another teacher and 30% of the dail with teachers in it. Then you’d wonder, what’s wrong with the Country?

• Did you have a hard time at school Stephen? Wear the hat in the corner from time to time?

• @ Oreilly. I don’t call holding back a party that 9% of the GE vote in 2011 to prospectively attaining 22% if an election was held today. The figures speak for themselves. I think that number is fantastic. SF is clearly a superior political force with progressive policies. We are sick of the old political establishment drivel.

• Ollie, a serious political force? Then why at a time of such great hardship have they not made a serious break through? How will they poll in 2 years time when recovery is well on the way? Who will entertain their wild spend and two fingers to Europe ideas then. SF thrive on misery. That’s what brought them into existence and that’s what they need to stay there. It won’t last long…

• @oreilly 2 years = Irish recovery. Now that is fairy tale politics. Your personal animosity with SF is clouding your judgement.

• My view of SF is an informed one. I can set aside their history and look at their policies and last 2 budget submissions. All populist, dangerous and attractive in the current environment. Economic suicide. We’d all be on the collective farm yearning for Gerry’s wealthy mates…

• In Northern Ireland look at the right-wing dis-mantling of the housing executive undertaken by the dup and sf. They have no ‘political’ agenda in the north but a cultural agenda and the politics they pay lip-service to aren’t the reality of what they do. If their populist, ill-informed political record was exposed by politicians and journalists in the south then their support might drop.

• Jim Ky 03/03/13 #

I hope Gerry will lead them–it is the best assurance that they are going nowhere.

• Gerry Adams is a relic of the Pre Good Friday Agreement era and he needs to be decommissioned if Sinn Fein wants to attract new voters. What Sinn Fein Fail to realise that figures like Adams have toxic baggage and if want to increase their votes from the Middle classes both north and south they need to put figures like Gerry out to pasture and reform the party. It’s been 15 years since the GFA but you would think that the fighting was still going on if you listened to some who are in Sinn Fein

Gerry Should retire to his cottage in Donegal and let a new generation of politics take over from his out dated conflict political mind set

• In all honesty people voted for change at the last election and never got it Sinn Fein need to recognise the fact that people want new faces offering a new way Doherty or Mary Lou can exploit that opportunity far more than Gerry

• A Bertie Ahernism!

• I find it strange the way people insist that once Sinn Féin get into power in the 26 counties they will become the same as the corrupt shower we’ve had of late.

Sure, Adams MAY well turn out to be like the rest of them.

But we know for a fact that Martin or Gilmore WILL be crooks like Ahern was, like Cowen was and like Kenny currently is.

• FF/FG/L will be in power next time around so. I neither know nor care if Gerry was ever a member of the IRA, but he is the face of that stigma on SF. If he left they would become a MUCH more electable proposition. I’d say their vote would multiply by 1.5 the day after he retired.

• Is that you Bertie?

• I have a lot of time for Mary Lou. Gerry has too much baggage. But I still don’t trust Sinn Feinn.

• This is unfortunate for Sinn Fein’s sake. There is potentialy a good left wing party here if they could only get rid of any member who was connected to the IRA. Mary Lou would be an ideal leader in my opinion.

Add New Comment